DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on December 23, 2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of Patent Number 11,368,662 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
The objection of claims 10-12 has been withdrawn.
The rejection under 35. U.S.C 112 (b) of claims 10-12 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12, 17-23, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bradski et al. (US20150178939A1), hereinafter referred to as Bradski, in view of McCulloch et al. (US20130286004A1), hereinafter referred to as McCulloch.
Regarding claim 1, Bradski discloses immersive headset, comprising (¶¶ [0043]-[0044]):
a display configured to render immersive content selected from the group consisting of virtual reality content, mixed reality content, and augmented reality content (¶¶ [0043]- [0045]);
primary system of cameras (¶ [0323[), wherein the primary system of cameras comprises:
a first plurality of cameras, and configured to capture a first set of image data (¶¶ [0323[ and [0327]); and
a second plurality of cameras, and configured to capture a second set of image data (¶¶ [0323[ and [0327]);
derive a set of depth information (¶[0327])
Bradski does not explicitly disclose located in a right area of the immersive headset corresponding to a field of view region and located in a left area of the immersive headset corresponding to the field of view region; a memory, storing image processing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the image processing instructions; corresponding to the field of view region based on the first set of image data and the second set of image data; and render the immersive content based on the set of depth information, wherein the set of depth information is used to determine where to render an individual virtual object on at least one image of the immersive content.
However, McCulloch from the same or similar endeavor of image system discloses located in a right area of the immersive headset corresponding to a field of view region and located in a left area of the immersive headset corresponding to the field of view region (¶¶[0037], [0038], [0047]-[0050] and [0061]);
at least one processor configured to execute the image processing instructions (¶[0051]);
corresponding to the field of view region based on the first set of image data and the second set of image data (¶¶ [0048]-[0050]);
render the immersive content based on the set of depth information, wherein the set of depth information is used to determine where to render an individual virtual object on at least one image of the immersive content (¶¶ [0004] and [0031]-0034])
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Bradski to add the teachings of McCulloch as above, in order to capture video and still images, typically in color, of the real world to map real objects in the display field of view of the see-through display, and hence, in the field of view of the user (McCulloch, [0047]).
Regarding claim 12, Bradski and McCulloch disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Bradski does not explicitly disclose the immersive headset of claim 1, wherein the individual virtual object is rendered, such that the individual virtual object is appropriately occluded by a real world object visible through the display.
However, McCulloch from the same or similar endeavor of image system discloses the immersive headset of claim 1, wherein the individual virtual object is rendered, such that the individual virtual object is appropriately occluded by a real world object visible through the display (¶¶ [0060] and [0096]).
The motivation for combining Bradski and McCulloch has been discussed in connection with claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 17, Bradski and McCulloch disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Bradski discloses the immersive headset of claim 1, further comprising at least one additional sensor (¶¶ [0302], [0320] and [0324]).
Regarding claim 18, Bradski and McCulloch disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Bradski discloses the immersive headset of claim 17, wherein the at least one additional sensor comprises a secondary system of one or more cameras, positioned towards an additional region, and configured to capture a secondary set of image data (¶ [03230]).
Regarding claim 19, Bradski and McCulloch disclose all the limitations of claim 18, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Bradski discloses the immersive headset of claim 18, further comprising at least one illumination light source configured to project infrared light, wherein the secondary system of one or more cameras is: sensitive to infrared wavelengths (¶ [0323]).
Bradski does not explicitly disclose configured to capture the secondary set of image data based, at least in part, on the infrared light projected over the additional region.
However, McCulloch from the same or similar endeavor of image system discloses the configured to capture the secondary set of image data based, at least in part, on the infrared light projected over the additional region (¶¶ [0052] and [0058]).
The motivation for combining Bradski and McCulloch has been discussed in connection with claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 20, Bradski and McCulloch disclose all the limitations of claim 18, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Bradski discloses the immersive headset of claim 18, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the image processing instructions to determine a set of feature data corresponding to the additional region by performing feature tracking based on the secondary set of image data (¶¶ [0320]-[0323]).
