DETAILED ACTION
In amendment dated 07/14/2026, applicant(s) amended claims 4 and 10; and added new claim 20. Claims 1 - 20 are now pending in this application.
In order to compact prosecution, Examiner attempted several times to reach applicant’s representative (Lyle Kimms, Reg. 34,079) but all were unresponsive.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues, on page 6, that the non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting (ODP) is improper, wherein the applicant’s representative points out that a nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). However, on page 11 of Office Action, dated 04/23/2026, discusses the obviousness DP using Tsukada, where Tsukada is only cited for a difference between the instant application and Patent No. 12,075,010, where the difference between these is “wherein the consumable has been consumed by executing a function selected on the selected screen”. Tsukada inherently teaches switching (changing) multiple screens/menus (e.g. Figs. 4A – 4D), and each screen/menu has options/divisions to select and accept; including of the options is a test printing that product a printed test (e.g., ¶0034, ¶0062, ¶0087). Therefore, the counting of number of printed sheets corresponds to the consumption information obtained; the test printing selected on the switched screen/menu corresponds to the function selected to be executed via a menu/screen; and the test print produced corresponds to the data generated including consumable information. The limitation of scenes is a design choice to orient/guide the user(s) to select a situation. Furthermore, said prior-cited reference continues to meet the limitation claims. Accordingly, this argument fails to be persuasive.
Second, in the remarks on page 6 the applicant requested that the Double Patenting rejection be held in abeyance until such time as allowable subject matter is identified in the present application. Double patenting is still maintained for the independent claims but reconsidered and reviewed dependent claim 6, wherein Examiner updated comparison table, from previous office action.
Applicant also argues on pages 7 – 8 that Tsukada doesn’t teach/disclose claims 1, 18 and 19, wherein the applicant points out that Tsukada does not disclose or teach associating consumable-consumption information with the selected use scene. Rather than merely counting the number of sheets printed to determine consumption of consumables, the claimed feature (C) above associates the consumption to the user selected scene. Examiner respectfully disagrees for at least the following reasons: Examiner read the claims as a printer having a display that display selectable options, where said selectable options are divisions, said selectable option are configured to accept any input; acquire consumption information upon a function; and generate data that includes the acquired consumption information. Therefore, Tsukuda teaches a MFP capable of changing screen/menu into or from a maintenance mode, each screen/menu has selectable divisions; wherein one of the divisions is selected from the changed screen/menu; if the selected division, as the test printing, is executed from the screen/menu, count a number of sheets printed; and finally produce (generate or output) a test print; and the test print generated includes at least the number of sheets printed as shown in ¶0004, ¶0033 - ¶0035, ¶0056, ¶0087. Furthermore, said prior-cited reference continues to meet the limitations claims. Accordingly, this argument fails to be persuasive.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/11/2026 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Applicants have not provided an explanation of relevance of cited document(s) discussed below.
Takamatsu (JP 2005111948 A) teaches that under control of a control module 101, a function-specifying module 102 specifies a designated function out of a plurality of functions of the image forming device, and when the designated function is a "Photo Print function", an individual-specifying module 103 specifies a personal ID; a business/private category-specifying module 104 specifies a business/private category; and a time zone-judging module 105 judges a time zone. Depending on the results, an image-readout module 106 reads image data; an image formation-indicating module 107 indicates image formation based on the image data; a hysteresis-recording module 108 records hysteresis of the image formation; and a charging module 109 charges an individual in the case of private use and a section in the case other than private use.
Double Patenting
http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1, 7 – 9, 11 – 13, 15, 16, 18 and 19 of instant application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 4, 6, 7, 9, 11, 12, 14 and 13 (Patent No. 12075,010 B2) in view of Tsukada (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2018/0007224 A1, hereinafter ‘Tsukada’).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
It is clear that all the elements of the parent claims 1, 14 and 13 are to be found in instant claims 1, 18 and 19 (e.g., as the parent claim 1 fully encompasses the instant claim 1).
The difference between the instant application claim 1 and the patent claim 1 lies in the fact that the instant claim 1 include an additional element (e.g., wherein the consumables have been consumed by executing a function selected on the selected screen) and is thus much more specific. Thus, the invention of instant claim 1 is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the parent application claim 1.
