DETAILED ACTION
The current office action is in response to the communication filed on 7/16/24.
Claims 1-19 are pending.
The Examiner recommends filing a written authorization for Internet communication in response to the present action. Doing so permits the USPTO to communicate with Applicant using Internet email to schedule interviews or discuss other aspects of the application. Without a written authorization in place, the USPTO cannot respond to Internet correspondence received from Applicant. The preferred method of providing authorization is by filing form PTO/SB/439, available at: https://www.uspto.gov/patent/forms/forms. See MPEP § 502.03 for other methods of providing written authorization.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Typically abbreviations/acronyms are used after an expansion is provided to the abbreviations/acronyms. However, in the Specification, “AI,” “RAM,” “ROM,” “EEPROM,” “IoT,” “LED,” “TCP/IP,” “FTP,” “HTTP,” “PHY,” “LCD,” “OLED,” etc. are used before they are expanded. It is suggested to use expansions before using their abbreviations/acronyms. Appropriate correction is required.
The use of the term(s) “WhatsApp,” “Bank of America,” etc., which is/are a trade name(s) or a mark(s) used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term(s) should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term(s) should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The current claim set 1-19 should be renumbered to 1-20 because the current claim set contains two claims having the number “9.” Appropriate correction is required. Note: For examination purposes, the first claim number 9 will be addressed as claim number 9(1) and the second claim number 9 will be addressed as claim number 9(2).
The limitation “…the list of push alert recipients…” in claim 1, lines 6, 11-12, 16, 20 and 24, should be “…the notification/dialing list of push alert notification recipients…” (emphasis added) in order to resolve the lack of antecedent basis in the limitations. Appropriate correction is required. Similar corrections are required in claim 1, lines 12, 18, 23, 26-27 and 31-32 and claim 19, lines 12, 18 and 21.
The limitation “…an electronic chat…” in claim 1, line 25, should be “…[[an]] the electronic chat…” (emphasis added) in order to resolve the lack of antecedent basis in the limitations. Appropriate correction is required.
The limitation “…the future electronic chat.” in claim 4, line 2, should be “…the future pre-scheduled electronic chat.” (emphasis added) in order to resolve the lack of antecedent basis in the limitations. Appropriate correction is required. Similar corrections are required in claim 5, lines 3-4; claim 6, lines 3-4; claim 8, lines 2 and 3; claim 9(1), line 2; and claim 9(2), line 1.
The limitation “…the recipient…” in claim 5, line 2, should be “…the member of the notification/dialing list of push alert notification recipients…” (emphasis added) in order to resolve the lack of antecedent basis in the limitations. Appropriate correction is required. Similar corrections are required in claim 6, line 2 and claim 13, line 2.
The limitation “…a scheduled automated call…” in claim 11, line 16, should be “…[[a]] the scheduled automated call…” (emphasis added) in order to resolve the lack of antecedent basis in the limitations. Appropriate correction is required. Similar corrections are required in claim 19, line 16.
The limitation “…the scheduled automated time…” in claim 11, line 21, should be “…the scheduled automated call…” (emphasis added) in order to resolve the lack of antecedent basis in the limitations. Appropriate correction is required.
The limitation “…at the future time…” in claim 16, line 2, should be “…at [[the]] a future time…” (emphasis added) in order to resolve the lack of antecedent basis in the limitations. Appropriate correction is required.
Note: For examination purposes, the claims will be interpreted based on the claim language suggested by the Examiner.
All dependent claims are objected to as having the same deficiencies as the claims they depend from.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1, 7, 10-11, 14, 17 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8-9 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,574,445 (hereinafter ‘445 Patent) in view of “Pierce et al.” (US PGPUB 2017/0171253) (Hereinafter Pierce). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Please see further explanation below. Differences are bolded and omissions are underlined in following comparison tables.