The motivation for combining Bradski and McCulloch has been discussed in connection with claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 21, Bradski and McCulloch disclose all the limitations of claim 20, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Bradski discloses the immersive headset of claim 20, wherein rendering the immersive content is further based on the set of feature data. (¶¶ [0320]-[0323]).
Regarding claim 22, Bradski and McCulloch disclose all the limitations of claim 18, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Bradski discloses the immersive headset of claim 18, wherein the secondary system of cameras comprises two cameras, each of which corresponds to a singular eye of a wearer of the immersive headset (¶¶ [0320]-[0323]).
Regarding claim 23, Bradski and McCulloch disclose all the limitations of claim 18, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Bradski discloses the immersive headset of claim 18, wherein the secondary system of cameras is located in a central area of the immersive headset, relative to the first plurality of cameras and the second plurality of cameras (¶¶ [0320]-[0323]).
Regarding claim 27, Bradski and McCulloch disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Bradski does not explicitly disclose the immersive headset of claim 1, wherein the set of depth information is derived by observing parallax in at least one of the first set of image data or the second set of image data.
However, McCulloch from the same or similar endeavor of image system discloses the immersive headset of claim 1, wherein the set of depth information is derived by observing parallax in at least one of the first set of image data or the second set of image data. (¶ [0049]).
The motivation for combining Bradski and McCulloch has been discussed in connection with claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 28, Bradski and McCulloch disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Bradski does not explicitly disclose the immersive headset of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first set of image data or the second set of image data comprises a depth map.
However, McCulloch from the same or similar endeavor of image system discloses the immersive headset of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first set of image data or the second set of image data comprises a depth map (¶ [0048]).
The motivation for combining Bradski and McCulloch has been discussed in connection with claim 1, above.
Claims 3, 7 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bradski, in view of McCulloch, and further, in view of Pomerantz (US20140160250A1), hereinafter referred to as Pomerantz.
Regarding claim 3, Bradski and McCulloch disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Bradski discloses the immersive headset of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the image processing instructions to: modify brightness of the immersive content on the display (¶¶ [0098] and [0213]).
Bradski does not explicitly disclose the in response to observed changes in a composite set of image data comprising the first set of image data and the second set of image data.
However, Pomerantz from the same or similar endeavor of image system discloses the in response to observed changes in a composite set of image data comprising the first set of image data and the second set of image data (¶¶ [0252] and [0744] - [0746]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Bradski and McCulloch to add the teachings of Pomerantz as above, in order to determine whether the video data may include a hand gesture instruction by comparing a time-varying pattern of brightness of the video data to a pattern of brightness that is characteristic of at least a portion of a user's hand being passed across a field of view of the camera, and processing the hand gesture instruction in response to detecting the hand gesture instruction. (Pomerantz, [0398]).
Regarding claim 7, Bradski and McCulloch disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Bradski does not explicitly disclose the immersive headset of claim 1, wherein the primary system of cameras corresponds to a set of different resolutions.
However, Pomerantz from the same or similar endeavor of image system discloses the immersive headset of claim 1, wherein the primary system of cameras corresponds to a set of different resolutions (¶[0188]).
The motivation for combining Bradski, McCulloch and Pomerantz has been discussed in connection with claim 3, above.
Regarding claim 29, Bradski and McCulloch disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Bradski does not explicitly disclose the immersive headset of claim 1, wherein the first plurality of cameras is aligned along a first vertical axis within the right area of the immersive headset; and wherein the second plurality of cameras is aligned along a second vertical axis within the left area of the immersive headset.
However, Pomerantz from the same or similar endeavor of image system discloses the immersive headset of claim 1, wherein the first plurality of cameras is aligned along a first vertical axis within the right area of the immersive headset; and wherein the second plurality of cameras is aligned along a second vertical axis within the left area of the immersive headset (¶[0182], [0183] and [0245]-[0246]).
