DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/29/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is ‘configured to’ perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Logothetis (US 2019/0393598), hereinafter Logothetis.
Regarding claim 1 Logothetis discloses an antenna device for mixed beam scanning (Fig. 12, at 121), comprising: at least one antenna module configured to perform electronic scanning in a one-dimensional direction (Fig. 12, at 103; paragraph 0071), and comprising: a plurality of antenna unit groups arranged along a first direction (Fig. 12, at 103; paragraph 0071), each comprising at least one antenna unit (Fig. 12, at 103; paragraph 0071), wherein the at least one antenna unit of the same antenna unit group is arranged along a second direction (Fig. 12, at 103; paragraph 0071); a plurality of active radio-frequency (RF) modules electrically connected to the plurality of antenna unit groups (Fig. 19, at 183; paragraph 0101), respectively, each configured to generate an active RF signal and transmit the active RF signal to a corresponding one of the plurality of antenna unit groups, so that the corresponding antenna unit group forms a radiation beam based on the active RF signal (e.g., paragraph 0101), wherein each of the plurality of antenna unit groups is configured to receive at least one external RF signal and transmit the at least one external RF signal to a corresponding one of the plurality of active RF modules (e.g., paragraph 0101); and a rotating portion (e.g., paragraph 0089) having one end directly or indirectly connected to the at least one antenna module and configured to drive the at least one antenna module to spin or revolve around the end of the rotating portion to compensate or enhance a scanning capacity of the at least one antenna module in another dimension (e.g., paragraph 0089).
Regarding claim 2 Logothetis further discloses the antenna device according to claim 1, wherein the rotating portion is configured to drive the at least one antenna module to rotate alternate between clockwise rotation and counterclockwise rotation (e.g., Fig. 19, at 113 and 183).
Regarding claim 3 Logothetis further discloses the antenna device according to claim 1, further comprising a position adjusting portion having a first end directly or indirectly connected to the at least one antenna module and a second end directly or indirectly connected to the rotating portion, and configured to tilt the at least one antenna module around an axis defined by the first end of the position adjusting portion to enhance a scanning ability of the at least one antenna module in a one-dimensional direction (e.g., Fig. 15, at 157; paragraph 0097).
Regarding claim 4 Logothetis further discloses the antenna device according to claim 1, further comprising: at least one lateral lens module located between the at least one antenna module and the rotating portion; and at least one ground communication antenna module located on a lateral side of the at least one lateral lens module and configured to emit at least one RF signal toward the at least one lateral lens module so that the at least one lateral lens module forms a lateral radiation beam (shown in Figs. 3-5 and 8).
Regarding claim 7 Logothetis further discloses the antenna device according to claim 4, wherein the ground communication antenna module is in a form of a horn antenna or a microstrip antenna (e.g., Fig. 12, at 103 and 105).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Logothetis.
Regarding claim 6 Logothetis does not explicitly disclose wherein the ground communication antenna module uses WIFI, 4G or 5G communication protocol.
Logothetis teaches using various frequencies (e.g., paragraph 0062; see also paragraph 0069).
The examiner takes official notice that the antenna device according to claim 4, wherein the ground communication antenna module uses WIFI, 4G or 5G communication protocol is well known and common knowledge in the art. The Examiner notes that WIFI, 4G or 5G communication protocols are public standards that are well known in the art at the time the application was filed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 8-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claim 5, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of wherein a metal layer is disposed between the at least one lateral lens module and the at least one antenna module or between each two adjacent ones of a stack of lateral lens modules.
Logothetis and Frazita (US 2002/016449) are all cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including an antenna device for mixed beam scanning having a plurality of antenna unit groups arranged along a first direction, a plurality of active radio-frequency modules, and a rotating portion.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding dependent claim 8, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of a multiple-sided carrier frame having a plurality of structural planes, each positioned with respect to a central axis in a configuration that the plurality of structural planes are distributed around the central axis, wherein the at least antenna module comprises a plurality of antenna modules, and each of the plurality of structural planes is configured to allow a corresponding one of the plurality of antenna modules to be mounted thereon; and a pivoting portion having: a first end disposed at a lateral side of the multiple-sided carrier frame, wherein the multiple-sided carrier frame is configured to spin around an axis defined by the first end of the pivoting portion; and a second end directly or indirectly connected to the end of the rotating portion, wherein the first end of the pivoting portion extends along a first extending direction, the end of the rotating portion extends along a second extending direction, and the second extending direction is substantially perpendicular to the first extending direction, so that a rotating direction of the antenna module driven by the rotating portion is different from a spinning direction of the multiple-sided carrier frame.
Logothetis and Frazita are all cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including an antenna device for mixed beam scanning having a plurality of antenna unit groups arranged along a first direction, a plurality of active radio-frequency modules, and a rotating portion.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding dependent claim 13, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of wherein each of the plurality of antenna unit groups comprises a plurality of antenna units electrically connected to a transmitting-end focus-shifting switch and to a receiving-end focus-shifting switch, the transmitting-end focus-shifting switch is electrically connected to one of the plurality of active RF modules, and the receiving-end focus-shifting switch is electrically connected to one of the plurality of active RF modules.
Logothetis and Frazita are all cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including an antenna device for mixed beam scanning having a plurality of antenna unit groups arranged along a first direction, a plurality of active radio-frequency modules, and a rotating portion.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding dependent claim 14, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of wherein each of the plurality of active RF modules comprises: a transmitting-end beam-forming integrated circuit (BFIC) configured to generate an active RF signal; a power amplifier electrically connected to the transmitting-end BFIC and configured to receive the active RF signal from the transmitting-end BFIC, amplify a power of the active RF signal received from the transmitting-end BFIC, and directly or indirectly transmit the amplified active RF signal to the corresponding antenna unit group; a low-noise amplifier configured to directly or indirectly receive at least one external RF signal transmitted by the corresponding antenna unit group and amplify the at least one external RF signal; and a receiving-end BFIC electrically connected to the low-noise amplifier and configured to receive the amplified at least one external RF signal.
Logothetis and Frazita are all cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including an antenna device for mixed beam scanning having a plurality of antenna unit groups arranged along a first direction, a plurality of active radio-frequency modules, and a rotating portion.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Claims 17-25 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding independent claim 17, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of an antenna device for mixed beam scanning having a pivoting portion having a first end disposed at a lateral side of the multiple-sided carrier frame and extending along a first extending direction, wherein the multiple-sided carrier frame is configured to spin around an axis defined by the first end of the pivoting portion; and a rotating portion having an end directly or indirectly connected to a second end of the pivoting portion, extending along a second extending direction substantially perpendicular to the first extending direction, and configured to drive the multiple-sided carrier frame to spin or revolve around an axis of the rotating portion to compensate or enhance a scanning capacity of the plurality of antenna modules in another dimension, and drive the plurality of antenna modules to rotate as a whole along a rotating direction different from a spinning direction of the multiple-sided carrier frame..
Logothetis and Frazita are all cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including an antenna device for mixed beam scanning having a plurality of antenna unit groups arranged along a first direction, a plurality of active radio-frequency modules, and a rotating portion.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
DAVID E. LOTTER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2845
/DAVID E LOTTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845