DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a bone positioning device” introduced in claim 20 and “an intramedullary implant insertion and bone positioning instrument” introduced in claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-23, 30, 38, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Strohkirch et al. (US 20230218322 A1) (hereon referred to as Strohkirch).
Regarding claim 21, Strohkirch teaches a method (see Fig. 12C) comprising:
cutting a metatarsal bone of a foot into a first metatarsal portion (410) and a second metatarsal portion (412);
inserting a stem portion (110) of an intramedullary implant (100) into the first metatarsal portion (410) and positioning a fixation aperture (134) extending through a plate portion (130) of the intramedullary implant (100) overlying the second metatarsal portion (412) (see Para. [0258]);
using a bone positioning device (200) releasably connected to the intramedullary implant (100) to move the second metatarsal portion (412) relative to the first metatarsal portion (410) in at least one plane (see Para. [0082] and [0086]; also see Paras. [0097-0098]; note that the dorsal-plantar direction, as shown in Fig. 12B and described in Para. [0082], is aligned with the frontal plane of the patient); and
inserting a fixation member (452) through the fixation aperture (134) extending through the plate portion (130) of the intramedullary implant (100) and into the second metatarsal portion (412) to fixate a moved position of the second metatarsal portion (412) relative to the first metatarsal portion (410; see Para. [0101] and Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 22, Strohkirch teaches the method of claim 21, wherein:
the bone positioning device (200) comprises an intramedullary implant insertion and bone positioning instrument (240);
inserting the stem portion (110) of an intramedullary implant (100) into the first metatarsal portion (410; see Para. [0094]) comprises, with the intramedullary implant (100) releasably connected to the intramedullary implant insertion and bone positioning instrument (240), moving the intramedullary implant insertion and bone positioning instrument (240) to insert the stem portion (110) of the intramedullary implant (100) into the first metatarsal portion (see Para. [0094]); and
positioning the fixation aperture (134) of the intramedullary implant (100) overlying the second metatarsal portion (412) comprises, with the intramedullary implant (100) releasably connected to the intramedullary implant insertion and bone positioning instrument (240), moving the intramedullary implant insertion and bone positioning instrument to position the fixation aperture of the intramedullary implant overlying the second metatarsal portion (see Para. [0094] and [0097]).
Regarding claim 23, Strohkirch teaches the method of claim 22, wherein:
moving the intramedullary implant insertion and bone positioning instrument (240) to insert the stem portion (110) of the intramedullary implant (100) into the first metatarsal portion (410) comprises inserting the stem portion (110) of the intramedullary implant (100) at an angle relative to a shaft of the first metatarsal portion (note that any position is at an angle relative to the first metatarsal portion; even a 0 degree angle would be included in this limitation); and
moving the intramedullary implant insertion and bone positioning instrument (240) to position the fixation aperture (134) of the intramedullary implant (100) overlying the second metatarsal portion (214) comprises pushing the plate portion (130) of the intramedullary implant (100) against a medial surface (see Para. [0090]) of the second metatarsal portion (412; see Para. [0097], noting that the method teaches the step of pushing the bone positioning device into the distal bone portion, which would require pushing the plate portion thereto, as the plate portion sits in between the bone positioning device and the distal bone portion 412) to
(i) move the second metatarsal portion (412) laterally relative to the first metatarsal portion (see Para. [0090]) and
(ii) reduce the angle of the stem portion (110) of the intramedullary implant (100) relative to the shaft of the first metatarsal portion (see Para. [0097], wherein the optimum angle is achieved).
Regarding claim 30, Strohkirch teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the first metatarsal portion (410) is a proximal metatarsal portion and the second metatarsal portion (412) is a distal metatarsal portion (see Para. [0078]).
Regarding claim 38, Strohkirch teaches the method of claim 21, wherein inserting the fixation member (452) through the fixation aperture (134) extending through the plate portion (130) of the intramedullary implant (100) and into the second metatarsal portion (412) comprises inserting at least two fixation members (452, see Para. [0102]) through at least two fixation apertures (second aperture 1534b, see Fig. 13) extending through the plate portion (130) of the intramedullary implant (100) and into the second metatarsal portion (see Para. [0102] and [0106-0107], noting that a second screw may be implanted in the same manner as that of the first; and Para. [0184], noting that embodiments of the device may be combined).
Regarding claim 41, Strohkirch teaches the method of claim 21, further comprising inserting a fixation member (450) through a fixation aperture (112) extending through the stem portion (110) of the intramedullary implant (100) and into the first metatarsal portion (410, see Para. [0102]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strohkirch as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Hollis et al. (US 20220409248 A1) (hereon referred to as Hollis).
Strohkirch teaches the method as outlined int eh rejection of claim 20 above, however fails to teach wherein cutting the bone of the foot into the first metatarsal portion and the second metatarsal portion comprises: attaching a cut guide proximal of a target cut location on the metatarsal bone and distal of the target cut location; and guiding a cutting instrument with the cut guide to cut the metatarsal bone at the target cut location.
Hollis teaches the method of claim 20, wherein cutting the bone of the foot into the first metatarsal portion and the second metatarsal portion (see rejection of claim 20 above) comprises:
attaching a cut guide (200) proximal of a target cut location on the metatarsal bone and distal of the target cut location (see labelled diagram of Fig. 8 below); and
guiding a cutting instrument (220) with the cut guide (200) to cut the metatarsal bone at the target cut location (see Paras. [0076] and [0078]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Strohkirch to utilize a cutting guide for the step of cutting the bone of the foot such that the method further comprises attaching a cut guide proximal of a target cut location on the metatarsal bone and distal of the target cut location; and guiding a cutting instrument with the cut guide to cut the metatarsal bone at the target cut location, as such a method step would be an effective method of completing the osteotomy envisioned by Strohkirch (see Para. [0078] of Hollis and Para. [0007] of Strohkirch).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24-29, 31-32, 34-35, 39-40, and 42-43 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20240058041 A1: This reference teaches a bone stabilization system and method.
US 20220401139 A1: This reference teaches an osteotomy method.
US 20200253650 A1: This reference teaches an osteotomy method and implant.
/H.J.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3773 /EDUARDO C ROBERT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773