DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims dated 04/22/2026 are being examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 04/22/2026 with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/03/2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gandiga (US-20210116942-A1) and herein after will be referred to as Gandiga.
Regarding claim 1, Gandiga teaches a method for controlling a flight assembly, wherein the flight assembly is movably disposed inside a terminal (FIG. 2 UAV 206 is movably disposed inside roof/garage 204 of vehicle 202; [0040] the UAV 206 and any additional UAVs (not shown) may be secured or locked in the vehicle 202 or inside the garage 204),
the terminal is provided with an outlet for the flight assembly to move out of the terminal ([0030] the UAV roof/garage of a vehicle may release a drone for flight when the in-vehicle computer provides signals indicating to launch the UAV – Under broadest reasonable interpretation, Examiner interprets the vehicle in Gandiga is a terminal), and
the method comprises: displaying a control on the terminal in response to a first input performed by a touch object on the terminal (FIG. 2 display 224 of in-vehicle computer 208 presenting Open Roof, Live View, and Launch Drone options based on user selection of Apps icon at the bottom; [0056] The display 224 may present graphical user interfaces or human machine interfaces, and may show options for controlling the UAV 206, the garage 204, and the vehicle 202. For example, as shown in FIG. 2, the display 224 may display selectable commands to open a roof of the vehicle 202 (or the garage 204) and to launch the UAV 206 or any other UAV);
controlling, in response to a second input performed by the touch object on the control, the flight assembly to move from inside the terminal to outside the terminal through the outlet (FIG. 2 display 224 of in-vehicle computer 208 presenting option to Launch drone; [0056] … and to launch the UAV 206 or any other UAV);
and controlling a flight action of the flight assembly according to an action of the touch object after the flight assembly moves out of the terminal (FIG. 2 display 224 of the in-vehicle computer 208 presenting selectable controls to navigate the UAV in flight; [0024] a human operator in a vehicle may use the in-vehicle computer to control the launch or landing from the vehicle, to send navigation instructions to the UAV (e.g., up, down, left, right, front, back), to control UAV cameras (e.g., pan/yaw, tilt, zoom, record, switching between cameras such as multiple color, infrared, and night vision), and to command the UAV to follow the vehicle or any other vehicle or machine).
Regarding claim 10, Gandiga teaches a terminal, comprising (FIG. 2 vehicle 202):
a memory storing computer-readable instructions; and ([0137] These computer program instructions may also be stored in a computer-readable storage media or memory that may direct a computer or other programmable data processing apparatus to function in a particular manner)
a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer-readable instructions, wherein the computer-readable instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising (FIG. 1 processing circuitry 210):
displaying a control on the terminal in response to a first input performed by a touch object on the terminal (FIG. 2 display 224 of in-vehicle computer 208 presenting Open Roof, Live View, and Launch Drone options based on user selection of Apps icon at the bottom; [0056] The display 224 may present graphical user interfaces or human machine interfaces, and may show options for controlling the UAV 206, the garage 204, and the vehicle 202. For example, as shown in FIG. 2, the display 224 may display selectable commands to open a roof of the vehicle 202 (or the garage 204) and to launch the UAV 206 or any other UAV);
controlling, in response to a second input performed by the touch object on the control, a flight assembly to move towards from inside the terminal to outside the terminal through an outlet; and (FIG. 2 display 224 of in-vehicle computer 208 presenting option to Launch drone; [0056] … and to launch the UAV 206 or any other UAV)
controlling a flight action of the flight assembly according to an action of the touch object after the flight assembly moves out of the terminal (FIG. 2 display 224 of the in-vehicle computer 208 presenting selectable controls to navigate the UAV in flight; [0024] a human operator in a vehicle may use the in-vehicle computer to control the launch or landing from the vehicle, to send navigation instructions to the UAV (e.g., up, down, left, right, front, back), to control UAV cameras (e.g., pan/yaw, tilt, zoom, record, switching between cameras such as multiple color, infrared, and night vision), and to command the UAV to follow the vehicle or any other vehicle or machine).
Regarding claim 19, Gandiga teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor of a terminal, cause the processor to perform operations comprising (Abstract: … computer-readable media are disclosed for drone vehicle integration and controls):
displaying a control on the terminal in response to a first input performed by a touch object on the terminal (FIG. 2 display 224 of in-vehicle computer 208 presenting Open Roof, Live View, and Launch Drone options based on user selection of Apps icon at the bottom; [0056] The display 224 may present graphical user interfaces or human machine interfaces, and may show options for controlling the UAV 206, the garage 204, and the vehicle 202. For example, as shown in FIG. 2, the display 224 may display selectable commands to open a roof of the vehicle 202 (or the garage 204) and to launch the UAV 206 or any other UAV);
controlling, in response to a second input performed by the touch object on the control, a flight assembly to move from inside the terminal to outside the terminal through an outlet; and (FIG. 2 display 224 of in-vehicle computer 208 presenting option to Launch drone; [0056] … and to launch the UAV 206 or any other UAV);
controlling a flight action of the flight assembly according to an action of the touch object after the flight assembly moves out of the terminal (FIG. 2 display 224 of the in-vehicle computer 208 presenting selectable controls to navigate the UAV in flight; [0024] a human operator in a vehicle may use the in-vehicle computer to control the launch or landing from the vehicle, to send navigation instructions to the UAV (e.g., up, down, left, right, front, back), to control UAV cameras (e.g., pan/yaw, tilt, zoom, record, switching between cameras such as multiple color, infrared, and night vision), and to command the UAV to follow the vehicle or any other vehicle or machine).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 11-13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gandiga, in view Li et al. (US-20180237140-A1) and herein after will be referred to as Li.
