DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “a bone positioning device” introduced in claim 20.
Claim Objections
Claim 33 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In lines 3-4, “inserting that pin that is a distal fixation pin” is recited. This recitation is unnecessarily redundant and should instead recite “inserting a distal fixation pin”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20, 22, 25, 28, 31, 39, 42, 46, and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Strohkirch et al. (US 20230218322 A1) (hereon referred to as Strohkirch).
Regarding claim 20, Strohkirch teaches a method (see Fig. 12C) comprising:
cutting a metatarsal bone of a foot into a first metatarsal portion (410) and a second metatarsal portion (412) (see Para. [0089]);
inserting a stem portion (110) of an intramedullary implant (100) releasably connected to a body (300) of an instrument (consisting of 300 and 350, see Para. [0081], wherein the stem portion (110) is connected indirectly to the body via section 350) into a medullary canal (see Para. [0068]) of the first metatarsal portion (410) and positioning a plate portion (130) of the intramedullary implant (100) overlying the second metatarsal portion (412) (see Para. [0258]);
inserting a pin (251) into the second metatarsal portion (412) (see Para. [0006 and 0077]);
using a bone positioning device (200) operatively connected to the body (300) of the instrument (300, 350) to engage the pin (251) inserted into the second metatarsal portion (412) and apply a force to the pin (251) to move the second metatarsal (412) portion in at least a frontal plane (see Para. [0082] and [0086]; also see Paras. [0097-0098]; note that the dorsal-plantar direction, as shown in Fig. 12B and described in Para. [0082], is aligned with the frontal plane of the patient); and
inserting a fixation member (452) through a fixation aperture (134) extending through the plate portion (130) of the intramedullary implant (100) and into the second metatarsal portion (412) to fixate a moved position of the second metatarsal portion (412) relative to the first metatarsal portion (410; see Para. [0101] and Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 22, Strohkirch teaches the method of claim 20, wherein the bone positioning device (200) comprises a pin receiving body (230) operatively connected to the body (300; note that "operably connected" does not require direct connection, and that the pin receiving body and the body of the instrument are indirectly, yet functionally [i.e. operatively] connected via 210, see Fig. 12B) of the instrument (300, 350), and further comprising engaging the pin (251) with the pin receiving body (see Para. [0077]).
Regarding claim 25, Strohkirch teaches the method of claim 22, wherein the bone positioning device (200) comprises an arm (210) connected to the body (300), a shaft (240) operably connected to the arm (210), and the pin receiving body (230) operatively connected to the shaft (240).
Regarding claim 28, Strohkirch teaches the method of claim 20, wherein the first metatarsal portion (410) is a proximal metatarsal portion and the second metatarsal portion (412) is a distal metatarsal portion (see Para. [0078]).
Regarding claim 31, Strohkirch teaches the method of claim 20, wherein inserting the pin (251) into the second metatarsal portion (412) comprises inserting the pin extending dorsally from the second metatarsal portion (see Para. [0082]).
Regarding claim 39, Strohkirch teaches the method of claim 25, wherein the arm (210) is positioned at an end of the shaft (240; see labelled diagram of Fig. 12B below).
Regarding claim 42, Strohkirch teaches the method of claim 25, wherein the shaft (240) comprises a threaded shaft (244).
Regarding claim 46, Strohkirch teaches the method of claim 20, wherein inserting the fixation member (452) through the fixation aperture (134) extending through the plate portion (130) of the intramedullary implant (100) and into the second metatarsal portion (412) comprises inserting at least two fixation members (452, see Para. [0102]) through at least two fixation apertures (second aperture 1534b, see Fig. 13) extending through the plate portion (130) of the intramedullary implant (100) and into the second metatarsal portion (see Para. [0102] and [0106-0107], noting that a second screw may be implanted in the same manner as that of the first; and Para. [0184], noting that embodiments of the device may be combined).
Regarding claim 48, Strohkirch teaches the method of claim 20, further comprising inserting a fixation member (450) through a fixation aperture (112) extending through the stem portion (110) of the intramedullary implant (100) and into the first metatarsal portion (410, see Para. [0102]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strohkirch as applied to claim 20 above.
Strohkirch teaches the method as outlined int eh rejection of claim 20 above, however fails to teach wherein the pin has a diameter of at least 2.0 mm (claim 29), wherein inserting the pin into the second metatarsal portion comprises inserting the pin extending generally perpendicularly relative to a longitudinal axis of the second metatarsal portion (claim 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pin to have a pin diameter of at least 2.0mm, and further to make the angle of the pin relative to the longitudinal axis of the metatarsal 90 degrees, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strohkirch as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Hollis et al. (US 20220409248 A1) (hereon referred to as Hollis).
Strohkirch teaches the method as outlined int eh rejection of claim 20 above, however fails to teach wherein cutting the bone of the foot into the first metatarsal portion and the second metatarsal portion comprises: attaching a cut guide proximal of a target cut location on the metatarsal bone and distal of the target cut location; and guiding a cutting instrument with the cut guide to cut the metatarsal bone at the target cut location.
Hollis teaches the method of claim 20, wherein cutting the bone of the foot into the first metatarsal portion and the second metatarsal portion (see rejection of claim 20 above) comprises:
attaching a cut guide (200) proximal of a target cut location on the metatarsal bone and distal of the target cut location (see labelled diagram of Fig. 8 below); and
guiding a cutting instrument (220) with the cut guide (200) to cut the metatarsal bone at the target cut location (see Paras. [0076] and [0078]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Strohkirch to utilize a cutting guide for the step of cutting the bone of the foot such that the method further comprises attaching a cut guide proximal of a target cut location on the metatarsal bone and distal of the target cut location; and guiding a cutting instrument with the cut guide to cut the metatarsal bone at the target cut location, as such a method step would be an effective method of completing the osteotomy envisioned by Strohkirch (see Para. [0078] of Hollis and Para. [0007] of Strohkirch).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21, 23-24, 26-27, 33-38, 40-41, 43-45, and 47 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20240058041 A1: This reference teaches a bone stabilization system and method.
US 20220401139 A1: This reference teaches an osteotomy method.
US 20200253650 A1: This reference teaches an osteotomy method and implant.
/H.J.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3773 /EDUARDO C ROBERT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773