DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/16/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claim(s)
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Muthiah (US 11902656 B2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Muthiah (US 11902656 B2).
Regarding Claim 1:
Muthiah (US 11902656 B2) teaches: A method of improving quality of audio captured corresponding to an incident scene, the method comprising (Col 16. Lines 53-62, “In some embodiments, the audio event parameters from audio analysis 216 may be evaluated against one or more trigger conditions 218 for modifying video capture 212. For example, trigger conditions 218 may include a set of threshold values for evaluating audio event quality (e.g., confidence and time) with desired sounds source types on a predicted intercept path with field of view 206. If trigger conditions 218 are met, video capture 212 may switch from passive capture rate 212.1 to active capture rate 212.2 for capturing and storing video data in non-volatile memory 220.”);
analyzing, at an electronic computing device, using a video analytics engine, a plurality of video recordings captured corresponding to a field of view of a camera (Col 2. Lines 8-21, “In some embodiments, the audio event parameters from audio analysis 216 may be evaluated against one or more trigger conditions 218 for modifying video capture 212. For example, trigger conditions 218 may include a set of threshold values for evaluating audio event quality (e.g., confidence and time) with desired sounds source types on a predicted intercept path with field of view 206. If trigger conditions 218 are met, video capture 212 may switch from passive capture rate 212.1 to active capture rate 212.2 for capturing and storing video data in non-volatile memory 220.”);
determining, at the electronic computing device, that an incident of interest is likely to occur at a particular location within the field of view of the camera when the analysis of the video recordings indicate a repeated pattern of occurrences of the incident of interest at the particular location within the field of view (Col 22. Lines 28-26, “In some embodiments, the audio event parameters from audio analysis 216 may be evaluated against one or more trigger conditions 218 for modifying video capture 212. For example, trigger conditions 218 may include a set of threshold values for evaluating audio event quality (e.g., confidence and time) with desired sounds source types on a predicted intercept path with field of view 206. If trigger conditions 218 are met, video capture 212 may switch from passive capture rate 212.1 to active capture rate 212.2 for capturing and storing video data in non-volatile memory 220.”);
determining, at the electronic computing device, audio quality of audio of the video recordings captured corresponding to the particular location within the field of view of the camera (Col 2. Lines 21-30, “The audio event may be associated with a video object of interest and the audio event may precede the video object being detectable in the field of view of the video camera. The audio sensor may include at least one directional microphone configured with a direction and an audio range to detect sound sources outside the field of view of the video camera; and the controller may be further configured to determine, based on the audio data, a direction of movement of a sound source that intercepts the field of view of the video camera. The at least one directional microphone may be configured as an audio tripwire for the sound source approaching the field of view of the video camera.”);
determining, at the electronic computing device, that the audio quality of the audio of the video recordings captured corresponding to the particular location within the field of view of the camera is below a predetermined audio quality threshold (Col 2. Lines 19-37, “The audio event may be associated with a video object of interest and the audio event may precede the video object being detectable in the field of view of the video camera. The audio sensor may include at least one directional microphone configured with a direction and an audio range to detect sound sources outside the field of view of the video camera; and the controller may be further configured to determine, based on the audio data, a direction of movement of a sound source that intercepts the field of view of the video camera. The at least one directional microphone may be configured as an audio tripwire for the sound source approaching the field of view of the video camera. The system may include an analytics engine configured to: receive the audio data from the audio sensor; determine, in the audio data, the audio event, where determining the audio event is based on an audio recognition value meeting an audio recognition threshold and an audio duration value meeting an audio duration threshold; and return the audio event for use by the controller.”);
