DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on July 16, 2024 and March 10, 2025 were filed after the mailing date of the application on July 16, 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: According to MPEP 608.01(m), the present Office practice is to insist that each claim must be the object of a sentence starting with “I (or we) claim,” “The invention claimed is” (or the equivalent). Thus, the heading simply stating “CLAIMS” is not sufficient.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “three-dimensional position detecting unit” in claims 1, 2, and 9, “data transmission unit” in claims 1, 2, and 9, “first image generation unit” in claims 1, 2, and 10, “first image combining unit” in claims 1, 2, and 10, “second image generation unit” in claims 3, 4, and 7, and “second image combining unit” in claims 3, 4, and 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Anderson (US 20210072947A1).
Anderson teaches an assistance device (instructor 101 is viewing shared 3D virtual space 103 in AR mode with head-mounted AR/VR display 150, [0020]) disposed to be separated from the assisted device (instructor room 110, with an instructor 101 disposed therein, and a learner room 120, with a learner 102 disposed therein, [0017], instructor room 110 and learner room 120 are located remotely from each other, [0018]), the assistance device [0020] comprising a storage that stores one or more programs and a central processing unit (CPU), and the CPU accesses the storage and executes the one or more programs to cause the CPU to implement (non-transitory computer readable medium stores instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the steps, [0097]): a three-dimensional position detecting unit that three-dimensionally detects a hand position of an instructor (101); and a data transmission unit that transmits position information indicating the hand position detected by the three-dimensional position detecting unit (transmission of 3D space information 115 to learner room 120 enables learner 102 to see a synchronous avatar 101A of instructor 101, synchronous avatar 101A can include tracked body parts of instructor 101, such as the hands, when learner 102 is viewing shared 3D virtual space 103 in AR mode with head-mounted AR/VR display 150, synchronous avatar 101A is visible to learner 102 and can indicate to learner 102 where instructor 101 is located in a shared 3D virtual space 103 and where instructor 101 is pointing in real-time, [0020], real-time location and orientation of a position-tracked object associated with the remote user is represented by synchronous avatar 340, such as the hands of the remote user, the real-time tracking is provided by the spatial tracker receivers of the 3D spatial data capture system, [0042]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (US 20210072947A1) in view of Gauglitz (US 20160358383A1).
As per Claim 1, Anderson teaches an assistance system (100, Fig. 1) (MR telepresence system 100 is configured to enable remote guidance and instruction of a user in physical tasks via bi-directional MR telepresence, [0017]) comprising: an assisted device (learner 102 is viewing shared 3D virtual space 103 in AR mode with head-mounted AR/VR display 150, [0020]); and an assistance device (instructor 101 is viewing shared 3D virtual space 103 in AR mode with head-mounted AR/VR display 150, [0020]) disposed to be separated from the assisted device (instructor room 110, with an instructor 101 disposed therein, and a learner room 120, with a learner 102 disposed therein, [0017], instructor room 110 and learner room 120 are located remotely from each other, [0018]), wherein: the assistance device [0020] includes a first storage that stores one or more first programs and a first central processing unit (CPU), and the first CPU accesses the first storage and executes the one or more first programs to cause the first CPU to implement (non-transitory computer readable medium stores instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the steps, [0097]): a three-dimensional position detecting unit that three-dimensionally detects a hand position of an instructor (101); and a data transmission unit that transmits position information indicating the hand position detected by the three-dimensional position detecting unit (transmission of 3D space information 115 to learner room 120 enables learner 102 to see a synchronous avatar 101A of instructor 101, synchronous avatar 101A can include tracked body parts of instructor 101, such as the hands, when learner 102 is viewing shared 3D virtual space 103 in AR mode with head-mounted AR/VR display 150, synchronous avatar 101A is visible to learner 102 and can indicate to learner 102 where instructor 101 is located in a shared 3D virtual space 103 and where instructor 101 is pointing in real-time, [0020], real-time location and orientation of a position-tracked object associated with the remote user is represented by synchronous avatar 340, such as the hands of the remote user, the real-time tracking is provided by the spatial tracker receivers of the 3D spatial data capture system, [0042]), and the assisted device [0020] includes a second storage that stores one or more second programs and a second central processing unit (CPU), and the second CPU accesses the first storage and execute the one or more second programs to cause the second CPU to implement [0097]: a first image generation unit that generates a hand model image that imitates a hand of the instructor based on the transmitted position information; and a first image combining unit that combines the hand model image with a captured image taken by the assisted device to generate a first combined image (transmission of 3D space information 115 to learner room 120 enables learner 102 to see a synchronous avatar 101A of instructor 101, synchronous avatar 101A can include tracked body parts of instructor 101, such as the hands, when learner 102 is viewing shared 3D virtual space 103 in AR mode with head-mounted AR/VR display 150, synchronous avatar 101A is visible to learner 102 and can indicate to learner 102 where instructor 101 is located in a shared 3D virtual space 103 and where instructor 101 is pointing in real-time, [0020], when head-mounted AR/VR display 150 is in AR mode, graphics are overlaid on a video stream of the physical world from the current point of view of the user wearing the head-mounted AR/VR display 150, thus, the user’s view of the physical world is augmented with additional graphics, examples of such graphics include synchronous avatar 101A (which corresponds to the location of the remote user in 3D shared virtual space 103), [0022]).