Current Application claims 1, 7 and 10
‘445 Patent claims 1 and 8
1. A method for utilizing push alert notifications, said method comprising:
receiving, at an outbound orchestrator utility, a notification/dialing list of push alert notification recipients;
initiating, at the outbound orchestrator utility, a push alert notification for a member of the list of push alert recipients, said initiating comprising transmitting instructions for the push alert notification to a notification service utility, said instructions for transmitting the push alert notification at a pre-determined amount of time prior to execution of a future automated call, said push alert notification comprising a scheduled time for the future automated call;
presenting an actionable display screen that prompts the member of the list of push alert recipients to accept the scheduled time for the future automated call, to schedule a different time for an execution of the future automated call, or to initiate an electronic chat; and
receiving one of:
a selection from the member of the list of push alert recipients that accepts the scheduled time for the future automated call and transmitting, in response thereto, a confirmation instruction to an auto-dialer to automatically execute the future automated call at the scheduled time;
a selection from the member of the list of push alert recipients that declines the scheduled time for the future automated call, re-scheduling a new time for the future automated call and transmitting a confirmation instruction to the auto-dialer to automatically execute the future automated call at the new time; and
a selection from the member of the list of push alert recipients that accepts the prompt to initiate an electronic chat by sending an electronic message along a communication rail to an interactive response system associated with a chat utility located at an agent device.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the notification/dialing list of push alert notification recipients is received from an application programming interface (“API”) feed.
1. A method for utilizing push alert notifications of a computing system comprising an outbound orchestrator utility and a push alert notification to a notification service utility, said method comprising, said method comprising:
receiving, at the outbound orchestrator utility, a notification/dialing list of push alert notification recipients;
initiating, at the outbound orchestrator utility, the push alert notification for a member of the list of push alert recipients, said initiating comprising transmitting instructions for the push alert notification to the notification service utility, said instructions for transmitting the push alert notification at a pre-determined amount of time prior to execution of a future automated call, said push alert notification comprising a scheduled time for the future automated call;
presenting an actionable display screen that prompts the member of the list of push alert recipients to either accept the scheduled time for the future automated call or to schedule a different time for an execution of the future automated call; and
receiving a selection from the member of the list of push alert recipients that accepts the scheduled time for the future automated call and transmitting a confirmation instruction to an auto-dialer to automatically execute the future automated call at the scheduled time or
receiving a selection from the member of the list of push alert recipients that declines the scheduled time for the future automated call and re-schedules a new time for the future automated call and transmitting a confirmation instruction to the auto-dialer to automatically execute the future automated call at the new times;
wherein the notification/dialing list of push alert notification recipients is received from an application programming interface (“API”) feed; and
wherein the notification/dialing list of push alert notification recipients includes a manually entered number received via a software telephone service (“SPWS”).
10. The method of claim 6, wherein the scheduled time comprises a window of time extending from a window initiation time to a window close time.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein said scheduled time comprises a window of time extending from a window initiation time to a window close time.
Table 1
Current Application claims 11, 14 and 17
‘445 Patent claims 9 and 15
11. A system for utilizing push alert notifications, said system comprising:
an auto-dialer comprising a notification/dialing list of push alert notification recipients;
an interactive response system;
an outbound orchestrator utility, said outbound orchestrator utility for receiving from the auto-dialer the notification/dialing list of push alert notification recipients;
a notification service utility;
an electronic chat platform;
wherein the outbound orchestrator utility is configured to initiate a push alert notification for a member of the list of push alert recipients, said initiating comprising transmitting instructions for the push alert notification to the notification service utility, said instructions for transmitting the push alert notification at a pre-determined amount of time prior to execution of a scheduled automated call, said push alert notification comprising a scheduled time for a scheduled automated call;
wherein the instructions are further configured to display an actionable viewing screen that prompts the member of the list of push alert recipients to accept the scheduled time for the scheduled automated call, to schedule a different time for an occurrence of a scheduled automated call execution, or to initiate an electronic chat;
wherein, when the scheduled time for the scheduled automated time is accepted, the instructions are further configured for receiving a selection from the member of the list of push alert recipients, the selection that accepts the scheduled time for the scheduled automated call and transmits a confirmation instruction to the auto-dialer to automatically execute the scheduled automated call at the scheduled time;
wherein, when the selection from the member of the list of push alert recipients declines the scheduled time for the scheduled automated call and re-schedules a new time for the scheduled automated call and the instructions are further configured to transmit a confirmation instruction to the auto-dialer to automatically execute the scheduled automated call at the new time; and
wherein, when the selection from the member of the list of push alert recipients accepts the prompt to initiate the electronic chat, the instructions are further configured for sending an electronic message along a communication rail to an interactive response system associated with a chat utility located at an agent device.