identifying, at the electronic computing device, a position or orientation relative to the particular location, such that, a placement of an external microphone at the identified position or orientation relative to the particular location improves the audio quality of the audio captured corresponding to the particular location to a level that is equal to or above the predetermined audio quality threshold (Col 2. Lines 21-37, “The audio sensor may include at least one directional microphone configured with a direction and an audio range to detect sound sources outside the field of view of the video camera; and the controller may be further configured to determine, based on the audio data, a direction of movement of a sound source that intercepts the field of view of the video camera. The at least one directional microphone may be configured as an audio tripwire for the sound source approaching the field of view of the video camera. The system may include an analytics engine configured to: receive the audio data from the audio sensor; determine, in the audio data, the audio event, where determining the audio event is based on an audio recognition value meeting an audio recognition threshold and an audio duration value meeting an audio duration threshold; and return the audio event for use by the controller.”); and
providing, at the electronic computing device, an electronic notification with a recommendation to place the external microphone at the identified position or orientation relative to the particular location (Col 2. Lines 21-44, “The audio sensor may include at least one directional microphone configured with a direction and an audio range to detect sound sources outside the field of view of the video camera; and the controller may be further configured to determine, based on the audio data, a direction of movement of a sound source that intercepts the field of view of the video camera. The at least one directional microphone may be configured as an audio tripwire for the sound source approaching the field of view of the video camera. The system may include an analytics engine configured to: receive the audio data from the audio sensor; determine, in the audio data, the audio event, where determining the audio event is based on an audio recognition value meeting an audio recognition threshold and an audio duration value meeting an audio duration threshold; and return the audio event for use by the controller.”).
Regarding Claim 2:
Muthiah teaches: The method of claim 1, further comprising:
analyzing, at the electronic computing device, using the video analytics engine, a new video recording captured by the camera (Col 19. Lines 60-7, Analytics engine used for new video recording from a camera);
detecting, at the electronic computing device, a new occurrence of the incident of interest at the particular location within the field of view of the camera based on the analysis of the new video recording (Col 26. Lines 47-57, Event manager creates an event of interest based on location from audio and video data of a new recording);
determining, at the electronic computing device, whether the external microphone was placed at the identified position or orientation relative to the particular location at the time the new video recording was captured by the camera (Col 28. Lines 9-36, Spatial motion model uses audio to identify location and trajectory of objects);
responsive to determining that the external microphone was placed at the determined position or orientation relative to the particular location at the time the new video recording was captured by the camera, retrieving, at the electronic computing device, an audio recording captured by the external microphone at the time the new video recording was captured by the camera (Col 28. Lines 9-36, Spatial motion model uses audio to identify location and trajectory of objects); and
linking the new video recording captured by the camera and the audio recording captured by the external microphone to a common incident identifier identifying the new occurrence of the incident of interest (Col 27. Lines 48-61, Correlation between audio recognition and object recognition model can be used to identify event type).
Regarding Claim 3:
Muthiah teaches: The method of claim 2, further comprising:
synchronizing the new video recording captured by the camera and the audio captured by the external microphone (Col 24-25. Lines 60-4, synchronization of audio to video tracks wherein external microphones can be seen in Figures 2A/B #210); and
storing the synchronized new video recording and the audio at an incident database (Col 24-25. Lines 60-4, synchronization of audio to video tracks are saved to a non-volatile memory).
Regarding Claim 4:
Muthiah teaches: The method of claim 2, further comprising:
responsive to detecting the new occurrence of the incident of interest at the particular location within the field of view of the camera and further responsive to determining that the external microphone was not placed at the determined position or orientation relative to the particular location at the time the new video recording was captured by the camera (Col 7. Lines 6-14, Control circuit identifies external microphone is not recording in field of view of camera), providing, at the electronic computing device, another notification with the recommendation to place the external microphone at the identified position or orientation relative to the particular location (Col 7. Lines 14-31, Control circuit can move camera to better position for audio capture and is notified and commanded to move to more optimal position).
