DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in the European Union on November 14, 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the EP23315420.2 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
The document filed on October 23, 2024 is a copy of a certified copy. For help on filing the proper copy, the Examiner suggests contacting the Patents Ombuds Office at 888-786-0101 or PatentsOmbudsOffice@uspto.gov.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“processing system determines the bending moment acting on the rotor shaft based on the signal from the at least one sensor” in claim 1;
“processing unit that retrieves the reference signal from the storage circuit to determine an additional bending moment acting on the rotor blade based on the reference signal from the storage circuit and the signal from the at least one sensor” in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Volanthen et al (US 2009/0324409 A1), hereinafter “Volanthen”, and further in view of Wurzel et al. (US 2022/0065738 A1), hereinafter “Wurzel”.
Regarding claim 1, Volanthen teaches a measurement apparatus for determining a force of a rotary-wing aircraft (abstract, Fig. 1), comprising:
a sensor arrangement (Fig. 1, ref 2) that is mounted to a rotor blade (ref 1, paragraphs [0033]-[0034]) and that comprises:
at least one sensor that generates a signal in response to a force or moment that acts on the rotor blade (paragraphs [0033], [0035]), and
a cable that is connected to the at least one sensor for transmitting the signal (ref 3, paragraph [0033]); and
a processing system that is connected to the cable and that receives the signal from the at least one sensor via the cable (paragraphs [0027]-[0028]).
Volanthen is silent regarding determining a bending moment acting on a rotor shaft, the sensor mounted to a rotor blade that is attached to the rotor shaft, and wherein the processing system determines the bending moment acting on the rotor shaft based on the signal from the at least one sensor.
However, Wurzel teaches a device for measuring bending on a rotor shaft (abstract, Fig. 2) including determining a bending moment acting on a rotor shaft (paragraph [0062]), the sensor attached to the rotor shaft (ref 200, paragraph [0062]), and wherein the processing system determines the bending moment acting on the rotor shaft based on the signal from the at least one sensor (paragraph [0074], [0081]-[0082]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Volanthen with the teaching of Wurzel by including determining a bending moment acting on a rotor shaft, the sensor mounted to a rotor blade that is attached to the rotor shaft, and wherein the processing system determines the bending moment acting on the rotor shaft based on the signal from the at least one sensor in order to provide contactless determination of a bending moment acting on a hollow cylindrical body, paragraph [0015].
Regarding claim 2, Volanthen teaches wherein the force or moment causes at least one of a strain, a displacement, or an angle change of the rotor blade (paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 3, Volanthen teaches wherein the sensor arrangement comprises at least one additional sensor (paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 4, Volanthen teaches wherein the sensor arrangement is an embedded sensor arrangement, a surface integrated sensor arrangement, or a surface applied sensor arrangement (paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 6, Volanthen teaches wherein the cable comprises a fiber optic cable, and wherein the at least one sensor comprise at least one optical sensor (paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 7, Volanthen teaches wherein an optical sensor of the at least one optical sensor comprises a fiber-Bragg grating in the fiber optic cable (paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 10, Volanthen wherein the processing system further comprises: a storage circuit that stores a reference signal measured during an initial undeformed state of the rotor blade; and a processing unit that retrieves the reference signal from the storage circuit to determine an additional bending moment acting on the rotor blade based on the reference signal from the storage circuit and the signal from the at least one sensor (paragraphs [0024]-[0025]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Volanthen and Wurzel as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sutton et al. (US20150370030A1), hereinafter “Sutton”.
Regarding claim 5, Volanthen is silent regarding wherein the rotor blade comprises a flexbeam, and wherein the sensor arrangement is mounted to the flexbeam.
However, Sutton teaches a device for optical measurement of blades (abstract) wherein the rotor blade comprises a flexbeam, and wherein the sensor arrangement is mounted to the flexbeam (paragraphs [0022]-[0023]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Volanthen with the teaching of Sutton by including wherein the rotor blade comprises a flexbeam, and wherein the sensor arrangement is mounted to the flexbeam in order to monitor a helicopter rotor (paragraph [0022]).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Volanthen and Wurzel as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Sutton et al. (US20150370030A1), hereinafter “Sutton”.