However, Anderson does not expressly teach that the hand model image is in three dimensions. However, Gauglitz teaches generating a hand model image in three dimensions (use three-dimensional input for the purposes of remote collaboration, by reconstructing the remote user’s hand in 3D and transferring this reconstruction and 3D motion trail into the local user’s space, [0134]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Anderson so that the hand model image is in three dimensions because Gauglitz suggests that this way, the users can have a fully immersive, 3D telepresence experience which is more realistic [0036].
As per Claim 2, Anderson teaches the data transmission unit transmits the position information, the first image generation unit generates the hand model image based on the transmitted position information, and the first image combining unit combines the hand model image with the captured image to generate a combined image, as discussed in the rejection for Claim 1.
However, Anderson does not teach that the three-dimensional position detecting unit detects an instruction content of the instructor based on the hand position of the instructor, the data transmission unit transmits instruction content information indicating the instruction content, the first image generation unit generates a three-dimensional annotation image based on the transmitted instruction content information, and the first image combining unit combines the hand model image and the three-dimensional annotation image with the captured image to generate a second combined image. However, Gauglitz teaches wherein: the three-dimensional position detecting unit detects an instruction content of the instructor based on the hand position of the instructor, the data transmission unit transmits the position information and instruction content information indicating the instruction content, the first image generation unit generates the hand model image based on the transmitted position information, and generates a three-dimensional annotation image based on the transmitted instruction content information, and the first image combining unit combines the hand model image and the three-dimensional annotation image with the captured image to generate a second combined image (identifying spatial instructions by creating annotations, where the annotations are transmitted to the collaborator in physical location A and visualized, for example, the AR solution may include a visual display for the collaborator in physical location A, wherein the annotations are overlaid onto the respective real world object or location, [0026], using a finger, the remote user can draw annotations into the scene, since the camera is tracked with respect to the scene, these annotations automatically obtain a position in world coordinates, [0142], 3D input, for interaction in a three-dimensional space, one should use an interface, which affords three-dimensional input and thus can create annotations in 3D, use three-dimensional input for the purposes of remote collaboration, by reconstructing the remote user’s hand in 3D and transferring this reconstruction and 3D motion trail into the local user’s space, [0134]). This would be obvious for the reasons given in the rejection for Claim 1.
As per Claim 3, Anderson teaches in instructor guidance mode, learner 102 employs head-mounted AR/VR display 150 in AR mode and instructor 101 employs head-mounted AR/VR display 150 in VR mode. Instructor 101 can see 2D video display 330 and 3D widget 310 of learner room 110, learner 102 can see synchronous avatar 101A of instructor 101, and instructor 101 and learner 102 can both see annotations made in shared 3D virtual space 103. Within instructor guidance mode, instructor 101 can scaffold learner 102 as certain tasks are performed by learner in learner room 120. Instructor 101 can provide proactive cues, guidance, and other real-time feedback regarding the performance of learner 102 using annotations and gestures [0045]. The assisted device displays the first combined image which is the combination of the hand model image with the captured image taken by the assisted device [0020, 0022]. Since Anderson teaches that in instructor guidance mode, the instructor 101 employs head-mounted AR/VR display 150 in VR mode [0045], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that this means that in instructor guidance mode, the instructor 101 employs head-mounted AR/VR display 150 in VR mode to see what the learner 102 is seeing on his head-mounted AR/VR display 150, which is the first combined image which is the combination of the hand model image with the captured image taken by the assisted device [0045, 0020, 0022]. Thus, Anderson teaches wherein: the first CPU accesses the first storage and executes the one or more first programs to further cause the first CPU to implement: a second image generation unit that generates the hand model image based on the position information detected by the three-dimensional position detecting unit; and a second image combining unit that combines the hand model image with the captured image transmitted from the assisted device to generate the first combined image [0045, 0020, 0022].
