DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to correspondence 06/16/26 regarding application 18/733,129, in which claims 5 and 12 were amended. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application and have been considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues 8-9 that the independent claims are patentable over Waibel-Pal because Waibel allegedly does not disclose “… causing a client device to perform one or more actions based on the first edited text” and “… causing a client device to perform one or more actions based on the second edited text”. According to Applicant, this is because para [0054] only describes outputting non-user correct speech output. Applicant’s apparent position is that Waibel never outputs the user corrected translation text, since as Applicant argues on page 9, although the user can correct and repair the translated text, there is allegedly no feedback loop that returns to TTS after the correction occurs.
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Waibel is directed to speech-to-speech translation. As known in the art in 2011 when Waibel was published, in speech-to-speech translation, a human speaks into the computer in a source language, the computer recognizes text in that language, the computer translates the recognized text to a target language, and the computer outputs synthesized speech from the target language text. This process is prone to errors (see. e.g. Waibel, [0021]). It would be preposterous if the Waibel system were to only output uncorrected text having high confidence, and never allowed the user to edit the text and then output the edited text via speech synthesis, as Applicant seems to argue. Indeed, the Waibel system Correction and Repair module enables a user to intervene in the speech-to-speech translation process at any time (Waibel, [0062]). The user may correct an error in the translation output, and such user intervention provides immediate correction in the human-human communication process (Waibel [0062]). The user interface in Fig. 2 of Waibel, which is used by users having sufficient language expertise to correct the machine translation output by highlighting an erroneous segment and correcting it via e.g. a keyboard, (Waibel, [0065], [0063]) also explicitly shows a “Speak o))” button for outputting the user corrected translation, which directly contradicts Applicant’s position that in Waibel there is not feedback loop that returns to TTS after the correction occurs. The examiner maintains that Waibel discloses the claimed “… causing a client device to perform one or more actions based on the first edited text” and “… causing a client device to perform one or more actions based on the second edited text”.
Applicant next argues on pages 9-10 that Pal and Waibel do not disclose a “multilingual post-editing model” that “is trained for use in correcting translation errors in the target language translated from any one of a plurality of source languages, allegedly because Pal only does English-German translation, and so the English in Pal is only one source language. In response, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Waibel plainly describes correction and repair module correcting translation errors from any of languages L1-Ln-1 to language Ln, for example, [0044], i.e. “multilingual post-editing model”. Pal discloses an automatic post-editing model (transformer-based multi-source APE, page 828, Section 2); a neural machine translation model (neural machine translation, page 827, Section 1, NMT Task, page 831, Section 3.3.2); and the post-editing model is trained for use in correcting translation errors (post editing model PBSMT is trained using real PE training data, Section 3.3.1, pages 830-831, the APE models correcting translation errors in MT output, page 827, Section 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Waibel by replacing the manual post-editing of Waibel with the automatic post-editing model trained for use in correcting translation errors of Pal and replacing the statistical MT model of Waibel with the neural machine translation model of Pal in order to improve quality of fully automatic translations, as suggested by Pal (page 827, Section 1). Doing so would have led to predictable results of reducing costs associated with translation performed by humans, as suggested by Pal (page 827, Section 1). In other words, there is nothing in the architecture of the Pal system that would have prevented one skilled in the art at filing time from utilizing the neural machine translation, automatic post-editing, and training techniques of Pal in the older translation system of Waibel, such that it could be updated with more modern technology and used for multiple source languages.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 19 be found allowable, claim 20 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waibel et al. (US 20110307241) in view of Pal et al. (“A Transformer-Based Multi-Source Automatic Post-Editing System”. Proceedings of the Third Conference on Machine Translation (WMT), Volume 2: Shared Task Papers, pages 827–835 Belgium, Brussels, October 31- November 1, 2018).
