DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Canadian reference(CA2842930A1).
Canadian reference in figures 2,3A, and 12 teaches an adsorption tower(adsorption tower in figure 12; page 1 stating “bulk adsorption over packed beds”) for controlling a fluid supply route to a plurality of beds(adsorption packed beds 1-6), the adsorption tower comprising: the plurality of beds; an inlet port(flow connection component 180 to unnumbered inlet in figure 2) connected to one side of the adsorption tower; an outlet port(unnumbered in figure 12) connected to the other side of the adsorption tower; at least one sensor unit(temperature sensor 170 in figure 2) for each of the plurality of beds; a plurality of connection pipes(connection pipes shown in figure 2) which connect at least two of the inlet port, the outlet port and the plurality of beds; a plurality of valves(flow connection component 180 in figure 1; page 10 stating “the flow connection/control component can be, for example, not a limitation of these teachings, one or more active valves”) connected to the plurality of connection pipes; a memory(memory 230 in figure 3A; page 11 stating “one or more computer usable media 230 having computer readable code embodied therein”) configured to store one or more instructions; and a processor(processor 220 in figure 3A) configured to execute the one or more instructions stored in the memory, wherein the processor is configured to determine a fluid supply order to the plurality of beds according to adsorption values in the plurality of beds measured by the sensor units, and control the fluid supply route by opening and closing the valves according to the determined fluid supply order(page 8 stating “if output of the sensor disposed between an input packed bed and a next packed bed exceeds a predetermined sensor output, injection of fluid from the input packed bed to a next packed bed in the flow path( referred to as a successor packed bed), and the exit of fluid from an output packed bed to a packed bed succeeding the output packed bed and next to the output packed bed(referred to as a follower packed bed), wherein the follower packed bed was not previously in the flow path, the successor packed bed becoming the input packed bed and the follower packed bed becoming the output packed bed. The control subsystem is operatively connected to the sensors and to the flow connection/control components”).
With regards to claim 2 , Canadian reference further teaches wherein the connection pipes comprise a branch pipe(noting branch pipe in figure 12 downstream of inlet valve A) which connects the inlet port and at least one of the plurality of beds, respectively, and the valves comprise supply valves connected between the branch pipe and at least one of the plurality of beds.
With regards to claim 3 , Canadian reference further teaches wherein the plurality of beds comprise at least a first bed and a second bed, and when the adsorption value in the first bed measured by the at least one sensor unit exceeds a preset threshold value, the processor is configured to control the adsorption tower to close a supply valve connected between the branch pipe and the first bed and open a supply valve connected between the branch pipe and the second bed, so as to supply a fluid in a reverse direction from the second bed, wherein the reverse direction is a reverse order of the beds which are sequentially disposed from the first bed (Examiner notes the limitations stated in lines 3-8 are directed to an intended use of the at least one sensor unit and processor, and the processor is only required to be capable of performing the claimed function for anticipation of the stated limitations, noting the processor is connected to the valves and the sensor units).
With regards to claim 4 , Canadian reference further teaches wherein the plurality of beds comprise at least a first bed and a second bed, wherein when a difference between a fluid concentration in the first bed and a fluid concentration in the second bed measured by the at least one sensor unit exceeds a preset threshold value, the processor is configured to control the adsorption tower to close a supply valve connected between the branch pipe and the first bed and open a supply valve connected between the branch pipe and the second bed, so as to supply a fluid in a reverse direction from the second bed, and wherein the reverse direction is a reverse order of the beds which are sequentially disposed from the first bed. (Examiner notes the limitations stated in lines 3-9 are directed to an intended use of the at least one sensor unit and processor, and the processor is only required to be capable of performing the claimed function for anticipation of the stated limitations, noting the processor is connected to the valves and the sensor units).
With regards to claim 5 , Canadian reference further teaches wherein the plurality of beds comprise at least a first bed, a second bed, and a third bed which are sequentially disposed in this order, wherein when an adsorption value in the first bed measured by the sensor unit exceeds a preset threshold value, the processor closes a supply valve connected to the first bed and opens a supply valve connected between the branch pipe and the second bed or the third bed, so as to supply a fluid in a forward direction or a reverse direction, and wherein the forward direction is an order of beds which are sequentially disposed from the first bed, and the reverse direction is a reverse order of the forward direction(Examiner notes the limitations stated in lines 3-6 are directed to an intended use of the at least one sensor unit and processor, and the processor is only required to be capable of performing the claimed function for anticipation of the stated limitations, noting the processor is connected to the valves and the sensor units).
With regards to claim 6 , Canadian reference further teaches wherein the processor controls the adsorption tower to perform a desorption process in the first bed and an adsorption process in the second bed or the third bed (Examiner notes the processor only needs to be capable of performing a desorption process and an adsorption process, noting the processor is connected to the valves and the sensor units).
With regards to claim 7 , Canadian reference further teaches wherein, when the adsorption value measured by the at least one sensor unit in the first bed is the threshold value or less, the processor is configured to control the adsorption tower to open the supply valve connected between the branch pipe and the first bed, so as to sequentially perform the adsorption process in the plurality of beds including the first bed(Examiner notes the limitations to claim 7 are directed to a process for the claimed processor, and the processor is only required to be capable of performing the claimed process limitations).
