DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 33-34 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims need to recite to limitations as cited in the claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 19-20, and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hamed et al (US20210212091).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference Hamed discloses a method for wirelesscommunication (¶0009 discloses a method of wireless communication) comprising: receiving, by a user equipment (UE) from a base station, a configuration message that includes a plurality of candidate cells (¶0009 discloses that the scheduling entity (base station (e.g., a gNB) see ¶0111) transmits a communication to a scheduled entity (UE see ¶0127), wherein the communication includes a configuration of a plurality of candidate cells) with configurations for each and a measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells; and performing, by the UE, a measurement for the at least one candidate cell that is based on the measurement configuration (¶0124 discloses that the communication can provide a configuration of the candidate cells that the scheduled entity can use to connect with one or more of the candidate cells… the configuration may include, for each candidate cell, PCI(s), SSB configuration, and CSI measurement/report configuration), wherein the measurement configuration comprises at least one of a Layer 1 (L1) measurement configuration or a Layer 3 (L3)measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells or a neighbor cell (¶0125 discloses that the scheduling entity 800 receives information about the plurality of candidate cells from the scheduled entity via L1/L2 signaling… the received information may include Layer 1 (L1) measurements of the plurality of candidate cells).
Regarding claim 2, the cited reference Hamed discloses all limitations of claim 1. Hamed further discloses receiving, by the UE from the basestation, a first command identifying to identify at least one of the candidate cells based on the measurement; and triggering, by the UE, a Layer 1 or Layer 2 (L1/L2) mobility from a current serving cell to the identified candidate cell that is based on the first command and the configuration of the identified candidate cell (¶0003 discloses improving L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility, which ensures that a wireless user equipment (UE) is able to change or hand-off from one wireless cell to another wireless cell whenever the UE detects an adjacent wireless cell with better signal quality. ¶0107 discloses that a gNB can signal a UE to preconfigure multiple candidate cells for L1/L2-based inter-cell mobility (e.g., via RRC/MAC-CE/DCI). Candidate cells can be identified by a serving cell ID or PCI, for example, and can be selected based on an L3-based measurement report per neighbor cell (or PCI)).
Regarding claim 19, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 2. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 2.
Regarding claim 33, the cited reference Hamed discloses a wireless communications apparatus comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the processor is configured to read code from the memory (Fig. 10 discloses a hardware implementation for an exemplary scheduled entity 800 which includes a processing system 1014 and a memory 1005 may also be used for storing data that is manipulated by the processor 1004 when executing software) performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 11.
Regarding claim 34, the cited reference Hamed discloses a computer program productcomprising a computer- readable program medium code stored thereupon, the code, whenexecuted by a processor, causing the processor to (Fig. 10 discloses a hardware implementation for an exemplary scheduled entity 800 which includes a processing system 1014 including the execution of software stored on the computer-readable medium 1006. The software executed by the processor 1004) performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Claims 1, 6, 13, 19, 23, 28, and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Raghavan et al (US20230269638).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference Raghavan discloses a method for wireless communication (¶0004 discloses Raghavan) comprising: receiving, by a user equipment (UE) from a base station, a configuration message that includes a plurality of candidate cells with configurations for each and a measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells; and performing, by the UE, a measurement for the at least one candidate cell that is based on the measurement configuration (¶0005-¶006 discloses that The serving cell may provide configuration information to the UE and the UE may receive the configuration information.The UE may determine, based on the configuration information, a first measurement period for inter-frequency layer 1 (L1) measurement on a first neighbor cell (or multiple neighbor cells)), wherein the measurement configuration comprises at least one of a Layer 1 (L1) measurement configuration or a Layer 3 (L3) measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells or a neighbor cell (¶0105 discloses that The configuration information may indicate a measurement configuration for non-serving cell L1 inter-frequency measurements. For example, the configuration information may indicate periodicity, index, and/or time and/or frequency resources of reference signals transmitted by one or more neighbor cells… the configuration information may include measurement configuration for the serving cell and higher layer (e.g., L3, etc.) measurements for non-serving cells).
