DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 7, 9 – 15, 17 - 22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,159,119. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 – 20 of the instant application are similar in scope and content of the claims of the cited US patent.
It would have been obvious to an artisan at the time the invention was made to use the teaching of claims 1 – 7, 9 – 15, 17 - 22 of the '119’ Patent as a general teaching for generating prompts, to perform method as claimed in the present invention. The instant claims obviously encompass the claimed invention of the '119’ Patent and differ only in the method steps. The extent that the instant claims are broaden and therefore generic to claimed invention of '119’ Patent [species], In re Goodman 29 USPQ 2d 2010 CAFC 1993, states that a generic claim cannot be issued without a terminal disclaimer, if a species claim has been previously been claimed in a co-pending application. And since the structure is as recited, the method step is obtained and therefore, obvious.
Here is a comparison between claim 11 of the instant application and claim 1 of the cited patent (12,159,119).
Instant Application 18/773,183
Patent Application 12,159,119
Comparison
1.A method comprising:
A method for generating prompts for input to a large language model, the method comprising:
Similar
receiving, from a user device, a natural language prompt and an indication of a data store comprising a plurality of input documents associated with the natural language
prompt;
receiving a request from a client machine to generate a novel text portion providing a designated written response to factual assertions in an input document; dividing the input document into a plurality of input text portions each having a respective number of words below a designated chunk threshold;
Similar
generating a first text generation prompt based on the natural language prompt, the plurality of input documents, and a first text generation prompt template of a plurality
of stored text generation prompt templates;
determining via a processor a first plurality of text generation prompts by combining the plurality of input text portions with a first text generation prompt template including a first fillable portion and a first natural language instruction to the large language model to identify factual assertions in an input text portion and a first fillable portion, each of the first plurality of text generation prompts including a respective input text portion replacing the first fillable portion of the first text generation prompt template;
Similar
transmitting the first text generation prompt and the indication of the data store
comprising the plurality of input documents to a remote text generation modeling system;
transmitting a first one or more text generation prompt messages including the first plurality of text generation prompts to the large language model for text generation via a communication interface;
Similar
receiving, a first text generation prompt response message from the remote text
generation modeling system, the first text generation prompt response message
comprising first novel text portions generated by the remote text generation modeling system; identifying one or more factual assertions in the first text generation prompt
response message;
receiving a first plurality of text generation prompt response messages from the large language model for text generation via the communication interface, each of the first plurality of text generation prompt response messages identifying a respective one or more factual assertions in the respective input text portion; receiving user input including a plurality of response instructions corresponding to the one or more factual assertions identified in the first plurality of text generation prompt response messages, the plurality of response instructions indicating whether to admit or deny the corresponding factual assertions;
Similar
generating a second text generation prompt based on the first text generation
prompt response message, the one or more factual assertions, and a second text
generation prompt template of the plurality of stored text generation prompt templates,
the second text generation prompt comprising natural language instructions for the remote text generation modeling system to compare the one or more factual assertions to
the plurality of input documents;
determining via the processor a second plurality of text generation prompts based on a second text generation prompt template including a second fillable portion and a second natural language instruction to the large language model to generate a written response to one or more factual assertions identified in the first plurality of text generation prompt response messages, each of the second plurality of text generation prompts including a respective one or more of the factual assertions replacing the second fillable portion of the second text generation prompt template and indicating a respective one or more of response instructions to the large language model indicating whether to admit or deny the corresponding factual assertions,
Similar
receiving a second text generation prompt response message from the remote text
generation modeling system comprising second novel text portions generated by the
remote text generation modeling system; and
transmitting a second one or more text generation prompt messages including the second plurality of text generation prompts to the large language model for factual assertion text generation via the communication interface; receiving a second plurality of text generation prompt response messages from the large language model for text generation via the communication interface, each of the second plurality of text generation prompt response messages including a respective written response admitting or denying the respective one or more factual assertions determined based on the response instructions;
Similar
identifying at least one factual assertion of the one or more factual assertions as a hallucination generated by the remote text generation modeling system based on the
second text generation prompt response message.
determining a response message by combining the respective written responses admitting or denying the respective one or more factual assertions; and transmitting the response message to the client machine.
