DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 84-115,118-121, 126,129-130 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-31 of U.S. Patent No. 11585181. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are fully encompassed by the claims 1-31 of U.S. Patent No. 11585181. Thus, the claim limitations although broader are obviously met by the patent. Therefore, the claims are obviously directed toward the same invention.
Claims 84-88,91-93,97-99,105,107,108 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3-6,9-12,16-19,25,26 of U.S. Patent No. 12078023. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are fully encompassed by the claims 3-6,9-12,16-19,25,26 of U.S. Patent No. 12078023. Thus, the claim limitations although broader are obviously met by the patent. Therefore, the claims are obviously directed toward the same invention.
Claim 128 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 30 of U.S. Patent No. 11585181 in view of Garcia 20110226488. The patent 11585181 does not disclose replacing the rotation drive. Garcia teaches replacing a rotation drive in case of failure (see paragraph 0002). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the claims disclosed by the patent 11585181 to replace the rotation drive in view of the teaching of Garcia if the current rotation drive should fail.
.Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 84-94,105-109,113, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tschappat 2185478 in view of Young 4526243 and Abrahamson 20170232794 .
Referring to claim 84, Tschappat discloses a modular well tubular head for hanging casing or tubing comprising: a bowl tubular (B) for connecting with an uphole component, the bowl tubular comprising a bowl body; and a casing connector (A) for reversibly connecting with the bowl tubular and for sealingly connecting with the casing, the casing connector comprising a connector body (10), wherein a flow path is defined through the connector body and the bowl body; a port (13 or 25) defined in the well tubular head for providing fluid communication between the flow path and a flow line; wherein the bowl tubular comprises, an uphole component connection point ( thread portion at top of element B) on the bowl body for connecting with the uphole component, a first modular connection point (flange 18) on the bowl body for reversibly connecting with the casing connector, and a hanger profile (20) defined on an inside surface of the bowl body configured for hanging casing or tubing; the casing connector comprises, a casing connection point ( threads where casing screw in to element 10) on the connector body for sealingly connecting with the casing, and a second modular connection point (shoulder 15) on the connector body for reversibly connecting with the bowl body. Tschappat does not disclose a removable connection point reversibly connected with the body at the port. Young teaches a well tubular head having a removable connection point that is flanged with threads (see fig. 1, at 801) reversibly connected a body at a port, the removable connection point comprising a threaded box ( at 805) for connecting with a flow line ( at threads 805). Abrahamson teaches have a having a flanged removable part allows to part to be easily repaired or replaced if the threads become damaged (see paragraph 0044, last sentence). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the head disclosed by Tschappat to have a removable connection point reversibly connected with the well tubular body at the port, the removable connection point for connecting with the flow line in view of the teachings of Young and Abrahamson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have a means to easily repair or replace a connection part if the threads become damaged.
Referring to claim 85, Tschappat discloses a bowl tubular extended gripping surface ( outer surface of element 17) on the bowl body for gripping with power tongs.
Referring to claim 86, Tschappat discloses port comprises a bowl tubular port (25) defined in the bowl body for providing fluid communication between the flow path and a flow line. Young teaches removable connection point can be located at the threaded port at 25 disclosed by Tschappat.
Referring to claim 87-88,92-93 Young teaches the removable connection part is a flanged ring with a plurality of bolt holes ( holes, bolt 809 fits in) for connecting with the bowl body
Referring to claim 89, Tschappat discloses a bowl tubular access port (25, when port defined in well head body is element 13) defined in the bowl body for establishing fluid 29407948v.1 127876/002342communication between the flow path and coiled tubing ( note, the coiled tubing is not positively recited only recited as part of the intended use of the access port).
Referring to claim 90, Tschappat discloses a casing connector extended gripping surface ( at 10’) on the connector body for gripping with power tongs.
Referring to claim 91, Tschappat discloses port comprises a casing connector port (13) defined in the casing connector body for providing fluid communication between the flow path and a flow line. Young teaches removable connection point can be located at the threaded port at 13 disclosed by Tschappat.
Referring to claim 94, Tschappat discloses a casing connector access port (13, when port defined in well head body is element 25) defined in the connector body for establishing fluid communication between the flow path and coiled tubing (note, the coiled tubing is not positively recited only recited as part of the intended use of the access port).
