DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Specie 1 (Claims 2-4, 8) in the reply filed on 7/1/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-4, 8, 16-18 and 21-23 are currently examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, 16-18 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20130023201 A1 (Coleman), in view of US 20060209984 A1 (Kenington), in further view of US 20160294502 A1 (Yensen) and US 20230111606 A1 (He).
Regarding Claims 1, 22-23:
A method, stored on a non-transitory medium and executed by a processor for enhancing an RF jamming system, the method comprising the steps of: - pre-distorting an input signal to compensate for non-linear distortion in at least one power amplifier to define a pre-distorted signal; - adjusting a voltage of a power supply of the at least one power amplifier based upon the pre-distorted signal; - power sequencing the at least one power amplifier to power up and power down the at least one amplifier; - adjusting the pre-distorted signal to achieve a low probability of intercept to define an adjusted signal; and - transmitting the adjusted signal (Coleman: Fig. 1, a communication jamming system that comprises power amp; par, 57, “The RF power amplifier 120 is preferably a selective band RF power that is capable of frequency hopping operation. The RF power amplifier 120 can be … closed-loop digital pre-distortion with variable power control; par. 26, “to provide a system and method for dynamically generating a set of jamming signals at target frequencies in a predetermined portion of RF band, and then translating up and down a large portion of the RF spectrum based on software-defined radio technologies.”, i.e., adjusting for Low Probability of Intercept transmitting).
Coleman does not teach explicitly on envelop-based power supply voltage adjustment. However, Kenington teaches (Kenington: Figs. 1-2. Par. 22-25, in an envelope-tracking power supply, the power supply 60 is operable for tracking the input signal envelope, derived from input signals 18 and varying the level of power supplied to the amplifier in response to variation of the input signal envelope; the predistortion circuit 70 predistorts the input signal envelope before it is directed to power supply 60… The power supply 60 then uses the predistorted envelope signal 74 to meet the power requirements of power amplifier 10).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Coleman with envelop-based power supply voltage adjustment as further taught by Kenington. The advantage of doing so is to improve upon the efficiency and linearity of an RF power amplifier, in a transmitter system (Kenington: Background).
Coleman does not teach explicitly on power sequencing the at least one power amplifier to power up and power down. However, Yensen teaches (Yensen: par. 7-8 and 32, memory includes logic instructions that permit the sequencer to control power-up and power-down sequences for transmitter and receiver devices of the transceiver in order to sequence various transmit and receive operations).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Coleman with power sequencing the at least one power amplifier to power up and power down as further taught by Yensen. The advantage of doing so is to enable complex operation scenarios and military-specific events that have not been addressed satisfactorily (Yensen: Backgrond).
Coleman as modified does not teach explicitly to use trained AI to predict pre-distortion. However, Rawat teaches (He: Figs. 2-3, a BiRNN model for digital pre-distortion of PAs).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Coleman with use trained AI to predict pre-distortion as further taught by He. The advantage of doing so is to dynamically optimize predistortion for better linearity (He: Backgrond).
Regarding Claim 2: The method of claim 1 wherein the step of pre-distorting further comprises the step of predicting the pre-distortion utilizing machine learning (AI) (He: Figs. 2-3, a BiRNN model for digital pre-distortion of PAs) .
Regarding Claim 3: The method of claim 2 wherein the step of pre-distorting further comprises the step of training the machine learning by providing a dataset of modulated signals to predict an optimal pre-distortion for the input signal to define the pre-distorted signal (He: e.g., par. 46, training processing).
Regarding Claim 4: The method of claim 2 wherein the step of pre-distorting further comprises the step of utilizing a neural network. (He: Figs. 2-3, a BiRNN model for digital pre-distortion of PAs)
Regarding Claim 8: The method of claim 1 wherein the step of adjusting further comprises the step of determining the adjustment utilizing machine learning (AI) (He: Figs. 2-3).
Regarding Claim 16: The method of claim 1 wherein the step of pre-distorting further includes the step of adapting to at least one change in the at least one power amplifier (Kenington: e.g., par. 17 and 38, component aging, power level changes, and temperature changes in the various components and systems utilized in the power amplifier).
Regarding Claim 17: The method of claim 1 wherein the step of pre-distorting further includes the steps of: - monitoring an output of the at least one power amplifier; and - adjusting the pre-distorting based upon the monitored output of the at least one power amplifier (Kenington: e.g., par. 21, 26, the amplifier output 14 that is fed back on path 42 is also utilized by DSP 72 for updating, correcting, and adapting predistorter circuit 70).
Regarding Claim 18: The method of claim 1 wherein the step of adjusting the voltage and the step of power sequencing utilize digital signal processing (Kenington: e.g., par. 19 and 24; Yensen: par. 33, the receiver and the sequencer are both implemented on FPGAs (field programmable gate array) with custom logic and software (i.e., DSP)).
Regarding Claim 21: The method of claim 1 wherein the input signal may comprise a plurality of input signals, resulting in a plurality of pre-distorted signals and a plurality of adjusted signals (Coleman: par. 49 and Fig. 5).
Conclusion
/ZHITONG CHEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649