Regarding Claim 5:
Muthiah teaches: The method of claim 2, further comprising:
determining, at the electronic computing device, audio quality of the audio recording captured by the external microphone (Col 16. Lines 56-60, “For example, trigger conditions 218 may include a set of threshold values for evaluating audio event quality (e.g., confidence and time) with desired sounds source types on a predicted intercept path with field of view 206.”);
determining, at the electronic computing device, that the audio quality of audio recording captured by the external microphone is below the predetermined audio quality threshold (Col 16. Lines 56-60, “For example, trigger conditions 218 may include a set of threshold values for evaluating audio event quality (e.g., confidence and time) with desired sounds source types on a predicted intercept path with field of view 206.”);
determining, at the electronic computing device, based on the audio quality of the audio recording captured by the external microphone being below the predetermined audio quality threshold, that there is a need to either adjust the position or orientation of the external microphone or to place a second external microphone at another identified position or orientation relative to the particular location for improving audio quality of audio captured corresponding to the particular location to a level equal to or above the predetermined audio quality threshold (Col 17. Lines 1-16 and Figure 2B, An audio threshold is indicated in Col 16 Lines 56-60 wherein Col 17 and Figure 2B show an adjustment of multiple cameras and microphones to better source of audio/video to hitting trigger conditions); and
providing, at the electronic computing device, a second electronic notification with a recommendation to either adjust the position or orientation of the external microphone or to place the second external microphone at the another identified position or orientation relative to the particular location (Col 17. Lines 1-16 and Figure 2B, An audio threshold is indicated in Col 16 Lines 56-60 wherein Col 17 and Figure 2B show an adjustment of multiple cameras and microphones to better source of audio/video to hitting trigger conditions).
Regarding Claim 6:
Muthiah teaches: The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining, at the electronic computing device, that a second incident of interest is likely to occur in a second particular location within the field of view of the camera when the analysis of the video recordings indicate a repeated pattern of occurrences of the second incident of interest at the second particular location within the field of view (Col 2. Lines 8-28, Second operating period that includes a second video capture within a field of view and uses object/audio recognition for comparisons of repeated types);
determining, at the electronic computing device, audio quality of audio of the plurality of video recordings captured corresponding to the second particular location within the field of view of the camera (Col 16. Lines 56-60, “For example, trigger conditions 218 may include a set of threshold values for evaluating audio event quality (e.g., confidence and time) with desired sounds source types on a predicted intercept path with field of view 206.” With the information from Col 2. Lines 8-28, multiple video recording and audio recording can be connected to one another);
determining, at the electronic computing device, that the audio quality of the audio of the video recordings captured corresponding to the second particular location within the field of view of the camera is below a predetermined audio quality threshold (Col 28. Lines 9-36, Spatial motion model uses audio to identify location and trajectory of objects. With the information from Col 2. Lines 8-28, multiple video recording and audio recording can be connected to one another);
determining, at the electronic computing device, based on the audio quality being below the predetermined audio quality threshold, that there is a need to either adjust the position or orientation of the external microphone relative to both the particular location and the second particular location or to place a second external microphone at another identified position or orientation relative to the second particular location for improving audio quality of audio captured corresponding to both the particular location and the second particular location to a level equal to or above the predetermined audio quality threshold (Col 17. Lines 1-16 and Figure 2B, An audio threshold is indicated in Col 16 Lines 56-60 wherein Col 17 and Figure 2B show an adjustment of multiple cameras and microphones to better source of audio/video to hitting trigger conditions. With the information from Col 2. Lines 8-28, multiple video recording and audio recording can be connected to one another);
providing, at the electronic computing device, a second notification with a recommendation to either adjust the position or orientation of the external microphone or to place a second external microphone at the another identified position or orientation relative to the particular location (Col 7. Lines 14-31, Control circuit can move camera to better position for audio capture and is notified and commanded to move to more optimal position. With the information from Col 2. Lines 8-28, multiple video recording and audio recording can be connected to one another).