It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since parent application claim 1 is anticipated by claim 1 of the instant, it is not patentably distinct from claim 1 the instant claims.
Below is a side-by-side comparison (bolded where significant different, and underlined where limitation is mentioned somewhere):
Instant Application 18/773,697
Patent No. 12,075,010
Claim 1
A printing apparatus comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions; and
at least one processor that executes the instructions to:
control display of a display device of the printing apparatus, and accept, on the display device, selection of a screen indicating one of a plurality of use scenes of the printing apparatus, from a plurality of screens indicating the plurality of use scenes;
obtain consumption information of consumables, wherein the consumables have been consumed by executing a function selected on the selected screen; and
generate data that associates a use scene corresponding to the selected screen, with the obtained consumption information.
Claim 1
A printing apparatus comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions; and
at least one processor that executes the instructions to:
selectively accept a use scene of the printing apparatus;
set whether to obtain consumption
information of a consumable for each acceptable use scene;
obtain the consumption information for the selectively accepted use scene, in a state where the selectively accepted use scene has been set to obtain the consumption information; and
generate data that associates the selectively
accepted use scene and the obtained consumption information.
Claim 7
The apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a communication controller configured to transmit the generated data to an external apparatus.
Claim 2
The apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising communication controller configured to transmit the generated data to an external apparatus.
Claim 8
The apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the communication controller transmits the data to the external apparatus which serves as a transmission destination corresponding to the use scene.
Claim 3
The apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the communication controller transmits the data to the external apparatus, which serves as a transmission destination corresponding the use scene.
Claim 9
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the consumption information is information about the number of print media used.
Claim 4
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the consumption information is information about the number of print media used.
Claim 10
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor executes the instructions further to: set whether to obtain consumption information of consumables for each use scene.
Part of claim 1
Claim 11
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor executes the instructions further to:
selectively display, on the display device, a plurality of tabs corresponding to the plurality of use scenes, and accepts selection of the screen corresponding to a tab selected from the plurality of tabs.
Claim 6
The apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the at least one processor:
selectively displays, on the display device, a plurality of tabs corresponding to acceptable use scenes, and accepts selection of the use scene corresponding to a selected tab in accordance with selection of one of the plurality of tabs.
Claim 12
The apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the at least one processor executes the instructions further to control the display device to concurrently display, on the display device: a user instruction interface for accepting a print instruction; and a switching interface that allows a user to set whether to obtain the consumption information.
Claim 7
The apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the at least one processor controls the display device to concurrently display, on the display device: a user instruction interface for accepting a print instruction; and a switching interface that allows a user to set whether to obtain the consumption information.
Claim 13
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the generated data is further associated with aggregation account information of the consumption information.
Claim 9
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the generated data further associates aggregation account information of the consumption information.
Claim 15
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor executes the instructions further to generate data that compiles pieces of the consumption information of a plurality of use scenes.
Claim 11
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor further generates data that compiles pieces of the consumption information of a plurality of use scenes.
Claim 16
The apparatus according to claim 10, wherein, even in a state where the consumption information has been set to be obtained, the at least one processor does not obtain the consumption information in executing a predetermined processing.
Claim 12
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, even in a state where the consumption information has been set to be obtained, the at least one processor does not obtain the consumption information in executing a predetermined processing.
Claim 18
A data generation method comprising: controlling display of a display device of a printing apparatus, and accepting, on the display device, selection of a screen indicating one of a plurality of use scenes of the printing apparatus, from a plurality of screens indicating the plurality of use scenes;
obtaining consumption information of consumables, wherein the consumables have been consumed by executing a function selected on the selected screen; and
generating data that associates a use scene corresponding to the selected screen, with the obtained consumption information.
Claim 14
A data generation method comprising:
selectively accepting a use scene of a printing apparatus;
setting whether to obtain consumption information of a consumable for each acceptable use scene;
obtaining the consumption information for the selectively accepted use scene, in a state where the selectively accepted use scene has been set to obtain the consumption information; and
generating data that associate the selectively accepted use scene and the obtained consumption information.
