DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 are pending in this application.
Response to Amendment
Claim 1 is amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argues that Kita in [0034] “the conductive wire 28 is cut apart within the opening and that the current limiting element 38 is separately mounted on the substrate 40 and electrically connected between the cut portions of conductive wire 28.” This is true for the first exemplary embodiment shown in figures 4 and 5 and used in the rejection in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 03/06/2026. However, a new rejection is made with regard to the second exemplary embodiment shown in figures 6 and 7. In regard to the second exemplary embodiment, Kita states “That is, conductive wire 28 has a small cross-sectional area as a current flow passage, at a part serving as protective element 34” (refer to [0057]) and “parts of conductive wires 28 of flexible flat cable 5 and insulating sheet 30 are cut away in predetermined areas (first areas R1 in the present exemplary embodiment). At this time, a part of each conductive wire 28 is cut away such that a remaining part in first area R1 keeps a state where the remaining part connects from one end side (connector 32 side) to the other end side (bus bar 10 side) without any break (refer to [0063]). This discloses that the overcurrent blocking unit (refer to protective element 34)(fig.6) is formed by a portion of the conductor wire (refer to conductive wire 28)(fig.6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kita et al. U.S. Patent Application 2021/0234239 (hereinafter “Kita”).
Regarding claim 1, Kita teaches a film cable (i.e. protective element-mounted flexible flat cable 6)(figs.1 and 6A) comprising: a conductor wire (i.e. conductive wires 28)(fig.6A); and an overcurrent blocking unit (i.e. protective element 34)(fig.6A) formed by a portion of the conductor wire (refer to fig.6A)(refer also to [0057] and [0063]) and configured to block an overcurrent flowing through the conductor wire (refer to [0057]) by reducing an allowable current of the conductor wire (refer to [0057]).
Regarding claim 16, Kita teaches a battery module (i.e. battery module 1)(fig.1) comprising: a housing (inherent); a plurality of battery cells in the housing (i.e. cells 8)(Fig.1); and the film cable (i.e. protective element-mounted flexible flat cable 6)(fig.1) as claimed in claim 1 in the housing (refer to the rejection of claim 1 above) and seated on the plurality of battery cells (refer to [0022]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kita as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Weber Swiss Patent Document CH 279454 A (hereinafter “Weber”).
Regarding claim 2, Kita teaches the film cable as claimed in claim 1; however, Kita does not teach wherein the overcurrent blocking unit comprises an overcurrent blocking hole passing through the conductor wire. However, Weber teaches wherein the overcurrent blocking unit comprises an overcurrent blocking hole (i.e. holes b-e)(figs.1-4) passing through the conductor wire (i.e. fusible conductors a)(figs.1-4). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the film cable of Kita to include the overcurrent blocking unit of Weber to provide the advantage of simplifying manufacture of the film cable.
Regarding claim 3, Kita and Weber teach the film cable as claimed in claim 2, wherein a plurality of overcurrent blocking holes are spaced apart from each other in an extension direction of the conductor wire (refer to Weber figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 4, Kita and Weber teach the film cable as claimed in claim 3, wherein a total area of the plurality of overcurrent blocking holes is optimized (refer to Weber translation page 2 last paragraph “The length of the metal-free section relative to the length of the end parts, as well as the cross-sectional changes, can be optimized”); however they do not teach wherein the total area of the plurality of overcurrent blocking hole is in a range of 36% to 42% of a total area of the conductor wire. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the total area of the plurality of overcurrent blocking hole is in a range of 36% to 42% of a total area of the conductor wire, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the film cable of Kita and Weber to include wherein the total area of the plurality of overcurrent blocking hole is in a range of 36% to 42% of a total area of the conductor wire to provide the advantage of tuning the overcurrent blocking to the necessary limits for operation and protection of the circuitry.
Regarding claim 5, Kita and Weber teach the film cable as claimed in claim 3, further comprising an insulating member (i.e. Kita insulating sheet 30)(fig.6A) configured to surround the conductor wire (refer to Kita [0056]).
Regarding claim 6, Kita and Weber teach the film cable as claimed in claim 3, wherein the overcurrent blocking hole comprises: a hollow portion formed of a hollow (implicit)(refer to Weber holes b-e)(figs.1-4); and an edge portion provided along a circumferential portion of the hollow portion (implicit)(refer to Weber outer circumference/perimeter of holes b-e)(figs.1-4).
