DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's Restriction Requirement remarks filed on July 16, 2024. Claim(s) 1-9 are pending and examined herein insofar as they read on the elected invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-16 of U.S. Patent No. US RE46,792 E. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims are directed to a compound, pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound having the structure 11 or a salt thereof and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, and methods of treatment thereof, whereas the instant claims are directed to an ointment composition comprising the same compound. An ointment composition is a pharmaceutical composition containing a base component as a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. However, the instant claims do not contain any limitations that would structurally differentiate the compositions. The two inventions overlap highly in scope, therefore rendering the instant claims unpatentable.
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. US 10,588,893. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims are directed to a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound having the structure 11 or a salt thereof and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier whereas the instant claims are directed to ointment composition Wcomprising the same compound. An ointment composition is a pharmaceutical composition containing a base component as a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. However, the instant claims do not contain any limitations that would structurally differentiate the compositions. The two inventions overlap highly in scope, therefore rendering the instant claims unpatentable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada (WO 2007/058338 A2) of record.
Okada teaches oxazole compounds of formula (1) or a salt thereof and pharmaceutical compositions (see abstract; page 1, lines 1-2). Okada teaches that, due to their PDE-4 specific inhibitory action, the compounds of the invention can be useful as active ingredient used as prophylactic and therapeutic agents for various disease, including dermatoses such as toxic and allergic eczema, atopic dermatitis (see page 43, lines 5-17). Okada teaches that for external preparations, the compounds may be prepared in, for example ointments, wherein the external preparations can optionally include various carriers, base materials as claimed in the instant claim 2, and additives typically used in external preparations (see page 44, lines 11-16). Okada teaches an exemplary oxazole compound of formula (1) with PDE4 inhibitory activity is:
which is the same compound as claimed in the instant claim 1 (see pages 216-217, Table 11, Ex. No. 230; page 259, Ex. No. 352).
The reference teaches a generic group of compounds which embraces applicants’ claimed compound (see above). The claims differ from the reference by reciting a specific specie and a more limited genus than the reference. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select any of the species of the genus taught by the reference, including those instantly claimed, because the skilled chemist would have the reasonable expectation that any of the species of the genus would have similar properties and, thus, the same use as taught for the genus as a whole. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select the claimed compounds from the genus in the reference since such compounds would have been suggested by the reference as a whole. It has been held that a prior art disclosed genus of useful compounds is sufficient to render prima facie obvious a species falling within a genus. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423, 425 (CCPA 1971), followed by the Federal Circuit in Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 847 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ 2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989).
Regarding claim 2, Okada does not exemplify an ointment composition comprising an oxazole compound of formula (11) or wherein the ointment comprises the oxazole compound dissolve in a base component.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to formulate an external ointment preparation containing the oxazole compound based on the guidance provided by Okada. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to formulate an external ointment preparation containing the oxazole compound based on the guidance provided by Okada in order to provide an external ointment composition for the treatment of skin dermatoses. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in formulating an external ointment preparation containing the oxazole compound based on the guidance provided by Okada because Okada teaches the oxazole compounds can be used in external preparations in, for example, the form of ointments.
Thus, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention.
Claims 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada (WO 2007/058338 A2) as applied to claims 1-2 and 9 in the 103 rejection above in view of Masui (US 2011/0212988 A1) of record.
Okada is discussed above as applied to claims 1 and 2.
Okada does not teach the specific ointment formulations as claimed in the instant claims 3-8. For example, Okada does not teach the oxazole compound dissolved in a base component, wherein the base component comprises a solvent for dissolving the oxazole compound in the solvent, and an ointment based for dispersing or dissolving the solvent in the ointment base as claimed in the instant claims 3-8.
Masui teaches a tacrolimus containing ointment having low dermal irritation and excellent stability (see abstract). In particular, Masui teaches the ointment is an o/o type (oil-in-oil type) ointment in which tacrolimus-solubilized triacetin droplets are dispersed in an ointment base as claimed in the instant claims 3, and 6, preferably a mixture of beeswax and petrolatum as claimed in the instant claims 4 and 7 (see abstract). Masui teaches tacrolimus is used in external preparations for the treatment of cutaneous disease such as eczematous dermatitis or atopic dermatitis (see page 1, section [003]; page 3, section [0038]). Petrolatum is a mixture of hydrocarbons as claimed in the instant claim 4. Triacetin is a polar solvent that is liquid at room temperature as claimed in the instant claim 5 (see page 3, section [0034] describing a solution of tacrolimus in triacetin). Regarding claim 8, Masui does not teach the beeswax has to be chemically bleached.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to use the ointment base used for the tacrolimus formulation taught by Masui as the ointment base in the ointment comprising the oxazole compound obvious over Okada. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the ointment base used for the tacrolimus formulation taught by Masui as the ointment base in the ointment comprising the oxazole compound obvious over Okada because Masui teaches the ointment has low dermal irritation, excellent stability, and is used for external preparations of the skin for treating cutaneous disease such as atopic dermatitis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in to using the ointment base used for the tacrolimus formulation taught by Masui as the ointment base in the ointment comprising the oxazole compound obvious over Okada because (1) Masui teaches the ointment is suitable for external preparations for the treatment of cutaneous disease such as atopic dermatitis and (2) Okada teaches the oxazole compounds can be used in ointment preparations and that the compounds are useful in treating dermatoses such as atopic dermatitis.
Thus, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention.
Conclusion
Claims 1-9 are not allowed.
/SAHAR JAVANMARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627