Regarding claim 2, Gandiga teaches the method according to claim 1.
While Gandiga discloses control of UAV altitude (FIG. 2 display 224 of the in-vehicle computer 208 presenting selectable controls to navigate the UAV in flight), Gandiga does not explicitly teach wherein before controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object after the flight assembly moves out of the terminal, the method further comprises: controlling the flight assembly to fly to a preset altitude to hover.
However, Li teaches wherein before controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object after the flight assembly moves out of the terminal, the method further comprises: controlling the flight assembly to fly to a preset altitude to hover (FIG. 4 acquire a photographing start command 402, send the combined operation command to a UAV 406; FIG. 5 start control 502 and fixed-point photographing 503; [0073] In some embodiments, the UAV flight action includes at least one of a UAV flight-speed adjustment action, a UAV direction adjustment action, a UAV height adjustment action, a UAV hover action, a UAV roll action, and a UAV yaw action).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify Gandiga to incorporate the teachings of Li to include wherein before controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object after the flight assembly moves out of the terminal, the method further comprises: controlling the flight assembly to fly to a preset altitude to hover, with a reasonable expectation of success since “in this way, a user does not need to learn complex techniques of operating a UAV and performing photographing to photograph a landscape image at a specific position by using the UAV, so that operations are convenient” (Li [0102]).
Regarding claim 3, Gandiga teaches the method according to claim 1.
Gandiga also teaches wherein the touch object is a user ([0024] a human operator in a vehicle may use the in-vehicle computer to control the launch or landing from the vehicle).
Gandiga does not explicitly teach and before controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object after the flight assembly moves out of the terminal, the method further comprises: obtaining a sensing signal of a target sensor that is worn on a wearable device of the user; and determining the action of the touch object according to the sensing signal.
However, Liu teaches and before controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object after the flight assembly moves out of the terminal, the method further comprises: obtaining a sensing signal of a target sensor that is worn on a wearable device of the user; and ([0005] The wearable electronic device includes a motion detector configured to acquire a motion state of a body part of a user)
determining the action of the touch object according to the sensing signal ([0117] the aircraft control system 100 can include the wearable electronic device 20 configured to directly control the rotorcraft 10. As such, the rotorcraft 10 can be directly controlled using motion information of the wearable electronic device 20 (e.g., the motion state of the body part of the user)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify Gandiga to incorporate the teachings of Liu to include, before controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object after the flight assembly moves out of the terminal, the method further comprises: obtaining a sensing signal of a target sensor that is worn on a wearable device of the user; and determining the action of the touch object according to the sensing signal, with a reasonable expectation of success since having another way to fly the flight assembly increases the convenience of user control of the camera, and by utilizing the wearable device, “the operation can be simple and the user's hands can be freed” (Liu [0037]).
Regarding claim 4, Gandiga teaches the method according to claim 1.
Gandiga’s display teaches touching/tapping of selectable controls to control the UAV (FIG. 2 display 224 of the in-vehicle computer 208 presenting selectable controls to navigate the UAV in flight), so Gandiga does not explicitly teach wherein controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object comprises: detecting a translation direction and a translation distance of the touch object, and determining a target translation direction and a target translation distance of the flight assembly according to the translation direction and the translation distance of the touch object; and controlling the flight assembly to translate according to the target translation direction and the target translation distance.
However, Li teaches wherein controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object comprises: detecting a translation direction and a translation distance of the touch object, and determining a target translation direction and a target translation distance of the flight assembly according to the translation direction and the translation distance of the touch object; and controlling the flight assembly to translate according to the target translation direction and the target translation distance (FIG. 17 user swipes to control UAV; [0181] That is, referring to FIG. 17, when it is detected that the moving direction of the single touch point is moving up, an operation command for controlling an aircraft to move up is generated).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify the user touching/tapping of selectable controls to move the UAV as taught in Gandiga to substitute user swiping/sliding to control the UAV as taught in Li because it has been held that the substitution of one known element for another would have been obvious if the substitution yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. In this case, the substitution of different user inputs would have had the predictable result of controlling a UAV to move left/right/up/down. Additionally, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention would be motivated to incorporate the teachings of Li to include wherein controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object comprises: detecting a translation direction and a translation distance of the touch object, and determining a target translation direction and a target translation distance of the flight assembly according to the translation direction and the translation distance of the touch object; and controlling the flight assembly to translate according to the target translation direction and the target translation distance, with a reasonable expectation of success since having another way to fly the flight assembly increases the convenience of user control of the camera, and is more convenient in that “this manner of controlling the aircraft is similar to the manner of operating the movement of the aircraft in the real world” (Li [0183]).
Regarding claim 11, Gandiga teaches the terminal according to claim 10.
While Gandiga discloses control of UAV altitude (FIG. 2 display 224 of the in-vehicle computer 208 presenting selectable controls to navigate the UAV in flight), Gandiga does not explicitly teach wherein before controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object after the flight assembly moves out of the terminal, the operations further comprise: controlling the flight assembly to fly to a preset altitude to hover.