Regarding claim 6, the cited reference Raghavan discloses all limitations of claim 1. Raghavan further discloses the L1 measurement configuration comprises a reference signal (RS) resource of each candidate cell or neighbor cell (¶0151 discloses that SSB based inter-frequency L1-RSRP measurement… the UE should be capable of performing inter-frequency L1-RSRP measurements based on the configured SSB resource for L1-RSRP computation where ¶0146 discloses the measurements may be performed according to an SMTC period or SMTC configuration of the non-serving cell(s)), the RS resource comprising: a RS resource identification; or at least one of a synchronization signal block (SSB) resource, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource, or a temporary reference signal (TRS) resource (¶0105 discloses that the configuration information may be useable to assist the UE in detecting, measuring … the non-serving cell(s). The configuration information may describe various types of reference signals (RS), such as SSB, CSI-RS, etc); and wherein the RS resource for the candidate cell or the neighbor cell is configured within a set of RS resource for a current serving cell or is configured through a separate structure for listing the RS resource for the candidate cell or the neighbor (¶0039 discloses that the configuration information may indicate the RS (e.g., SSB and/or CSI-RS, etc.) configuration. Further, the configuration including the RS periodicity and/or index of the neighbor cell(s). ¶0139 discloses that the UE may determine characteristics of the RS of the neighbor cell(s), e.g., based on the configuration information… The UE may determine characteristics of various types of RS (e.g., CSI-RS, SSB, etc.)).
Regarding claim 13, the cited reference Raghavan discloses all limitations of claim 6. Raghavan further discloses receiving, by the UE from the basestation, a second command to identify at least one RS resource identification, or at least one cell identification of the candidate cells or the neighbor cells[ ,and performing, by the UE, the measurement based on the identified RS resource identification or cell identification of the candidate cell or the neighbor cell, or reporting, by the UE, the measurement based on the identified RS resources of identified RS resources identification or cell identification of the candidate cell or the neighbor cell (¶0151 discloses that SSB based inter-frequency L1-RSRP measurement… the UE should be capable of performing inter-frequency L1-RSRP measurements based on the configured SSB resource for L1-RSRP computation where ¶0146 discloses the measurements may be performed according to an SMTC period or SMTC configuration of the non-serving cell(s). ¶0105 discloses that the configuration information may be useable to assist the UE in detecting, measuring … the non-serving cell(s). The configuration information may describe various types of reference signals (RS), such as SSB, CSI-RS, etc. ¶0039 discloses that the configuration information may indicate the RS (e.g., SSB and/or CSI-RS, etc.) configuration. Further, the configuration including the RS periodicity and/or index of the neighbor cell(s). ¶0139 discloses that the UE may determine characteristics of the RS of the neighbor cell(s), e.g., based on the configuration information… The UE may determine characteristics of various types of RS (e.g., CSI-RS, SSB, etc.)).
Regarding claim 19, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 23, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 6. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 6.
Regarding claim 28, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 6. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 6.
Regarding claim 33, the cited reference Raghavan discloses a wireless communications apparatus comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the processor is configured to read code from the memory (Fig. 3 discloses a processor 302 and Memory 306) performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 34, the cited reference Raghavan discloses a computer program product comprising a computer- readable program medium code stored thereupon, the code, when executed by a processor, causing the processor to (Fig. 3 discloses a processor 302 and ¶0076 discloses that the processor(s) 302 of the UE device 106 may be configured to execute program instructions stored on a memory medium (e.g., a non-transitory computer-readable memory medium)) performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raghavan et al (US20230269638), in view of Silva et al (US20240022925).
Regarding claim 2, the cited reference Raghavan discloses all limitations of claim 1. However, Raghavan does not explicitly teach receiving, by the UE from the basestation, a first command identifying to identify at least one of the candidate cells based on the measurement; and triggering, by the UE, a Layer 1 or Layer 2 (L1/L2) mobility from a current serving cell to the identified candidate cell that is based on the first command and the configuration of the identified candidate cell.