14. The system of claim 11, wherein the notification/dialing list of push alert notification recipients is received from an application programming interface (“API”) feed.
9. A system comprising one or more processors and memory configured for utilizing push alert notifications, said system comprising:
an auto-dialer comprising a notification/dialing list of push alert notification recipients;
an outbound orchestrator utility, said outbound orchestrator utility for receiving from the auto-dialer the notification/dialing list of push alert notification recipients;
a notification service utility;
wherein the outbound orchestrator utility is configured to initiate a push alert notification for a member of the list of push alert recipients, said initiating comprising transmitting instructions for the push alert notification to the notification service utility, said instructions for transmitting the push alert notification at a pre-determined amount of time prior to execution of a scheduled automated call, said push alert notification comprising a scheduled time for a scheduled automated call;
wherein the instructions are further configured to display an actionable viewing screen that prompts the member of the list of push alert recipients to either accept the scheduled time for the scheduled automated call or to schedule a different time for an occurrence of a scheduled automated call execution;
wherein, when the scheduled time for the scheduled automated time is accepted, the instructions are further configured for receiving a selection from the member of the list of push alert recipients, the selection that accepts the scheduled time for the scheduled automated call and transmits a confirmation instruction to the auto-dialer to automatically execute the scheduled automated call at the scheduled time; and
wherein, when the selection from the member of the list of push alert recipients declines the scheduled time for the scheduled automated call and re-schedules a new time for the scheduled automated call and the instructions are further configured to transmit a confirmation instruction to the auto-dialer to automatically execute the scheduled automated call at the new time, wherein the notification/dialing list of push alert notification recipients is received from an application programming interface (“API”) feed; and
wherein the notification/dialing list of push alert notification recipients includes a manually entered number received via a software telephone service (“SPWS”).
17. The system of claim 11, wherein the push notification alert is configured to display a push alert notification arrival time.
15. The system of claim 9, wherein the push notification alert is configured to display a push alert notification arrival time.
Table 2
Current Application claim 19
‘445 Patent claim 9
19. A system for utilizing push alert notifications, said system comprising:
an auto-dialer comprising a notification/dialing list of push alert notification recipients;
an interactive response system;
an outbound orchestrator utility, said outbound orchestrator utility for receiving from the auto-dialer the notification/dialing list of push alert notification recipients;
a notification service utility;
an electronic chat platform;
wherein the outbound orchestrator utility is configured to initiate a push alert notification for a member of the list of push alert recipients, said initiating comprising transmitting instructions for the push alert notification to the notification service utility, said instructions for transmitting the push alert notification at a pre-determined amount of time prior to execution of a scheduled automated call, said push alert notification comprising a scheduled time for a scheduled automated call;
wherein the instructions are further configured to display an actionable viewing screen that prompts the member of the list of push alert recipients to accept the scheduled time for the scheduled automated call, to schedule a different time for an occurrence of a scheduled automated call execution, or to initiate an electronic chat; and
wherein, when a selection from the member of the list of push alert recipients accepts the prompt to initiate the electronic chat, the instructions are further configured for sending an electronic message along a communication rail to an interactive response system associated with a chat utility located at an agent device.