Similar
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 10, 11, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Araki (US PAP 2023/0316001) in view of TUNSTALL-PEDOE et al. (US PAP 2023/0316006).
As per claims 1, 11, Araki teaches a system comprising:
one or more processors; and a non-transitory memory in communication with the one or more processors, the non-transitory memory comprising a plurality of stored text generation prompt templates and instructions stored thereon, that when executed by the one or more processors, are configured to cause the system to (paragraphs 4 – 6):
receive, from a user device, a natural language prompt and an indication of a data store comprising a plurality of input documents associated with the natural language prompt (“the entity type generator 206 is configured to leverage a heuristics-based process to extract high-level concepts of target entities from first sentences in one or more electronic documents 214, such as a corpus of Wikipedia articles. Such heuristic-based processes are beneficial when an electronic source (e.g., Wikipedia) includes documents or articles with answer candidates and entity types.”; paragraphs 4 – 6, 33);
generate a first text generation prompt based on the natural language prompt, the plurality of input documents, and a first text generation prompt template of the plurality of stored text generation prompt templates (“As one example, for instance, the prompt may be generated by the processing system 110 via a template with two distinct slots: an input slot [X] and an answer slot [Y]. More specifically, in FIG. 3, as a non-limiting example, the prompt was generated using a template (e.g., x.sub.template=“[X] was founded in [Y].”). In this example, the prompt is generated when the input slot [X] is filled with an input entity x.sub.entity (e.g., “Robert Bosch GmbH) such that the x.sub.template is instantiated into x.sub.prompt=“Robert Bosch GmbH was founded in [Y].” FIG. 3 provides an example of a prompt that may be obtained as input data by the KRETC system 200.”; paragraphs 4 – 6, 22 – 24);
transmit the first text generation prompt and the indication of the data store
comprising the plurality of input documents to a remote text generation modeling system (“the knowledge retrieval framework 130 includes a number of software components, such as a candidate generator 202, a sub-prompt generator 204, an entity type generator 206, and entity clarification interface 208… the machine learning system 140 includes at least one pre-trained language model, any suitable artificial neural network model, or any number and combination thereof. For instance, as a non-limiting example, the pre-trained language model may include BERT, GPT-3”; paragraphs 19- 23);
receive, a first text generation prompt response message from the remote text
generation modeling system, the first text generation prompt response message
comprising first novel text portions generated by the remote text generation modeling
system (“the machine learning system 140 is configured to generate output that includes at least four answer candidates (“Germany”, “Stuttgart”, “1886”, and “the 19th century”) along with their corresponding confidence scores (−0.89, −1.57, −2.45, and −3.12). In this non-limiting example, the answer candidate of “Germany” is considered to have the highest confidence (−0.89) while the answer candidate of “the 19.sup.th century” is considered to have the lowest confidence (−3.12) among the four answer candidates shown in FIG. 3. In this regard, the candidate generator 202 is configured to perform the confidence computation and select a set of candidates for the prompt (e.g., “Robert Bosch GmbH was founded in [Y],” where [Y] is the answer slot of the prompt). As shown in FIG. 3, the set of candidates includes four answer candidates, which are selected from a collection of answer candidates that are generated by the machine learning system 140.”; paragraphs 24 – 27);
identify one or more factual assertions in the first text generation prompt response message (“the entity type generator 206 is configured perform factual knowledge retrieval on each sub-prompt to obtain the entity types of the answer candidates.”; paragraphs 14, 15, 29 - 33);
generate a second text generation prompt based on the first text generation prompt response message, the one or more factual assertions, and a second text generation prompt template of the plurality of stored text generation prompt templates, the second text generation prompt comprising natural language instructions for the remote text generation modeling system to compare the one or more factual assertions to the plurality of input documents (“generating a set of second prompts that are based on the set of candidates. The method includes generating a set of entity types using the set of second prompts. The set of entity types categorize the set of candidates…Upon generating each sub-prompt for each answer candidate within the set of candidates, the entity type generator 206 is configured perform factual knowledge retrieval on each sub-prompt to obtain the entity types of the answer candidates.”; paragraphs 4 – 6, 29 – 33);
receive a second text generation prompt response message from the remote text
generation modeling system comprising second novel text portions generated by the
remote text generation modeling system (“the machine learning system 200 is configured to generate a number of valid answer candidates for the prompt (e.g., “Robert Bosch GmbH was founded in ______”). In this regard, the entity clarification interface 208 is advantageous in enabling a user 300 to select from among a set of answer candidates via selecting a desired entity type. This entity type selection is advantageous as the answer candidate with the highest confidence score may not provide the user with the desired entity data of the desired scope.”; paragraphs 29 – 35).
