DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-3 and 9-16 are pending. Claims 1-3, 9-11 and 13 are the subject of this FINAL Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 - Maintained
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DANLER (US 4284370), in view of KR20170075491A.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply familiar air handler/conveyor after the distribution apparatus of KR20170075491A to achieve upright interfacing with production machines, and reduce preform scratching with a reasonable expectation of success.
As to claim 1, KR20170075491A teaches a container treatment plant for producing containers, comprising: a production machine for producing preforms (“The present invention relates to a preform cooling and conveying device and a preform carrier for the conveying device. ¶ PET, a disposable container that can hold various kinds of beverages, is made of polyethyleneterephthalate (PET) as a raw material through a preform molding step and a blow molding step. A preform is first prepared by using an injection apparatus, the preform is fixed to a mold of a blow molding apparatus, and heated and pressed. ¶ The preform is a preform before being molded into a PET bottle through a blow molding step, and its shape takes the form of a test tube.), at least one unit for producing containers from the preforms”), at least one distribution apparatus for the orderly distribution of the preforms produced by the production machine (Fig. 1, which is the same distribution apparatus as instant Figure 1a), wherein the distribution apparatus is configured to receive a plurality of the preforms, produced by the production machine, in an orderly manner in the form of a two-dimensional matrix arrangement and to transfer them to the air conveyor in an orderly manner (Fig. 1).
KR20170075491A Fig. 1, top; Instant Fig. 1a, bottom
As to claim 1, KR20170075491A teaches the distribution apparatus has receptacles for the preforms to be received and wherein the receptacles are movable between a holding position in which the preforms are received and held in the distribution apparatus and a release position in which the preforms are no longer held by the receptacles of the distribution apparatus (Figs. 1-8).
As to claim 1, KR20170075491A teaches the distribution apparatus has a plurality of movable support rails and wherein the receptacles for the preforms to be received are formed by the support rails, and the support rails are designed such that the preforms can be received with their support rings suspended in the support rails in the distribution apparatus in the holding position, and wherein the support rails are configured such that they can be moved from the holding position to the release position, wherein the preforms are no longer held by the support rails in the release position and can be transferred to the air conveyor (Figs. 1-8).
As to claim 1, KR20170075491A teaches pairs of support rails are arranged parallel to one another at a distance, and preforms in the holding position can in each case be held by opposite support rails of a pair of support rails, and the pairs of support rails are configured to define a row or column of the two-dimensional matrix arrangement (Figs. 1-8).
As to claim 1, KR20170075491A teaches the distribution apparatus has at least one track for transporting the received preforms and at least one outlet leading to the air conveyor, wherein a portion of the at least one track defines at least one row of the two-dimensional matrix arrangement, and wherein the distribution apparatus is configured to transport the received preforms along the at least one track to the at least one outlet of the distribution apparatus, in order to be able to transfer the received preforms to the air conveyor (Figs. 1-8).
As to claim 1, KR20170075491A teaches the distribution apparatus has a plurality of support rails that define the at least one track, and wherein the support rails are designed such that the preforms can be transported with their support rings suspended in the support rails (Figs. 1-8).
As to claim 2, KR20170075491A teaches the distribution apparatus is configured to transfer a portion of the received preforms to the air conveyor in an orderly manner in a row, and wherein the air conveyor is configured to transport the preforms, received from the distribution apparatus, in an orderly manner in a row to the at least one unit for producing containers from the preforms (Figs. 1-8).
As to claim 3, KR20170075491A teaches the distribution apparatus is displaceable transversely to the transport direction of the air conveyor and/or wherein the air conveyor is an aseptic air conveyor (Figs. 1-8).
As to claim 9, KR20170075491A teaches the distribution apparatus has a number of mechanically drivable carriers, which are configured to transport the received preforms along the at least one track defined by the support rails to the at least one outlet of the distribution apparatus (Figs. 1-8).
As to claim 10, KR20170075491A teaches the distribution apparatus further comprises circulating transport means, which are assigned to the carrying bars, and wherein the carriers for transporting the preforms are attached to the circulating transport means (Figs. 1-8).