9. A system comprising one or more processors and memory configured for utilizing push alert notifications, said system comprising:
an auto-dialer comprising a notification/dialing list of push alert notification recipients;
an outbound orchestrator utility, said outbound orchestrator utility for receiving from the auto-dialer the notification/dialing list of push alert notification recipients;
a notification service utility;
wherein the outbound orchestrator utility is configured to initiate a push alert notification for a member of the list of push alert recipients, said initiating comprising transmitting instructions for the push alert notification to the notification service utility, said instructions for transmitting the push alert notification at a pre-determined amount of time prior to execution of a scheduled automated call, said push alert notification comprising a scheduled time for a scheduled automated call;
wherein the instructions are further configured to display an actionable viewing screen that prompts the member of the list of push alert recipients to either accept the scheduled time for the scheduled automated call or to schedule a different time for an occurrence of a scheduled automated call execution;
wherein, when the scheduled time for the scheduled automated time is accepted, the instructions are further configured for receiving a selection from the member of the list of push alert recipients, the selection that accepts the scheduled time for the scheduled automated call and transmits a confirmation instruction to the auto-dialer to automatically execute the scheduled automated call at the scheduled time; and
wherein, when the selection from the member of the list of push alert recipients declines the scheduled time for the scheduled automated call and re-schedules a new time for the scheduled automated call and the instructions are further configured to transmit a confirmation instruction to the auto-dialer to automatically execute the scheduled automated call at the new time, wherein the notification/dialing list of push alert notification recipients is received from an application programming interface (“API”) feed; and
wherein the notification/dialing list of push alert notification recipients includes a manually entered number received via a software telephone service (“SPWS”).
Table 3
The difference between claims 1, 11 and 19 of the current application and claims 1 and 9 of the patent is that the current application further includes the limitations: “presenting an actionable display screen that prompts the member of the list of push alert recipients to…initiate an electronic chat;” and “receiving…a selection from the member of the list of push alert recipients that accepts the prompt to initiate an electronic chat by sending an electronic message along a communication rail to an interactive response system associated with a chat utility located at an agent device.”
However, Pierce teaches presenting an actionable display screen that prompts the member of the list of push alert recipients to…initiate an electronic chat (displaying on a user interface a request for a communication session on a recipient device. The recipient user may choose to respond to the request with a message by selecting one of icons 905, 910, or 915, where each icon selects a particular application to be used to respond with the message. For example, icon 905, may execute a messaging or texting application and create a new message to the requesting user; Fig. 9, [0121]-[0122]);
receiving…a selection from the member of the list of push alert recipients that accepts the prompt to initiate an electronic chat by sending an electronic message along a communication rail to an interactive response system associated with a chat utility located at an agent device (displaying on a user interface a request for a communication session on a recipient device. The recipient user may choose to respond to the request with a message by selecting one of icons 905, 910, or 915, where each icon selects a particular application to be used to respond with the message. For example, icon 905, may execute a messaging or texting application and create a new message to the requesting user; Fig. 9, [0121]-[0122]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate prompting a user to initiate a chat to the patent because the patent discloses presenting a display screen with different prompts to a user and Pierce suggests prompting a user to initiate a chat ([0121]-[0122]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Pierce in the patent system in order to optimize the impact and effectiveness of a notification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 11-19 lack the necessary physical articles or objects to constitute a machine or a manufacture within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 101. They are clearly not a series of steps or acts to be a process nor are they a combination of chemical compounds to be a composition of matter. As such, they fail to fall within a statutory category.
A system in claims 11 and 19 comprises an auto dialer (software), an interactive response system (software), an outbound orchestrator utility (software), a notification service utility (software), and an electronic chat platform (software); thus, the claims do not meet the definition of a machine and thereby do not fall under any of the patent eligible statutory categories. A machine is “a concrete thing, consisting of parts, or of certain devices and combination of devices”.
All dependent claims are rejected to as having the same deficiencies as the claims they depend from.