Consider claim 1, Waibel discloses a method implemented by one or more processors (computer method, implemented on e.g. a laptop computer, a processor being inherent in a laptop computer, [0011]-[0012]), the method comprising:
processing a first instance of text in a target language using multilingual post-editing to generate first edited text, wherein the first instance of text in the target language is generated using a machine translation model translating a first source language to the target language, wherein the multilingual post-editing is used in correcting one or more translation errors introduced by the machine translation model, and wherein the multilingual post-editing is for use in correcting translation errors in the target language translated from any one of a plurality of source languages (multi-directional speech-to-speech translation system receives and recognizes speech in language L1 to produce text in language L1, [0044], Fig 1, and machine translation module translates from language L1 to Ln, [0045], which is post-edited via correction and repair module, [0047], by the user to correct a word, i.e. post-edit the translation output, [0062-0063], [0065], correction and repair module correcting translation errors from any of languages L1-Ln-1 to language Ln, for example, [0044]);
causing a client device to perform one or more actions based on the first edited text (the edited text is converted to speech via TTS module and output from speakers on the device, [0054]);
processing a second instance of text in the target language using the multilingual post-editing to generate second edited text, wherein the second instance of text in the target language is generated using a machine translation model translating a second source text in a second source language to the target language (multi-directional speech-to-speech translation system receives and recognizes speech in language L2 to produce text in language L2, [0044], Fig 1, and machine translation module translates from language L12 to Ln, [0045], which is post-edited via correction and repair module, [0047], by the user to correct a word, i.e. post-edit the translation output, [0062-0063], [0065]); and
causing the client device to perform one or more actions based on the second edited text (the second edited text is converted to speech via TTS module and output from speakers on the device, [0054]).
Waibel does not specifically mention: an automatic post-editing model; a neural machine translation model; and the post-editing model is trained for use in correcting translation errors.
Pal discloses an automatic post-editing model (transformer-based multi-source APE, page 828, Section 2); a neural machine translation model (neural machine translation, page 827, Section 1, NMT Task, page 831, Section 3.3.2); and the post-editing model is trained for use in correcting translation errors (post editing model PBSMT is trained using real PE training data, Section 3.3.1, pages 830-831, the APE models correcting translation errors in MT output, page 827, Section 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Waibel by replacing the manual post-editing of Waibel with the automatic post-editing model trained for use in correcting translation errors of Pal and replacing the statistical MT model of Waibel with the neural machine translation model of Pal in order to improve quality of fully automatic translations, as suggested by Pal (page 827, Section 1). Doing so would have led to predictable results of reducing costs associated with translation performed by humans, as suggested by Pal (page 827, Section 1). The references cited are analogous art in the same field of machine translation.
Consider claim 8, Waibel discloses a client device (laptop, [0005]) comprising:
memory storing instructions (inherent in laptop, [0005]);
one or more processors that execute the instructions, stored in the memory (inherent in laptop, [0005]) to:
process a first instance of text in a target language using multilingual post-editing to generate first edited text, wherein the first instance of text in the target language is generated using a machine translation model translating a first source language to the target language, wherein the multilingual post-editing is used in correcting one or more translation errors introduced by the machine translation model, and wherein the multilingual post-editing is for use in correcting translation errors in the target language translated from any one of a plurality of source languages (multi-directional speech-to-speech translation system receives and recognizes speech in language L1 to produce text in language L1, [0044], Fig 1, and machine translation module translates from language L1 to Ln, [0045], which is post-edited via correction and repair module, [0047], by the user to correct a word, i.e. post-edit the translation output, [0062-0063], [0065], correction and repair module correcting translation errors from any of languages L1-Ln-1 to language Ln, for example, [0044]);
cause a client device to perform one or more actions based on the first edited text (the edited text is converted to speech via TTS module and output from speakers on the device, [0054]);
process a second instance of text in the target language using the multilingual post-editing to generate second edited text, wherein the second instance of text in the target language is generated using a machine translation model translating a second source text in a second source language to the target language (multi-directional speech-to-speech translation system receives and recognizes speech in language L2 to produce text in language L2, [0044], Fig 1, and machine translation module translates from language L12 to Ln, [0045], which is post-edited via correction and repair module, [0047], by the user to correct a word, i.e. post-edit the translation output, [0062-0063], [0065]); and
cause the client device to perform one or more actions based on the second edited text (the second edited text is converted to speech via TTS module and output from speakers on the device, [0054]).