Regarding Claim 7:
Muthiah teaches: The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining, at the electronic computing device, based on the audio quality being below the predetermined audio quality threshold, that there is a need to place the external microphone for improving audio quality of audio captured corresponding to the particular location where the incident of interest is likely to occur (Col 19. Lines 48-59, If audio quality does not meet a certain threshold, microphone may be forced to move to improve quality of audio captured and can be set at anticipated points of interest);
Regarding Claim 8:
Muthiah teaches: The method of claim 7, further comprising:
responsive to determining that there is a need to place the external microphone for improving audio quality of audio captured corresponding to the particular location where the incident of interest is likely to occur, analyzing the plurality of video recordings captured by the camera to identify an object appearing within the field of view of the camera where the object provides a suitable mounting surface for the external microphone (Col 19. Lines 42-59, Microphone can be moved to improve audio quality to area where event is most likely to occur. Video is analyzed to identify objects and camera can be seen with a mounting surface in Figures 2A and 2B wherein microphones 210 are connected to the camera); and
including information in the electronic notification indicating that the identified object is suitable for mounting the external microphone (Col 17 Lines 1-17, Directional microphones can be attached separately from the cameras onto objects or pathways in line of the field of view of the cameras).
Regarding Claim 9:
Muthiah teaches: An electronic computing device, comprising:
a communications interface; and
an electronic processor communicatively coupled to the communications interface, the electronic processor configured to:
analyze, using a video analytics engine, a plurality of video recordings captured corresponding to a field of view of camera (Col 2. Lines 8-21, “In some embodiments, the audio event parameters from audio analysis 216 may be evaluated against one or more trigger conditions 218 for modifying video capture 212. For example, trigger conditions 218 may include a set of threshold values for evaluating audio event quality (e.g., confidence and time) with desired sounds source types on a predicted intercept path with field of view 206. If trigger conditions 218 are met, video capture 212 may switch from passive capture rate 212.1 to active capture rate 212.2 for capturing and storing video data in non-volatile memory 220.”);
determine that an incident of interest is likely to occur at a particular location within the field of view of the camera when the analysis of the video recordings indicate a repeated pattern of occurrences of the incident of interest at the particular location within the field of view;
determine audio quality of audio of the video recordings captured corresponding to the particular location within the field of view of the camera (Col 22. Lines 28-26, “In some embodiments, the audio event parameters from audio analysis 216 may be evaluated against one or more trigger conditions 218 for modifying video capture 212. For example, trigger conditions 218 may include a set of threshold values for evaluating audio event quality (e.g., confidence and time) with desired sounds source types on a predicted intercept path with field of view 206. If trigger conditions 218 are met, video capture 212 may switch from passive capture rate 212.1 to active capture rate 212.2 for capturing and storing video data in non-volatile memory 220.”);
determine that the audio quality of the audio of the video recordings captured corresponding to the particular location within the field of view of the camera is below a predetermined audio quality threshold (Col 2. Lines 19-37, “The audio event may be associated with a video object of interest and the audio event may precede the video object being detectable in the field of view of the video camera. The audio sensor may include at least one directional microphone configured with a direction and an audio range to detect sound sources outside the field of view of the video camera; and the controller may be further configured to determine, based on the audio data, a direction of movement of a sound source that intercepts the field of view of the video camera. The at least one directional microphone may be configured as an audio tripwire for the sound source approaching the field of view of the video camera. The system may include an analytics engine configured to: receive the audio data from the audio sensor; determine, in the audio data, the audio event, where determining the audio event is based on an audio recognition value meeting an audio recognition threshold and an audio duration value meeting an audio duration threshold; and return the audio event for use by the controller.”);
identify a position or orientation relative to the particular location, such that, a placement of an external microphone at the identified position or orientation relative to the particular location improves the audio quality of the audio captured corresponding to the particular location to a level that is equal to or above the predetermined audio quality threshold; and provide an electronic notification with a recommendation to place the external microphone at the identified position or orientation relative to the particular location (Col 2. Lines 21-37, “The audio sensor may include at least one directional microphone configured with a direction and an audio range to detect sound sources outside the field of view of the video camera; and the controller may be further configured to determine, based on the audio data, a direction of movement of a sound source that intercepts the field of view of the video camera. The at least one directional microphone may be configured as an audio tripwire for the sound source approaching the field of view of the video camera. The system may include an analytics engine configured to: receive the audio data from the audio sensor; determine, in the audio data, the audio event, where determining the audio event is based on an audio recognition value meeting an audio recognition threshold and an audio duration value meeting an audio duration threshold; and return the audio event for use by the controller.”).