In an analogous art Silva teaches receiving, by the UE from the basestation, a first command identifying to identify at least one of the candidate cells based on the measurement; and triggering, by the UE, a Layer 1 or Layer 2 (L1/L2) mobility from a current serving cell to the identified candidate cell that is based on the first command and the configuration of the identified candidate cell (¶0068 discloses that a network node is configured to configure a WD to perform neighbor cell measurements on at least one neighbor cell, the at least one neighbor cell being associated with multiple PCIs; receive neighbor cell measurements based on the configuration; and determine whether to configure the WD to perform layer 1/layer2-centric mobility (i.e. switch or handover) based on the received neighbor cell measurements.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Silva to improve network operations and overall communication efficiency for the UE.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 2. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 2.
Claims 3, 8, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raghavan et al (US20230269638), in view of Damnjanovic et al (US20230189094).
Regarding claims 3 and 8, the cited reference Raghavan discloses all limitations of claim 1. However, Raghavan does not explicitly teach:
evaluating, by the UE, the measurements for the candidate cells to identify at least one of the candidate cells; and triggering a Layer 1 or Layer 2 (L1/L2) mobility from a current serving cell to the identified candidate cell that is based on evaluating whether the measurements of the identified candidate cell satisfies execution conditions and configuration of the identified candidate cell, wherein the execution conditions are configured for each of the candidate cells and the execution conditions are included in the configuration message (Claim 3).
wherein the L1 measurement configuration comprises; a threshold for L1 Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) measurements of serving cell to control the Li measurement for the candidate cell or neighbor cell; or a report configuration for triggering a measurement report based on the L1 measurement for the candidate cell or the neighbor cell, the report configuration comprising a report configuration identification and a measurement reporting type (Claim 8).
In an analogous art Damnjanovic teaches:
evaluating, by the UE, the measurements for the candidate cells to identify at least one of the candidate cells; and triggering a Layer 1 or Layer 2 (L1/L2) mobility from a current serving cell to the identified candidate cell that is based on evaluating whether the measurements of the identified candidate cell satisfies execution conditions and configuration of the identified candidate cell, wherein the execution conditions are configured for each of the candidate cells and the execution conditions are included in the configuration message (¶0039 discloses that the UE 104 may include a CHO component 198. In some aspects, the CHO component 198 may be configured to receive, from a first base station, a CHO configuration comprising one or more CHO candidate cell configurations associated with a second base station and one or more execution conditions associated with the first base station and including one or more CHO measurements, the one or more CHO measurements comprising one or more L1 beam or cell specific measurements or one or more L3 beam specific measurements... the CHO component 198 may be further configured to detach from a first cell associated with the first base station and synchronize with a second cell associated with the second base station based on the one or more CHO measurements satisfying the one or more execution conditions.)..
wherein the L1 measurement configuration comprises; a threshold for L1 Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) measurements of serving cell to control the Li measurement for the candidate cell or neighbor cell; or a report configuration for triggering a measurement report based on the L1 measurement for the candidate cell or the neighbor cell, the report configuration comprising a report configuration identification and a measurement reporting type (¶0063 discloses that the UE may receive a CHO configuration including CHO command and associated measurements (which may be also referred to as “measurement metrics” and may include thresholds associated with measurements) and associated conditions…measurements represented by Radio Signal Received Power (RSRP). ¶0077 discloses that an executioncondition may be defined based on L1 measurement of best N beams and L3 measurement of cell-based measurement. In some aspects, the one or more execution conditions and associated thresholds may be included in the CHO configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Damnjanovic for enhancing conditional handover (CHO) for a UE to allow more efficiently handing over a UE to a target base station, improving overall communication efficiency for the UE.
Regarding claim 25, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 8. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 8.
Claims 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raghavan et al (US20230269638), in view of Damnjanovic et al (US20230189094), in further view of Zhu et al (US20240430724).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Raghavan and Damnjanovic discloses all limitations of claim 8. However, the combination does not explicitly teach performing, by the UE, an L1 measurement for the candidate cell or the neighbor cell, in response to determining the L1 RSRP measurement result of the serving cell becomes worse than a threshold.
In an analogous art Zhu teaches performing, by the UE, an L1 measurement for the candidate cell or the neighbor cell, in response to determining the L1 RSRP measurement result of the serving cell becomes worse than a threshold (¶0055 discloses that the point at which the largest L1-RSRP from all SSBs of the serving cell becomes less than the threshold value may be considered a triggering event as it triggers measurement by the UE on SSBs from other cells (e.g., neighbor cells, non-serving cells)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Zhu where in order to reduce UE processing overhead and power consumption, the UE may measure some RSs, especially those from a non-serving cell, only when necessary or a condition is triggered.
