Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hsieh (US 20240314967 A1).
Re claim 1: Hsieh discloses a latch component (fastening assembly 12 in figs 1, 5 and paragraph 31) of a peripheral mounting system (main frame 10 in figs 1, 5) for use with an information handling system (server 9 in fig 1), comprising:
a latch main housing portion (engagement slide block 123 in fig 5 and paragraph 35);
a pin engagement feature (block portions 120 in fig 5 and paragraph 35) physically coupled to the latch main housing portion; and,
a travel control feature (operational slide block 121 in fig 5 and paragraph 32) physically coupled (i.e., via 126) to the latch main housing, the travel control feature allowing the latch component to move in the peripheral mounting system between a locked position (fastening position in fig 8 and paragraph 34; i.e., when the movable pin 125 is inserted into the first positioning hole H1 of the first plate 100 of the main frame 10) and an unlocked position (releasing position in fig 9 and paragraph 34; i.e., when the movable pin 125 is inserted into the second positioning hole H2 of the first plate 100).
Re claim 2: Hsieh discloses the latch component, further comprising: a handle feature (connection plate 126 in fig 5) physically coupled to the latch main housing portion.
Re claim 3: Hsieh discloses the latch component, wherein: the pin engagement feature (120 in fig 5) interacts with a guide pin (engagement recessed portions 82 of the expansion cards 8 in figs 4, 6-7 and paragraph 36) mounted within the information handling system (herein, expansion cards 8 are mounted within server 9).
Re claim 4: Hsieh discloses the latch component, wherein: the pin engagement feature (120 in fig 5) comprises a hook structure extending downwardly from the latch main housing portion, an end of the hook structure interacting with the guide pin (82) when the latch component is in a locked position (see fig 6 and paragraph 36).
Re claim 5: Hsieh discloses the latch component, wherein: the travel control feature includes position fixing projection (movable pin 125 in fig 5), the position fixing projection mating with a lock recess (H1 in fig 5) defined by the peripheral mounting system when the latch component is in a locked position (fastening position in fig 8 and paragraph 34), the position fixing projection mating with an unlock recess (H2 in fig 5) defined by the peripheral mounting system when the latch component is in an unlocked position (releasing position in fig 9 and paragraph 34).
Re claim 6: Hsieh discloses the latch component, wherein: the travel control feature includes a travel channel (first grooves 1210 in fig 5); and,
fasteners (first guide components 122 in fig 5 and paragraph 32) coupled to the peripheral mounting system move within the travel channel when the latch component moves in the peripheral mounting system between the locked position (fastening position in fig 8 and paragraph 34; i.e., when the movable pin 125 is inserted into the first positioning hole H1 of the first plate 100 of the main frame 10) and the unlocked position (releasing position in fig 9 and paragraph 34; i.e., when the movable pin 125 is inserted into the second positioning hole H2 of the first plate 100).
Re claim 7: Hsieh discloses a peripheral tray system for use with an information handling system (server 9 in figs 1-2) comprising:
a chassis (casing 90 in fig 2); and,
a peripheral mounting system (main frame 10 in figs 1-2, 5) mounted to the chassis, the peripheral mounting system comprising a riser tray housing (see riser card 11 accommodated in main frame 10 in fig 5 and paragraph 28); and,
a latch component (fastening assembly 12 in figs 1, 5 and paragraph 31), the latch component comprising a latch main housing portion (engagement slide block 123 in fig 5 and paragraph 35);
a pin engagement feature (block portions 120 in fig 5 and paragraph 35) physically coupled to the latch main housing portion; and,
a travel control feature (operational slide block 121 in fig 5 and paragraph 32) physically coupled (i.e., via 126) to the latch main housing, the travel control feature allowing the latch component to move in the peripheral mounting system between a locked position (fastening position in fig 8 and paragraph 34; i.e., when the movable pin 125 is inserted into the first positioning hole H1 of the first plate 100 of the main frame 10) and an unlocked position (releasing position in fig 9 and paragraph 34; i.e., when the movable pin 125 is inserted into the second positioning hole H2 of the first plate 100).
Re claim 8: Hsieh discloses the peripheral tray system, wherein the latch component further comprise a handle feature (connection plate 126 in fig 5) physically coupled to the latch main housing portion.
Re claim 9: Hsieh discloses the peripheral tray system, wherein: the pin engagement feature (120 in fig 5) interacts with a guide pin (engagement recessed portions 82 of the expansion cards 8 in figs 4, 6-7 and paragraph 36) mounted within the information handling system (herein, expansion cards 8 are mounted within server 9).
Re claim 10: Hsieh discloses the peripheral tray system, wherein: the pin engagement feature (120 in fig 5) comprises a hook structure extending downwardly from the latch main housing portion, an end of the hook structure interacting with the guide pin (82) when the latch component is in a locked position (see fig 6 and paragraph 36).
Re claim 11: Hsieh discloses the peripheral tray system, wherein: the travel control feature includes position fixing projection (movable pin 125 in fig 5), the position fixing projection mating with a lock recess (H1 in fig 5) defined by the peripheral mounting system when the latch component is in a locked position (fastening position in fig 8 and paragraph 34), the position fixing projection mating with an unlock recess (H2 in fig 5) defined by the peripheral mounting system when the latch component is in an unlocked position (releasing position in fig 9 and paragraph 34).