Waibel does not specifically mention: an automatic post-editing model; a neural machine translation model; and the post-editing model is trained for use in correcting translation errors.
Pal discloses an automatic post-editing model (transformer-based multi-source APE, page 828, Section 2); a neural machine translation model (neural machine translation, page 827, Section 1, NMT Task, page 831, Section 3.3.2); and the post-editing model is trained for use in correcting translation errors (post editing model PBSMT is trained using real PE training data, Section 3.3.1, pages 830-831, the APE models correcting translation errors in MT output, page 827, Section 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Waibel by replacing the manual post-editing of Waibel with the automatic post-editing model trained for use in correcting translation errors of Pal and replacing the statistical MT model of Waibel with the neural machine translation model of Pal for reasons similar to those for claim 1.
Consider claim 15, Waibel discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions executable by one or more processors of a computing system (inherent in laptop, [0005]) to perform a method of:
processing a first instance of text in a target language using multilingual post-editing to generate first edited text, wherein the first instance of text in the target language is generated using a machine translation model translating a first source language to the target language, wherein the multilingual post-editing is used in correcting one or more translation errors introduced by the machine translation model, and wherein the multilingual post-editing is for use in correcting translation errors in the target language translated from any one of a plurality of source languages (multi-directional speech-to-speech translation system receives and recognizes speech in language L1 to produce text in language L1, [0044], Fig 1, and machine translation module translates from language L1 to Ln, [0045], which is post-edited via correction and repair module, [0047], by the user to correct a word, i.e. post-edit the translation output, [0062-0063], [0065], correction and repair module correcting translation errors from any of languages L1-Ln-1 to language Ln, for example, [0044]);
causing a client device to perform one or more actions based on the first edited text (the edited text is converted to speech via TTS module and output from speakers on the device, [0054]);
processing a second instance of text in the target language using the multilingual post-editing to generate second edited text, wherein the second instance of text in the target language is generated using a machine translation model translating a second source text in a second source language to the target language (multi-directional speech-to-speech translation system receives and recognizes speech in language L2 to produce text in language L2, [0044], Fig 1, and machine translation module translates from language L12 to Ln, [0045], which is post-edited via correction and repair module, [0047], by the user to correct a word, i.e. post-edit the translation output, [0062-0063], [0065]); and
causing the client device to perform one or more actions based on the second edited text (the second edited text is converted to speech via TTS module and output from speakers on the device, [0054]).
Waibel does not specifically mention: an automatic post-editing model; a neural machine translation model; and the post-editing model is trained for use in correcting translation errors.
Pal discloses an automatic post-editing model (transformer-based multi-source APE, page 828, Section 2); a neural machine translation model (neural machine translation, page 827, Section 1, NMT Task, page 831, Section 3.3.2); and the post-editing model is trained for use in correcting translation errors (post editing model PBSMT is trained using real PE training data, Section 3.3.1, pages 830-831, the APE models correcting translation errors in MT output, page 827, Section 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Waibel by replacing the manual post-editing of Waibel with the automatic post-editing model trained for use in correcting translation errors of Pal and replacing the statistical MT model of Waibel with the neural machine translation model of Pal for reasons similar to those for claim 1.
Consider claim 3, Waibel discloses the first instance of text in the target language is generated using a first machine translation model and wherein the second instance of text in the target language is generated using a machine translation model (MT module, [0044]-[0045]).
Waibel does not specifically mention: neural machine translation and a distinct second neural machine translation model.
Pal discloses neural machine translation and a distinct second neural machine translation model (SS and MS models, Section 3.3.2, page 831).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Waibel by utilizing neural machine translation and a distinct second neural machine translation model for reasons similar to those for claim 1.