Claims 11 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raghavan et al (US20230269638), in view of Damnjanovic et al (US20230189094), in further view of Chung et al (EP4224931A1).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Raghavan and Damnjanovic discloses all limitations of claim 8. However, the combination does not explicitly teach the measurement reporting type comprises a type of reporting triggered based on measurement reporting events, the measurement reporting events comprising at least one of the L1 measurement of neighbor cell becomes better than a threshold, the L1 measurements of the neighbor cell becomes better than the L1 measurements of a serving cell added a offset, the L1 measurements of the serving cell becomes worse than a first threshold and the L1 measurements of the neighbor cell becomes better than a second threshold, or the L1 measurements of the serving cell becomes worse than the first threshold and the L3 measurements of the neighbor cell becomes better than the second threshold; and the method further comprises triggering the measurement report, based on comparing whether the measurements for at least one of candidate cells or neighbor cells meet at least one of the measurement reporting events.
In an analogous art Chung teaches the measurement reporting type comprises a type of reporting triggered based on measurement reporting events (¶0064 discloses that the base station may transmit measurement configuration information to the UE so that the UE (in RRC_connected mode) may perform a measurement reporting operation. ¶0065 discloses that the measurement configuration information may include MO-related configuration information, reporting configuration information where ¶0069 discloses that One or several report configuration information (e.g., ReportConfigNR IE) may be configured per MO. The reporting configuration information may include reporting condition/criteria for reporting the measurement result and ¶0070 further discloses that the ReportConfigNR IE may specify a trigger condition such as a measurement report event), the measurement reporting events comprising at least one of the L1 measurement of neighbor cell becomes better than a threshold, the L1 measurements of the neighbor cell becomes better than the L1 measurements of a serving cell added a offset, the L1 measurements of the serving cell becomes worse than a first threshold and the L1 measurements of the neighbor cell becomes better than a second threshold, or the L1 measurements of the serving cell becomes worse than the first threshold and the L3 measurements of the neighbor cell becomes better than the second threshold; and the method further comprises triggering the measurement report, based on comparing whether the measurements for at least one of candidate cells or neighbor cells meet at least one of the measurement reporting events (¶0071 discloses that in relation to event-based reporting, an example of an event trigger condition (criteria) (or condition) will be…Event A3: When a measurement result of a neighboring object becomes better than PCell/PSCell by a predetermined offset).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Chung where when the channel state between the user equipment (UE) and the specific cell deteriorates or the movement of theterminal is detected while the UE is accessing a specific cell and receiving service, the base station may determine whether to perform handover in order to change the serving cell of the UE.
Regarding claim 27, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 11. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 11.
Claims 15 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raghavan et al (US20230269638), in view of Hamed et al (US20210212091).
Regarding claim 15, the cited reference Raghavan discloses all limitations of claim 13. However, Raghavan does not explicitly teach wherein the first command or the second command is a Layer 1 or Layer 2 (L1/L2) signaling, the L1 signaling comprising a downlink control information (DCI), and the L2 signaling comprising a medium access control element (MAC CE).
In an analogous art Hamed teaches wherein the first command or the second command is a Layer 1 or Layer 2 (L1/L2) signaling, the L1 signaling comprising a downlink control information (DCI), and the L2 signaling comprising a medium access control element (MAC CE)(¶0108 discloses that gNB may indicate whether a candidate cell is selected to serve a UE via L1/L2 signaling (e.g., DCI/MAC-CE)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Hamed where L1/L2 signaling handles the physical layer procedures that enable the UE and network node to communicate reliably over the radio link and overall communication efficiency for the UE.
Regarding claim 30, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 15. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 15.
Claims 16 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raghavan et al (US20230269638), in view of Cao et al (US20240179590).
