DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-13, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US 20210274419 A1) .
Regarding claim 1, Lin et al. teach A method, comprising:
receiving, by a processor of an apparatus, information of an application associated with one or more eco-friendly requirements ([0043] Each node 18a-18h may periodically transmit node information that includes the energy metric and the latency metric to one or more surrounding nodes, [0047] data 10 will be transferred between node 18a-18h utilizing the least amount of energy, Note: the application is interpreted as the transfer of data between nodes, and the eco-friendly requirement is interpreted as the least amount of energy);
selecting, by the processor, a user equipment (UE) route selection policy (URSP) rule from a list of URSP rules ([0047] the server 14 may determine an energy-constrained route and/or a latency -constrained route. Note: the list of route selection policy rules comprises the energy constraint rule and the latency-constraint rule); wherein the selected URSP rule comprises one or more descriptors matching the one or more eco-friendly requirements ([0047] The energy constrained route will prioritize conservation of energy, such that data 10 will be transferred between node 18a-18h utilizing the least amount of energy or the route with the most balanced energy metric); and
determining, by the processor, a data session for routing traffic of the application between the apparatus and a wireless network ([0047] data 10 will be transferred between node 18a-18h ) based on one or more parameters included in a route selection descriptor (RSD) of the selected URSP rule ([0047] utilizing the least amount of energy or the route with the most balanced energy metric).
Regarding claim 2, Lin et al. teach the method of Claim 1, wherein the one or more descriptors are included in a traffic descriptor (TD) of the selected URSP rule, or included in the RSD of the selected URSP rule ([0047] that data 10 will be transferred between node 18a-18h utilizing the least amount of energy or the route with the most balanced energy metric).
Regarding claim 3, Lin et al. teach the method of Claim 1, wherein the one or more descriptors comprise at least one of the following:
an indication that a data network, a network slice, or a data session with a higher eco-rating score is preferred ([0047] that data 10 will be transferred between node 18a-18h utilizing the least amount of energy or the route with the most balanced energy metric); and
a threshold corresponding to an eco-rating score above or equal to which a data network, a network slice, or a data session is preferred.
Regarding claim 4, Lin et al. teach the method of Claim 3, wherein the eco-rating score indicates one of the following:
an energy efficiency level ([0047] that data 10 will be transferred between node 18a-18h utilizing the least amount of energy or the route with the most balanced energy metric);
an energy consumption level;
a carbon intensity, carbon efficiency, carbon emission, or carbon footprint level; and
a renewable or clean energy level.
Regarding claim 5, Lin et al. teach the method of Claim 1, wherein the data session is an existing data session that matches the RSD of the selected URSP rule ([0047] that data 10 will be transferred between node 18a-18h utilizing the least amount of energy or the route with the most balanced energy metric).
Regarding claim 9, Lin et al. teach An apparatus, comprising:
a transceiver which, during operation, wirelessly communicates with a wireless network ([0060] The lock transceiver 28 is capable of transmitting and receiving data to and from at least one of the mobile device 12); and
a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver (Fig. 2 shows processor 30 coupled to Transceiver 28) such that, during operation, the processor performs operations comprising:
receiving information of an application associated with one or more eco-friendly requirements ([0043] Each node 18a-18h may periodically transmit node information that includes the energy metric and the latency metric to one or more surrounding nodes, [0047] data 10 will be transferred between node 18a-18h utilizing the least amount of energy, Note: the application is interpreted as the transfer of data between nodes, and the eco-friendly requirement is interpreted as the least amount of energy);
selecting a user equipment (UE) route selection policy (URSP) rule from a list of URSP rules ([0047] the server 14 may determine an energy-constrained route and/or a latency -constrained route. Note: the list of route selection policy rules comprises the energy constraint rule and the latency-constraint rule); wherein the selected URSP rule comprises one or more descriptors matching the one or more eco-friendly requirements ([0047] The energy constrained route will prioritize conservation of energy, such that data 10 will be transferred between node 18a-18h utilizing the least amount of energy or the route with the most balanced energy metric); and
determining a data session for routing traffic of the application between the apparatus and a wireless network ([0047] data 10 will be transferred between node 18a-18h ) based on one or more parameters included in a route selection descriptor (RSD) of the selected URSP rule ([0047] utilizing the least amount of energy or the route with the most balanced energy metric).
Regarding claim 10, Lin et al. teach the apparatus of Claim 9, wherein the one or more descriptors are included in a traffic descriptor (TD) of the selected URSP rule, or included in the RSD of the selected URSP rule ([0047] that data 10 will be transferred between node 18a-18h utilizing the least amount of energy or the route with the most balanced energy metric)..
Regarding claim 11, Lin et al. teach the apparatus of Claim 9, wherein the one or more descriptors comprise at least one of the following:
an indication that a data network, a network slice, or a data session with a higher eco-rating score is preferred ([0047] that data 10 will be transferred between node 18a-18h utilizing the least amount of energy or the route with the most balanced energy metric); and
a threshold corresponding to an eco-rating score above or equal to which a data network, a network slice, or a data session is preferred.
Regarding claim 12, Lin et al. teach the apparatus of Claim 11, wherein the eco-rating score indicates one of the following:
an energy efficiency level ([0047] that data 10 will be transferred between node 18a-18h utilizing the least amount of energy or the route with the most balanced energy metric);;
an energy consumption level;
a carbon intensity, carbon efficiency, carbon emission, or carbon footprint level; and
a renewable or clean energy level.
