Status of Claims
This is in response to applicant’s filing date of July 16, 2024. Claims 1-5 are currently pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority to Application JP2023-117911, filed on July 19, 2023. The certified copy of the application as required by 37 CFR 1.55 has been received.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 16, 2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to the abstract idea of a mathematical formula without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1, the claim(s) recite(s) the mathematical formula as the invention is directed to determining an estimated value of CO2 emissions from emission estimation model being a formula where a multiple regression expression for determining an estimated value of a power consumption of the image forming apparatus when performing the job is multiplied by a CO2 emission factor, and wherein a plurality of explanatory variables each according to a different type of setting for the job This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional limitations of controller with processor and that the subject of the judicial exception is an image forming apparatus are generic components that do not amount to more than apply it. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the ordered combination of claim limitations is not unconventional.
Claim 5 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 1 above with the claimed “[a] non-transitory computer-readable recording medium with a CO2 emission estimation program stored thereon” also merely reciting generic computer components that do not amount to more than apply it.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites additional aspects of the mathematical formula.
Regarding claims 3-4, the claim recites additional aspects such as displaying, storing in a storage device the results of the mathematical formula is merely a providing results step that is recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of providing the results from the determining step), and amounts to mere post solution displaying, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takei et al., (JP 2015228195 A)( “Takei”), machine translation is attached hereto, in view of TAKESHI Mima (JP-2015087483-A)(“Mima”), machine translation is attached hereto.
As per claim 1, Takei discloses a CO2 emission estimation system (Figures 1, 5, and 7) comprising a controller that includes a processor and functions (Takei at Page 10, Pra. 5, disclosing controller for receiving instructions and performing certain calculations and functions:” various programs 141 for operating the data processing control unit 10, calculation results 142 by the data processing control unit 10, and the like.”),
through the processor executing a CO2 emission estimation program (Takei at Page 7, Par. 3, disclosing calculating or estimating the emission estimation for an image forming device such as a printer:” when it is desired to calculate the carbon dioxide emission power of a certain printer, the specification values (power consumption or weight) Xk (i) and the carbon dioxide emission power Yk (i) related to a plurality of evaluated printers are input / output data. Input as a pair (Xk (i), Yk (i)).”),
as a CO2 emission estimator that calculates an estimated value of CO2 emissions from an image forming apparatus when performing a job (Takei at Pages . 4 and 5, where the product is a “printer” and/or “copier” and “[t]he function setting unit 101 sets a model function by performing regression analysis based on the specification values of a plurality of products belonging to the same category as the product to be evaluated for environmental load and the environmental load amounts of the plurality of products” such that category of product information indicate the jobs executed),
using a CO2 emission estimation model as a formula for estimating the CO2 emissions and settings for the job (Takei at Pages 4, 5, 9, and 12, where “[t]he function setting unit 101 sets a model function by performing regression analysis based on the specification values of a plurality of products belonging to the same category as the product to be evaluated for environmental load and the environmental load amounts of the plurality of products” and “[s]pecifically, the function setting unit 101 uses a specification value Xk (i) of a product whose environmental load has been evaluated as input data, and an input / output data pair (output data as the environmental load Yk (i) of the product)” and “[s]pecifically, first, the environmental load evaluation device 3 calculates the specification value ranges Wx_1, Wx_2,..., Wx_m corresponding to the respective environmental load amounts Y determined by the stepwise model function Y = f (Wx_p)” and “[b]y performing regression analysis based on the specification value and environmental load of multiple evaluated products that belong to the same category as the product subject to environmental load evaluation, the product specification value is used as an explanatory variable, and the environmental load of the product is determined” such that the “specification values” help explain relationships between settings and carbon dioxide emissions),
the CO2 emission estimation model being a formula where a multiple regression expression for determining an estimated value of a power consumption of the image forming apparatus when performing the job is (Takei at Pages 4 and 5, where “[f]or example, when it is desired to calculate the carbon dioxide emission power of a certain printer, the specification values (power consumption or weight) Xk (i) and the carbon dioxide emission power Yk (i) related to a plurality of evaluated printers are input / output data” and “[n]ext, the environmental load evaluation apparatus 1 performs regression analysis based on the input / output data pair (Xk (i), Yk (i)) input in step S101 by the function setting unit 101, and the model function Y = f (X) is set (S102)” such that there are multiple models and variables),
the CO2 emission estimation model having a plurality of explanatory variables each according to a different type of setting for the job. (Takei at Page 6, Para. 2, discloses estimating on the same category which in the broadest interpretation can be based on a print job since it would dictate the number of pages and the use of certain resources like toner and the like:” the function setting unit 101 sets input / output data pairs with the specification value Xk (i) of a product whose environmental load has already been evaluated as input data and the environmental load Yk (i) of that product as output data ( Perform regression analysis from Xk (i) and Yk (i) to set a model function Y = f (X) with the specification value of the product as the explanatory variable Y and the environmental load of the product as the target variable X . Here, i represents other products belonging to the same category, and i = 1, 2,.”).
