DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to the following communication: Amendment filed on 26 September 2025.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-13, and 15-20 is/are pending and present for examination. Claim(s) 1, 11, and 16 is/are in independent form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
As per claims 1, 11, and 16, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s Amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-13, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicksay et al, U.S. Patent No. 9,049,485, filed on 30 April 2014, and issued on 2 June 2015, in view of Lewis et al, U.S. Patent No. 10,298,874, filed on 2 December 2015, and issued on 21 May 2019, and in further view of Sen, USPGPUB No. 2021/0409811, filed on 26 June 2020, and published on 30 December 2021.
As per independent claims 1, 11, and 16, Nicksay, in combination with Lewis and Sen, discloses:
A video search method, comprising:
acquiring a first search result about video search information, wherein the first search result comprises a plurality of videos {See Nicksay, column 4, line 61-column 5, line 3, wherein this reads over “The video search component 118 can locate videos in the video database 120 based on search input received via the interface. The input that is received via the interface can be based on keywords, tags, and/or other metadata. In some example embodiments, the search requests received by the interface are provided to the video search component 118, which searches the video database for videos that satisfy the search request. The video search component 118 can support searching on any data field that is associated with a video stored in the video database 120”};
playing a first video in the first search result in a first area of a first display interface, and displaying the first search result in a second area displayed on the first interface {See Nicksay, column 6, lines 40-45, wherein this reads over “When a video is being played back from the video database 308 by the front end component 304, related media component 306 can analyze the metadata, tags, etc. associated with the video being displayed and search the video database 308 for videos that have matching and/or related metadata and tags.”}, wherein the playing the first video in the first search result in the first area of the first display interface comprises automatically playing a video ranked first in the first search result in the first area {See Lewis, column 10, lines 15-25, wherein this reads over “The communication application 215 can automatically play (auto-play) partially visible videos (e.g., partially visible video 109 in FIG. 1) in the scrollable set of content items in a user interface on a user device 210A-210Z. The communication application 215 can automatically play a partially visible video in a scrollable set of content items based on a trigger, as described in greater detail below in conjunction with FIG. 3. For example, a video in a scrollable set of content items may be automatically triggered to play once a portion of the video becomes visible in a user interface.”}, wherein the videos in the first search result are automatically played in a ranking order determined based on an attribute tag {See Sen, [0037], wherein this reads over “[c]orrespondingly, identifiers of the ranked segments may be arranged sequentially for display on display screen 104 according to the segment rankings” and “identifiers of media content segments with higher rankings may be first or higher in the order of display on display screen 104 relative to identifiers of media content segments with lower rankings.”; and [0055], wherein this reads over ““the order of media content items in the queue may be customized by the consumer or automatically generated by system 400 based on consumer profile preferences, ranking, or machine learned, as further discussed below.”}; and
in response to a first trigger operation for the first area, playing a second video in the first search result in the first area {See Nicksay, column 7, lines 5-14, wherein this reads over “The suggested videos can be prepared and linked to by the related media component 306. In some embodiments, the suggested videos can be displayed below the video player 404, and in other embodiments, the suggested videos can be displayed in a sidebar beside the video player 404. Clicking on one of the suggested videos will start playing back the suggested video in the video player 404. In some embodiments, the comments and the suggested videos can be displayed simultaneously in different locations of the interface.”},
wherein the second video is a video in the plurality of videos that is adjacent to the first video {See Nicksay, Figure 8, element 814}.
Nicksay fails to disclose the claimed feature of “wherein the playing the first video in the first search result in the first area of the first display interface comprises automatically playing a video in the first search result in the first area.”
Lewis is directed to the invention of automatically playing partially visible videos. Lewis discloses that “[t]he communication application 215 can automatically play (auto-play) partially visible videos (e.g., partially visible video 109 in FIG. 1) in the scrollable set of content items in a user interface on a user device 210A-210Z” wherein “[t]he communication application 215 can automatically play a partially visible video in a scrollable set of content items based on a trigger, as described in greater detail below in conjunction with FIG. 3” and “a video in a scrollable set of content items may be automatically triggered to play once a portion of the video becomes visible in a user interface.” See Lewis, column 10, lines 15-25. That is, Lewis discloses a system wherein videos returned in a scrollable set of content items may be automatically played. It is noted that that videos are content items which may be received as part of a search platform. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to improve the prior art of Nicksay with that of Lewis such that the video player feature of Nicksay may further include the capability of automatically playing the retrieved videos. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the aforementioned combination such that videos playback may be improved for users with an automated playback feature.
The combination of Nicksay and Lewis fails to expressly disclose “wherein the videos in the first search result are automatically played in a ranking order determined based on an attribute tag”.
