DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 and its dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The language “the multiplicity of instruments comprises any or more of” renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear how many of the listed tools are positively recited. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 24-25, 28-30, and 34-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bursac et al. (Pub. No.: US 2009/0312842 A1; hereinafter “Bursac”).
Bursac discloses the following regarding claim 24: a sterile graft plug kit for treating osteochondral defects, the kit comprising: at least one graft (e.g., Figs. 1A-1D, 10A-10D, 16C-16E) comprising a cartilage layer (upper layer portion) and a bone portion (lower layer portion); and a multiplicity of instruments for implanting the at least graft into a patient's body (paras. 0191, 0235, 0220).
Bursac discloses the following regarding claim 25: the kit of claim 24, wherein the multiplicity of instruments comprises any or more of a graft inserter, a guidewire, a reamer, and a size gauge (paras. 0191, 0235, 0220). The claim language is being interpreted to mean that multiplicity of instruments comprises any one or more of the recited tools.
Bursac discloses the following regarding claim 28: the kit of claim 25, wherein the reamer includes a distal cutting end that is configured to rotatably clear an osteochondral bore (paras. 0191, 0235, 0220). Please note that as presently worded, the claims do not require the presence of a reamer.
Bursac discloses the following regarding claim 29: the kit of claim 25, wherein the size gauge includes a distal end that is configured to indicate the depth of an osteochondral bone (para. 0220).
Bursac discloses the following regarding claim 30: the kit of claim 24, wherein the cartilage layer comprises a synthetic implantable material (paras. 0010, 0143, 0168).
Bursac discloses the following regarding claim 34: the kit of claim 24, wherein the bone portion comprises a monophasic material (paras. 0153, 0162, 0166).
Bursac discloses the following regarding claim 35: the kit of claim 24, wherein the at least one graft is a xenograft (paras. 0130, 0153-0157).
Bursac discloses the following regarding claim 36: the kit of claim 35, wherein the xenograft is harvested from a bone joint location that produces a cartilage layer having a thickness substantially similar to the thickness of existing cartilage at an implant location (paras. 0130, 0153-0157, 0172-0173). Please note that method limitations in article claims are considered to the extent that they further define the final structure of the claimed apparatus.
Bursac discloses the following regarding claim 37: the kit of claim 36, wherein the xenograft comprises any one or more of collagen, bone, and cartilage that is bovine or porcine in origin (paras. 0153-0162, 0166-0168).
Bursac discloses the following regarding claim 38: the kit of claim 37, wherein the xenograft is harvested as a one-piece component from a cartilage/bone joint location such that the cartilage layer is affixed to the bone portion (Figs. 1A-14C; paras. 0044, 0153-0162, 0166-0168).
Bursac discloses the following regarding claim 39: the kit of claim 24, wherein the at least one graft is an allograft that is harvested from a bone joint location that produces a cartilage layer having a thickness substantially similar to the thickness of existing cartilage at an implant location (paras. 0130, 0153-0157, 0172-0173). Please note that method limitations in article claims are considered to the extent that they further define the final structure of the claimed apparatus.
Bursac discloses the following regarding claim 40: the kit of claim 24, wherein the at least one graft has a diameter and a length that accommodate the particular bone joints into which the at least one graft is to be implanted (paras. 0015, 0047-0048, 0155, 0161, 0212-0230).
Bursac discloses the following regarding claim 41: the kit of claim 40, wherein the diameter and the length are configured to correlate with one another (paras. 0015, 0047-0048, 0155, 0161, 0212-0230).
Bursac discloses the following regarding claim 42: the kit of claim 41, wherein the at least one graft comprises a group of grafts ranging in size from relatively small to relatively large (paras. 0015, 0047-0048, 0155, 0161, 0212-0230).
Bursac discloses the following regarding claim 43: the kit of claim 42, wherein the group of grafts comprises specifically sized grafts that facilitate selecting a graft based on an implant location (paras. 0015, 0047-0048, 0155, 0161, 0212-0230).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bursac in view of Walthall et al. (US Pub. No. 2009/0054906; hereinafter Walthall).
Bursac discloses the limitations of the claimed invention, as described above. It further
recites a graft inserter (paras. 0191, 0235). However, it does not teach the details of the graft inserter device. Walthall teaches a kit for inserting an osteochondral implant plug that uses a graft inserter (10) having a distal graft retainer configured to hold a graft; and a proximal applicator that is configured to push the graft out of the distal graft retainer and into an osteochondral bore in the patient's body (paras. 0030-0036). This inserter will allow the user to more easily insert the osteochondral implant into its desired location. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the graft inserter of Bursac to include the features taught by Walthall, for the purpose of allowing the user to more easily insert the osteochondral implant into its desired location. Such a modification would be made with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 31-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bursac in view of Evans et al. (Pub. No.: US 2003/0236573 A1; hereinafter “Evans”).
Bursac discloses the limitations of the claimed invention, as described above. However, it does not explicitly recite that the synthetic implantable material comprises polyvinyl alcohol; a biostable polyurethane; and the biostable polyurethane comprises polycarbonate- urethane or thermoplastic silicone-polycarbonate-urethane Evans teaches that it is well known in the art that implants comprise a polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) or a biostable polycarbonate-urethane (PCU) (para. 0086; Table 1), for the purpose of utilizing the materials' structural and biocompatible properties. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Bursac to comprise the materials taught by Evans, in order to utilize the materials' structural and biocompatible properties. Such a modification would be made with a reasonable expectation of success. In addition, it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, in the instant case, one type of implant material for another, is generally considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Double Patenting
Claims 24-43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,036,134. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the structural elements and characteristics are disclosed by both sets of claims. The at least one graft and the multiplicity of instruments of claims 24-29 of the present application correspond to the one or more grafts and the instrument kit of the claims 1-4 of the patent. The materials of claims 30-39 of the present application correspond to the materials of claims 1 and 6-15 of the patent. The dimensions of claims 39-43 of the present application correspond to the dimensions of claims 1 and 14-15 of the patent. In addition, it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, in the instant case, one type of implant material for another, is generally considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 24-43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,779,960. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the structural elements and characteristics are disclosed by both sets of claims. The at least one graft and the multiplicity of instruments of claims 24-29 of the present application correspond to the one or more grafts and the instrument kit comprising the multiplicity of instruments of the claims 1-12 of the patent. The materials of claims 30-39 of the present application correspond to the materials of claims 1 and 14-16 of the patent. The dimensions of claims 39-43 of the present application correspond to the dimensions of claim 13 of the patent. In addition, it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, in the instant case, one type of implant material for another, is generally considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. The optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ. It would have been customary for one of ordinary skill to determine the optimal graft dimensions needed to achieve the desired results and fit the implantation site.
Claims 24-43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,759,335. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the structural elements and characteristics are disclosed by both sets of claims. The at least one graft and the multiplicity of instruments of claims 24-29 of the present application correspond to the one or more grafts and the instrument kit comprising the multiplicity of instruments of the claims 1-10 of the patent. The materials of claims 30-39 of the present application correspond to the materials of claims 1 and 12-13 of the patent. The dimensions of claims 39-43 of the present application correspond to the dimensions of claim 11 of the patent. In addition, it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, in the instant case, one type of implant material for another, is generally considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. The optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ. It would have been customary for one of ordinary skill to determine the optimal graft dimensions needed to achieve the desired results and fit the implantation site.
Conclusion
/ANN HU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774