Examiner’s Comments
The Examiner provides the following comments regarding the interpretation of the claim limitations:
The claims recite multiple option limitations. For example, claim 1, at least in part, recites “presenting an actionable display screen that prompts the member of the list of push alert recipients to accept the scheduled time for the future automated call, to schedule a different time for an execution of the future automated call, or to initiate an electronic chat; and receiving one of: a selection from the member of the list of push alert recipients that accepts the scheduled time…; a selection from the member of the list of push alert recipients that declines the scheduled time…; and a selection from the member of the list of push alert recipients that accepts the prompt to initiate an electronic chat…” (emphasis added). Based on the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation, the Examiner only needs to select one of the elements/scenarios and the applied prior art only needs to teach the selected element/scenario. Furthermore, any claim limitations and dependent claims that are directed to non-selected elements/scenarios will not be given patentable weight. If applicant wants to avoid this interpretation, the applicant should amend the claim limitations.
Note: For examination and compact prosecution purposes, the Examiner elects the scenario having the greater number of limitations and/or dependent claims. In the instant case, the Examiner elects the “initiate an electronic chat” scenario since it has the greater number of limitations and/or dependent claims. However, applicant should amend the claim language to only recite required claim limitations/elements.
If the Applicant believes, for any reason, that personal communication will expedite prosecution of this application, the Applicant is invited to schedule an interview with the Examiner using the number provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 9(1), 9(2), 10-13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Frendo et al.” (US PGPUB 2023/0300243) (Hereinafter Frendo) in view of “Pierce et al.” (US PGPUB 2017/0171253) (Hereinafter Pierce).
With respect to claim 1, Frendo teaches a method for utilizing push alert notifications (Abstract), said method comprising:
receiving, at an outbound orchestrator utility (automated call distributor (ACD) contact center 732; Fig. 13, [0171]), a notification/dialing list of push alert notification recipients (a queue of users/customers that need to be called is received; [0182]-[0183]);
initiating, at the outbound orchestrator utility, a push alert notification for a member of the list of push alert recipients, said initiating comprising transmitting instructions for the push alert notification to a notification service utility (a contact is extended by an AVS ACG 734 to a user; Fig. 13, [0172]), said instructions for transmitting the push alert notification at a pre-determined amount of time prior to execution of a future automated call, said push alert notification comprising a scheduled time for the future automated call (in anticipation of an upcoming call, an outbound contact list manager pushes a notification to a user to alert him/her about an upcoming call; Figs. 16A-D, [0196]);
presenting an actionable display screen that prompts the member of the list of push alert recipients to accept the scheduled time for the future automated call, to schedule a different time for an execution of the future automated call (the user makes the choice whether they’d like to receive a call now or schedule it for a later date and time. If the user chooses “Schedule for later”, the user can select from available (e.g., 15 minute) intervals; Figs. 16A-D; [0197]); and receiving one of: a selection from the member of the list of push alert recipients that accepts the scheduled time for the future automated call and transmitting, in response thereto, a confirmation instruction to an auto-dialer to automatically execute the future automated call at the scheduled time; a selection from the member of the list of push alert recipients that declines the scheduled time for the future automated call, re-scheduling a new time for the future automated call and transmitting a confirmation instruction to the auto-dialer to automatically execute the future automated call at the new time.
Frendo does not teach presenting an actionable display screen that prompts the member of the list of push alert recipients to initiate an electronic chat; and receiving one of: a selection from the member of the list of push alert recipients that accepts the prompt to initiate an electronic chat by sending an electronic message along a communication rail to an interactive response system associated with a chat utility located at an agent device.
However, Pierce teaches presenting an actionable display screen that prompts the member of the list of push alert recipients to initiate an electronic chat; and receiving one of: a selection from the member of the list of push alert recipients that accepts the prompt to initiate an electronic chat by sending an electronic message along a communication rail to an interactive response system associated with a chat utility located at an agent device (displaying on a user interface a request for a communication session on a recipient device. The recipient user may choose to respond to the request with a message by selecting one of icons 905, 910, or 915, where each icon selects a particular application to be used to respond with the message. For example, icon 905, may execute a messaging or texting application and create a new message to the requesting user; Fig. 9, [0121]-[0122]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate prompting a user to initiate a chat to Frendo because Frendo discloses presenting a notification to a user ([0196]) and Pierce suggests prompting a user to initiate a chat ([0121]-[0122]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Pierce in the Frendo system in order to optimize the impact and effectiveness of a notification.