Regarding claim 13, Lin et al. teach the apparatus of Claim 9, wherein the data session is an existing data session that matches the RSD of the selected URSP rule ([0047] that data 10 will be transferred between node 18a-18h utilizing the least amount of energy or the route with the most balanced energy metric).
Regarding claim 17, Lin et al. teach A method, comprising:
receiving, by a processor of a first network entity network analytics related to eco-rating information from a second network entity ([0043] Each node 18a-18h may periodically transmit node information that includes the energy metric and the latency metric to one or more surrounding nodes);
adjusting, by the processor, a precedence of one or more route selection descriptors (RSDs) in a user equipment (UE) route selection policy (URSP) rule (([0047] the server 14 may determine an energy-constrained route and/or a latency -constrained route,) wherein the RSDs comprise one or more relay service codes (RSCs) selected based on the eco-rating information ([0047] The energy constrained route will prioritize conservation of energy, such that data 10 will be transferred between node 18a-18h utilizing the least amount of energy or the route with the most balanced energy metric); and
updating, by the processor, one or more parameters of the URSP rule (([0047] utilizing the least amount of energy or the route with the most balanced energy metric).
Regarding claim 20, Lin et al. teach the method of Claim 17, wherein the eco-rating information comprises an eco-rating score indicating one of the following:
an energy efficiency level ([0047] that data 10 will be transferred between node 18a-18h utilizing the least amount of energy or the route with the most balanced energy metric);
an energy consumption level;
a carbon intensity, carbon efficiency, carbon emission, or carbon footprint level; and
a renewable or clean energy level
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. in view of KARAMPATSIS et al. (WO 2023160832 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Lin et al. teach the method of Claim 17, but does not teach further comprising:
subscribing, by the processor, to notifications of the network analytics related to eco-rating information from the second network entity.
In a similar endeavor, KARAMPATSIS et al. teach
subscribing, by the processor, to notifications of the network analytics from the second network entity (KARAMPATSIS [0116] if the PCF 926 has subscribed to Service Specific Information the UDR 930 notifies the PCF 926 of the updated service information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Lin et al. by incorporating KARAMPATSIS et al. subscription to Service Specific Information to subscribe to eco-rating analytics of Lin et al.to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have received eco-rating analytics update .
Regarding claim 19, Lin et al. teach the method of Claim 17, but do not teach
wherein the one or more RSCs comprise at least one of the following:
a network slice;
a data network name;
a data session type;
a session and service continuity (SSC) mode; and
an access type.
In a similar endeavor, KARAMPATSIS et al. teach
wherein the one or more RSCs comprise at least one of the following (KARAMPATSIS [0029] The RSD includes one or more of the following: ):
a network slice (KARAMPATSIS [0029] Network Slice Selection);
a data network name (KARAMPATSIS [0029] Data Network Name (DNN) Selection);
a data session type (KARAMPATSIS [0029] Packet Data Unit (PDU) Session Type Selection );
a session and service continuity (SSC) mode (KARAMPATSIS [0029] Session and Service Continuity (SSC) Mode Selection); and
an access type (KARAMPATSIS [0029] Access Type preference).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Lin et al. by incorporating KARAMPATSIS et al. route selection descriptors to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have described how to route the PDU session
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 and 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6, Lin et al. teach the method of Claim 1, but fail to teach further comprising:
transmitting, by the processor, a data session establishment request message to a network node of the wireless network based on the RSD of the selected URSP rule; and
receiving, by the processor, a data session establishment accept message from the network node, wherein the data session establishment accept message comprises information of the data session.
Regarding claim 7, Lin et al. fail to teach the method of Claim 6, wherein the data session establishment accept message comprises an eco-rating score associated with the data session, and the method further comprises:
determining, by the processor, whether to use the data session based on the eco-rating score in the data session establishment accept message.
Regarding claim 8, Lin et al. fail to teach the method of Claim 7, further comprising:
receiving, by the processor, a data session modification request message from the network node, wherein the data session modification request message indicates an updated eco-rating score associated with the data session; and
reselecting, by the processor, a URSP rule from the list of URSP rules, wherein the reselected URSP rule comprises one or more descriptors matching the one or more eco-friendly requirements.
Regarding claim 14, Lin et al. teach the apparatus of Claim 9, but fail to teach wherein, during operation, the processor further performs operations comprising:
transmitting, via the transceiver, a data session establishment request message to a network node of the wireless network based on the RSD of the selected URSP rule; and
receiving, via the transceiver, a data session establishment accept message from the network node, wherein the data session establishment accept message comprises information of the data session.
Regarding claim 15, Lin et al. fail to teach the apparatus of Claim 14, wherein the data session establishment accept message comprises an eco-rating score associated with the data session, and the processor, during operation, further performs operations comprising:
determining whether to use the data session based on the eco-rating score in the data session establishment accept message.
Regarding claim 16, Lin et al. fail to teach the apparatus of Claim 15, wherein, during operation, the processor further performs operations comprising:
receiving, via the transceiver, a data session modification request message from the network node, wherein the data session modification request message indicates an updated eco-rating score associated with the data session; and
reselecting a URSP rule from the list of URSP rules, wherein the reselected URSP rule comprises one or more descriptors matching the one or more eco-friendly requirements.
Conclusion
/SAID M ELNOUBI/Examiner, Art Unit 2644