Regarding claim 16, the cited reference Raghavan discloses all limitations of claim 1. However, Raghavan does not explicitly teach the L3 measurement configuration comprises; a list of measurement information, the measurement information comprising at least one of a candidate cell identification, or a cell basis offset based on the L3 measurement threshold for the candidate cell, or a list of measurement information that comprises at least one of a candidate cell identification, a list of frequency information, or a list of measurement object information; and wherein the frequency information comprises at least one of a frequency, or a frequency basisoffset based on the L3 measurement threshold for the candidate cell; and the measurement object information comprises at least one of a measurement object identification, or a measurement object basis offset based on the L3 measurement threshold for the candidate cell.
In an analogous art Cao teaches the L3 measurement configuration comprises; a list of measurement information, the measurement information comprising at least one of a candidate cell identification, or a cell basis offset based on the L3 measurement threshold for the candidate cell, or a list of measurement information that comprises at least one of a candidate cell identification, a list of frequency information, or a list of measurement object information; and wherein the frequency information comprises at least one of a frequency, or a frequency basis offset based on the L3 measurement threshold for the candidate cell; and the measurement object information comprises at least one of a measurement object identification, or a measurement object basis offset based on the L3 measurement threshold for the candidate cell(¶0183-¶0184 discloses that the electronic device 100 comprises a processing circuitry 101. The processing circuitry 101 includes at least a measuring unit 102… The measuring unit 102 in the processing circuitry 101 is configured to measure beams transmitted by a serving cell and at least one non-serving cell based on cell pre-configuration information…The cell pre-configuration information at least includes identification information of each cell and reference signals corresponding to beams thereof. Measuring a beam includes measuring a downlink reference signal transmitted through the beam, such as SSB or CSI-RS in Layer 3. ¶0216-¶0218 discloses that in a case where the beams transmit reference signals in L3, the predefined measurement-based event includes at least one of: L3 measurement of a reference signal of the serving cell being worse than an absolute threshold; L3 measurement of a reference signal of a non-serving cell being better than L3 measurement of a reference signal of the serving cell by an amount of offset; L3 measurement of a reference signal of a non-serving cell being better than an absolute threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Cao to enable inter-cell mobility management and enable a more efficient procedure for changing the serving cell.
Regarding claim 31, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 16. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 16.
Claims 16 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raghavan et al (US20230269638), in view of Jung et al (US20220132356).
Regarding claim 16, the cited reference Raghavan discloses all limitations of claim 1. However, Raghavan does not explicitly teach the L3 measurement configuration comprises; a list of measurement information, the measurement information comprising at least one of a candidate cell identification, or a cell basis offset based on the L3 measurement threshold for the candidate cell, or a list of measurement information that comprises at least one of a candidate cell identification, a list of frequency information, or a list of measurement object information; and wherein the frequency information comprises at least one of a frequency, or a frequency basis offset based on the L3 measurement threshold for the candidate cell; and the measurement object information comprises at least one of a measurement object identification, or a measurement object basis offset based on the L3 measurement threshold for the candidate cell.
In an analogous art Jung teaches the L3 measurement configuration comprises; a list of measurement information, the measurement information comprising at least one of a candidate cell identification, or a cell basis offset based on the L3 measurement threshold for the candidate cell, or a list of measurement information that comprises at least one of a candidate cell identification, a list of frequency information, or a list of measurement object information; and wherein the frequency information comprises at least one of a frequency, or a frequency basis offset based on the L3 measurement threshold for the candidate cell; and the measurement object information comprises at least one of a measurement object identification, or a measurement object basis offset based on the L3 measurement threshold for the candidate cell(¶0164 discloses that the serving base station may transmit an SS measurement request to the terminal. The SS measurement request may include an SS measurement request for the serving base station and an SS measurement request for the adjacent cell. The SS measurement request for the serving base station may be transmitted in advance, or the serving base station may transmit the SS measurement request for the neighbor cell. The SS measurement request may include information on an object which is a target of SS measurement, timing, a cell, and a beam. For example, a neighbor cell ID and an SS timing configuration may be included. Candidate beam IDs of a neighbor cell may be included).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Jung to enable the UE and network node to communicate reliably over the radio link and overall communication efficiency for the UE.
Regarding claim 31, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 16. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 16.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Respectfully submitted,
/ABDELILLAH ELMEJJARMI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462