Regarding Claim 10:
Muthiah teaches: The electronic computing device of claim 9, wherein the electronic processor is configured to:
analyze, using the video analytics engine, a new video recording captured by the camera (Col 19. Lines 60-7, Analytics engine used for new video recording from a camera);
detect a new occurrence of the incident of interest at the particular location within the field of view of the camera based on the analysis of the new video recording (Col 26. Lines 47-57, Event manager creates an event of interest based on location from audio and video data of a new recording);
determine whether the external microphone was placed at the identified position or orientation relative to the particular location at the time the new video recording was captured by the camera (Col 28. Lines 9-36, Spatial motion model uses audio to identify location and trajectory of objects);
responsive to determining that the external microphone was placed at the determined position or orientation relative to the particular location at the time the new video recording was captured by the camera, retrieve an audio recording captured by the external microphone at the time the new video recording was captured by the camera (Col 28. Lines 9-36, Spatial motion model uses audio to identify location and trajectory of objects); and link the new video recording captured by the camera and the audio recording captured by the external microphone to a common incident identifier identifying the new occurrence of the incident of interest (Col 27. Lines 48-61, Correlation between audio recognition and object recognition model can be used to identify event type).
Regarding Claim 11:
Muthiah teaches: The electronic computing device of claim 10, wherein the electronic processor is configured to:
synchronize the new video recording captured by the camera and the audio captured by the external microphone (Col 24-25. Lines 60-4, synchronization of audio to video tracks wherein external microphones can be seen in Figures 2A/B #210); and
store the synchronized new video recording and the audio at an incident database (Col 24-25. Lines 60-4, synchronization of audio to video tracks are saved to a non-volatile memory).
Regarding Claim 12:
Muthiah teaches: The electronic computing device of claim 10, wherein the electronic processor is configured to:
responsive to detecting the new occurrence of the incident of interest at the particular location within the field of view of the camera and further responsive to determining that the external microphone was not placed at the determined position or orientation relative to the particular location at the time the new video recording was captured by the camera (Col 7. Lines 6-14, Control circuit identifies external microphone is not recording in field of view of camera), provide, at the electronic computing device, another notification with the recommendation to place the external microphone at the identified position or orientation relative to the particular location (Col 7. Lines 14-31, Control circuit can move camera to better position for audio capture and is notified and commanded to move to more optimal position).
Regarding Claim 13:
Muthiah teaches: The electronic computing device of claim 10, wherein the electronic processor is configured to:
determine audio quality of the audio recording captured by the external microphone (Col 16. Lines 56-60, “For example, trigger conditions 218 may include a set of threshold values for evaluating audio event quality (e.g., confidence and time) with desired sounds source types on a predicted intercept path with field of view 206.”);
determine that the audio quality of audio recording captured by the external microphone is below the predetermined audio quality threshold (Col 16. Lines 56-60, “For example, trigger conditions 218 may include a set of threshold values for evaluating audio event quality (e.g., confidence and time) with desired sounds source types on a predicted intercept path with field of view 206.”);
determine, based on the audio quality of the audio recording captured by the external microphone being below the predetermined audio quality threshold, that there is a need to either adjust the position or orientation of the external microphone or to place a second external microphone at another identified position or orientation relative to the particular location for improving audio quality of audio captured corresponding to the particular location to a level equal to or above the predetermined audio quality threshold (Col 17. Lines 1-16 and Figure 2B, An audio threshold is indicated in Col 16 Lines 56-60 wherein Col 17 and Figure 2B show an adjustment of multiple cameras and microphones to better source of audio/video to hitting trigger conditions); and
provide a second electronic notification with a recommendation to either adjust the position or orientation of the external microphone or to place the second external microphone at the another identified position or orientation relative to the particular location (Col 17. Lines 1-16 and Figure 2B, An audio threshold is indicated in Col 16 Lines 56-60 wherein Col 17 and Figure 2B show an adjustment of multiple cameras and microphones to better source of audio/video to hitting trigger conditions).