Regarding claim 8, Volanthen is silent regarding an interrogator that sends light having a first wavelength profile to the at least one optical sensor, and wherein the at least one optical sensor reflects light having a second wavelength profile as the signal back to the processing system.
However, Sutton teaches an interrogator that sends light having a first wavelength profile to the at least one optical sensor, and wherein the at least one optical sensor reflects light having a second wavelength profile as the signal back to the processing system (paragraph [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Volanthen with the teaching of Sutton by including an interrogator that sends light having a first wavelength profile to the at least one optical sensor, and wherein the at least one optical sensor reflects light having a second wavelength profile as the signal back to the processing system in order to monitor the blade.
Regarding claim 9, Volanthen wherein a change of the force or moment that acts on the rotor blade causes a change of the second wavelength profile (paragraph [0029]).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Volanthen and Wurzel as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Egedal (US 2013/0294911 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Volanthen is silent regarding wherein the processing unit further comprises: an arithmetic logic unit that determines a magnitude and an azimuth angle of the bending moment based on the additional bending moment acting on the rotor blade.
However, Egedal teaches a device for optical measurement of blades (abstract) wherein the processing unit further comprises: an arithmetic logic unit that determines a magnitude and an azimuth angle of the bending moment based on the additional bending moment acting on the rotor blade (paragraphs [0011], [0031]-[0034]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Volanthen with the teaching of Egedal by including wherein the processing unit further comprises: an arithmetic logic unit that determines a magnitude and an azimuth angle of the bending moment based on the additional bending moment acting on the rotor blade in order to monitor a structural unbalance of the blade.
Regarding claim 12, Volanthen is silent regarding a display that displays the magnitude and the azimuth angle of the bending moment.
However, Wurzel teaches a device for measuring bending on a rotor shaft (abstract, Fig. 2) including a display that displays the magnitude and the angle of the bending moment (paragraph [0111]).
Furthermore, Egedal teaches the azimuth angle of the bending moment (paragraph [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Volanthen with the teaching of Wurzel and Egedal by including a display that displays the magnitude and the azimuth angle of the bending moment in order to inform a user of the results.
Regarding claim 13, Volanthen is silent regarding an alert system that provides at least one of a visual alarm or an aural alarm when the magnitude of the bending moment is greater than a predetermined threshold value.
However, Wurzel teaches a device for measuring bending on a rotor shaft (abstract, Fig. 2) including an alert system that provides at least one of a visual alarm or an aural alarm when the magnitude of the bending moment is greater than a predetermined threshold value (paragraph [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Volanthen with the teaching of Wurzel by including an alert system that provides at least one of a visual alarm or an aural alarm when the magnitude of the bending moment is greater than a predetermined threshold value in order to alert a user of the results.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Volanthen, and further in view of Wurzel, Sutton, and Egedal.
Regarding claim 14, Volanthen teaches a method of operating a measurement apparatus for determining a force of a rotary-wing aircraft (abstract, Fig. 1), the measurement apparatus comprising a processing system (paragraphs [0027][0028]) and a sensor arrangement (Fig. 1, ref 1, paragraphs [0033]-[0034]), wherein the sensor arrangement is mounted to a rotor blade (ref 1, paragraphs [0033]-[0034]), and wherein the sensor arrangement further comprises at least one optical sensor (paragraphs [0033], [0035]) and a fiber optic cable that connects the at least one optical sensor with the processing system (ref 3, paragraph [0033]), the method comprising:
in response to detecting the change of the second wavelength profile, using the processing system to determine an additional bending moment that acts on the rotor blade (paragraphs [0024]-[0025]).