However, Li teaches wherein before controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object after the flight assembly moves out of the terminal, the operations further comprise: controlling the flight assembly to fly to a preset altitude to hover (FIG. 4 acquire a photographing start command 402, send the combined operation command to a UAV 406; FIG. 5 start control 502 and fixed-point photographing 503; [0073] In some embodiments, the UAV flight action includes at least one of a UAV flight-speed adjustment action, a UAV direction adjustment action, a UAV height adjustment action, a UAV hover action, a UAV roll action, and a UAV yaw action).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify Gandiga to incorporate the teachings of Li to include wherein before controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object after the flight assembly moves out of the terminal, the operations further comprise: controlling the flight assembly to fly to a preset altitude to hover, with a reasonable expectation of success since “in this way, a user does not need to learn complex techniques of operating a UAV and performing photographing to photograph a landscape image at a specific position by using the UAV, so that operations are convenient” (Li [0102]).
Regarding claim 12, Gandiga teaches the terminal according to claim 10.
Gandiga also teaches wherein the touch object is a user ([0024] a human operator in a vehicle may use the in-vehicle computer to control the launch or landing from the vehicle).
Gandiga does not explicitly teach and before controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object after the flight assembly moves out of the terminal, the operations further comprise: obtaining a sensing signal of a target sensor that is worn on a wearable device of the user; and determining the action of the touch object according to the sensing signal.
However, Liu teaches and before controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object after the flight assembly moves out of the terminal, the operations further comprise: obtaining a sensing signal of a target sensor that is worn on a wearable device of the user; and ([0005] The wearable electronic device includes a motion detector configured to acquire a motion state of a body part of a user)
determining the action of the touch object according to the sensing signal ([0117] the aircraft control system 100 can include the wearable electronic device 20 configured to directly control the rotorcraft 10. As such, the rotorcraft 10 can be directly controlled using motion information of the wearable electronic device 20 (e.g., the motion state of the body part of the user)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify Gandiga to incorporate the teachings of Liu to include, before controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object after the flight assembly moves out of the terminal, the operations further comprise: obtaining a sensing signal of a target sensor that is worn on a wearable device of the user; and determining the action of the touch object according to the sensing signal, with a reasonable expectation of success since having another way to fly the flight assembly increases the convenience of user control of the camera, and by utilizing the wearable device, “the operation can be simple and the user's hands can be freed” (Liu [0037]).
Regarding claim 13, Gandiga teaches the terminal according to claim 10.
Gandiga’s display teaches touching/tapping of selectable controls to control the UAV (FIG. 2 display 224 of the in-vehicle computer 208 presenting selectable controls to navigate the UAV in flight), so Gandiga does not explicitly teach wherein controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object comprises: detecting a translation direction and a translation distance of the touch object, and determining a target translation direction and a target translation distance of the flight assembly according to the translation direction and the translation distance of the touch object; and controlling the flight assembly to translate according to the target translation direction and the target translation distance.
However, Li teaches wherein controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object comprises: detecting a translation direction and a translation distance of the touch object, and determining a target translation direction and a target translation distance of the flight assembly according to the translation direction and the translation distance of the touch object; and controlling the flight assembly to translate according to the target translation direction and the target translation distance (FIG. 17 user swipes to control UAV; [0181] That is, referring to FIG. 17, when it is detected that the moving direction of the single touch point is moving up, an operation command for controlling an aircraft to move up is generated).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify the user touching/tapping of selectable controls to move the UAV as taught in Gandiga to substitute user swiping/sliding to control the UAV as taught in Li because it has been held that the substitution of one known element for another would have been obvious if the substitution yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. In this case, the substitution of different user inputs would have had the predictable result of controlling a UAV to move left/right/up/down. Additionally, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention would be motivated to incorporate the teachings of Li to include wherein controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object comprises: detecting a translation direction and a translation distance of the touch object, and determining a target translation direction and a target translation distance of the flight assembly according to the translation direction and the translation distance of the touch object; and controlling the flight assembly to translate according to the target translation direction and the target translation distance, with a reasonable expectation of success since having another way to fly the flight assembly increases the convenience of user control of the camera, and is more convenient in that “this manner of controlling the aircraft is similar to the manner of operating the movement of the aircraft in the real world” (Li [0183]).
Regarding claim 20, Gandiga teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 19.
While Gandiga discloses control of UAV altitude (FIG. 2 display 224 of the in-vehicle computer 208 presenting selectable controls to navigate the UAV in flight), Gandiga does not explicitly teach wherein before controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object after the flight assembly moves out of the terminal, the operations further comprise: controlling the flight assembly to fly to a preset altitude to hover.
However, Li teaches wherein before controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object after the flight assembly moves out of the terminal, the operations further comprise: controlling the flight assembly to fly to a preset altitude to hover (FIG. 4 acquire a photographing start command 402, send the combined operation command to a UAV 406; FIG. 5 start control 502 and fixed-point photographing 503; [0073] In some embodiments, the UAV flight action includes at least one of a UAV flight-speed adjustment action, a UAV direction adjustment action, a UAV height adjustment action, a UAV hover action, a UAV roll action, and a UAV yaw action).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify Gandiga to incorporate the teachings of Li to include wherein before controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object after the flight assembly moves out of the terminal, the operations further comprise: controlling the flight assembly to fly to a preset altitude to hover, with a reasonable expectation of success since “in this way, a user does not need to learn complex techniques of operating a UAV and performing photographing to photograph a landscape image at a specific position by using the UAV, so that operations are convenient” (Li [0102]).
Claims 5, 7, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gandiga, in view of Böckem et al. (US-20210397202-A1) and herein after will be referred to as Böckem.
Regarding claim 5, Gandiga teaches the method according to claim 1.
