DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior Application No. 17/407836, filed 8/20/21, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application may constitute a continuation or divisional. Should applicant desire to claim the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation " the second dielectric layer" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mueller et al (US 2015/0014813 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Mueller et al discloses a semiconductor memory device comprising a capacitor (Figure 2A), wherein the capacitor (Figure 2A, reference ICea) comprises a first electrode (Figure 2a, reference 22a), a second electrode (Figure 2A, reference 24a), and a dielectric layer (Figure 2A, reference 23a) between the first electrode (Figure 2a, reference 22a) and the second electrode (Figure 2a,reference 24a) wherein the dielectric layer comprises a first dielectric layer comprising an A-metal, a B-metal, and oxygen (Figure 2a, reference 23a; paragraph 0040), and wherein a concentration of the B-metal in the first dielectric layer (Figure 2a, reference 23a;) is lowest adjacent to the first electrode (Figure 2a, reference 22a) and highest adjacent to the second electrode (Figure 2a,reference 24a)(paragraphs 0038-0050).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller et al (US 2015/0014813 A1) in view of Kang et al (US 2020/0335333 A1).
Mueller et al discloses all of the above claimed subject matter.
However, Mueller et al does not disclose wherein the dielectric layer further comprises a second dielectric layer between the first electrode and the first dielectric layer, and wherein a dielectric constant of the second dielectric layer is greater than a dielectric constant of the first dielectric layer (claim 16).
Kang et al discloses wherein the dielectric layer (Figure 2A, reference DE11) further comprises a second dielectric layer (Figure 2A, reference 105) between the first electrode (Figure 2A, reference 101) and the first dielectric layer (Figure 2A, reference 106), and wherein a dielectric constant of the second dielectric layer (Figure 2A, reference 105) is greater than a dielectric constant of the first dielectric layer (Figure 2A, reference 106; paragraph 0053).
It would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, for one with ordinary skill in the art, to modify Mueller et al with the teachings of Kang et al for the purpose of forming a second dielectric with a higher dielectric concentration than the first dielectric in order to further increase the capacitance of the capacitor in semiconductor devices.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not disclose nor fairly suggest a semiconductor memory device comprising a capacitor, wherein the first dielectric layer comprises: a first A-metal region adjacent to the first electrode; a first B-metal region spaced apart from both of the first electrode and the second electrode; a second B-metal region adjacent to the second electrode; and a second A-metal region between the first B-metal region and the second B-metal region, wherein each of the first and second A-metal regions comprises the A-metal and oxygen and is devoid of the B-metal, and wherein each of the first and second B-metal regions comprises the B-metal and oxygen and is devoid of the A-metal (claim 18) further incorporated into independent claim 15 and in the context of its recited apparatus, along with its depending claims.
Claims 1-14 are allowed over the prior art of record.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art does not disclose nor fairly suggest semiconductor memory devices comprising a capacitor, a first aluminum region spaced apart from both of the first electrode and the second electrode; a second aluminum region adjacent to the second electrode; and a second zirconium region between the first aluminum region and the second aluminum region, wherein each of the first and second zirconium regions comprises zirconium and oxygen and is devoid of aluminum, wherein each of the first and second aluminum regions comprises aluminum and oxygen and is devoid of zirconium, and wherein the first aluminum region and the first zirconium region are spaced apart from each other by a first distance, and the first aluminum region and the second zirconium region are spaced apart from each other by a second distance that is shorter than the first distance (claim 1) and a hafnium oxide layer adjacent to the first electrode; and a zirconium aluminum oxide layer adjacent to the second electrode, wherein the zirconium aluminum oxide layer comprises a first surface contacting the hafnium oxide layer and a second surface contacting the second electrode, and wherein an aluminum concentration in the zirconium aluminum oxide layer is highest at the second surface and lowest at the first surface (claim 9) as described in the independent claims and in the context of their recited apparatuses, along with their depending claims.
Conclusion
/MONICA D HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815
mdh
June 30, 2026