The motivation for combining Bradski, McCulloch and Pomerantz has been discussed in connection with claim 3, above.
Claims 4, 14, and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bradski, in view of McCulloch, and further, in view of Sutherland (US 20160025982 A1), hereinafter referred to as Sutherland.
Regarding claim 4, Bradski and McCulloch disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Bradski does not explicitly disclose the immersive headset of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the image processing instructions to utilize the set of depth information to perform pose estimation for the immersive headset.
However, Sutherland from the same or similar endeavor of image system discloses the immersive headset of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the image processing instructions to utilize the set of depth information to perform pose estimation for the immersive headset (¶¶ [0026] and [0028])
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Bradski and McCulloch to add the teachings of Sutherland as above, in order to provide a dense surface prediction to which the depth map is aligned (Sutherland, [0028]).
Regarding claim 14, Bradski, McCulloch and Sutherland disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Bradski does not explicitly disclose the immersive headset of claim 1, wherein a reference camera and the display are part of a removable component that is mounted within the immersive headset.
However, Sutherland from the same or similar endeavor of image system discloses the immersive headset of claim 1, wherein a reference camera and the display are part of a removable component that is mounted within the immersive headset (¶¶ [0051]-[0053]).
The motivation for combining Bradski, McCulloch and Sutherland has been discussed in connection with claim 4, above.
Regarding claim 24, Bradski, McCulloch and Sutherland disclose all the limitations of claim 17, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Bradski does not explicitly disclose the immersive headset of claim 17, wherein the at least one additional sensor comprises a video camera; and the immersive content comprises background video obtained by the video camera.
However, Sutherland from the same or similar endeavor of image system discloses the immersive headset of claim 17, wherein the at least one additional sensor comprises a video camera; and the immersive content comprises background video obtained by the video camera. (¶[0041]).
The motivation for combining Bradski, McCulloch and Sutherland has been discussed in connection with claim 4, above.
Regarding claim 25, Bradski, McCulloch and Sutherland disclose all the limitations of claim 17, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Bradski does not explicitly disclose the immersive headset of claim 1, wherein deriving the set of depth information further comprises: identifying near-field and far-field portions of the field of view region; and generating depth maps for each of the near-field and far-field portions of the field of view region.
However, Sutherland from the same or similar endeavor of image system discloses the immersive headset of claim 1, wherein deriving the set of depth information further comprises: identifying near-field and far-field portions of the field of view region; and generating depth maps for each of the near-field and far-field portions of the field of view region (¶¶[0029]-[0032]).
The motivation for combining Bradski, McCulloch and Sutherland has been discussed in connection with claim 4, above.
Regarding claim 26, Bradski, McCulloch and Sutherland disclose all the limitations of claim 17, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Bradski does not explicitly disclose the immersive headset of claim 25, wherein each of the near-field and far-field portions of the field of view region are identified relative to a threshold distance.
However, Sutherland from the same or similar endeavor of image system discloses the immersive headset of claim 25, wherein each of the near-field and far-field portions of the field of view region are identified relative to a threshold distance (¶¶[0070] and [0071]).
The motivation for combining Bradski, McCulloch and Sutherland has been discussed in connection with claim 4, above.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bradski, in view of McCulloch, and further, in view of Ackerman (US 20140375680 A1), hereinafter referred to as Ackerman.
Regarding claim 16, Bradski and McCulloch disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Bradski does not explicitly disclose the immersive headset of claim 1, wherein the individual virtual object comprises an indicator identifying a real world object.
However, Ackerman from the same or similar endeavor of image system discloses the immersive headset of claim 1, wherein the individual virtual object comprises an indicator identifying a real world object (¶ [0034]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Bradski and McCulloch to add the teachings of Ackerman as above, in order to include a text description to the virtual object associated with a real-world object (Ackerman, [0034]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FABIO S LIMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486