Gandiga’s display teaches touching/tapping of selectable controls to control the tilt of the UAV (FIG. 2 display 224 of the in-vehicle computer 208 presenting selectable controls to navigate the UAV in flight), so Gandiga does not explicitly teach wherein controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object comprises: detecting a rotation direction and a rotation angle of the touch object, and determining a target rotation direction and a target rotation angle of the flight assembly according to the rotation direction and the rotation angle of the touch object; and controlling the flight assembly to rotate according to the target rotation direction and the target rotation angle by using a target axis as a rotation axis.
However, Böckem teaches wherein controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object comprises: detecting a rotation direction and a rotation angle of the touch object, and determining a target rotation direction and a target rotation angle of the flight assembly according to the rotation direction and the rotation angle of the touch object; and (FIG. 1 user swipes left/right on yaw axis symbol 9 to control UAV yaw axis orientation; [0020] A touch input can relate e.g. to a touch gesture by which the target indicating symbol is touched with a finger and dragged from a first location to a second location within the 3D-view; [0060] A third movement mode provides for a movability of the UAV symbol being restricted to a rotation of the UAV symbol around its yaw axis. For example, based on a touch input the UAV symbol's orientation can be changed by rotating the UAV symbol only around its yaw axis. Based thereon an intuitive controllability of the UAV's orientation in a horizontal plane is providable)
controlling the flight assembly to rotate according to the target rotation direction and the target rotation angle by using a target axis as a rotation axis ([0061] … instruct the UAV to move in its physical environment in accordance to the movement of the UAV symbol in the 3D-view).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify the user touching/tapping of selectable controls to rotate the UAV as taught in Gandiga to substitute user swiping/sliding to rotate the UAV as taught in Böckem because it has been held that the substitution of one known element for another would have been obvious if the substitution yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. In this case, the substitution of different user inputs would have had the predictable result of controlling a UAV to rotate. Additionally, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention would be motivated to incorporate the teachings of Böckem to include wherein controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object comprises: detecting a rotation direction and a rotation angle of the touch object, and determining a target rotation direction and a target rotation angle of the flight assembly according to the rotation direction and the rotation angle of the touch object; and controlling the flight assembly to rotate according to the target rotation direction and the target rotation angle by using a target axis as a rotation axis, with a reasonable expectation of success since having another way to fly the flight assembly increases the convenience of user control of the camera, and “assists the user in safely navigating the UAV in its three-dimensional environment” (Böckem [0063]).
Regarding claim 7, Gandiga, as modified, teaches the method according to claim 5.
Gandiga, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein before controlling the flight assembly to rotate according to the target rotation direction and the target rotation angle by using the target axis as the rotation axis, the method further comprises: obtaining attitude data of the flight assembly; displaying an attitude image of the flight assembly on the terminal according to the attitude data of the flight assembly, wherein the attitude image comprises a body coordinate system of the flight assembly, and the body coordinate system is a three-dimensional rectangular coordinate system; and selecting one coordinate axis of the flight assembly as the target axis in response to a third input performed by the touch object on the attitude image.
However, Böckem also teaches wherein before controlling the flight assembly to rotate according to the target rotation direction and the target rotation angle by using the target axis as the rotation axis, the method further comprises: obtaining attitude data of the flight assembly ([0060] The as-tracked location/position and orientation of the UAV symbol can directly be provided to the motion generation system of the UAV in order to instruct the UAV to move in its physical environment in accordance to the movement of the UAV symbol in the 3D-view);
displaying an attitude image of the flight assembly on the terminal according to the attitude data of the flight assembly, wherein the attitude image comprises a body coordinate system of the flight assembly, and the body coordinate system is a three-dimensional rectangular coordinate system; and ([0060] A UAV symbol is displayed in/overlaid to the displayed 3D-view of the UAV's environment. The UAV symbol by its location and orientation, in particular and by its shape and appearance, in the displayed 3D-view represents the UAV with its position and orientation in the physical environment; FIG. 1 roll, pitch, yaw axes)
selecting one coordinate axis of the flight assembly as the target axis in response to a third input performed by the touch object on the attitude image ([0060] For example, based on a touch input the UAV symbol's orientation can be changed by rotating the UAV symbol only around its yaw axis).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify the user touching/tapping of selectable controls to rotate the UAV as taught in Gandiga to substitute user swiping/sliding to rotate the UAV as taught in Böckem because it has been held that the substitution of one known element for another would have been obvious if the substitution yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. In this case, the substitution of different user inputs would have had the predictable result of controlling a UAV to rotate. Additionally, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention would be motivated to incorporate the teachings of Böckem to include wherein before controlling the flight assembly to rotate according to the target rotation direction and the target rotation angle by using the target axis as the rotation axis, the method further comprises: obtaining attitude data of the flight assembly; displaying an attitude image of the flight assembly on the terminal according to the attitude data of the flight assembly, wherein the attitude image comprises a body coordinate system of the flight assembly, and the body coordinate system is a three-dimensional rectangular coordinate system; and selecting one coordinate axis of the flight assembly as the target axis in response to a third input performed by the touch object on the attitude image, with a reasonable expectation of success since having another way to fly the flight assembly increases the convenience of user control of the camera, and “assists the user in safely navigating the UAV in its three-dimensional environment” (Böckem [0063]).
Regarding claim 14, Gandiga teaches the terminal according to claim 10.
Gandiga’s display teaches touching/tapping of selectable controls to control the tilt of the UAV (FIG. 2 display 224 of the in-vehicle computer 208 presenting selectable controls to navigate the UAV in flight), so Gandiga does not explicitly teach wherein controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object comprises: detecting a rotation direction and a rotation angle of the touch object, and determining a target rotation direction and a target rotation angle of the flight assembly according to the rotation direction and the rotation angle of the touch object; and controlling the flight assembly to rotate according to the target rotation direction and the target rotation angle by using a target axis as a rotation axis.