Lewis discloses that “[t]he processing device can automatically play (auto-play) a video based on a trigger,” “[d]ifferent triggers or the same triggers can be applied to different content providers (e.g., advertisers),” “[d]ifferent triggers or the same triggers can be applied to the same content provider,” “[d]ifferent triggers or the same triggers can be applied to different videos,” and “[t]he trigger can include one or more video parameters that specify the type of other video that should be used to trigger the playing of a next video.” See Lewis, column 15, line 66-column 16, line 7.
Sen is directed to the invention of autoplaying recommendations in a sequential order. Specifically, Sen discloses that “[c]orrespondingly, identifiers of the ranked segments may be arranged sequentially for display on display screen 104 according to the segment rankings” and “identifiers of media content segments with higher rankings may be first or higher in the order of display on display screen 104 relative to identifiers of media content segments with lower rankings.” See Sen, [0037]. Additionally, Sen discloses that “the order of media content items in the queue may be customized by the consumer or automatically generated by system 400 based on consumer profile preferences, ranking, or machine learned, as further discussed below.” See Sen, [0055]. That is, Sen discloses a system wherein media content segments may be identified and ranked in an order for playback. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to improve the prior art combination of Nicksay and Lewis with that of Sen such that the videos of Nicksay may be automatically played in a ranked order according to an identifier (i.e., an attribute tag) as so disclosed by Sen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the aforementioned combination such that the highest ranked and most relevant videos may be first played.
As per dependent claims 2, 12, and 17, Nicksay, in combination with Lewis and Sen, discloses:
The video search method according to claim 1, wherein the first display interface is a landscape display interface {See Nicksay, Figure 8},
the first trigger operation includes a slide-up operation, and the second video is located at a next ranked position from the first video {See Nicksay, Figure 8}; or,
the first trigger operation includes a slide-down operation, and the second video is located at a previous ranked position from the first video1.
As per dependent claims 3, 13, and 18, Nicksay, in combination with Lewis and Sen, discloses:
The video search method according to claim 1, further comprising:
indicating in the second area that the second video is in a playing state {See Nicksay, column 9, lines 16-20, wherein this reads over “The videos that form the playlist, videos 1-4 (710, 712, 714, and 716) can be displayed in a similar manner as a film strip, and a progress indicator 708 can depict the progress through the film strip”}.
As per dependent claim 19, Nicksay, in combination with Lewis and Sen, discloses:
The video search method according to claim 1, wherein playing a first video in the first search result in a first area of a first display interface comprises:
automatically playing the video ranked first in the first search result in the first area {See Nicksay, column 8, lines 16-20, wherein this reads over “The playlist component 508 can also start playing back, or instruct the video player in the interface to start playing back a subsequent video when the preceding video is finished, in this way the videos can be played seamlessly without interruption”}.
As per dependent claims 5, 15, and 20, Nicksay, in combination with Lewis and Sen, discloses:
The video search method according to claim 1, further comprising:
in response to a second trigger operation for the first area, full-screen playing the first video on a second display interface {See Nicksay, column 9, lines 5-12, wherein this reads over “It is to be appreciated that while FIG. 6 shows two sizes of videos, in other embodiments, there can be more than two different sizes of videos to select from. Additionally, in some embodiments, one of the selections can adjust the video to be the size of the display screen. The size component (e.g., 510) can determine the size of the screen on the client device via the front end component (e.g. 504) and change the size of the video to match the screen size”}.
As per dependent claim 6, Nicksay, in combination with Lewis and Sen, discloses:
The video search method according to claim 5, further comprising:
when the first video is full-screen played, displaying a first return control on the current display interface {See Nicksay, column 9, lines 5-12, wherein this reads over “It is to be appreciated that while FIG. 6 shows two sizes of videos, in other embodiments, there can be more than two different sizes of videos to select from. Additionally, in some embodiments, one of the selections can adjust the video to be the size of the display screen. The size component (e.g., 510) can determine the size of the screen on the client device via the front end component (e.g. 504) and change the size of the video to match the screen size”}; and
in response to a third trigger operation for the first return control, returning to the first display interface {See Nicksay, column 9, lines 5-12, wherein this reads over “It is to be appreciated that while FIG. 6 shows two sizes of videos, in other embodiments, there can be more than two different sizes of videos to select from. Additionally, in some embodiments, one of the selections can adjust the video to be the size of the display screen. The size component (e.g., 510) can determine the size of the screen on the client device via the front end component (e.g. 504) and change the size of the video to match the screen size”}.