Takei does not explicitly disclose a power consumption of the image forming apparatus is multiplied by a CO2 emissions factor.
However, Mima discloses a power consumption of the image forming apparatus is multiplied by a CO2 emissions factor (see Mima pg. 12, where “Job CO2 emissions = (Job power consumption) x (CO2 emissions basic unit)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the additional job specific formula information of Mima as part of the specification values in the regression analysis of Takei, because it is predictable that including the additional job specific power consumption information would improve the accuracy of the carbon dioxide emissions estimation by fine tuning that estimation based on the number of jobs executed by the product as well.
As per claim 2, Takei and Mima disclose a CO2 emission estimation system according to claim 1, wherein the multiple regression expression includes a constant term indicating a sum of powers basically required for the job (Mima at Para. [0099] discloses adding all the variables that contribute to power consumption and thus emission based on the attributes like number of pages and the like:” analysis processing unit 502 refers to the power consumption tables illustrated in FIGS. 9A to 9C, and the power consumption at the time of printing on one side and both sides of one page regarding the target job history. Get the amount. Here, the corresponding power consumption is acquired based on the number of pages of each fixing temperature, the job type 803, the page size 903, the color type 902, the target device (device ID 802), and the like.”).
As per claim 3, Takei and Mima disclose a CO2 emission estimation system according to claim 1, further comprising a display device, wherein the CO2 emission estimator allows the display device to display the estimated value of CO2 emissions from the image forming apparatus when performing the job (Mima at Para. [0107] discloses displaying the CO2 emission for the print job:” display content includes, for example, the following items. Summary fields 1701 is a drop-down list for selecting the summary field, including CO2 emissions and power consumption, the number of printed pages. The graph 1702 indicates the CO2 emissions due to actual power consumption, and is displayed based on the CO2 emissions due to the power consumption of the MFP A shown in the tabulation result 1703.
As per claim 4, Takei and Mima disclose a CO2 emission estimation system according to claim 1, further comprising:
a display device (Mima at Figure 2, display 210.); and
a storage device (Mima at Figure 8, job history information table, which is generated from job history collection unit 503. See Para. [0067]) that stores job history information, wherein the CO2 emission estimator calculates, about jobs shown in the job history information, respective estimated values of CO2 emissions from the image forming apparatus using the settings for each of the jobs shown in the job history information and the CO2 emission estimation model according to a type of each of the jobs shown in the job history information and allows the display device to display a total of estimated values which is a sum of the respective estimated values calculated about the jobs (Mima at Para. [0106] discloses collecting and aggregating the print jobs statistics along with power consumption with CO2 emission:” reference to FIG. 17, power consumption, and illustrating an example of a display screen showing the analysis results of the CO2 emissions. Access to the interface unit 501 of the analysis server 104 from the Web browser 404 of the host computer 101 transmits a request for obtaining the display data of the counting result. When receiving the request, the interface unit 501 acquires the counting result from the analysis processing unit 502, and generates display data in a format such as HTML that can be displayed on the Web browser 404. The interface unit 501 transmits the created display data such as HTML to the Web browser 404. The web browser 404 interprets the received display data, and displays the aggregation result on the display 210. FIG. 17 shows the contents displayed on the display by the web browser 404.”).