However, Böckem teaches wherein controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object comprises: detecting a rotation direction and a rotation angle of the touch object, and determining a target rotation direction and a target rotation angle of the flight assembly according to the rotation direction and the rotation angle of the touch object; and (FIG. 1 user swipes left/right on yaw axis symbol 9 to control UAV yaw axis orientation; [0020] A touch input can relate e.g. to a touch gesture by which the target indicating symbol is touched with a finger and dragged from a first location to a second location within the 3D-view; [0060] A third movement mode provides for a movability of the UAV symbol being restricted to a rotation of the UAV symbol around its yaw axis. For example, based on a touch input the UAV symbol's orientation can be changed by rotating the UAV symbol only around its yaw axis. Based thereon an intuitive controllability of the UAV's orientation in a horizontal plane is providable)
controlling the flight assembly to rotate according to the target rotation direction and the target rotation angle by using a target axis as a rotation axis ([0061] … instruct the UAV to move in its physical environment in accordance to the movement of the UAV symbol in the 3D-view).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify the user touching/tapping of selectable controls to rotate the UAV as taught in Gandiga to substitute user swiping/sliding to rotate the UAV as taught in Böckem because it has been held that the substitution of one known element for another would have been obvious if the substitution yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. In this case, the substitution of different user inputs would have had the predictable result of controlling a UAV to rotate. Additionally, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention would be motivated to incorporate the teachings of Böckem to include wherein controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object comprises: detecting a rotation direction and a rotation angle of the touch object, and determining a target rotation direction and a target rotation angle of the flight assembly according to the rotation direction and the rotation angle of the touch object; and controlling the flight assembly to rotate according to the target rotation direction and the target rotation angle by using a target axis as a rotation axis, with a reasonable expectation of success since having another way to fly the flight assembly increases the convenience of user control of the camera, and “assists the user in safely navigating the UAV in its three-dimensional environment” (Böckem [0063]).
Regarding claim 16, Gandiga, as modified, teaches the terminal according to claim 14.
Gandiga, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein before controlling the flight assembly to rotate according to the target rotation direction and the target rotation angle by using the target axis as the rotation axis, the operations further comprise: obtaining attitude data of the flight assembly; displaying an attitude image of the flight assembly on the terminal according to the attitude data of the flight assembly, wherein the attitude image comprises a body coordinate system of the flight assembly, and the body coordinate system is a three-dimensional rectangular coordinate system; and selecting one coordinate axis of the flight assembly as the target axis in response to a third input performed by the touch object on the attitude image.
However, Böckem also teaches wherein before controlling the flight assembly to rotate according to the target rotation direction and the target rotation angle by using the target axis as the rotation axis, the operations further comprise: obtaining attitude data of the flight assembly ([0060] The as-tracked location/position and orientation of the UAV symbol can directly be provided to the motion generation system of the UAV in order to instruct the UAV to move in its physical environment in accordance to the movement of the UAV symbol in the 3D-view);
displaying an attitude image of the flight assembly on the terminal according to the attitude data of the flight assembly, wherein the attitude image comprises a body coordinate system of the flight assembly, and the body coordinate system is a three-dimensional rectangular coordinate system; and ([0060] A UAV symbol is displayed in/overlaid to the displayed 3D-view of the UAV's environment. The UAV symbol by its location and orientation, in particular and by its shape and appearance, in the displayed 3D-view represents the UAV with its position and orientation in the physical environment; FIG. 1 roll, pitch, yaw axes)
selecting one coordinate axis of the flight assembly as the target axis in response to a third input performed by the touch object on the attitude image ([0060] For example, based on a touch input the UAV symbol's orientation can be changed by rotating the UAV symbol only around its yaw axis).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify the user touching/tapping of selectable controls to rotate the UAV as taught in Gandiga to substitute user swiping/sliding to rotate the UAV as taught in Böckem because it has been held that the substitution of one known element for another would have been obvious if the substitution yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. In this case, the substitution of different user inputs would have had the predictable result of controlling a UAV to rotate. Additionally, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention would be motivated to incorporate the teachings of Böckem to include wherein before controlling the flight assembly to rotate according to the target rotation direction and the target rotation angle by using the target axis as the rotation axis, the operations further comprise: obtaining attitude data of the flight assembly; displaying an attitude image of the flight assembly on the terminal according to the attitude data of the flight assembly, wherein the attitude image comprises a body coordinate system of the flight assembly, and the body coordinate system is a three-dimensional rectangular coordinate system; and selecting one coordinate axis of the flight assembly as the target axis in response to a third input performed by the touch object on the attitude image, with a reasonable expectation of success since having another way to fly the flight assembly increases the convenience of user control of the camera, and “assists the user in safely navigating the UAV in its three-dimensional environment” (Böckem [0063]).
Claims 6, 8, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gandiga, in view of Yu et al. (KR-20180007431-A), in view of Mou et al. (CN-113238649-A) and herein after will be referred to as Yu and Mou, respectively.
Regarding claim 6, Gandiga teaches the method according to claim 1.
Gandiga does not explicitly teach wherein the touch object is a stylus, and controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object comprises: detecting a rotation angle of the stylus with a longitudinal direction of a stylus body as a rotation axis, and determining a target rotation angle of the flight assembly according to the rotation angle; detecting a rotation direction of the stylus with the longitudinal direction of the stylus body as a rotation axis, and determining a target rotation direction of the flight assembly according to the rotation direction; and controlling the flight assembly to rotate according to the target rotation direction and the target rotation angle by using a target axis as a rotation axis.
