CTNF 18/773,690 CTNF 80356 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20160092080 to Swanson . Regarding claim 17, Swanson discloses an information processing method comprising the steps of (paragraph 41; method 400): obtaining operation information from an operation input apparatus capable of sequentially inputting a continuously changing operation position (paragraph 22, 29-30, 41-42; user rotates the image 201 by dragging (operation information) the rotation tool 107 around as inputting continuously changing position shown in Figs. 2a-2c; users finger on touch input device provides operation input apparatus); changing a predefined attribute value for a first object that is an operation-target object in accordance with a change in the operation position, wherein the predefined attribute value is an attribute value other than the position or the size of the first object (paragraph 14, 29-31; by user dragging the tool 107 around the screen in Figs. 2a-2c, operation position is changed and as result the orientation (“predefined attribute value other than the position or the size”) of image 201 as first object (operation target) is changed as user drags tool 107); obtaining a predefined attribute value for a second object that is different from the first object (paragraph 32, 46; while user rotates the first object via tool 107, the rotation (predefined attribute value) of nearby/identical object (second object) is obtained); and changing the predefined attribute value for the first object to the obtained predefined attribute value for the second object, in a case when the predefined attribute value for the first object is a value within a predefined range, based on the obtained predefined attribute value for the second object (paragraph 15-16, 32, 46; current rotation amount of image 201 (first object) that is being changed by rotation of 107 is determined and if its angle is within predetermined angular distance/range of guideline 212 of nearby object 211 (second object) having rotation (obtained predefined attribute value for the second object) based on its own guideline 212; paragraph 32, 46; when current rotation amount of first image 201 is within predetermined angular distance to the guidelines 212 having angle rotation associated with nearby object (second object), the first image 201 is snapped (changed) to the rotation amount of nearby object so as to match rotation; rotation amount of guidelines 212 of nearby object provides non-position attribute). Regarding claim 18, Swanson discloses the information processing method according to claim 17, further comprising a step of displaying the first object in a state when the predefined attribute value for the first object has been changed to the obtained predefined attribute value for the second object (paragraph 32; in Fig. 23 shows the display of first object 210 in a state when it snaps (changing the attribute) to the same angle (obtained predefined attribute value) as second object 211). Regarding claim 19, Swanson discloses the information processing method according to claim 17, wherein the predefined attribute is an attribute for an angle (paragraph 30; triangle object 201 rotated by certain angle). Regarding claim 20, Swanson discloses the information processing method according to claim 17, further comprising a step of changing the predefined attribute value for the first object to a value corresponding to a predefined reference in a case when the predefined attribute value for the first object is a value within a predefined range based on the predefined reference (paragraph 16, 30; when the first object 201 is within the snap range of reference angle such as “45 degrees” (predefined reference), the angle (attribute) is changed to the 45 degree as long as the rotation of the object is within the range of 45 degrees). Regarding claim 21, Swanson discloses the information processing method according to claim 20, wherein the predefined attribute is an attribute for an angle (paragraph 30; triangle object 201 rotated by certain angle), and the predefined reference is an angle being a whole-number multiple of ninety degrees (paragraph 31; the first object 201 is within the snap range of reference angle such as “90 degrees” (whole number multiple of 90⁰) (predefined reference) for guide line 203). Regarding claim 23, Swanson discloses the information processing method according to claim 17, further comprising a step of receiving a user operation for collectively selecting the first object and at least one object having the predefined attribute value that matches that of the first object (paragraph 33; when user touches all the four objects including a first object 221 and another object in Fig. 2f they are collectively selected and rotated when user rotates the tool 107 as shown in Fig. 2g; in Fig. 2f the other objects 222-224 have the matching rotation angle as one of the first object). Regarding claim 24, Swanson discloses the information processing method according to claim 17, wherein the operation information from the operation input apparatus capable of sequentially inputting a continuously changing operation position is information for a user operation using a mouse (paragraph 22, 29-30, 41-42; user rotates the image 201 by dragging (operation information) the rotation tool 107 around as inputting continuously changing position shown in Figs. 2a-2c; users finger on touch input device provides operation input apparatus; paragraph 38; input device can be mouse instead). Regarding claim 25, Swanson discloses an information processing apparatus comprising (paragraph 34; computer 302): one or more hardware processors (paragraph 35; processor 304); and one or more memories storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more hardware processors, the one or more programs including instructions for (paragraph 49-56; storage medium storing programs for computer to execute program): obtaining operation information from an operation input apparatus capable of sequentially inputting a continuously changing operation position (paragraph 22, 29-30, 41-42; user rotates the image 201 by dragging (operation information) the rotation tool 107 around as inputting continuously changing position shown in Figs. 2a-2c; users finger on touch input device provides operation input apparatus); changing a predefined attribute value for a first object that is an operation- target object in accordance with a change in the operation position, wherein the predefined attribute