Claim 19
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program configured to cause executable by a computer to function as execute a method comprising:
controlling display of a display device of a printing apparatus, and accepting, on the display device, selection of a screen indicating one of a plurality of use scenes of the printing apparatus, from a plurality of screens indicating the plurality of use scenes;
obtaining consumption information of consumables, wherein the consumables have been consumed by executing a function selected on the selected screen; and generating data that associates a use scene corresponding to the selected screen, with the obtained consumption information.
Claim 13
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program executable by a computer to execute a method comprising:
selectively accepting a use scene of a printing apparatus; setting whether to obtain consumption information of a consumable for each acceptable use scene;
obtaining the consumption information for the selectively accepted use scene, in a state where the selectively accepted use scene has been set to obtain the consumption information; and
generating data that associates the selectively accepted use scene and the obtained consumption information
Tsukada teaches:
Claim 2
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of screens includes a plurality of items respectively indicating a plurality of functions, and the consumption information of the consumables is obtained by executing the function corresponding to an item selected from the plurality of items included in the selected screen.
Tsukada teaches multiple menus, each menu has multiple functions; wherein if test printing (function) is executed, then count the number of printed sheets, ¶0033.
Claim 3
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, when the selected screen is a screen indicating a first use scene, the consumption information of the consumables is obtained, and when the selected screen is a screen indicating a second use scene different from the first use scene, the consumption information of the consumables is not obtained.
Tsukada teaches multiple menu, each menu has multiple functions; wherein if another function is selected (not the test printing), the another function is executed, therefore not counting the number of printed sheets; but inherently executing the another function, Fig. 4A – 4D.
Even though these are not mentioned in the claims; but in the Specification from Patent No. 1,075,010 mentions:
Claim 4
The apparatus according to claim 2, wherein contents of the plurality of items are able to be set by the user.
Many items are set by the user; Col 5 (lines 7 – 19); Col 6 (lines 9 – 45) from 1,075,010’s Specification.
Claim 5
The apparatus according to claim 3, wherein, the plurality of items indicating respective functions included in the screen indicating the first use scene and the plurality of items indicating respective functions included in the screen indicating the second use scene are different from each other with respect to at least one item.
The plurality of items has different functions from each respective scene; Col 4 (lines 1 – 10); Col 5 (lines 7 – 24) from 1,075,010’s Specification.
Claim 14
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor executes the instructions further to change an operation setting of the printing apparatus in accordance with the use scene corresponding to the selection of the screen indicating one of the plurality of use scenes.
Changing operation setting based on use scene corresponding to a selection of the screen indication of the plurality of scenes; Col 6 (lines 61) to Col 7 (line 12); Col 10 (lines 50 – 62) from 1,075,010’s Specification.
Claim 20
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of use scenes include a standard scene, a work scene, a study scene, and a life scene.
Use scenes includes at least a work scene, life scene and a study scene; these scenes can be customized by the user; Fig. 5B, Col 5 (lines 7 – 48).
Claim 1 of the Patent No. 12,075,010 does not disclose “wherein the consumables have been consumed by executing a function selected on the selected screen”.
However, the aforementioned limitations are well-known in the art as evidenced by Tsukada. In particular, Tsukada teaches wherein the consumables have been consumed by executing a function selected on the selected screen (menu); generate data that associates a use scene corresponding to the selected screen (e.g., under maintenance mode or confirmation print mode, and upon executing a test printing, count the number of sheet printed, and produce (generate) a test printing, ¶0034, ¶0062).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to combine claim 1 of Patent No. 12,075,010 with the additional feature of Tsukada since Tsukada suggested within ¶0032 - ¶0034 and ¶0062 that such modification of counting the number of printed sheets and having test printing including counted number of printed sheet would physically inform the serviceperson in order to estimate/predict the remaining amount of papers/sheets.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 6, 9 - 11 & 14 - 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsukada (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2018/0007224 A1, hereinafter ‘Tsukada’).