However, Yu teaches wherein the touch object is a stick-shaped body, and (FIG. 2 radio controller 1 for radio-controlled aircraft 300; [0009] the present invention relates to a radio controller for a radio-controlled aircraft […] comprising […] a stick-shaped body; [0025] The body (10) can be formed in a stick shape)
controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object comprises: detecting a rotation angle of the stylus with a longitudinal direction of a stick-shaped body as a rotation axis, and determining a target rotation angle of the flight assembly according to the rotation angle; detecting a rotation direction of the stick-shaped body with the longitudinal direction of the stick-shaped body as a rotation axis, and determining a target rotation direction of the flight assembly according to the rotation direction; and controlling the flight assembly to rotate according to the target rotation direction and the target rotation angle by using a target axis as a rotation axis ([0034] The control unit (60) can convert the front, rear, left, right, and rotational displacements of the body (10) measured by the inertial (IMU) sensor (40) into electrical signals and then transmit them to the transmitting and receiving unit (70); [0035] Here, the radio-controlled aircraft (300) that receives the signal can operate with flight movements (roll, pitch, yaw) as shown in FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify Gandiga to incorporate the teachings of Yu to include wherein the touch object is a stick-shaped body, and controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object comprises: detecting a rotation angle of the stylus with a longitudinal direction of a stick-shaped body as a rotation axis, and determining a target rotation angle of the flight assembly according to the rotation angle; detecting a rotation direction of the stick-shaped body with the longitudinal direction of the stick-shaped body as a rotation axis, and determining a target rotation direction of the flight assembly according to the rotation direction; and controlling the flight assembly to rotate according to the target rotation direction and the target rotation angle by using a target axis as a rotation axis, with a reasonable expectation of success since having another way to fly the flight assembly increases the convenience of user control, and “to enable intuitive control by aligning the direction of motion of the radio-controlled aircraft with the control surface of the radio controller” (Yu [0007]).
Gandiga, in view of Yu does not explicitly teach that the gesture control using the stick-shaped body to control the UAV is “a stylus”.
However, Mou teaches gesture control using “a stylus” (page 4 of translation: the method comprises the steps that the stylus monitors acceleration change and/or rotation posture change of the stylus by a sensor […] In use, a user can hold the stylus to execute a gesture operation, the stylus can obtain gesture information (or referred to as a gesture characteristic value) corresponding to the gesture operation of the user, the stylus sends the gesture information corresponding to the gesture operation of the user to the electronic device, and the electronic device can match the gesture information with the association relation to obtain a function associated with the gesture operation and realize the associated function in the electronic device).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify the stick shaped body as taught in Gandiga, as modified, to substitute using a stylus as taught in Mou because it has been held that the substitution of one known element for another would have been obvious if the substitution yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. In this case, the substitution of a stylus for a stick-shaped body constitutes a simple substitution of one known user input mechanism for another known input mechanism and would have had the predictable result of controlling the flight apparatus corresponding to a gesture operation of the user.
Regarding claim 8, Gandiga, as modified, teaches the method according to claim 6.
Gandiga, as modified, also teaches wherein before controlling the flight assembly to rotate according to the target rotation direction and the target rotation angle by using the target axis as the rotation axis, the method further comprises: obtaining attitude data of the stylus and attitude data of the flight assembly (see rejection of claim 6 cited to FIG. 2 of Yu: roll, pitch, yaw coordinate system of the stick-shaped body and UAV; see rejection of claim 6 cited to Mou teaching the touch object as a stylus instead of the stick-shaped body);
determining a first coordinate axis of the flight assembly according to the attitude data of the stylus and the attitude data of the flight assembly, wherein the first coordinate axis of the flight assembly is a coordinate axis that is in a body coordinate system of the flight assembly and that forms an acute angle of less than 45 degrees with a longitudinal direction of a stylus body of the stylus, and (see rejection of claim 6 cited to FIG. 2 of Yu: where a yaw axis of the stick-shaped body corresponds to a yaw axis turn of the UAV, which therefore the angle is less than 45 deg as both yaw axes are approximately parallel in space; see rejection of claim 6 cited to Mou teaching the touch object as a stylus instead of the stick-shaped body)
the body coordinate system is a three-dimensional rectangular coordinate system; and (see rejection of claim 6 cited to FIG. 2 of Yu: roll, pitch, yaw coordinate system of the stick-shaped body and UAV)
determining the first coordinate axis of the flight assembly as the target axis (see rejection of claim 6 cited to FIG. 2 of Yu: where a yaw axis turning of the stick-shaped body corresponds to a yaw axis turning of the UAV, where the yaw axis corresponds to the claimed “target axis”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify Gandiga, as modified to include wherein before controlling the flight assembly to rotate according to the target rotation direction and the target rotation angle by using the target axis as the rotation axis, the method further comprises: obtaining attitude data of the stylus and attitude data of the flight assembly; determining a first coordinate axis of the flight assembly according to the attitude data of the stylus and the attitude data of the flight assembly, wherein the first coordinate axis of the flight assembly is a coordinate axis that is in a body coordinate system of the flight assembly and that forms an acute angle of less than 45 degrees with a longitudinal direction of a stylus body of the stylus, and the body coordinate system is a three-dimensional rectangular coordinate system; and determining the first coordinate axis of the flight assembly as the target axis, with a reasonable expectation of success since having another way to fly the flight assembly increases the convenience of user control, and “to enable intuitive control by aligning the direction of motion of the radio-controlled aircraft with the control surface of the radio controller” (Yu [0007]).
