Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “measurement apparatus,” “computer,” “ionizer,” “discharge electrode,” “air quantity sensor,” “particle sensor,” “temperature sensor,” “humidity sensor,” “sensor,” “filtering system,” “motor vehicle,” and “air conditioner” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase of “in particular for” should be depleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-5 recite the limitation "tip".
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krichtafovitch (US 20190024913).
As regarding claim 1, Krichtafovitch discloses the claimed invention for a method for detecting a functional state of an ionizer in an air filtering system, in particular for a motor vehicle, comprising a measurement apparatus (105, 106) determines an amperage at a discharge electrode (102) in the ionizer at an initial point in time t0, and sends this to a computer ([0039]-[0044]; microprocessor), the measurement apparatus measures at least one other parameter ([0042]) at the time t0 and sends the measured at least one other parameter at the time t0 to the computer, the measurement apparatus measures an amperage at the discharge electrode and the at least one other parameter at a subsequent time t1 and sends the measured amperage at the subsequent time t1 to the computer ([0047] and fig. 2), the computer obtains at least one comparison value from the measurement values detected by the measurement apparatus at the initial time t0 and the subsequent time t1 and compares the at least one comparison value with a reference value, the computer generates a signal and/or takes appropriate measures ([0026]) if the comparison value differs from the reference value by a predefined value ([0048]).
As regarding claim 5, Krichtafovitch discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Krichtafovitch discloses the claimed invention for wherein the computer generates a signal for replacing the discharge electrode or the tip thereof, if the comparison value differs from the reference value by the predefined value ([0048]).
As regarding claim 6, Krichtafovitch discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Krichtafovitch discloses the claimed invention for wherein the computer adjusts the input voltage to the discharge electrode in the ionizer, if the comparison value differs from the reference value by a predefined value ([0020]).
As regarding claim 7, Krichtafovitch discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Krichtafovitch discloses the claimed invention for wherein the measurement apparatus measures the amperage at a shunt resistor on the discharge electrode in the ionizer ([0039]).
Claim 8 is likewise rejected with similar reasons as set forth in claim 2 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krichtafovitch (US 20190024913) as applied to supra, and further in view of Schmitz (US 20190024913).
As regarding claim 2, Krichtafovitch discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Krichtafovitch discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the measurement apparatus detects the amount of air flowing around the discharge electrode or the tip thereof, and sends the measured amount of air flowing to the computer. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the measurement apparatus detects the amount of air flowing around the discharge electrode or the tip thereof, and sends the measured amount of air flowing to the computer in order to enhance filtering system performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Schmitz ([0039]).
As regarding claim 3, Krichtafovitch discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Krichtafovitch discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the measurement apparatus detects a particle concentration flowing around the discharge electrode or the tip thereof, and sends the detected particle concentration flowing to the computer. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the measurement apparatus detects a particle concentration flowing around the discharge electrode or the tip thereof, and sends the detected particle concentration flowing to the computer in order to enhance filtering system performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Schmitz ([0039]).
As regarding claim 4, Krichtafovitch discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Krichtafovitch discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the measurement apparatus detects at least one of the following as a further parameter: the temperature, humidity, and/or gaseous contamination surrounding the discharge electrode or the tip thereof, and sends the at least one detected parameter to the computer. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the measurement apparatus detects at least one of the following as a further parameter: the temperature, humidity, and/or gaseous contamination surrounding the discharge electrode or the tip thereof, and sends the at least one detected parameter to the computer in order to enhance filtering system performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Schmitz ([0039]).
As regarding claim 9, Krichtafovitch discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Krichtafovitch discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the measurement apparatus contains at least one of the following sensors: an air quantity sensor, a particle sensor, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, and/or a sensor for detecting gaseous contamination. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the measurement apparatus contains at least one of the following sensors: an air quantity sensor, a particle sensor, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, and/or a sensor for detecting gaseous contamination in order to enhance filtering system performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Schmitz ([0039]).
As regarding claim 10, Krichtafovitch discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Krichtafovitch discloses the claimed invention except for an air conditioner for a motor vehicle that has an air filtering system. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide an air conditioner for a motor vehicle that has an air filtering system in order to enhance filtering system performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Schmitz ([0020]).
As regarding claim 11, Krichtafovitch as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Krichtafovitch as modified discloses the claimed invention for a motor vehicle comprising an air conditioner Schmitz ([0020]).
Conclusion
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773