DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US 2021/0365894 A1) in view of Charles et al. (US 2017/0316690 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 17, Ma discloses one or more non-transitory storage media (e.g. [0003]) storing instructions thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to operations, a method (e.g. [0005]), and a system (e.g. [0003, 0007]), comprising one or more memory devices storing instructions thereon that, when executed by one or more processors or processing circuits, cause the one or more processors or processing circuits to:
receive, via an application integrated within a meeting system of a building (e.g. [0050, 0100]: receive request from mobile device 40; [0064]: mobile phone application), a request (e.g. [0074, 0100]: assignment request includes identifier) for a meeting at the building, the request including (1) information to identify an external attendee for the meeting at the building and (2) meeting parameters (e.g. [0059, 0060]: circuit 150 register and manages entities data includes context information; [0043, 0079-0080, 0101]: context information includes meeting schedule and physical characteristics of an individual);
identify, based at least on the information included in the request, the external attendee (e.g. [0079, 0080]: identify an individual based on context information associated with the individual);
retrieve, from a parking system that controls access to a plurality of parking spots for the building, one or more datasets that represent one or more parking spots of the plurality of parking spots that correspond to the meeting parameters (e.g. [0080]: dynamically assign parking space to the individual by analyzing currently assigned parking spaces and parking space amenities);
transmit one or more signals to the parking system to reserve a given parking spot of the one or more parking spots for the external attendee (e.g. [0085]);
generate an invite to the meeting for the external attendee, wherein the invite includes an access control credential (e.g. [0105]: barcode) for the external attendee to provide access to the given parking spot (e.g. [0103]);
Ma fails to disclose, but Charles teaches detect a modification to the request for the meeting; and automatically modify a reservation of the given parking spot for the external attendee by adjusting one or more parameters of the reservation of the given parking spot to reflect the modification to the request for the meeting (e.g. [0136]: continuously monitor and repeat prediction and calculation; Figs. 3-4 & [0088, 0092]: reserve/request parking for a scheduled class, system collects data include class schedule changes or classroom changes to suggest/predict an available parking spot).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to update/modify parking reservation based on changes of a meeting time or meeting place so as to reserve a best suitable parking spot for user.
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 18, Charles teaches the modification to the request for the meeting includes at least one of a cancellation of the request for the meeting (e.g. [0092]: class cancellation), a change to a time of the meeting, a change to a location of the meeting, or a change to a date of the meeting.
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 19, Charles teaches adjusting the one or more parameters of the reservation of the given parking spot includes: retrieving, from the parking system, one or more second datasets that represent one or more second parking spots of the plurality of parking spots; and transmitting one or more second signals to the parking system to reserve a second given parking spot of the one or more second parking spots (e.g. [0088, 0092, 0136]: Charles suggests continuously update parking prediction based on schedule changes implies parking reservation is updated in view of schedule changes).
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 20, Charles teaches adjusting the one or more parameters of the reservation of the given parking spot includes: transmitting one or more second signals to the parking system to change the reservation of the given parking spot to reflect the change to the date of the meeting; and transmitting one or more third signals to a computing device of the external attendee to indicate the change to the reservation of the given parking spot (e.g. [0088, 0092, 0136]: Charles suggests continuously update parking prediction based on schedule changes implies parking reservation is updated in view of schedule changes).
Regarding claims 5, 13, Ma discloses the application integrated within the meeting system includes at least one of: an application stored on a user device that created the request (e.g. [0050, 0100]: receive request from mobile device 40; [0064]: mobile phone application); a calendar software configured to receive one or more requests for meetings; or a computing device located within the building.
Regarding claim 6 and 14, Ma discloses the request for the meeting is provided to the application by a computing device associated with a host of the meeting (e.g. [0050, 0100]: receive request from mobile device 40; [0064]: mobile phone application), and wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to: retrieve, from a database, a set of permissions associated with the host, the set of permissions to identify one or more second parking spots of the plurality of parking spots that the host has permission to reserve, the one or more second parking spots including the one or more parking spots (e.g. [0080]: access right).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Charles teaches adjusting the one or more parameters of the reservation of the given parking spot includes: automatically updating one or more parameters of the access control credential to reflect the modification to the request for the meeting; wherein updating the one or more parameters of the access control credential includes at least one of: adjusting a start time for which the access control credential provides access to the given parking spot; or adjusting an end time for which the access control credential no longer provides access to the given parking spot (e.g. [0088, 0092, 0136]: Charles suggests continuously update parking prediction based on schedule changes implies parking reservation is updated in view of schedule changes; thus, start time and end time are adjusted).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Ma and Charles in combination discloses the request for the meeting includes an indication of a plurality of external attendees for the meeting (e.g. Ma: [0109]: attendees), the plurality of external attendees including the external attendee, and wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to: responsive to generation of the invite (e.g. Ma: [0100]),
monitor one or more interactions with the application integrated within the meeting system; detect, responsive to monitoring the one or more interactions, the modification to the request for the meeting; determine, responsive to detection of the modification to the request for the meeting, a number of external attendees of the plurality of external attendees that have parking reservations at the building; and transmit, responsive to determination of the number of external attendees, one or more second signals the parking system to modify the parking reservations to reflect the modification to the request for the meeting (e.g. [0088, 0091, 0092, 0136]: Charles suggests continuously update parking prediction based on schedule changes implies parking reservation is updated in view of schedule changes).
Regarding claim 21, Ma discloses the external attendee is, prior to the request for the meeting, without parking privileges at the building (e.g. [0094]: visitor implies no prior parking privilege), and wherein generation of the invite includes the one or more processors to: instantiate the access control credential to provide the external attendee with temporary parking privileges (e.g. [0094]: assign parking for visitors);
Charles teaches wherein the access control credential is updateable based on detection of the modification to the request (e.g. [0088, 0091, 0092, 0136]: Charles suggests continuously update parking prediction based on schedule changes implies parking reservation is updated in view of schedule changes), and wherein detection of the modification causes the one or more processors to: update at least one of (i) a duration of time for which the access control credential provides the temporary parking privileges or (ii) a day for which the access control credential provides the temporary parking privileges (e.g. [0092]: cancellation of a scheduled class means the reservation for the day is changed/cancelled).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to update/modify parking reservation based on changes of a meeting time or meeting place so as to reserve a best suitable parking spot according to user’s schedule for the user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments with respect claim 1 regarding Charles, Ma discloses dynamically assign a parking space for an external attendee based on a scheduled meeting (see rejection of claim 1), and Charles further teaches a system provides a suggested or an assigned parking (e.g. [0111]) based on a predefined request according start time of a scheduled class (e.g. [0091]), and the parking prediction and suggestion modify the predefined request based on changes of the class schedules (e.g. [0092]: cancellations or room changes). Therefore, the combination of Ma and Charles discloses the claimed invention.
In addition, claims 2-21 are unpatentable at least in view of foregoing reasons and rejections set forth in current Office action.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAM WAN MA/Examiner, Art Unit 2688