With respect to claim 2, Frendo as modified teaches the method of claim 1. Pierce further teaches wherein the electronic chat comprises a pre-scheduled future electronic chat (a communication request includes proposed or future time(s) to initiate and/or establish a communication session; [0055], [0060]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a future electronic chat to Frendo because Frendo discloses presenting a notification with different scheduling options ([0197]) and Pierce suggests using a communication request that includes proposed or future time(s) to initiate a communication session ([0060]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Pierce in the Frendo system in order to enhance communication session scheduling between users.
With respect to claim 3, Frendo as modified teaches the method of claim 1. Pierce further teaches wherein the electronic chat comprises an immediately occurring electronic chat (a recipient user indicates an acceptance of a communication request for an immediate communication session; [0089], [0096]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an immediate electronic chat to Frendo because Frendo discloses presenting a notification with different scheduling options ([0197]) and Pierce suggests using a communication request for an immediate communication session ([0089]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Pierce in the Frendo system in order to enhance communication session scheduling between users.
With respect to claim 4, Frendo as modified teaches the method of claim 2. Pierce further teaches wherein said push alert notification further comprises an initiating number for the future electronic chat (a communication request includes identity or address of the requesting user such as a phone number, username, electronic mail address, etc.; [0055]-[0056], [0060]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a notification comprising a number to Frendo because Frendo discloses presenting a notification with identification information ([0196]) and Pierce suggests using a notification comprising a number ([0056]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Pierce in the Frendo system in order to provide easier identification of a requesting entity.
With respect to claim 5, Frendo as modified teaches the method of claim 2. Pierce further teaches wherein the actionable display screen further comprises a plurality of selectable options for selection by the recipient, one or more of the plurality of selectable options that specifies a future time for an occurrence of the future electronic chat (displaying on a user interface a request for a communication session on a recipient device. If a received communication request includes metadata indicating availability of the requesting user, the recipient device is capable of displaying those available times from the communication request and allowing the recipient user to select one of the times; Fig. 9, [0121]-[0122], [0125]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a notification comprising selectable times to Frendo because Frendo discloses presenting a notification with different scheduling options ([0197]) and Pierce suggests using a notification comprising selectable times ([0125]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Pierce in the Frendo system in order to enhance communication session scheduling between users.
With respect to claim 6, Frendo as modified teaches the method of claim 2. Pierce further teaches wherein the actionable display screen further comprises a plurality of selectable options for selection by the recipient, one or more of said plurality of selectable options that specifies a future time window for an occurrence of the future electronic chat (displaying on a user interface a request for a communication session on a recipient device. If a received communication request includes metadata indicating availability of the requesting user, the recipient device is capable of displaying those available times from the communication request and allowing the recipient user to select one of the times. Availability of the requesting user may be specified as absolute values (e.g., busy or free), as relative values; as preferred time(s) and/or time ranges where the time(s) and/or time range(s) have values indicating preference; Fig. 9, [0071], [0121]-[0122], [0125]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a notification comprising selectable times to Frendo because Frendo discloses presenting a notification with different scheduling options ([0197]) and Pierce suggests using a notification comprising selectable times ([0125]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Pierce in the Frendo system in order to enhance communication session scheduling between users.
With respect to claim 8, Frendo as modified teaches the method of claim 2. Pierce further teaches further comprising, upon transmitting a confirmation instruction to the chat utility at the agent device to automatically execute the future electronic chat at the scheduled time, updating the future electronic chat to a ready for outbound chat status (recipient device includes an instruction or a reminder object within a reply that causes the requesting device to create a reminder to initiate the communication session at a particular time. The requesting device is capable of scheduling the communication session for the selected particular time by creating a reminder for the communication session and/or creating a calendar event; Fig. 9, [0094], [0097]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate transmitting a confirmation of a future electronic chat to Frendo because Frendo discloses presenting a notification with different scheduling options ([0197]) and Pierce suggests transmitting a confirmation of a future electronic chat ([0094]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Pierce in the Frendo system in order to enhance communication session scheduling between users.