Regarding claim 15, Gandiga teaches the terminal according to claim 10.
Gandiga does not explicitly teach wherein the touch object is a stylus, and controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object comprises: detecting a rotation angle of the stylus with a longitudinal direction of a stylus body as a rotation axis, and determining a target rotation angle of the flight assembly according to the rotation angle; detecting a rotation direction of the stylus with the longitudinal direction of the stylus body as a rotation axis, and determining a target rotation direction of the flight assembly according to the rotation direction; and controlling the flight assembly to rotate according to the target rotation direction and the target rotation angle by using a target axis as a rotation axis.
However, Yu teaches wherein the touch object is a stick-shaped body, and (FIG. 2 radio controller 1 for radio-controlled aircraft 300; [0009] the present invention relates to a radio controller for a radio-controlled aircraft […] comprising […] a stick-shaped body; [0025] The body (10) can be formed in a stick shape)
controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object comprises: detecting a rotation angle of the stylus with a longitudinal direction of a stick-shaped body as a rotation axis, and determining a target rotation angle of the flight assembly according to the rotation angle; detecting a rotation direction of the stick-shaped body with the longitudinal direction of the stick-shaped body as a rotation axis, and determining a target rotation direction of the flight assembly according to the rotation direction; and controlling the flight assembly to rotate according to the target rotation direction and the target rotation angle by using a target axis as a rotation axis ([0034] The control unit (60) can convert the front, rear, left, right, and rotational displacements of the body (10) measured by the inertial (IMU) sensor (40) into electrical signals and then transmit them to the transmitting and receiving unit (70); [0035] Here, the radio-controlled aircraft (300) that receives the signal can operate with flight movements (roll, pitch, yaw) as shown in FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify Gandiga to incorporate the teachings of Yu to include wherein the touch object is a stick-shaped body, and controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object comprises: detecting a rotation angle of the stylus with a longitudinal direction of a stick-shaped body as a rotation axis, and determining a target rotation angle of the flight assembly according to the rotation angle; detecting a rotation direction of the stick-shaped body with the longitudinal direction of the stick-shaped body as a rotation axis, and determining a target rotation direction of the flight assembly according to the rotation direction; and controlling the flight assembly to rotate according to the target rotation direction and the target rotation angle by using a target axis as a rotation axis, with a reasonable expectation of success since having another way to fly the flight assembly increases the convenience of user control, and “to enable intuitive control by aligning the direction of motion of the radio-controlled aircraft with the control surface of the radio controller” (Yu [0007]).
Gandiga, in view of Yu does not explicitly teach that the gesture control using the stick-shaped body to control the UAV is “a stylus”.
However, Mou teaches gesture control using “a stylus” (page 4 of translation: the method comprises the steps that the stylus monitors acceleration change and/or rotation posture change of the stylus by a sensor […] In use, a user can hold the stylus to execute a gesture operation, the stylus can obtain gesture information (or referred to as a gesture characteristic value) corresponding to the gesture operation of the user, the stylus sends the gesture information corresponding to the gesture operation of the user to the electronic device, and the electronic device can match the gesture information with the association relation to obtain a function associated with the gesture operation and realize the associated function in the electronic device).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify the stick shaped body as taught in Gandiga, as modified, to substitute using a stylus as taught in Mou because it has been held that the substitution of one known element for another would have been obvious if the substitution yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. In this case, the substitution of a stylus for a stick-shaped body constitutes a simple substitution of one known user input mechanism for another known input mechanism and would have had the predictable result of controlling the flight apparatus corresponding to a gesture operation of the user.
Regarding claim 17, Gandiga, as modified, teaches the terminal according to claim 15.
Gandiga, as modified, also teaches wherein before controlling the flight assembly to rotate according to the target rotation direction and the target rotation angle by using the target axis as the rotation axis, the operations further comprise: obtaining attitude data of the stylus and attitude data of the flight assembly (see rejection of claim 15 cited to FIG. 2 of Yu: roll, pitch, yaw coordinate system of the stick-shaped body and UAV; see rejection of claim 15 cited to Mou teaching the touch object as a stylus instead of the stick-shaped body);
determining a first coordinate axis of the flight assembly according to the attitude data of the stylus and the attitude data of the flight assembly, wherein the first coordinate axis of the flight assembly is a coordinate axis that is in a body coordinate system of the flight assembly and that forms an acute angle of less than 45 degrees with a longitudinal direction of a stylus body of the stylus, and (see rejection of claim 15 cited to FIG. 2 of Yu: where a yaw axis of the stick-shaped body corresponds to a yaw axis turn of the UAV, which therefore the angle is less than 45 deg as both yaw axes are approximately parallel in space; see rejection of claim 15 cited to Mou teaching the touch object as a stylus instead of the stick-shaped body)
the body coordinate system is a three-dimensional rectangular coordinate system; and (see rejection of claim 15 cited to FIG. 2 of Yu: roll, pitch, yaw coordinate system of the stick-shaped body and UAV)
determining the first coordinate axis of the flight assembly as the target axis (see rejection of claim 15 cited to FIG. 2 of Yu: where a yaw axis turning of the stick-shaped body corresponds to a yaw axis turning of the UAV, where the yaw axis corresponds to the claimed “target axis”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify Gandiga, as modified to include wherein before controlling the flight assembly to rotate according to the target rotation direction and the target rotation angle by using the target axis as the rotation axis, the operations further comprise: obtaining attitude data of the stylus and attitude data of the flight assembly; determining a first coordinate axis of the flight assembly according to the attitude data of the stylus and the attitude data of the flight assembly, wherein the first coordinate axis of the flight assembly is a coordinate axis that is in a body coordinate system of the flight assembly and that forms an acute angle of less than 45 degrees with a longitudinal direction of a stylus body of the stylus, and the body coordinate system is a three-dimensional rectangular coordinate system; and determining the first coordinate axis of the flight assembly as the target axis, with a reasonable expectation of success since having another way to fly the flight assembly increases the convenience of user control, and “to enable intuitive control by aligning the direction of motion of the radio-controlled aircraft with the control surface of the radio controller” (Yu [0007]).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gandiga, in view Li, in view of Qian et al. (US-20200346753-A1) and herein after will be referred to as Qian.