With respect to claim 1, Tsukada teaches a printing apparatus (e.g., an image forming apparatus (MFP), ¶0017, Fig. 2) comprising: at least one memory (e.g. a memory/ROM 112, ¶0021, Fig. 2) storing instructions; and at least one processor (e.g., a CPU 111, ¶0020, Fig. 2) that executes the instructions to: control display of a display device (e.g., operation unit 116, ¶0023, ¶0045, Fig. 2) of the printing apparatus, and accept, on the display device, selection of a screen indicating one of a plurality of use scenes of the printing apparatus, from a plurality of screens indicating the plurality of use scenes (e.g., from said operation unit 116, switch (accept) a mode from normal mode, maintenance mode or confirmation printing mode, as use scenes, ¶0032 - ¶0037); obtain consumption information of consumables, wherein the consumables have been consumed by executing a function selected on the selected screen (e.g., count a number of sheet printed, wherein the pages/sheet has been consumed by executing a selected print function (as test printing), ¶0002, ¶0019 with ¶0030); and generate data that associates a use scene corresponding to the selected screen, with the obtained consumption information (e.g., in a case when the maintenance mode or the confirmation printing mode is selected/switched, produce (generate) test printing, as data, that associated the maintenance mode or the confirmation printing mode, with the counted number of sheet printed, ¶0033 - ¶0036).
With respect to claim 2, Tsukada teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of screens includes a plurality of items respectively indicating a plurality of functions (e.g. Fig. 4F), and the consumption information of the consumables is obtained by executing the function corresponding to an item selected from the plurality of items included in the selected screen (e.g., count the number of sheet printed, wherein the pages/sheet has been consumed by executing a selected print function, ¶0002, ¶0019 with ¶0030).
With respect to claim 3, Tsukada teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, when the selected screen is a screen indicating a first use scene, the consumption information of the consumables is obtained, and when the selected screen is a screen indicating a second use scene different from the first use scene, the consumption information of the consumables is not obtained (e.g., if the MFP is under selected normal mode, charge count the number of sheet printed; but if the MFP is under selected maintenance mode or confirmation printing mode, exclude from counting the number of sheet printed, ¶0028, ¶0036).
With respect to claim 4, Tsukada teaches the apparatus according to claim 2, wherein contents of the plurality of items are able to be set by the user (e.g., in normal mode, the user can change/modify setting for the print function, ¶0049).
With respect to claim 5, Tsukada teaches the apparatus according to claim 3, wherein, the plurality of items indicating respective functions included in the screen indicating the first use scene and the plurality of items indicating respective functions included in the screen indicating the second use scene are different from each other with respect to at least one item (e.g., each mode has different items to set, ¶0052).
With respect to claim 6, Tsukada teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, when a screen different from the plurality of screens indicating each of a plurality of use scenes is selected, and which containing a plurality of items indicating respective functions is selected, the selection of the screen indicating one of the plurality of use scenes is not accepted (e.g., if the MFP is set under selected confirmation print mode by a serviceperson, another mode cannot be used until the serviceperson is done, ¶0058, ¶0089, ¶0112).
With respect to claim 9, Tsukada teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the consumption information is information about the number of print media used (e.g., number of sheets printed by the user, ¶0028).
With respect to claim 10, Tsukada teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor executes the instructions further to: set whether to obtain consumption information of consumables for each use scene (e.g., for each mode, all number of sheets printed are counted, ¶0028, ¶0036).
With respect to claim 11, Tsukada teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor executes the instructions further to: selectively display, on the display device, a plurality of tabs corresponding to the plurality of use scenes, and accepts selection of the screen corresponding to a tab selected from the plurality of tabs (e.g., modes are switched while using the operation unit 115 in order to display respective screens/windows, Figs. 4A – 4F & Fig. 9).
With respect to claim 14, Tsukada teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor executes the instructions further to change an operation setting of the printing apparatus in accordance with the use scene corresponding to the selection of the screen indicating one of the plurality of use scenes (e.g., upon switching to any mode, setting of the MFP are displayed and can be changed, ¶0033, ¶0053).2
With respect to claim 15, Tsukada teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor executes the instructions further to generate data that compiles pieces of the consumption information of a plurality of use scenes (e.g., the produced test print includes the number of sheets printed from maintenance mode and confirmation printing mode, ¶0033 - ¶0034).