Referring to claims 105, Tschappat discloses a method of establishing fluid communication with a well including casing, the method comprising:
providing a modular well tubular head comprising a bowl tubular (A) and a casing connector (B), the bowl tubular having a hanger profile ( at 20) configured for hanging casing or tubing; sealingly securing the casing connector (B) to the casing (14); reversibly connecting a bowl tubular (A) with the casing connector (B, using retaining ring 35 and bolts 36’); providing a flow path from the casing, through the casing connector and through the bowl tubular ( through the center of the elements); Attorney Docket No.: BORD-102-PCT-US Response to Office Action of March 11, 2022 receiving a tubing string (22) through the casing connector and the bowl tubular, the string having a hanger (21) profiled to match the hanger profile; wherein the well tubular head defines a port (13 or 25) defined in the well tubular head for providing fluid communication between the flow path and a flow line and the string comprising a tubing string (2). Tschappat does not disclose providing a removable connection point reversibly connected with a port, Young teaches having a removable connection point that is flanged with threads (see fig. 1, at 801) reversibly connected a body at a port, the removable connection point for connecting with a flow line ( at threads 805). Abrahamson teaches have a having a flanged removable part allows to part to be easily repaired or replaced if the threads become damaged (see paragraph 0044, last sentence). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method disclosed by Tschappat to have a removable connection point reversibly connected with the well tubular body at the port, the removable connection point for connecting with the flow line in view of the teachings of Young and Abrahamson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to easily repair or replace the part if the threads become damaged.
Referring to claim 106, Tschappat discloses securing a flow line with to a port. (see page 1, col. 2, lines 25-28, pipes are connected to part at 13). Young teaches removable connection point that is flanged with threads.
Referring to claim 107, Abrahamson teaches have a replacing the connection replacing the removable connection point for the flow line with a different removable connection point ( see paragraph 0044, the removable is replaced if the threads become damaged).
Referring to claim 108, Abrahamson teaches replacing the removable connection point with a replacement removable connection point; and the replacement removable connection point has a flow path diameter or other property that differs from a corresponding flow path diameter or other property of the removable connection point ( see paragraph 0044, the original removable connection point has damaged threads, the replacement removable connection point has undamaged threads).
Referring to claim 109, Tschappat , as modified, discloses the port (25) is defined in the bowl tubular; and the method further comprises securing a flow line with the removable connection point at the bowl tubular to provide fluid communication between the flow path and the flow line ( outlet pipe connected to part at 25, see page 2, col. 1, lines 1-5,).
Referring to claim 113, Tschappat, as modified, discloses the port (13) is defined in the casing connector; and the method further comprises securing a flow line with the removable connection point at the casing connector to provide fluid communication between the flow path and the flow line see page 1, col. 2, lines 25-28, pipes are connected to part at 13).
Claim(s) 84-100,105-109,113,129,130 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Archer RE 19587 in view of Young 4526243 and Abrahamson 20170232794 .
Referring to claim 84, Archer discloses a modular well tubular head for hanging casing or tubing comprising: a bowl tubular (30) for connecting with an uphole component, the bowl tubular comprising a bowl body; and a casing connector (3) for reversibly connecting with the bowl tubular and for sealingly connecting with the casing, the casing connector comprising a connector body, wherein a flow path is defined through the connector body and the bowl body; a port (47,28 or 14) defined in the well tubular head body for providing fluid communication between the flow path and a flow line; wherein the bowl tubular comprises, an uphole component connection point ( threaded portion at top of element 30 that connects to element 42) on the bowl body for connecting with the uphole component, a first modular connection point (flange 36) on the bowl body for reversibly connecting with the casing connector, and a hanger profile (at 43) defined on an inside surface of the bowl body configured for hanging casing or tubing; the casing connector comprises, a casing connection point ( threads where casing 8 screw in to element 3) on the connector body for sealingly connecting with the casing, and a second modular connection point (flange 24) on the connector body for reversibly connecting with the bowl body. Archer does not disclose a removable connection point reversibly connected with the well tubular head body at the port. Young teaches a well tubular head having a removable connection point that is flanged with threads (see fig. 1, at 801) reversibly connected a body at a port, the removable connection point comprising a threaded box ( at 805) for connecting with a flow line ( at threads 805). Abrahamson teaches have a having a flanged removable part allows to part to be easily repaired or replaced if the threads become damaged (see paragraph 0044, last sentence). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the head disclosed by Archer to have a removable connection point reversibly connected with the well tubular body at the port, the removable connection point for connecting with the flow line in view of the teachings of Young and Abrahamson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to easily repair or replace the part if the threads become damaged.
Referring to claim 85, Archer discloses a bowl tubular extended gripping surface ( outer surface of element 30) on the bowl body for gripping with power tongs.
Referring to claim 86, Archer discloses port comprises a bowl tubular port (47) defined in the bowl body for providing fluid communication between the flow path and a flow line. Young teaches removable connection point can be located at the threaded port at 27 disclosed by Archer.
Referring to claim 87-88,92-93,98-99, Young teaches the removable connection part is a flanged ring with a plurality of bolt holes ( holes, bolt 809 fits in) for connecting with the bowl body
Referring to claim 89, Archer discloses a bowl tubular access port (47 when port defined in well head body is element 28 or 14) defined in the bowl body for establishing fluid 29407948v.1 127876/002342communication between the flow path and coiled tubing ( note, the coiled tubing is not positively recited only recited as part of the intended use of the access port).