However, Araki does not specifically teach identify at least one factual assertion of the one or more factual assertions as a hallucination generated by the remote text generation modeling system based on the second text generation prompt response message.
TUNSTALL-PEDOE et al. disclose that the fact checking could be text generated by an LLM in a chat or other application where the purpose of the fact checking was to minimise hallucination or otherwise incorrect information given to the user…LLMs frequently hallucinate answers to questions and produce facts in text they generate that are not grounded in reality (paragraphs 770, 845).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine hallucination in factual assertions as taught by TUNSTALL-PEDOE et al. in Araki, because that would help improve the output, such as continuation text output, generated by the LLM in response to a prompt (paragraph 22).
As per claims 8, 18, Araki in view of TUNSTALL-PEDOE et al. further disclose identifying one or more factual assertions in the first text generation prompt response message comprises including within the first text generation prompt natural language instructions for the remote text generation modeling system to identify each factual assertion within the first text generation prompt response message (“Extracting from the natural language a collection of one or more factual assertions asserted within the natural language [0775] Checking the one or more factual assertions for factual accuracy.”; Araki, paragraphs 29 – 35; TUNSTALL-PEDOE et al. paragraphs 773 – 782).
As per claims 10, 20, Araki in view of TUNSTALL-PEDOE et al. further disclose selecting a relevant text generation prompt template; and modifying the relevant text generation prompt template to include portions of the natural language prompt (“in FIG. 3, the sub-prompt generator 204 includes a sub-prompt template 210A, which is defined as z.sub.template=[Y] is a [Z] and applied to each of the answer candidates. More specifically, the sub-prompt generator 204 fills the input slot [Y] with an answer candidate to create each sub-prompt, where [Z] represents the output slot (or the type slot) that contains the entity type. The KRETC system 200 is not limited to using z.sub.template=[Y] is a [Z] as the sub-prompt template.”; Araki, paragraphs 28 – 35; TUNSTALL-PEDOE et al. paragraphs 50, 773 – 782).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 – 7, 9, 12 – 17, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and filing a terminal disclaimer.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claims 2 – 7, 9, 12 – 17, and 19, the prior art made of record does not teach or suggest generating a third text generation prompt comprising instructions for the remote text generation modeling system to correct the at least one factual assertion identified as the hallucination; transmitting the third text generation prompt to the remote text generation modeling system; receiving a third text generation prompt response message from the remote text generation modeling system comprising third novel text portions generated by the remote text generation modeling system; parsing the first text generation prompt response message, the second text generation prompt response message, and the third text generation prompt response message to generate a
plurality of answers corresponding with a plurality of natural language questions;
transmitting an output message comprising the plurality of answers to the user device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Rhodes et al. teach METHODS FOR IMPROVING NATURAL LANGUAGE PROCESSING WITH ENHANCED AUTOMATED SCREENING FOR AUTOMATED GENERATION OF A CLINICAL SUMMARIZATION REPORT AND DEVICES THEREOF. Ferrucci et al. teach Knowledge Acquisition Tool. Boytsov et al. teach INTERACTION LAYER NEURAL NETWORK FOR SEARCH, RETRIEVAL, AND RANKING. Arnold et al. teach Generation And Management Of An Artificial Intelligence (AI) Model Documentation Throughout Its Life Cycle.
/LEONARD SAINT-CYR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2658