With respect to claim 16, Tsukada teaches the apparatus according to claim 10, wherein, even in a state where the consumption information has been set to be obtained, the at least one processor does not obtain the consumption information in executing a predetermined processing (under approach: under normal mode, number of sheets printed is charging counted; and under maintenance mode or confirmation print mode, the number of sheet is excluded to be charging counted, ¶0028, ¶0036).
With respect to claim 17, Tsukada teaches the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the predetermined processing is the print process that is executed when maintenance work is being (e.g., maintenance mode or confirmation printing mode for performing a test printing, ¶0038 & ¶0032 - ¶0034).
With respect to claim 18, this is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 1. Therefore, this is rejected for the same reasons as the apparatus claim 1.
With respect to claim 19, Tsukada notes that the invention may be realized through the execution by a CPU (Fig. 2 - CPU 111) of instruction codes (e.g., control program, ¶0020) stored in a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (e.g., stored in a read-only memory (ROM) 112 or a storage 114, ¶0020, ¶0113). The further limitations are met by the teachings as previously discussed with respect to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukada in view of Ohno (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2014/0240748 A1, cited in an IDS filed on 7/16/2024, hereinafter ‘Ohno’).
With respect to claim 7, Tsukada teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a communication controller (e.g., communication unit I/F 123 that transmits and receive print data via network using electronic email, ¶0027, ¶0041), but fails to specifically teach that said communication controller is configured to configured to transmit the generated data to an external apparatus.
However, the aforementioned claimed limitations are well-known in the art as evidenced by Ohno. In particular, Ohno teaches a communication controller is configured to configured to transmit the generated data to an external apparatus (e.g., transmitting a number of printed sheets to a counting server, abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Tsukuda as taught by Ohno since Ohno suggest within abstract that such modification of generating data to be transmitted (instead of printing the test of Tsukada) to a server would be convenient for the service person to save digital data in a remote server; thereby allowing others to access digital data in remote server.
With respect to claim 8, Tsukada in view of Ohno teaches the apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the communication controller transmits the data to the external apparatus which serves as a transmission destination corresponding to the use scene (e.g., since Tsukada teaches that the MFP has a communication Unit I/F 123 that transmits and receive print data via a network 100 using electronic mail, there would be obvious transmitting the number of printed sheet of Ohno instead of printing the printing test, abstract).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukada in view of Ohira (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2007/0002371 A1, hereinafter ‘Ohira’).
With respect to claim 12, Tsukada teaches the apparatus according to claim 10, but fails to teach wherein the at least one processor executes the instructions further to control
the display device to concurrently display, on the display device: a user instruction interface for accepting a print instruction; and a switching interface that allows a user to set whether to obtain the consumption information.
However, Ohira teaches wherein the at least one processor executes the instructions further to control the display device to concurrently display, on the display device: a user instruction interface for accepting a print instruction; and a switching interface that allows a user to set whether to obtain the consumption information (e.g., Currently display, on an operation panel 12, an interface for receiving a print instruction, and switching that further allow the user to input/enter division code, the division code is also for counting an number of page printed, ¶0061 with ¶0079 - ¶0083).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Tsukuda as taught by Ohira since Ohira suggest within ¶0061 with ¶0079 - ¶0083 that such modification of having a switching interface would easily allow the user to navigate and modify setting and set information in order to improve user convenience or operability.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukada in view of Kurozasa (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2008/0186530 A1, cited in the IDS filed on 7/16/2024, hereinafter ‘Kurozasa’).
With respect to claim 13, Tsukada teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the generated data is further associated with aggregation account information of the consumption information.
However, Kurozasa teaches wherein the generated data is further associated with aggregation account information of the consumption information (e.g., an account information is associated with a number of print, Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Tsukuda as taught by Kurozasa since Kurozasa suggested in Fig. 5 that such modification of having an account information along with consumption information would determine who has authority to receive the data in a remote server; thereby increasing security.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 6, none of the cited references teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, when a screen different from the plurality of screens indicating each of a plurality of use scenes is selected, and which containing a plurality of items indicating respective functions is selected, the selection of the screen indicating one of the plurality of use scenes is not accepted.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUAN M GUILLERMETY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682