Regarding claim 7, Kita and Weber teach the film cable as claimed in claim 6; however, they do not teach wherein a radius of the hollow portion is in a range of 0.07 mm to 0.09 mm. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein a radius of the hollow portion is in a range of 0.07 mm to 0.09 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the film cable of Kita and Weber to include wherein a radius of the hollow portion is in a range of 0.07 mm to 0.09 mm to provide the advantage of optimizing the dimensions for the circuit and thereby tuning the overcurrent blocking to the necessary limits for operation and protection of the circuitry.
Regarding claim 8, Kita and Weber teach the film cable as claimed in claim 6; however, they do not teach wherein a distance between a center point of the hollow portion and a center point of the adjacent hollow portion is in a range of 0.1 to 0.3 mm. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein a distance between a center point of the hollow portion and a center point of the adjacent hollow portion is in a range of 0.1 to 0.3 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the film cable of Kita and Weber to include wherein a distance between a center point of the hollow portion and a center point of the adjacent hollow portion is in a range of 0.1 to 0.3 mm to provide the advantage of optimizing the dimensions for the circuit and thereby tuning the overcurrent blocking to the necessary limits for operation and protection of the circuitry.
Regarding claim 9, Kita and Weber teach the film cable as claimed in claim 6, wherein the edge portion comprises: a pair of first edge portions (refer to Weber long ends of rectangular holes d and oval holes e)(figs. 3 and 4)spaced apart from each other in a first direction (implicit); and a pair of second edge portions (refer to Weber short ends of rectangular holes d and oval holes 2)(figs. 3 and 4) spaced apart from each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction (implicit) and connected to the pair of first edge portions (implicit).
Regarding claim 10, Kita and Weber teach the film cable as claimed in claim 9, wherein a length of the first edge portion is greater than a length of the second edge portion (implicit)(refer to Weber the long ends vs the short ends of the rectangular holes d and oval holes e)(figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 11, Kita and Weber teach the film cable as claimed in claim 10, wherein the edge portion further comprises connecting portions connecting the pair of first edge portions to the pair of second edge portions and formed to be rounded (refer to Weber oval holes e)(fig.4).
Regarding claim 12, Kita and Weber teach the film cable as claimed in claim 11; however, they do not teach wherein a distance between the second edge portion and the adjacent second edge portion is in a range of 0.04 mm to 0.06 mm. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to wherein a distance between the second edge portion and the adjacent second edge portion is in a range of 0.04 mm to 0.06 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the film cable of Kita and Weber to include wherein a distance between the second edge portion and the adjacent second edge portion is in a range of 0.04 mm to 0.06 mm to provide the advantage of optimizing the dimensions for the circuit and thereby tuning the overcurrent blocking to the necessary limits for operation and protection of the circuitry.
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kita and Weber as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Schlaak et al. U.S. Patent Application 2017/0263407 (hereinafter “Schlaak”).
Regarding claim 13, Kita and Weber teach the film cable as claimed in claim 3; however, they do not teach the film cable further comprising a potting resin filled in the overcurrent blocking hole. However, Schlaak teaches the film cable further comprising a potting resin (refer to [0006]) filled in the overcurrent blocking hole (refer to [0006]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the film cable of Kita and Weber to include the potting material of Schlaak to provide the advantage of preventing/quenching arcing.
Regarding claim 14, Kita, Weber and Schlaak teach the film cable as claimed in claim 13; however, they do not teach wherein a ratio of a volume of the overcurrent blocking hole to a volume of the potting resin filled in the overcurrent blocking hole has a range of 1:3 to 1:5. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein a ratio of a volume of the overcurrent blocking hole to a volume of the potting resin filled in the overcurrent blocking hole has a range of 1:3 to 1:5, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the film cable of Kita, Weber, and Schlaak to provide the advantage of ensuring there are no air pockets for arcing, thereby reducing/eliminating arcing.
Regarding claim 15, Kita, Weber, and Schlaak teach the film cable as claimed in claim 14, wherein the potting resin comprises: a first potting resin filled in the overcurrent blocking hole (refer to Schlaak [0006]); and a second potting resin covering the overcurrent blocking hole and the conductor wire without filling in the overcurrent blocking hole anymore based on the ratio of the volume of the overcurrent blocking hole to the volume of the first potting resin filling in the overcurrent blocking hole exceeding 1:1 (refer to Schlaak [0006] and the rejection of claim 14 above)(there are no limitations that the second potting resin must be different than the first potting resin. Therefore, the first potting resin is the silicone of Schlaak which fills the hole and the second potting resin is the resin which fills outside of the hole).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN J COMBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838