DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubota et al. (US 2021/0218082) in view of Kobayashi (JP-2021015703-A).
Regarding claims 1-5, Kubota discloses a highly similar battery module construct to the present claims in figure 1. Namely, Kubota discloses a battery pack (reads on module) (100), battery cells (10), a cooler configured to cool the cells (60), an insulator disposed between the battery cells and cooler (figures 3 and 4; reference character 40) and a thermal conductor (heat transfer sheet - 50). Kubota further discloses the thermal conductor (referred to as the heat-transfer sheet) has insulating properties ([0041]).
While Kobota essentially discloses the claimed construct and each of the battery features, Kubota differs from the present claims in two ways. First, Kubota fails to teach the thermal conductor and insulator layer being blended into one another (e.g. filling a hollow portion), and second fails to teach the exactly claimed shapes and relative dimensions as claimed for the layers.
The examiner notes that the courts have generally held that issues such as changes in size or shape, as well as making things integral are matters of obviousness in the absence of unexpected results (see MPEP 2144.04).
In addition to the foregoing, the examiner also notes that Kobayashi, drawn also to the art of cooling battery modules (page 1; figure 7, reference character 41), discloses insulating sheets (figure 7, reference character 29) which contain hollow portions filled with heat conducting portions (figure 7, reference character 28) whereby those two collective portions contact a cooling member (figure 7, reference character 95) which then facilitates cooling the module. While rationale is provided above for changing shapes, sizes and integral natures, it is specifically known by Kobayashi and thus would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled artisan in the battery art, to have filled hollow portions of insulating sheets with the thermal conducting portion (heat-transfer sheet) for the predictable purpose of cooling a battery. In the absence of unexpected results, the foregoing and any respective layer shape changes are not found to be patentably distinguishing. The courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is not patentably distinguishing (MPEP 2413).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Raiser et al. (US 2018/0062226) discloses a similar battery module assembly with battery cells, insulators, thermal conductors and cooling means (abstract and figure 1). Raiser is also highly relevant to the claimed invention because they disclose that the conducting gap filling material (aligned with claimed thermal conductor filling) can be patterned/discontinuous along the cooling plate surface (figure 1 – reference characters 6 and 7). The foregoing claims effectively form a patterned thermal conducting layer along the cooling plate, which, as disclosed by Raiser, is perfect suitable means/design for conducting the cooling means to cool the battery construct.
/MICHAEL N ORLANDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1746