As to claim 11, KR20170075491A teaches the distribution apparatus is configured to receive, at the same time in an orderly manner, a multiple of the number of preforms that can be produced per cycle of the production machine, and/or wherein the distribution apparatus is configured to receive 50 to 300 preforms at the same time in an orderly manner (Figs. 1-8).
As to claim 13, KR20170075491A teaches the at least one unit for producing containers from the preforms is a unit of the following type: infeed unit of a stretch blow molding machine, infeed unit of a heating section, conveyor unit, infeed of a preform cleaning unit, inspection unit, scrap collecting unit (“A preform is first prepared by using an injection apparatus, the preform is fixed to a mold of a blow molding apparatus, and heated and pressed. ¶ The preform is a preform before being molded into a PET bottle through a blow molding step, and its shape takes the form of a test tube”).
KR20170075491A does not explicitly teach an air conveyor after the distribution apparatus and before the container producing machine, at least one air conveyor for the orderly feeding of the preforms produced by the production machine to the at least one unit for producing containers from the preforms.
However, air conveyors for conveying preforms to final molding machines were a well-known option in the art routinely used to increase production efficiency, and reduce scratching of preforms. For example, DANLER teaches
Blown bottles especially blown plastic bottles are now commonly used for packaging a variety of consumer products including soft drink beverages. In the fabrication of blown plastic bottles, a bottle preform is fabricated and subsequently blown into a full-size bottle. Both the bottle preform and the bottle itself have rounded bottoms and are not easily conveyed in an upright manner by conventional handling equipment. Nevertheless, upright conveying is highly desirable for convenient interfacing with other machines at each end of the conveying section involved in the bottle/preform fabrication. And so belt conveyors, bulk conveyors, or side conveyors for bottles and preforms are not satisfactory. Moreover, the plastic bottle or preform is easily scratched during handling and accordingly existing conveyors are additionally unsuitable for handling the bottles and preforms. Bulk and side conveying of the preforms and bottles causes unacceptable damage to their threads and sealing surfaces
(Background of Invention). The device of DANLER utilizes the lip of the preform to handle the preforms (Figs. 1-5). A skilled artisan would have been strongly motivated to include an air transport from the distribution device to the molding/production device of KR20170075491A to transport the round-bottom, lipped preforms of KR20170075491A more efficiently, and prevent scratching. This is the simple addition of a known device to a known problem to achieve known results.
In sum, the claims are obvious because the prior art as whole demonstrates that air conveyors were routinely used to achieve known molding results with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
The rejections are maintained because despite Applicants’ argument that the prior art teaches only horizontally transported preforms, the claims do not require any particular transport configuration. Applicants argue that “the system of Yoon can only transport horizontally lying preforms but is not capable and not suitable for the transport of preforms with their support rings suspended in support rails.” However, the product claims do not require any particular structure that necessitates a vertical transport. Even so, Yoon teaches vertical transport: “A frame (13) providing a supporting force; A driving pulley 17 and a driven pulley 19 which are rotatably supported on the frame 13 and arranged vertically in the vertical direction and a driven pulley 17 which spans the drive pulley 17 and the driven pulley 19” (claim 1; Fig. 1).
If Applicants intend the amended language to infer this, then this fails because it is an intended use, or functional language that does not dictate any particular structure other than something that interacts with a “support ring” of a preform. This structure is shown in Yoon
Applicants should consider amending their product claim to recite a specific structure patentably distinguishable from the prior art.
Applicants also argue that a vertical carrier configuration is incompatible with Yoon’s purpose of transport and cooling. The Examiner finds this argument unconvincing. As explained above, Yoon transports the preforms in the vertical direction. Furthermore, Danler states “[i]t is possible therefore to operate the conveyor more efficiently at lower air pressures in the conveying air not only for conveying horizontally but also for conveying from lower to higher elevations” (Summary of Invention). Moreover, the lip-interacting structure of DANLER allows for carrying in any direction: “While at rest the bottle preforms 40 will hang vertically from their neckring engagement with the channel guide 50. However, while being conveyed the preforms tend to swing in a vertical plane lying in the direction of conveyance. The upper and lower rails 60, 62 of the channel guides are spaced to limit swinging movement of the neckring and of the preforms. The channel guides prevent fore and aft as well as side-to-side swinging movement of the preforms” (col. 3, ll. 15-24).