With respect to claim 9(1), Frendo as modified teaches the method of claim 8. Pierce further teaches further comprising, upon transmitting a confirmation instruction to the chat utility to automatically initiate the future electronic chat at the new time, updating the future automated call to a ready for outbound chat status (recipient device includes an instruction or a reminder object within a reply that causes the requesting device to create a reminder to initiate the communication session at a particular time. The requesting device is capable of scheduling the communication session for the selected particular time by creating a reminder for the communication session and/or creating a calendar event; Fig. 9, [0094], [0097]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate transmitting a confirmation of a future electronic chat to Frendo because Frendo discloses presenting a notification with different scheduling options ([0197]) and Pierce suggests transmitting a confirmation of a future electronic chat ([0094]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Pierce in the Frendo system in order to enhance communication session scheduling between users.
With respect to claim 9(2), Frendo as modified teaches the method of claim 2. Pierce further teaches wherein the future electronic chat is configured to display a push alert notification arrival time (a user interface displays the time and/or date that a communication request was issued; [0105]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate displaying a notification arrival time to Frendo because Frendo discloses presenting a notification with different scheduling options ([0197]) and Pierce suggests displaying a notification arrival time ([0105]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Pierce in the Frendo system in order to enhance the visibility of time-sensitive notifications.
With respect to claim 10, Frendo as modified teaches the method of claim 6. Pierce further teaches wherein the scheduled time comprises a window of time extending from a window initiation time to a window close time (displaying on a user interface a request for a communication session on a recipient device. If a received communication request includes metadata indicating availability of the requesting user, the recipient device is capable of displaying those available times from the communication request and allowing the recipient user to select one of the times. Availability of the requesting user may be specified as absolute values (e.g., busy or free), as relative values; as preferred time(s) and/or time ranges where the time(s) and/or time range(s) have values indicating preference; Fig. 9, [0071], [0121]-[0122], [0125]. A time range includes a time range initiation time and a time range close time).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate time windows to Frendo because Frendo discloses presenting a notification with different scheduling options ([0197]) and Pierce suggests using a notification comprising time ranges ([0071]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Pierce in the Frendo system in order to enhance communication session scheduling between users.
The limitations of claim 11 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above and this claim is rejected on that basis.
With respect to claim 12, Frendo as modified teaches the system of claim 11. Pierce further teaches wherein said push alert notification further comprises an initiating number for the electronic chat (a communication request includes identity or address of the requesting user such as a phone number, username, electronic mail address, etc.; [0055]-[0056], [0060]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a notification comprising a number to Frendo because Frendo discloses presenting a notification with identification information ([0196]) and Pierce suggests using a notification comprising a number ([0056]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Pierce in the Frendo system in order to provide easier identification of a requesting entity.
With respect to claim 13, Frendo as modified teaches the system of claim 11. Pierce further teaches wherein the actionable viewing screen further comprises a plurality of selectable options for selection by the recipient, one or more of the plurality of selectable options that specifies a future time for an occurrence of the electronic chat (displaying on a user interface a request for a communication session on a recipient device. If a received communication request includes metadata indicating availability of the requesting user, the recipient device is capable of displaying those available times from the communication request and allowing the recipient user to select one of the times; Fig. 9, [0121]-[0122], [0125]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a notification comprising selectable times to Frendo because Frendo discloses presenting a notification with different scheduling options ([0197]) and Pierce suggests using a notification comprising selectable times ([0125]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Pierce in the Frendo system in order to enhance communication session scheduling between users.
With respect to claim 15, Frendo as modified teaches the system of claim 13. Pierce further teaches wherein, upon transmitting a confirmation instruction to the chat utility at the agent device to automatically execute the electronic chat at the future time, the system is further configured to update the electronic chat to a ready-for-outbound chat status (recipient device includes an instruction or a reminder object within a reply that causes the requesting device to create a reminder to initiate the communication session at a particular time. The requesting device is capable of scheduling the communication session for the selected particular time by creating a reminder for the communication session and/or creating a calendar event; Fig. 9, [0094], [0097]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate transmitting a confirmation of a future electronic chat to Frendo because Frendo discloses presenting a notification with different scheduling options ([0197]) and Pierce suggests transmitting a confirmation of a future electronic chat ([0094]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Pierce in the Frendo system in order to enhance communication session scheduling between users.