Regarding claim 9, Gandiga, as modified, teaches the method according to claim 4.
Gandiga also teaches wherein controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object comprises: generating a flight instruction according to the action of the touch object ([0024] a human operator in a vehicle may use the in-vehicle computer to control the launch or landing from the vehicle, to send navigation instructions to the UAV (e.g., up, down, left, right, front, back), to control UAV cameras (e.g., pan/yaw, tilt, zoom, record, switching between cameras such as multiple color, infrared, and night vision), and to command the UAV to follow the vehicle or any other vehicle or machine).
Gandiga, as modified, does not explicitly teach obtaining an average moving speed of the touch object within a preset time before the flight instruction is generated; and when the average moving speed is less than or equal to a preset speed threshold, sending the flight instruction to the flight assembly, so that the flight assembly flies according to the flight instruction.
However, Qian teaches obtaining a moving speed of the touch object within a preset time before the flight instruction is generated; and when the moving speed is less than or equal to a preset speed threshold, sending the flight instruction to the flight assembly, so that the flight assembly flies according to the flight instruction ([0126] The specific process is: when the gesture of the target object's hand is a descending gesture and the flying speed of the UAV is less than or equal to a preset speed threshold, control the UAV to descend. If the UAV's flying speed is greater than the preset speed threshold, in order to prevent the UAV from landing at a flying speed which may cause damage to the UAV, the descending gesture is ignored when the UAV's flight speed is greater than the preset speed threshold, that is, the UAV is not controlled to descend).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify Gandiga, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Qian to include obtaining a moving speed of the touch object within a preset time before the flight instruction is generated; and when the moving speed is less than or equal to a preset speed threshold, sending the flight instruction to the flight assembly, so that the flight assembly flies according to the flight instruction, with a reasonable expectation of success since doing so would have achieved the benefit of ensuring the UAV is not damaged from excessive high speed (Qian [0126]).
Although Gandiga, as modified, does not explicitly teach an “average” moving speed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify the moving speed taught in Kim, as modified, to utilize an “average” moving speed, with a reasonable expectation of success since averaging speed over time is a well-known and routine practice for characterizing motion and improving measurement stability. Applying an average speed would have been an obvious design choice yielding predictable results, i.e., still denying control inputs that cause excessive speed.
Regarding claim 18, Gandiga, as modified, teaches the terminal according to claim 13.
Gandiga also teaches wherein controlling the flight action of the flight assembly according to the action of the touch object comprises: generating a flight instruction according to the action of the touch object ([0024] a human operator in a vehicle may use the in-vehicle computer to control the launch or landing from the vehicle, to send navigation instructions to the UAV (e.g., up, down, left, right, front, back), to control UAV cameras (e.g., pan/yaw, tilt, zoom, record, switching between cameras such as multiple color, infrared, and night vision), and to command the UAV to follow the vehicle or any other vehicle or machine).
Gandiga, as modified, does not explicitly teach obtaining an average moving speed of the touch object within a preset time before the flight instruction is generated; and when the average moving speed is less than or equal to a preset speed threshold, sending the flight instruction to the flight assembly, so that the flight assembly flies according to the flight instruction.
However, Qian teaches obtaining a moving speed of the touch object within a preset time before the flight instruction is generated; and when the moving speed is less than or equal to a preset speed threshold, sending the flight instruction to the flight assembly, so that the flight assembly flies according to the flight instruction ([0126] The specific process is: when the gesture of the target object's hand is a descending gesture and the flying speed of the UAV is less than or equal to a preset speed threshold, control the UAV to descend. If the UAV's flying speed is greater than the preset speed threshold, in order to prevent the UAV from landing at a flying speed which may cause damage to the UAV, the descending gesture is ignored when the UAV's flight speed is greater than the preset speed threshold, that is, the UAV is not controlled to descend).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify Gandiga, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Qian to include obtaining a moving speed of the touch object within a preset time before the flight instruction is generated; and when the moving speed is less than or equal to a preset speed threshold, sending the flight instruction to the flight assembly, so that the flight assembly flies according to the flight instruction, with a reasonable expectation of success since doing so would have achieved the benefit of ensuring the UAV is not damaged from excessive high speed (Qian [0126]).
Although Gandiga, as modified, does not explicitly teach an “average” moving speed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify the moving speed taught in Kim, as modified, to utilize an “average” moving speed, with a reasonable expectation of success since averaging speed over time is a well-known and routine practice for characterizing motion and improving measurement stability. Applying an average speed would have been an obvious design choice yielding predictable results, i.e., still denying control inputs that cause excessive speed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20220063804-A1: Kim teaches a method of controlling a drone that in inside a vehicle
See also prior arts cited in the previous Office Action
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVIN SEOL/Examiner, Art Unit 3662