DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 & 6-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka et al. (US 2017/0018363).
In regards to claim 1, Tanaka ‘363 discloses
A multilayer ceramic capacitor comprising:
a multilayer body (12 – fig. 1-3; [0029]) including a first main surface (17 – fig. 1-3; [0031]) and a second main surface (18 – fig. 1-3; [0031]) opposed to each other in a lamination direction, a first end surface (13 – fig. 1-3; [0031]) and a second end surface (14 – fig. 1-3; [0031]) opposed to each other in a lengthwise direction orthogonal to the lamination direction, and a first side surface (fig. 1-3; [0031]) and a second side surface (fig. 1-3; [0031]) opposed to each other in a width direction orthogonal to both the lamination direction and the lengthwise direction;
a first side margin portion (32– fig. 3; [0032]) on the first side surface;
a second side margin portion (34 – fig. 3; [0032]) on the second side surface;
a first external electrode (40b & 40c – fig. 2; [0055]) located on the respective first end surface; and
a second external electrode (42b & 42c – fig. 2; [0056]) located on the second end surface; wherein
the multilayer ceramic capacitor further comprises:
a first cover region (40a – fig. 1-2; [0055]) including an inorganic material ([0057]) and positioned on a boundary between the first side margin portion and the multilayer body (fig. 1-2; [0055]); and
a second cover region (42a – fig. 1-2; [0056]) including the inorganic material ([0057]) and positioned on a boundary between the second side margin portion and the multilayer body (fig. 1-2; [0056]); and
a portion of each of the first side surface, the first main surface, and the second main surface is exposed from the first cover region (seen in fig. 1-2).
In regards to claim 6, Tanaka ‘363 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, wherein a dimension of the first side margin portion in the width direction is about 5 µm or greater and not greater than about 40 µm ([0097]).
In regards to claim 7, Tanaka ‘363 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, wherein each of the side margin portions includes a plurality of layers, an inner layer (32b & 34b – fig. 3; [0043]) that is closest to the multilayer body among the plurality of layers and an outer layer (32a & 34a – fig. 3; [0043]) that is farthest from the multilayer body among the plurality of layers.
In regards to claim 8, Tanaka ‘363 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 7, wherein the multilayer body includes a ceramic, dielectric ceramic particles, and an additive between the dielectric ceramic particles ([0046]);
the additive is included in the inner layer and the outer layer ([0052]); and
the additive in the inner layer and in the outer layer are different from each other ([0052]).
In regards to claim 9, Tanaka ‘363 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 7, wherein a dimension of the outer layer in the width direction is larger than a dimension of the inner layer in the width direction ([0097]).
In regards to claim 10, Tanaka ‘363 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 9, wherein the dimension of the inner layer in the width direction is about 0.1 µm or greater and not greater than about 20 µm ([0097]); and
the dimension of the outer layer in the width direction is about 5 µm or greater and not greater than about 20 µm ([0097]).
In regards to claim 11, Tanaka ‘363 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, wherein the multilayer body includes an internal electrode layer; and a thickness of the internal electrode layer is about 0.8 µm or less ([0038]).
In regards to claim 12, Tanaka ‘363 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 7, wherein the multilayer body includes a dielectric layer; and a thickness of dielectric layer is about 0.55 µm or less ([0033]).
In regards to claim 13, Tanaka ‘363 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 7, wherein an Si content of the outer layer is higher than an Si content of the inner layer ([0046]).
In regards to claim 14, Tanaka ‘363 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 7, wherein a Ba content of the inner layer is higher than a Ba content of the outer layer ([0052]).
In regards to claim 15, Tanaka ‘363 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 7, wherein the outer layer has fewer voids than the inner layer ([0053]).
Tanaka ‘363 as modified by Yagi further disclose wherein the outer layer has fewer voids than the inner layer ([0053] of Tanaka ‘363).
In regards to claim 16, Tanaka ‘363 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 7, wherein the plurality of layers include differing amounts of resin ([0094]).
In regards to claim 17, Tanaka ‘363 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 7, wherein the inner layer has a different amount of additive than the outer layer ([0046]).
In regards to claim 18, Tanaka ‘363 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 7, wherein a dimension of the outer layer in the width direction is larger than a dimension of the inner layer in the width direction ([0044]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 & 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 19-20 Tanaka ‘363 in view of Sakatsume et al. (US 2017/0345570).
In regards to claim 2,
Tanaka ‘363 fails to disclose wherein the inorganic material includes at least one of Si, Ti, Ba, or Zr.
Sakastume ‘570 discloses a cover region (21 – fig. 1; [0029]) wherein the inorganic material includes at least one of Si, Ti, Ba, or Zr ([0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the cover region of Tanaka ‘363 using a composition as taught by Sakastume ‘570 to obtain capacitor wherein the cover region has good adhesion to the body while preventing discontinuities in the plating layer.
In regards to claim 4,
Tanaka ‘363 fails to disclose wherein a thickness of the first cover region is about 1 µm or greater and not greater than about 10 µm.
Sakastume ‘570 discloses wherein a thickness of the first cover region (21 – fig. 1; [0029]) is about 1 µm or greater and not greater than about 10 µm ([0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the cover region of Tanaka ‘363 using a thickness as taught by Sakastume ‘570 to obtain capacitor with a small size and good volume efficiency.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 19-20 Tanaka ‘363 in view of Kuroda et al. (US 5,812,363).
In regards to claim 19,
Tanaka ‘363 fails to disclose wherein the multilayer body includes floating internal electrode layers.
Kuroda ‘363 discloses an internal electrode structure includes floating internal electrode layers (fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form internal electrodes of Tanaka ‘363 to have a structure including floating electrodes as taught by Kuroda ‘363 as such a structure is taught to be an alternative internal electrode design to the dual structure design of Tanaka ‘363 and the floating structure allows for the “capacitance subdivision” effect which enhances high voltage withstand characteristics.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3 & 5 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or suggest (in combination with the other claim limitations) wherein the first cover region has a loop shape surrounding an area in at least the lengthwise direction (claim 3) & wherein the multilayer ceramic capacitor has a substantially cuboid shape; and a dimension of the first cover region in the width direction is about 10% or greater of a dimension of the multilayer body in the width direction and not greater than about 20% of the dimension of the multilayer body in the width direction (claim 5).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847