A skilled artisan was perfectly capable of adapting the rail system of DANLER to carry preforms using the preform lip of Yoon. A skilled artisan with ordinary creativity and common sense would easily see the value of the rail-lip system of Danler to allow carrying preforms in any orientation because the system of Danler prevents movement of preforms in any direction.
Double Patenting- Obvious Type - Maintained
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Instant claims 1-3, 9-11 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over conflicting claims 1-15 of U.S. 18/925584, in view of DANLER (US 4284370) and KR20170075491A.
The instant claims are obvious over the conflicting claims because it would have been obvious to apply familiar transport devices for preforms as suggested in the conflicting claims to achieve familiar transport results. Specifically, the conflicting claims teach the same production machine-conveyor/distributor-unit for producing containers (i.e. blow molding machine) setup as claimed here:
1. System for producing containers from preforms, the system comprising a production machine for producing preforms, a blow molding machine for producing containers from preforms, a transport device for feeding preforms from the production machine to the blow molding machine and a storage device, to which preforms can be fed from the transport device at a removal point and transferred to the transport device at a transfer point, wherein the storage device comprises a temperature-control device for temperature-control of the preforms.
First, to give meaning to this generic phrase “transport device,” one would look to the specification and find both a distribution apparatus and air conveyor as in Figure 1 here (paras. 0008 & 0047-48, for example). Even if the specification does not provide enough clarity, yest the prior art clearly demonstrates that both distribution apparatus and air conveyor as in Figure 1 were familiar options for transporting preforms. For example, KR20170075491A teaches a container treatment plant for producing containers, comprising: a production machine for producing preforms (“The present invention relates to a preform cooling and conveying device and a preform carrier for the conveying device. ¶ PET, a disposable container that can hold various kinds of beverages, is made of polyethyleneterephthalate (PET) as a raw material through a preform molding step and a blow molding step. A preform is first prepared by using an injection apparatus, the preform is fixed to a mold of a blow molding apparatus, and heated and pressed. ¶ The preform is a preform before being molded into a PET bottle through a blow molding step, and its shape takes the form of a test tube.), at least one unit for producing containers from the preforms”), at least one distribution apparatus for the orderly distribution of the preforms produced by the production machine (Fig. 1, which is the same distribution apparatus as instant Figure 1a), wherein the distribution apparatus is configured to receive a plurality of the preforms, produced by the production machine, in an orderly manner in the form of a two-dimensional matrix arrangement and to transfer them to the air conveyor in an orderly manner (Fig. 1).
KR20170075491A Fig. 1, top; Instant Fig. 1a, bottom
In other words, the distribution device of Fig. 1a was a well-known option for transporting preforms.
Further, DANLER teaches
Blown bottles especially blown plastic bottles are now commonly used for packaging a variety of consumer products including soft drink beverages. In the fabrication of blown plastic bottles, a bottle preform is fabricated and subsequently blown into a full-size bottle. Both the bottle preform and the bottle itself have rounded bottoms and are not easily conveyed in an upright manner by conventional handling equipment. Nevertheless, upright conveying is highly desirable for convenient interfacing with other machines at each end of the conveying section involved in the bottle/preform fabrication. And so belt conveyors, bulk conveyors, or side conveyors for bottles and preforms are not satisfactory. Moreover, the plastic bottle or preform is easily scratched during handling and accordingly existing conveyors are additionally unsuitable for handling the bottles and preforms. Bulk and side conveying of the preforms and bottles causes unacceptable damage to their threads and sealing surfaces
(Background of Invention). The device of DANLER utilizes the lip of the preform to handle the preforms (Figs. 1-5). A skilled artisan would have been strongly motivated to include an air transport from the distribution device to the molding/production device of KR20170075491A to transport the round-bottom, lipped preforms of KR20170075491A more efficiently, and prevent scratching. This is the simple addition of a known device to a known problem to achieve known results.
Thus, the claimed distribution device and air conveyor are obvious options that a skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine to achieve efficient, clean transport of preforms.
Response to Arguments
The rejections are maintained for the reason provided above.
Prior Art
The following prior art is also relevant: US 20170252960 (Fig. 5); US 6663813; US20130061557; US 20150079220; EP1343626B1; EP 0856392.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YUNG-SHENG M TSUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1684