Regarding Claim 14:
Muthiah teaches: The electronic computing device of claim 10, wherein the electronic processor is configured to:
determine that a second incident of interest is likely to occur in a second particular location within the field of view of the camera when the analysis of the video recordings indicate a repeated pattern of occurrences of the second incident of interest at the second particular location within the field of view (Col 2. Lines 8-28, Second operating period that includes a second video capture within a field of view and uses object/audio recognition for comparisons of repeated types);
determine audio quality of audio of the plurality of video recordings captured corresponding to the second particular location within the field of view of the camera (Col 16. Lines 56-60, “For example, trigger conditions 218 may include a set of threshold values for evaluating audio event quality (e.g., confidence and time) with desired sounds source types on a predicted intercept path with field of view 206.” With the information from Col 2. Lines 8-28, multiple video recording and audio recording can be connected to one another);
determine that the audio quality of the audio of the video recordings captured corresponding to the second particular location within the field of view of the camera is below a predetermined audio quality threshold (Col 28. Lines 9-36, Spatial motion model uses audio to identify location and trajectory of objects. With the information from Col 2. Lines 8-28, multiple video recording and audio recording can be connected to one another);
determine, based on the audio quality being below the predetermined audio quality threshold, that there is a need to either adjust the position or orientation of the external microphone relative to both the particular location and the second particular location or to place a second external microphone at another identified position or orientation relative to the second particular location for improving audio quality of audio captured corresponding to both the particular location and the second particular location to a level equal to or above the predetermined audio quality threshold (Col 17. Lines 1-16 and Figure 2B, An audio threshold is indicated in Col 16 Lines 56-60 wherein Col 17 and Figure 2B show an adjustment of multiple cameras and microphones to better source of audio/video to hitting trigger conditions. With the information from Col 2. Lines 8-28, multiple video recording and audio recording can be connected to one another); and
provide a second notification with a recommendation to either adjust the position or orientation of the external microphone or to place a second external microphone at the another identified position or orientation relative to the particular location (Col 7. Lines 14-31, Control circuit can move camera to better position for audio capture and is notified and commanded to move to more optimal position. With the information from Col 2. Lines 8-28, multiple video recording and audio recording can be connected to one another).
Regarding Claim 15:
Muthiah teaches: The electronic computing device of claim 10, wherein the electronic processor is configured to:
determine, based on the audio quality being below the predetermined audio quality threshold, that there is a need to place the external microphone for improving audio quality of audio captured corresponding to the particular location where the incident of interest is likely to occur (Col 19. Lines 48-59, If audio quality does not meet a certain threshold, microphone may be forced to move to improve quality of audio captured and can be set at anticipated points of interest).
Regarding Claim 16:
Muthiah teaches: The electronic computing device of claim 10, wherein the electronic processor is configured to:
responsive to determining that there is a need to place the external microphone for improving audio quality of audio captured corresponding to the particular location where the incident of interest is likely to occur, analyzing the plurality of video recordings captured by the camera to identify an object appearing within the field of view of the camera where the object provides a suitable mounting surface for the external microphone (Col 19. Lines 42-59, Microphone can be moved to improve audio quality to area where event is most likely to occur. Video is analyzed to identify objects and camera can be seen with a mounting surface in Figures 2A and 2B wherein microphones 210 are connected to the camera); and
including information in the electronic notification indicating that the identified object is suitable for mounting the external microphone (Col 17 Lines 1-17, Directional microphones can be attached separately from the cameras onto objects or pathways in line of the field of view of the cameras).
Relevant Prior Art Directed to State of Art
KAPADIA (US 20250061685 A1)
OZ (US 20240022689 A1)
Prasad (US 20250004544 A1)
Conclusion
/D.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2665
/Stephen R Koziol/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2665