With respect to claim 16, Frendo as modified teaches the system of claim 11. Pierce further teaches wherein, upon transmitting a confirmation instruction to the chat utility to automatically initiate the electronic chat at the future time, the instructions are further configured to update the electronic chat to a ready-for-outbound chat status (recipient device includes an instruction or a reminder object within a reply that causes the requesting device to create a reminder to initiate the communication session at a particular time. The requesting device is capable of scheduling the communication session for the selected particular time by creating a reminder for the communication session and/or creating a calendar event; Fig. 9, [0094], [0097]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate transmitting a confirmation of a future electronic chat to Frendo because Frendo discloses presenting a notification with different scheduling options ([0197]) and Pierce suggests transmitting a confirmation of a future electronic chat ([0094]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Pierce in the Frendo system in order to enhance communication session scheduling between users.
With respect to claim 17, Frendo as modified teaches the system of claim 11. Pierce further teaches wherein the push notification alert is configured to display a push alert notification arrival time (a user interface displays the time and/or date that a communication request was issued; [0105]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate displaying a notification arrival time to Frendo because Frendo discloses presenting a notification with different scheduling options ([0197]) and Pierce suggests displaying a notification arrival time ([0105]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Pierce in the Frendo system in order to enhance the visibility of time-sensitive notifications.
With respect to claim 18, Frendo as modified teaches the system of claim 13. Pierce further teaches wherein said future time comprises a window of time extending from a window initiation time to a window close time (displaying on a user interface a request for a communication session on a recipient device. If a received communication request includes metadata indicating availability of the requesting user, the recipient device is capable of displaying those available times from the communication request and allowing the recipient user to select one of the times. Availability of the requesting user may be specified as absolute values (e.g., busy or free), as relative values; as preferred time(s) and/or time ranges where the time(s) and/or time range(s) have values indicating preference; Fig. 9, [0071], [0121]-[0122], [0125]. A time range includes a time range initiation time and a time range close time).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate time windows to Frendo because Frendo discloses presenting a notification with different scheduling options ([0197]) and Pierce suggests using a notification comprising time ranges ([0071]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Pierce in the Frendo system in order to enhance communication session scheduling between users.
The limitations of claim 19 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above and this claim is rejected on that basis.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frendo in view of Pierce, and further in view of “Hamilton et al.” (US PGPUB 2022/0263942) (Hereinafter Hamilton).
With respect to claim 7, Frendo as modified teaches the method of claim 1. Frendo does not teach wherein the notification/dialing list of push alert notification recipients is received from an application programming interface (“API”) feed.
However, Hamilton teaches wherein the notification/dialing list of push alert notification recipients is received from an application programming interface (“API”) feed (a customer representative launches a third-party vendor-based VoIP soft client to make a call to the end customer. The VoIP soft client is integrated with the ability to transmit an application programming interface (API) request with the calling number, called number, and purpose of the call; [0140]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate receiving a recipient from an API feed to Frendo because Frendo discloses receiving a list of customers ([0182]) and Hamilton suggests receiving a recipient from an API feed ([0140]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Hamilton in the Frendo system in order to expedite notification delivery.
The limitations of claim 14 are rejected in the analysis of claim 7 above and this claim is rejected on that basis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Bhatia. US 8,527,287. Discloses displaying a future meeting notification with response options.
Malley. US 2019/0019164. Discloses transmitting a message to inquire availability of a recipient to take a call.
Rathod. US 2021/0021649. Discloses transmitting call notification with multiple options.
Pace, Jr. et al. US 10,855,842. Discloses transmitting call notification with accept and reschedule options.
/JOHNNY B AGUIAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447
March 23, 2026