Consider claim 4, Waibel discloses the first instance of text in the target language is generated using a multilingual machine translation model and wherein the second instance of text in the target language is generated using the multilingual machine translation model (multilingual MT module, [0044]-[0045]).
Waibel does not specifically mention: neural machine translation.
Pal discloses neural machine translation (NMT Task, Section 3.3.2, page 831).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Waibel by utilizing neural machine translation for reasons similar to those for claim 1.
Consider claim 5, Waibel does not, but Pal discloses the one or more translation errors introduced by the neural machine translation model are one or more words incorrectly translated from the source language to the target language (word order errors, page 832, Section 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Waibel such that the one or more translation errors introduced by the neural machine translation model are one or more words incorrectly translated from the source language to the target language for reasons similar to those for claim 1.
Consider claim 6, Waibel does not, but Pal discloses the one or more translation errors introduced by the neural machine translation model are one or more words incorrectly translated from the source language to the target language (word order errors, page 832, Section 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Waibel such that the one or more translation errors introduced by the neural machine translation model are one or more words incorrectly translated from the source language to the target language for reasons similar to those for claim 1.
Consider claim 7, Waibel does not, but Pal discloses the multilingual automatic post-editing model is a transformer model that includes a transformer encoder and a transformer decoder (multi-source transformer-based APE includes encoders and decoder, Figure 1, page 829).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Waibel such that the multilingual automatic post-editing model is a transformer model that includes a transformer encoder and a transformer decoder for reasons similar to those for claim 1.
Consider claim 10, Waibel discloses the first instance of text in the target language is generated using a first machine translation model and wherein the second instance of text in the target language is generated using a machine translation model (MT module, [0044]-[0045]).
Waibel does not specifically mention: neural machine translation and a distinct second neural machine translation model.
Pal discloses neural machine translation and a distinct second neural machine translation model (SS and MS models, Section 3.3.2, page 831).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Waibel by utilizing neural machine translation and a distinct second neural machine translation model for reasons similar to those for claim 1.
Consider claim 11, Waibel discloses the first instance of text in the target language is generated using a multilingual machine translation model and wherein the second instance of text in the target language is generated using the multilingual machine translation model (multilingual MT module, [0044]-[0045]).
Waibel does not specifically mention: neural machine translation.
Pal discloses neural machine translation (NMT Task, Section 3.3.2, page 831).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Waibel by utilizing neural machine translation for reasons similar to those for claim 1.
Consider claim 12, Waibel does not, but Pal discloses the one or more translation errors introduced by the neural machine translation model are one or more words incorrectly translated from the source language to the target language (word order errors, page 832, Section 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Waibel such that the one or more translation errors introduced by the neural machine translation model are one or more words incorrectly translated from the source language to the target language for reasons similar to those for claim 1.
Consider claim 13, Waibel does not, but Pal discloses the one or more translation errors introduced by the neural machine translation model are one or more words incorrectly translated from the source language to the target language (word order errors, page 832, Section 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Waibel such that the one or more translation errors introduced by the neural machine translation model are one or more words incorrectly translated from the source language to the target language for reasons similar to those for claim 1.
Consider claim 14, Waibel does not, but Pal discloses the multilingual automatic post-editing model is a transformer model that includes a transformer encoder and a transformer decoder (multi-source transformer-based APE includes encoders and decoder, Figure 1, page 829).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Waibel such that the multilingual automatic post-editing model is a transformer model that includes a transformer encoder and a transformer decoder for reasons similar to those for claim 1.
Consider claim 17, Waibel discloses the first instance of text in the target language is generated using a first machine translation model and wherein the second instance of text in the target language is generated using a machine translation model (MT module, [0044]-[0045]).
Waibel does not specifically mention: neural machine translation and a distinct second neural machine translation model.
Pal discloses neural machine translation and a distinct second neural machine translation model (SS and MS models, Section 3.3.2, page 831).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Waibel by utilizing neural machine translation and a distinct second neural machine translation model for reasons similar to those for claim 1.