value is an attribute value other than the position or the size of the first object (paragraph 14, 29-31; by user dragging the tool 107 around the screen in Figs. 2a-2c, operation position is changed and as result the orientation (“predefined attribute value other than the position or the size”) of image 201 as first object (operation target) is changed as user drags tool 107); obtaining a predefined attribute value for a second object that is different from the first object (paragraph 32, 46; while user rotates the first object via tool 107, the rotation (predefined attribute value) of nearby/identical object (second object) is obtained); and changing the predefined attribute value for the first object to the obtained predefined attribute value for the second object, in a case when the predefined attribute value for the first object is a value within a predefined range, based on the obtained predefined attribute value for the second object (paragraph 15-16, 32, 46; current rotation amount of image 201 (first object) that is being changed by rotation of 107 is determined and if its angle is within predetermined angular distance/range of guideline 212 of nearby object 211 (second object) having rotation (obtained predefined attribute value for the second object) based on its own guideline 212; paragraph 32, 46; when current rotation amount of first image 201 is within predetermined angular distance to the guidelines 212 having angle rotation associated with nearby object (second object), the first image 201 is snapped (changed) to the rotation amount of nearby object so as to match rotation; rotation amount of guidelines 212 of nearby object provides non-position attribute). Regarding claim 26, see rejection of claim 17. Further Swanson discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to perform a control method of controlling an information processing apparatus (paragraph 34; computer 302; paragraph 49-56; storage medium storing programs for computer to execute program for method of computer 302) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160092080 to Swanson in view of US 20130093792 to Davidson . Regarding claim 22, Swanson discloses the information processing method according to claim 17, further comprising the steps of: changing the predefined attribute value for the first object to the predefined attribute value for the second object that is within a range predefined, in a case when the predefined attribute value for the first object is a value within the range predefined based on the obtained predefined attribute values for the second object (paragraph 15-16, 32, 46; current rotation amount of image 201 (first object) that is being changed by rotation of 107 is determined and if its angle is within predetermined angular distance/range of guideline 212 of nearby object 211 (second object) having rotation (obtained predefined attribute value for the second object) based on its own guideline 212; paragraph 32, 46; when current rotation amount of first image 201 is within predetermined angular distance to the guidelines 212 having angle rotation associated with nearby object (second object), the first image 201 is snapped (changed) to the rotation amount of nearby object so as to match rotation; rotation amount of guidelines 212 of nearby object provides non-position attribute). However Swanson does not disclose obtaining the predefined attribute values for each of a plurality of the second objects that are different from the first object; changing the predefined attribute value for the first object based on any of the obtained predefined attribute values for the plurality of the second objects. Davidson discloses obtaining the predefined attribute values for each of a plurality of the second objects that are different from the first object; changing the predefined attribute value for the first object based on any of the obtained predefined attribute values for the plurality of the second objects (paragraph 198-201; orientation (attribute values) of second objects 1204 and 1206 is obtained and the first object 1202 is rotated to match the orientation (attribute) of any of the second objects). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Swanson as taught by Davidson to obtain attribute values of plurality of second objects when changing the attribute value of a first object. The motivation to combine the references is to change the orientation/rotation of first object automatically such that it matches/consistent with the orientation of other second objects nearby on the display by determining the orientation of second objects and rotating the first object accordingly (paragraph 199-200). Other Prior Art Cited 07-96 AIA 14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20140223313 to Aebi discloses display system. US 20160334971 to Buchanan snapping objects. US 20200151965 to Forbes discloses mixed reality systems. US 20190370931 to Dhanuka discloses snapping objects . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BENIYAM MENBERU whose telephone number is (571) 272-7465 . The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday, 10:00am-6:30pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Akwasi Sarpong can be reached on (571) 270-3438 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300 . Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the customer service office whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600. The group receptionist number for TC 2600 is (571) 272-2600. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. For more information about the PAIR system, see <http://pair-direct.uspto.gov/> . Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). Patent Examiner Beniyam Menberu /BENIYAM MENBERU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681 05/15/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/773,690 Page 2 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/773,690 Page 3 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/773,690 Page 4 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/773,690 Page 5 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/773,690 Page 6 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/773,690 Page 7 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/773,690 Page 8 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/773,690 Page 9 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/773,690 Page 10 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/773,690 Page 11 Art Unit: 2681