DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-8, 10-12 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nikou (PGPUB Document No. US 2023/0019543).
Regarding claim 1, Nikou teaches a hand-held augmented reality 3D imaging system comprising:
a) at least one portable imaging device capable of emitting and receiving multiple forms of radiation or energy (ultrasound probe (Nikou: 0172));
b) at least one computing device equipped with augmented reality features (“in FIG. 1 the Surgeon 111 is wearing an AR HMD 155 that may, for example, overlay pre-operative image data on the patient or provide surgical planning suggestions.” (Nikou: 0062));
c) at least one tracking mechanism for determining the position and orientation of the imaging device relative to the computing device (“The field-of-view of the cameras can define the extents to which the ultrasound probe may be tracked relative to the HMD orientation and position.” (Nikou: 0172));
d) image processing and reconstruction software for converting captured data into three-dimensional representations; and (Various illumination sources, such as an IR LED light source, can illuminate the scene allowing three-dimensional imaging to occur (Nikou: 0048))
e) at least one real-time data transmission module for transmitting captured data for further processing (The camera system 42 reports this pose information (or images) across a local network 48 to a control system 50 via a communications interface 54 (Nikou: 0183)).
Regarding claim 2, Nikou teaches the system of claim 1, wherein said at least one portable imaging device utilizes ultrasound waves for imaging (ultrasound (Nikou: 0062)).
Regarding claim 4, Nikou teaches the system of claim 1, wherein said at least one portable imaging device utilizes X-rays for imaging (X-ray (Nikou: 0062)).
Regarding claim 5, Nikou teaches the system of claim 1, wherein said at least one portable imaging device utilizes light for imaging (visible light cameras (Nikou: 0048)).
Regarding claim 6, Nikou teaches the system of claim 1, wherein said at least one tracking mechanism utilizes sensor data from said at least one portable imaging device for determining position and orientation (gyroscopic motion sensors in the ultrasound probe and HMD allow a processor to model the motion of the probe and headset (Nikou: 0173)).
Regarding claim 7, Nikou teaches the system of claim 1, wherein said at least one tracking mechanism utilizes image tracking techniques for determining position and orientation (object tracking module 68 may use IR and/or image data from the camera system 42 to track the pose of the ultrasound device 18 (Nikou: 0191)).
Regarding claim 8, Nikou teaches the system of claim 1, wherein said at least one portable imaging device comprises sensors for tracking its position and orientation (inertial and gyroscopic motion sensors in the ultrasound probe and HMD allow a processor to model the motion of the probe and headset (Nikou: 0173)).
Regarding claim 10, Nikou teaches the system of claim 1, wherein said at least one real-time data transmission module transmits captured data to a cloud server for further processing and analysis (the Surgical Computer 150 is connected to a remote server over one or more computer networks (e.g., the Internet). The remote server can be used, for example, for storage of data or execution of computationally intensive processing tasks (Nikou: 0063)).
Claim(s) 11, 12, 14 and 15 are corresponding method claim(s) of claim(s) 1, 2, 4 and 5. The limitations of claim(s) 11, 12, 14 and 15 are substantially similar to the limitations of claim(s) 1, 2, 4 and 5. Therefore, it has been analyzed and rejected substantially similar to claim(s) 11, 12, 14 and 15. Further, Nikou teaches capturing video frames and overlaying augmented reality elements on a computing device (the Surgeon 111 is wearing an AR HMD 155 that may, for example, overlay pre-operative image data on the patient or provide surgical planning suggestions. (Nikou: 0062)).
Regarding claim 16, Nikou teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the radiation or energy emitted from said at least one portable imaging device is comprised of data created from a secondary device (the HMD is a secondary device to the ultrasound probe (imaging device), wherein the cameras on the HMD device can define the extents to which the ultrasound probe may be tracked relative to the HMD orientation and position (Nikou: 0175)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nikou as applied to the claim(s) above, and further in view of Peri et al. (PGPUB Document No. US 2021/0312713).
Regarding claim 3, Nikou does not expressly teach the system of claim 1, wherein said at least one portable imaging device utilizes microwaves for imaging.
Peri teaches microwave imaging (Peri: 0016).
Nikou contained a device which differed the claimed process by the substitution of the steps of utilizing ultrasound for imaging.
Peri teaches the substituted step of utilizing microwave imaging.
Both imaging teachings of Nikou and Peri were known in the art to effectively create images.
Nikou’s use of ultrasound imaging could have been substituted with the microwave imaging teaching of Peri.
The results would have been predictable and resulted in equally creating images. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 13 is similar in scope to claim 3. Therefore, the rejection to claim 3 similarly applies to claim 13.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nikou as applied to the claim(s) above, and further in view of Kustra et al. (PGPUB Document No. US 2019/03366110).
Regarding claim 9, Nikou does not expressly teach but Kustra teaches the system of claim 1, wherein said image processing and reconstruction software employs voxel data processing for generating three-dimensional representations (the image defined by voxels (Kustra: 0064)).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Nikou such that the three-dimensional models are defined by voxels as taught by Kustra, because this enables effective representation of 3D data.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nikou as applied to the claim(s) above, and further in view of Mihailescu et al. (PGPUB Document No. US 2013/0237811).
Regarding claim 17, Nikou does not expressly teach but Mihailescu teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the radiation or energy emitted from said at least one portable imaging device comprises ground penetrating radar (Mihailescu: 0064).
Nikou contained a device which differed the claimed process by the substitution of the steps of utilizing ultrasound for imaging.
Mihailescu teaches the substituted step of utilizing ground penetrating radar.
Both imaging teachings of Nikou and Mihailescu were known in the art to effectively create images.
Nikou’s use of ultrasound imaging could have been substituted with the radar teaching of Mihailescu.
The results would have been predictable and resulted in equally creating images. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/DAVID H CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616