As per Claim 4, Anderson teaches in instructor guidance mode, learner 102 employs head-mounted AR/VR display 150 in AR mode and instructor 101 employs head-mounted AR/VR display 150 in VR mode. Instructor 101 can see 2D video display 330 and 3D widget 310 of learner room 110, learner 102 can see synchronous avatar 101A of instructor 101, and instructor 101 and learner 102 can both see annotations made in shared 3D virtual space 103. Within instructor guidance mode, instructor 101 can scaffold learner 102 as certain tasks are performed by learner in learner room 120. Instructor 101 can provide proactive cues, guidance, and other real-time feedback regarding the performance of learner 102 using annotations and gestures [0045]. The assisted device displays the combined image which is the combination of the hand model image with the captured image taken by the assisted device [0020, 0022]. Since Anderson teaches that in instructor guidance mode, the instructor 101 employs head-mounted AR/VR display 150 in VR mode [0045], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that this means that in instructor guidance mode, the instructor 101 employs head-mounted AR/VR display 150 in VR mode to see what the learner 102 is seeing on his head-mounted AR/VR display 150, which is the combined image which is the combination of the hand model image with the captured image taken by the assisted device [0045, 0020, 0022]. Thus, Anderson teaches the second image generation unit generates the hand model image based on the position information, and the second image combining unit combines the hand model image with the captured image to generate the combined image [0045, 0020, 0022].
However, Anderson does not teach the second image generation unit generates the three-dimensional annotation image based on the instruction content information, and the second image combining unit combines the hand model image and the three-dimensional annotation image with the captured image to generate the second combined image. However, Gauglitz teaches the assisted device displays the combined image which is the combination of the hand model image and the three-dimensional annotation image with the captured image, as discussed in the rejection for Claim 2. Since it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that Anderson teaches that in instructor guidance mode, the instructor 101 employs head-mounted AR/VR display 150 in VR mode to see what the learner 102 is seeing on his head-mounted AR/VR display 150, as discussed above, this teaching from Gauglitz of the three-dimensional annotation image can be implemented into the device of Anderson so that the second image generation unit generates the hand model image and the three-dimensional annotation image based on the position information and the instruction content information, and
The second image combining unit combines the hand model image and the three-dimensional annotation image with the captured image to generate the second combined image. This would be obvious for the reasons given in the rejection for Claim 1.
17. As per Claim 7, Claim 7 is similar in scope to Claim 3, and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
18. As per Claim 10, the combination of Anderson and Gauglitz teaches an assisted device disposed to be separated from an assistance device, the assisted device comprising a storage that stores one or more programs and a central processing unit (CPU), and the CPU accesses the storage and executes the one or more programs to cause the CPU to implement: a first image generation unit that generates a three-dimensional hand model image imitating a hand of an instructor based on position information indicating a hand position of the instructor three-dimensionally detected in the assistance device; and a first image combining unit that combines the three-dimensional hand model image with a captured image taken by the assisted device to generate a first combined image, as discussed in the rejection for Claim 1.
19. Claim(s) 5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (US 20210072947A1) and Gauglitz (US 20160358383A1) in view of Meglan (US 20120045742A1) and Harris (US 20170026638A1).