Consider claim 18, Waibel discloses the first instance of text in the target language is generated using a multilingual machine translation model and wherein the second instance of text in the target language is generated using the multilingual machine translation model (multilingual MT module, [0044]-[0045]).
Waibel does not specifically mention: neural machine translation.
Pal discloses neural machine translation (NMT Task, Section 3.3.2, page 831).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Waibel by utilizing neural machine translation for reasons similar to those for claim 1.
Consider claim 19, Waibel does not, but Pal discloses the one or more translation errors introduced by the neural machine translation model are one or more words incorrectly translated from the source language to the target language (word order errors, page 832, Section 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Waibel such that the one or more translation errors introduced by the neural machine translation model are one or more words incorrectly translated from the source language to the target language for reasons similar to those for claim 1.
Consider claim 20, Waibel does not, but Pal discloses the one or more translation errors introduced by the neural machine translation model are one or more words incorrectly translated from the source language to the target language (word order errors, page 832, Section 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Waibel such that the one or more translation errors introduced by the neural machine translation model are one or more words incorrectly translated from the source language to the target language for reasons similar to those for claim 1.
Claims 2, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waibel et al. (US 20110307241) in view of Pal et al. (“A Transformer-Based Multi-Source Automatic Post-Editing System”. Proceedings of the Third Conference on Machine Translation (WMT), Volume 2: Shared Task Papers, pages 827–835 Belgium, Brussels, October 31- November 1, 2018), in further view of Koh (US 20200152186).
Consider claim 2, Waibel and Pal do not, but Koh discloses causing the client device to perform one or more actions based on the edited text comprises: processing the edited text to determine one or more device actions of a device associated with the client device, wherein the device associated with the client device is a light, a thermostat, or a camera (correcting, i.e. editing “turn on the light above the refrigerator” to “kitchen light on”, [0011-0012], noting the claim language “or” only requiring one in the alternative); and causing the device to perform the one or more device actions (turning the kitchen light on, [0011]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Waibel and Pal by causing the client device to perform one or more actions based on the edited text comprises: processing the edited text to determine one or more device actions of a device associated with the client device, wherein the device associated with the client device is a light, a thermostat, or a camera; and causing the device to perform the one or more device actions in order to allow control of devices even when a user does not know or remember the voice command, as suggested by Koh ([0011]), predictably resulting in an improved user experience in an unfamiliar situation such as a hotel room, as suggested by Koh ([0011]). The references cited are analogous art in the same field of post-editing.
Consider claim 9, Waibel and Pal do not, but Koh discloses causing the client device to perform one or more actions based on the edited text comprises: processing the edited text to determine one or more device actions of a device associated with the client device, wherein the device associated with the client device is a light, a thermostat, or a camera (correcting, i.e. editing “turn on the light above the refrigerator” to “kitchen light on”, [0011-0012]); and causing the device to perform the one or more device actions (turning the kitchen light on, [0011]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Waibel and Pal by causing the client device to perform one or more actions based on the edited text comprises: processing the edited text to determine one or more device actions of a device associated with the client device, wherein the device associated with the client device is a light, a thermostat, or a camera; and causing the device to perform the one or more device actions for reasons similar to those for claim 2.
Consider claim 16, Waibel and Pal do not, but Koh discloses causing the client device to perform one or more actions based on the edited text comprises: processing the edited text to determine one or more device actions of a device associated with the client device, wherein the device associated with the client device is a light, a thermostat, or a camera (correcting, i.e. editing “turn on the light above the refrigerator” to “kitchen light on”, [0011-0012]); and causing the device to perform the one or more device actions (turning the kitchen light on, [0011]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Waibel and Pal by causing the client device to perform one or more actions based on the edited text comprises: processing the edited text to determine one or more device actions of a device associated with the client device, wherein the device associated with the client device is a light, a thermostat, or a camera; and causing the device to perform the one or more device actions for reasons similar to those for claim 2.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jesse S Pullias/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2655 07/20/26