Re claim 12: Hsieh discloses the peripheral tray system, wherein the travel control feature includes a travel channel (first grooves 1210 in fig 5); and, fasteners (first guide components 122 in fig 5 and paragraph 32) coupled to the peripheral mounting system move within the travel channel when the latch component moves in the peripheral mounting system between the locked position (fastening position in fig 8 and paragraph 34; i.e., when the movable pin 125 is inserted into the first positioning hole H1 of the first plate 100 of the main frame 10) and the unlocked position (releasing position in fig 9 and paragraph 34; i.e., when the movable pin 125 is inserted into the second positioning hole H2 of the first plate 100).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh (US 20240314967 A1) in view of Jau et al. (US 20130039001 A1).
Re claim 13: Hsieh discloses a system (server 9 in figs 1-2) comprising:
a chassis (casing 90 in fig 2);
a peripheral mounting system (main frame 10 in figs 1-2, 5) comprising a riser tray housing (see riser card 11 accommodated in main frame 10 in fig 5 and paragraph 28); and,
a latch component (fastening assembly 12 in figs 1, 5 and paragraph 31), the latch component comprising a latch main housing portion (engagement slide block 123 in fig 5 and paragraph 35);
a pin engagement feature (block portions 120 in fig 5 and paragraph 35) physically coupled to the latch main housing portion; and,
a travel control feature (operational slide block 121 in fig 5 and paragraph 32) physically coupled (i.e., via 126) to the latch main housing, the travel control feature allowing the latch component to move in the peripheral mounting system between a locked position (fastening position in fig 8 and paragraph 34; i.e., when the movable pin 125 is inserted into the first positioning hole H1 of the first plate 100 of the main frame 10) and an unlocked position (releasing position in fig 9 and paragraph 34; i.e., when the movable pin 125 is inserted into the second positioning hole H2 of the first plate 100).
Hsieh fails to explicitly disclose a processor contained within the chassis of the server.
However, Hsieh discloses a riser card (11 in fig 3 and paragraph 28) including an electrical connector portion (CP in fig 3) that is inserted into a connection slot of a motherboard of the server (9), and expansion cards (8 in fig 5 and paragraph 24) are inserted into connection slots (110 in fig 5) of the riser card.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the motherboard of the server with a processor in order to communicate data between the expansion cards connected to the riser card and the motherboard.
Hsieh fails to disclose a data bus coupled to the processor.
Jau discloses a server system (1 in fig 2A), wherein a power supply module (12 in fig 2A) of the server system is electrically connected to server units (16 in fig 2A) via data bus connections (see paragraph 39).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to couple a data bus to the processor of the server in order to transmit power to the server from a power supply module on a server rack by bus bars, so as to maintain automatic power balance.
Re claim 14: Hsieh in view of Jau discloses the system, wherein the latch component further comprises a handle feature (Hsieh: connection plate 126 in fig 5) physically coupled to the latch main housing portion.
Re claim 15: Hsieh in view of Jau discloses the system, wherein: the pin engagement feature (Hsieh: 120 in fig 5) interacts with a guide pin (Hsieh: engagement recessed portions 82 of the expansion cards 8 in figs 4, 6-7 and paragraph 36) mounted within the information handling system (Hsieh: herein, expansion cards 8 are mounted within server 9).
Re claim 16: Hsieh in view of Jau discloses the system, wherein: the pin engagement feature (Hsieh: 120 in fig 5) comprises a hook structure extending downwardly from the latch main housing portion, an end of the hook structure interacting with the guide pin (Hsieh: 82) when the latch component is in a locked position (Hsieh: see fig 6 and paragraph 36).
Re claim 17: Hsieh in view of Jau discloses the system, wherein: the travel control feature includes position fixing projection (Hsieh: movable pin 125 in fig 5), the position fixing projection mating with a lock recess (Hsieh: H1 in fig 5) defined by the peripheral mounting system when the latch component is in a locked position (Hsieh: fastening position in fig 8 and paragraph 34), the position fixing projection mating with an unlock recess (Hsieh: H2 in fig 5) defined by the peripheral mounting system when the latch component is in an unlocked position (Hsieh: releasing position in fig 9 and paragraph 34).
Re claim 18: Hsieh in view of Jau discloses the system, wherein the travel control feature includes a travel channel (Hsieh: first grooves 1210 in fig 5); and, fasteners (Hsieh: first guide components 122 in fig 5 and paragraph 32) coupled to the peripheral mounting system move within the travel channel when the latch component moves in the peripheral mounting system between the locked position (Hsieh: fastening position in fig 8 and paragraph 34; i.e., when the movable pin 125 is inserted into the first positioning hole H1 of the first plate 100 of the main frame 10) and the unlocked position (Hsieh: releasing position in fig 9 and paragraph 34; i.e., when the movable pin 125 is inserted into the second positioning hole H2 of the first plate 100).
Conclusion
/NIDHI THAKER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841