As per dependent claim 7, Nicksay, in combination with Lewis and Sen, discloses:
The video search method according to claim 1, further comprising:
displaying a comment control on the first display interface {See Nicksay, column 6, line 65 – column 7, line 3, which reads over “The interface 402 can also have buttons for comments and suggested videos (406 and 408 respectively). When button 406 is selected, the interface can display a list of comments associated with the video (comments not shown). The comments can be ordered in a number of ways, such as by name, by date/time, by relevance, and/or by ranking”};
in response to a fourth trigger operation for the comment control, switching the first search result displayed in the second area to first comment information on the first video {See Nicksay, column 6, line 65 – column 7, line 3, which reads over “The interface 402 can also have buttons for comments and suggested videos (406 and 408 respectively). When button 406 is selected, the interface can display a list of comments associated with the video (comments not shown). The comments can be ordered in a number of ways, such as by name, by date/time, by relevance, and/or by ranking”}.
As per dependent claim 8, Nicksay, in combination with Lewis and Sen, discloses:
The video search method according to claim 7, further comprising:
in response to the first trigger operation, switching the first comment information displayed in the second area to second comment information on the second video {See Nicksay, column 7, lines 10-14, wherein this reads over “Clicking on one of the suggested videos will start playing back the suggested video in the video player 404. In some embodiments, the comments and the suggested videos can be displayed simultaneously in different locations of the interface”}.
As per dependent claim 9, Nicksay, in combination with Lewis and Sen, discloses:
The video search method according to claim 1, further comprising:
displaying an identification of a publisher for the first video on the first display interface {See Nicksay, column 10, lines 43-49, wherein this reads over “Such data fields can include, for example, a video's title, description, tags, author, category, comment, and so forth. In one embodiment, the metadata that video database associates and stores with videos include a video identifier (ID), a viral video indicator, artist, title, label, genre, time length, and optionally viewing restrictions”}; and
in response to a fifth trigger operation for the identification of the publisher, switching the first search result displayed in the second area to a video posted by the publisher {See Nicksay, column 6, lines 40-48, wherein this reads over “When a video is being played back from the video database 308 by the front end component 304, related media component 306 can analyze the metadata, tags, etc. associated with the video being displayed and search the video database 308 for videos that have matching and/or related metadata and tags. Related media component 306, upon finding related videos, can provide links to the related and suggested videos below or to the side of the video that is being watched, so that the user can clearly see other similar videos”}.
As per dependent claim 10, Nicksay, in combination with Lewis and Sen, discloses:
The video search method according to claim 1, further comprising:
displaying a first attribute tag and a second attribute tag in the second area {See Nicksay, column 10, lines 20-22, wherein this reads over “The interface can allow the user to browse for videos to search for videos using keywords to search through tags and descriptive information associated with the videos”};
wherein the first search result has a first order determined based on the first attribute tag {See Nicksay, column 8, lines 28-35, wherein this reads over “For instance, if a viewer selects a sequence of videos that are designed to be watched in a certain order (e.g., a 10 part miniseries), but the videos are selected in an order other than the order they were designed to be watched, the playlist component 508 can determine the correct order based on metadata, title, and etc., and display and playback the videos in the correct order”};
in response to a sixth trigger operation for the second attribute tag, displaying a second search result about the video search information in the second area {See Nicksay, column 6, lines 40-48, wherein this reads over “When a video is being played back from the video database 308 by the front end component 304, related media component 306 can analyze the metadata, tags, etc. associated with the video being displayed and search the video database 308 for videos that have matching and/or related metadata and tags. Related media component 306, upon finding related videos, can provide links to the related and suggested videos below or to the side of the video that is being watched, so that the user can clearly see other similar videos”};
wherein the second search result comprises a plurality of videos having a second order, and the second order is determined based on the second attribute tag {See Nicksay, column 8, lines 28-35, wherein this reads over “For instance, if a viewer selects a sequence of videos that are designed to be watched in a certain order (e.g., a 10 part miniseries), but the videos are selected in an order other than the order they were designed to be watched, the playlist component 508 can determine the correct order based on metadata, title, and etc., and display and playback the videos in the correct order”}; and
playing a third video in the second search result in the first area {See Nicksay, column 8, lines 16-20, wherein this reads over “The playlist component 508 can also start playing back, or instruct the video player in the interface to start playing back a subsequent video when the preceding video is finished, in this way the videos can be played seamlessly without interruption”}.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because of the newly cited prior art rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Paul Kim/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2152
/PK/
1 The claimed feature of “the first trigger operation includes a slide-down operation, and the second video is located at a previous ranked position from the first video” is optionally recited. Accordingly, wherein the alternative option is present in the prior art, it is noted that the optionally recited limitation lacks patentable weight.