With regards to claim 10 , Canadian reference further teaches wherein when a flow rate or a flow velocity in the beds is a preset threshold value or more, or a pressure difference between the inlet port and outlet port of the adsorption tower is a preset threshold value or more, the processer is configured to: determine the fluid supply order or the fluid supply route so as to control the pressure between the inlet port and the outlet port using an artificial intelligence model; and transmit a command to change a connection structure of the plurality of beds based on the determined fluid supply order or fluid supply route to the adsorption tower(Examiner notes the limitations stated in lines 1-7 are directed to an intended use of the at least one sensor unit and processor, and the processor is only required to be capable of performing the claimed function for anticipation of the stated limitations, noting the processor is connected to the valves and the sensor units).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Canadian reference(CA2842930A1).
Canadian reference in figures 2,3A, and 12 teaches an operating control method of an adsorption tower(adsorption tower in figure 12; page 1 stating “bulk adsorption over packed beds”) for controlling a fluid supply route to a plurality of beds(adsorption packed beds 1-6), which is executed by a computing device including a memory(memory 230 in figure 3A) configured to store one or more instructions, and a processor(processor 220 in figure 3A) configured to execute the one or more instructions stored in the memory, the method comprising: measuring adsorption values in a plurality of beds(page 7 stating “sensing, utilizing the sensor between the input packed bed and a consecutive packed bed, a quantity representative of the heat/mass transfer operation”, wherein “a quantity representative of the heat/mass transfer operation” reads on measuring adsorption values); determining a fluid supply order to the plurality of beds according to the measured adsorption values in the plurality of beds; and controlling the fluid supply route by opening and closing valves according to the determined fluid supply order(page 8 stating “if output of the sensor disposed between an input packed bed and a next packed bed exceeds a predetermined sensor output, injection of fluid from the input packed bed to a next packed bed in the flow path( referred to as a successor packed bed), and the exit of fluid from an output packed bed to a packed bed succeeding the output packed bed and next to the output packed bed(referred to as a follower packed bed), wherein the follower packed bed was not previously in the flow path, the successor packed bed becoming the input packed bed and the follower packed bed becoming the output packed bed. The control subsystem is operatively connected to the sensors and to the flow connection/control components”).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Canadian reference(CA2842930A1).
Canadian reference in figures 2,3A, and 12 teaches an adsorption tower(adsorption tower in figure 12; page 1 stating “bulk adsorption over packed beds”) from a gas feed, the adsorption tower comprising: at least two beds(adsorption packed beds 1-6) of adsorbing material disposed inside the adsorption tower, an inlet port(flow connection component 180 in figure 2) at one end of the tower for feeding the gas stream into the adsorption tower; an outlet port(unnumbered in figure 12) at another end of the tower for removing a product gas that is substantially free of ammonia; at least one sensor(temperature sensor 170 in figure 1) for each of the beds; a plurality of connection pipes(connection pipes shown in figure 2) which connect at least two of the inlet port, the outlet port and the plurality of beds; and a computing device(control subsystem 205 in figure 3A including processor 220) for controlling a flow path of the gas feed through the at least two beds(page 8 stating “if output of the sensor disposed between an input packed bed and a next packed bed exceeds a predetermined sensor output, injection of fluid from the input packed bed to a next packed bed in the flow path( referred to as a successor packed bed), and the exit of fluid from an output packed bed to a packed bed succeeding the output packed bed and next to the output packed bed(referred to as a follower packed bed), wherein the follower packed bed was not previously in the flow path, the successor packed bed becoming the input packed bed and the follower packed bed becoming the output packed bed. The control subsystem is operatively connected to the sensors and to the flow connection/control components”), wherein the computing device determines the flow path. Examiner notes the limitations “for removing ammonia gas from a gas feed”, and “according to ammonia adsorption values measured by the sensors” are directed to an intended use for the claimed adsorption tower and are not given patentable weight for prior art analysis. Examiner notes that the claimed computing device only needs to be capable of performing the claimed function of determining a flow path according to ammonia adsorption values measured by the sensors.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8,9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 recites ” wherein the plurality of beds comprise at least a first bed, a second bed, and a third bed which are sequentially disposed in this order, wherein the plurality of beds contain different types of adsorbents placed therein, wherein an efficiency of the adsorbent in the first bed is lower than that of the adsorbent in the second bed, and wherein the efficiency of the adsorbent in the second bed is lower than that of the adsorbent in the third bed.”. Canadian reference teaches the plurality of beds comprise at least a first bed, a second bed, and a third bed which are sequentially disposed in this order, however Canadian reference does not teach or suggest wherein the plurality of beds contain different types of adsorbents placed therein, wherein an efficiency of the adsorbent in the first bed is lower than that of the adsorbent in the second bed, and wherein the efficiency of the adsorbent in the second bed is lower than that of the adsorbent in the third bed. Claim 9 depends on claim 8 and hence would also be allowable upon incorporation of claims 2,5,6,7, and 8 into claim 1.
/ROBERT A HOPKINS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776
July 8, 2026