Volanthen is silent regarding determining a bending moment acting on a rotor shaft, the sensor mounted to a rotor blade that is attached to the rotor shaft, and wherein the processing system determines the bending moment acting on the rotor shaft based on the signal from the at least one sensor; with an interrogator in the processing system, sending light having a first wavelength profile to the at least one optical sensor, wherein the at least one optical sensor reflects light having a second wavelength profile back to the processing system; with the processing system, detecting a change in the second wavelength profile compared to the second wavelength profile in an initial undeformed state of the rotor blade; using an arithmetic logic unit in the processing system to determine a magnitude and an azimuth angle of the bending moment acting on the rotor shaft based on the additional bending moment that acts on the rotor blade.
However, Wurzel teaches a method for measuring bending on a rotor shaft (abstract, Fig. 2) including determining a bending moment acting on a rotor shaft (paragraph [0062]), the sensor attached to the rotor shaft (ref 200, paragraph [0062]), and wherein the processing system determines the bending moment acting on the rotor shaft based on the signal from the at least one sensor (paragraph [0074], [0081]-[0082]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Volanthen with the teaching of Wurzel by including determining a bending moment acting on a rotor shaft, the sensor mounted to a rotor blade that is attached to the rotor shaft, and wherein the processing system determines the bending moment acting on the rotor shaft based on the signal from the at least one sensor in order to provide contactless determination of a bending moment acting on a hollow cylindrical body, paragraph [0015].
Furthermore, Sutton teaches wherein the processing system determines the bending moment acting on the rotor shaft based on the signal from the at least one sensor; with an interrogator in the processing system, sending light having a first wavelength profile to the at least one optical sensor, wherein the at least one optical sensor reflects light having a second wavelength profile back to the processing system (paragraph [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Volanthen with the teaching of Sutton by including wherein the processing system determines the bending moment acting on the rotor shaft based on the signal from the at least one sensor; with an interrogator in the processing system, sending light having a first wavelength profile to the at least one optical sensor, wherein the at least one optical sensor reflects light having a second wavelength profile back to the processing system in order to monitor the blade.
Furthermore, Egedal teaches a device for optical measurement of blades (abstract) including with the processing system, detecting a change in the second wavelength profile compared to the second wavelength profile in an initial undeformed state of the rotor blade; using an arithmetic logic unit in the processing system to determine a magnitude and an azimuth angle of the bending moment acting on the rotor shaft based on the additional bending moment that acts on the rotor blade (paragraphs [0011], [0031]-[0034]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Volanthen with the teaching of Egedal by including with the processing system, detecting a change in the second wavelength profile compared to the second wavelength profile in an initial undeformed state of the rotor blade; using an arithmetic logic unit in the processing system to determine a magnitude and an azimuth angle of the bending moment acting on the rotor shaft based on the additional bending moment that acts on the rotor blade in order to monitor a structural unbalance of the blade.
Regarding claim 15, Volanthen is silent regarding using a display to display the magnitude and the azimuth angle of the bending moment; and using an alert system to provide at least one of a visual alarm or an aural alarm in response to detecting that the magnitude of the bending moment is greater than a predetermined threshold value.
However, Wurzel teaches a device for measuring bending on a rotor shaft (abstract, Fig. 2) including a display that displays the magnitude and the angle of the bending moment (paragraph [0111]), and using an alert system to provide at least one of a visual alarm or an aural alarm in response to detecting that the magnitude of the bending moment is greater than a predetermined threshold value.
Furthermore, Egedal teaches the azimuth angle of the bending moment (paragraph [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Volanthen with the teaching of Wurzel and Egedal by including using a display to display the magnitude and the azimuth angle of the bending moment; and using an alert system to provide at least one of a visual alarm or an aural alarm in response to detecting that the magnitude of the bending moment is greater than a predetermined threshold value in order to inform a user of the results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cravener (US 2023/0194312) teaches a sensor for measuring rotor blades in a rotary aircraft, and could be combined to render at least claim 1 obvious.
/DOMINIC J BOLOGNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877