20. As per Claim 5, Anderson and Gauglitz are relied upon for the teachings as discussed above relative to Claim 4.
However, Anderson and Gauglitz do not teach wherein: the first image generation unit generates a right eye hand model image and a left eye hand model image based on the position information using a shader process of a graphics processing unit (GPU), and combines the right eye hand model image and the left eye hand model image by a line-by-line method to generate the hand model image. However, Meglan teaches wherein: the first image generation unit generates a right eye hand model image and a left eye hand model image using a graphics processing unit (GPU), and combines the right eye hand model image and the left eye hand model image to generate the hand model image (stereo display that includes a separate video feed for each of the trainee’s eyes, provide stereoscopic output video feeds to the display 1040 so that the trainee has 3D depth perception, [0094], provide instructional guidance cues provided by an instructor to point the trainee 100 to move the trainee’s hands to the proper location (specific visual guidance overlaid on the output video feed provided to the display 40), overlay on the display 40 semi-transparent, correctly positioned simulated hands, [0101], graphics processing units, [0103]). Thus, this teaching from Meglan can be implemented on the hand model image of Anderson so that the first image generation unit generates a right eye hand model image and a left eye hand model image based on the position information using a GPU, and combines the right eye hand model image and the left eye hand model image to generate the hand model image.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Anderson and Gauglitz so that the first image generation unit generates a right eye hand model image and a left eye hand model image based on the position information using a GPU, and combines the right eye hand model image and the left eye hand model image to generate the hand model image as suggested by Meglan. It is well-known in the art that stereoscopic imaging is a well-known way to generate images so that the user perceives the images as 3D images, and thus the images are more realistic.
However, Anderson, Gauglitz, and Meglan do not teach generating the images using a shader process of the GPU, and combining the images by a line-by-line method to generate the hand model image. However, Harris teaches the first image generation unit generates a right eye image and a left eye image using a shader process of a GPU, and combines the right eye image and the left eye image by a line-by-line method to generate the image (autostereoscopic display 110 when the view frames are extracted and interlaced, [0181], autostereoscopic movie, utilizes the GPU, and send it through a custom-built shader that prepares the interlaced frame and then renders the interlaced frame on the screen, [0191]). Thus, this teaching from Harris can be implemented into the combination of Anderson and Meglan so that the first image generation unit generates a right eye hand model image and a left eye hand model image based on the position information using a shader process of a GPU, and combines the right eye hand model image and the left eye hand model image by a line-by-line method to generate the hand model image.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Anderson, Gauglitz, and Meglan so that the first image generation unit generates a right eye hand model image and a left eye hand model image based on the position information using a shader process of a graphics processing unit (GPU), and combines the right eye hand model image and the left eye hand model image by a line-by-line method to generate the hand model image as suggested by Harris. Stereoscopic interlacing is well-known in the art and is advantageous because it has a high frame rate with no temporal flicker.
21. As per Claim 8, Claim 8 is similar in scope to Claim 5, and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
22. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (US 20210072947A1), Gauglitz (US 20160358383A1), Meglan (US 20120045742A1), and Harris (US 20170026638A1) in view of Yamaji (US 20120235990A1).
Anderson, Gauglitz, Meglan, and Harris are relied upon for the teachings as discussed above relative to Claim 5.
However, Anderson and Gauglitz do not teach wherein: the first image generation unit displaces positions in a horizontal direction of the right eye hand model image and the left eye hand model image to perform a parallax adjustment of the hand model image. However, Meglan teaches the first image generation unit generates a right eye hand model image and a left eye hand model image [0094, 0101]. This would be obvious for the reasons given in the rejection for Claim 5.
However, Anderson, Gauglitz, Meglan, and Harris do not teach wherein: the first image generation unit displaces positions in a horizontal direction of the right eye hand model image and the left eye hand model image to perform a parallax adjustment of the hand model image. However, Yamaji teaches wherein: the first image generation unit displaces positions in a horizontal direction of the right eye image and the left eye image to perform a parallax adjustment of the image (displacing right and left viewpoint images in horizontal directions to adjust the amount of parallax, [0004]). Since Meglan teaches the first image generation unit generates a right eye hand model image and a left eye hand model image [0094, 0101], this teaching from Yamaji can be implemented on the right eye hand model image and the left eye hand model image of Meglan so that the first image generation unit displaces positions in a horizontal direction of the right eye hand model image and the left eye hand model image to perform a parallax adjustment of the hand model image.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Anderson, Gauglitz, Meglan and Harris so that the first image generation unit displaces positions in a horizontal direction of the right eye hand model image and the left eye hand model image to perform a parallax adjustment of the hand model image because Yamaji suggests that it is well-known in the art to do this to modify the depth of a 3D image [0004].
Conclusion
JH
/JONI HSU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611