As per claim 5, Takei discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium with a CO2 emission estimation program stored (Figure 2, ROM 202 and hard disk 211.) thereon,
the CO2 emission estimation program allowing a computer to act as a CO2 emission estimator that calculates an estimated value of CO2 emissions of an image forming apparatus when performing a job (Takei at Page 7, Par. 3, disclosing calculating or estimating the emission estimation for an image forming device such as a printer:” when it is desired to calculate the carbon dioxide emission power of a certain printer, the specification values (power consumption or weight) Xk (i) and the carbon dioxide emission power Yk (i) related to a plurality of evaluated printers are input / output data. Input as a pair (Xk (i), Yk (i)).”),
using a CO2 emission estimation model as a formula for estimating the CO2 emissions and settings for the job (Takei at Pages 4, 5, 9, and 12, where “[t]he function setting unit 101 sets a model function by performing regression analysis based on the specification values of a plurality of products belonging to the same category as the product to be evaluated for environmental load and the environmental load amounts of the plurality of products” and “[s]pecifically, the function setting unit 101 uses a specification value Xk (i) of a product whose environmental load has been evaluated as input data, and an input / output data pair (output data as the environmental load Yk (i) of the product)” and “[s]pecifically, first, the environmental load evaluation device 3 calculates the specification value ranges Wx_1, Wx_2,..., Wx_m corresponding to the respective environmental load amounts Y determined by the stepwise model function Y = f (Wx_p)” and “[b]y performing regression analysis based on the specification value and environmental load of multiple evaluated products that belong to the same category as the product subject to environmental load evaluation, the product specification value is used as an explanatory variable, and the environmental load of the product is determined” such that the “specification values” help explain relationships between settings and carbon dioxide emissions),
the CO2 emission estimation model being a formula where a multiple regression expression for determining an estimated value of a power consumption of the image forming apparatus when performing the job is multiplied by (Takei at Pages 4 and 5, where “[f]or example, when it is desired to calculate the carbon dioxide emission power of a certain printer, the specification values (power consumption or weight) Xk (i) and the carbon dioxide emission power Yk (i) related to a plurality of evaluated printers are input / output data” and “[n]ext, the environmental load evaluation apparatus 1 performs regression analysis based on the input / output data pair (Xk (i), Yk (i)) input in step S101 by the function setting unit 101, and the model function Y = f (X) is set (S102)” such that there are multiple models and variables),
the CO2 emission estimation model having a plurality of explanatory variables each according to a different type of setting for the job . (Takei at Page 6, Para. 2, discloses estimating on the same category which in the broadest interpretation can be based on a print job since it would dictate the number of pages and the use of certain resources like toner and the like:” the function setting unit 101 sets input / output data pairs with the specification value Xk (i) of a product whose environmental load has already been evaluated as input data and the environmental load Yk (i) of that product as output data ( Perform regression analysis from Xk (i) and Yk (i) to set a model function Y = f (X) with the specification value of the product as the explanatory variable Y and the environmental load of the product as the target variable X . Here, i represents other products belonging to the same category, and i = 1, 2,.”).
Takei does not explicitly disclose a power consumption of the image forming apparatus is multiplied by a CO2 emissions factor.
However, Mima discloses a power consumption of the image forming apparatus is multiplied by a CO2 emissions factor (see Mima pg. 12, where “Job CO2 emissions = (Job power consumption) x (CO2 emissions basic unit)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the additional job specific formula information of Mima as part of the specification values in the regression analysis of Takei, because it is predictable that including the additional job specific power consumption information would improve the accuracy of the carbon dioxide emissions estimation by fine tuning that estimation based on the number of jobs executed by the product as well..
CONCLUSION
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
TOMITA; Shigeo et al. (US-20130314722-A1); discloses calculating a probability that a machine fails in work applied to a printed matter; calculating, as a production environmental load value, a value including a printing environmental load value, a paper environmental load value, a product of the probability and a re-printing environmental load value, and a product of the probability and the paper environmental load value, the printing environmental load value representing a degree of load put on the environment resulting from printing onto paper used for the printed matter.
Ohashi; Toshio (US-20130201522-A1);discloses a system where the power consumption amount of a network printer is converted into a CO2 emission amount, and a print job is output to an alternate network printer that can perform printing if the converted CO2 emission amount exceeds an emission amount upper limit value
Kato; Kazunori (US-20120053885-A1); discloses information processing apparatus counts as a result the number of sheets output by an image forming apparatus with reference to collected job history information and obtains the amount of electric power consumed by the image forming apparatus based on the job history information … wherein the information processing apparatus generates the display data required to display the screen in such a way as to indicate an emission amount of the greenhouse effect gas obtained based on the analyzed number of sheets.
YASUDA; Keizo (US-20110317196-A1); discloses and information generation/display part for displaying CO2 information at a time of selecting print conditions of a document, and displays the listing of the respective items of the setting comparison information, the result information, the advice information, and the CO2 information on a display unit.
MIYAZAWA HIDEYUKI et al. (JP-2008015748-A); discloses providing a power monitoring device or a power monitoring network system, capable of attaining a power reduction target without degradation of use conditions for customers
Mizobuchi; Yuki et al. (US-20080008508-A1); discloses displaying the used amount of wood that is one of the environmental resources that the user has used when an image is formed, the user can be inspired to recognize the used amount more specifically and the interest of the user in the ecology can be further improved.
ITO TAKASHI et al. (JP-2002006696-A); discloses providing a CO2 emission quantity calculation method and CO2 emission quantity management system which facilitate the recognition of the actual state of CO2 emission and an image forming device which is capable of making improved prediction by presenting a recommendation mode for decreasing the CO2 emission quantity.
/ELLIS B. RAMIREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658