Referring to claim 90, Archer discloses a casing connector extended gripping surface ( outer surface of element 3) on the connector body for gripping with power tongs.
Referring to claim 91, Archer discloses port comprises a casing connector port (14) defined in the casing connector body for providing fluid communication between the flow path and a flow line. Young teaches removable connection point can be located at the threaded port at 14 disclosed by Archer.
Referring to claim 94, Archer discloses a casing connector access port (14, when port defined in well head body is element 47 or 28) defined in the connector body for establishing fluid communication between the flow path and coiled tubing (note, the coiled tubing is not positively recited only recited as part of the intended use of the access port).
Referring to claim 95, Archer discloses an adaptor tubular (16) connected with the bowl body and with the connector body, and wherein the flow path is further defined through the adaptor tubular.
Referring to claim 96, Archer discloses an adaptor extended gripping surface ( outer surface of element 16) on the adaptor tubular for gripping with power tongs.
Referring to claim 97, Archer discloses an adaptor port ( 28) defined in the adaptor tubular for providing fluid communication between the flow path and a flow line. Young teaches removable connection point can be located at the threaded port at 28 disclosed by Archer
Referring to claim 100, Archer discloses an adaptor access port ( 28, when port defined in well head body is element 47 or 14) defined in the adaptor tubular for establishing fluid communication between the flow path and coiled tubing.
Referring to claims 105, Archer discloses a method of establishing fluid communication with a well including casing, the method comprising: providing a modular well tubular head comprising a bowl tubular (30) and a casing connector (3), the bowl tubular having a hanger profile ( at 43) configured for hanging casing or tubing, sealingly securing the casing connector (3) to the casing (8); reversibly connecting a bowl tubular (30) having a hanger profile (43) with the casing connector ( through adaptor 16); providing a flow path from the casing, through the casing connector and through the bowl tubular; wherein the well tubular head comprises a port (14,28 or 47) defined in the well tubular head for providing fluid communication between the flow path and a flow line ; and receiving a tubing string (45) through the casing connector and the bowl tubular and the string comprises a tubing string (45), the string having a hanger (44) profiled to match the hanger profile. Archer does not disclose providing a removable connection point reversibly connected with the port. Young teaches having a removable connection point that is flanged with threads (see fig. 1, at 801) reversibly connected a body at a port, the removable connection point for connecting with a flow line ( at threads 805). Abrahamson teaches have a having a flanged removable part allows to part to be easily repaired or replaced if the threads become damaged (see paragraph 0044, last sentence). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method disclosed by Archer to have a removable connection point reversibly connected with the well tubular body at the port, the removable connection point for connecting with the flow line in view of the teachings of Young and Abrahamson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to easily repair or replace the part if the threads become damaged.
Referring to claim 106 Archer discloses securing a flow line with the port ( see page 1, col. 1, lines 50-53, line is secured at port 14). Young teaches removable connection point that is flanged with threads.
Referring to claim 107, Abrahamson teaches have a replacing the connection replacing the removable connection point for the flow line with a different removable connection point ( see paragraph 0044, the removable is replaced if the threads become damaged).
Referring to claim 108, Abrahamson teaches replacing the removable connection point with a replacement removable connection point; and the replacement removable connection point has a flow path diameter or other property that differs from a corresponding flow path diameter or other property of the removable connection point ( see paragraph 0044, the original removable connection point has damaged threads, the replacement removable connection point has undamaged threads).
Referring to claim 109, Archer , as modified, discloses the port (47) is defined in the bowl tubular; and the method further comprises securing a flow line with the removable connection point at the bowl tubular to provide fluid communication between the flow path and the flow line (pipes connected to part at 47, see page 2, col. 1, lines 18-11).
Referring to claim 113, Archer, as modified, discloses the port (14) is defined in the casing connector; and the method further comprises securing a flow line with the removable connection point at the casing connector to provide fluid communication between the flow path and the flow line (see page 1, col. 1, lines 50-53, line is secured at port 14).
Referring to claim 129, Archer discloses connecting an adaptor tubular (16) with the bowl tubular (30) and with the casing connector (3).
Referring to claim 130, Archer, as modified, discloses the port (28) is defined in the adaptor tubular; and the method further comprises securing a flow line with the removable connection point at the casing connector to provide fluid communication between the flow path and the flow line (see page 1, col. 2, lines 50-53, line is secured at port 28).
Claim(s) 84 ,103,105,134 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rockwell et al. 1888637 in view of Young 4526243 and Abrahamson 20170232794 .
Referring to claim 84, Rockwell discloses a modular well tubular head for hanging casing or tubing comprising: a bowl tubular (17) for connecting with an uphole component, the bowl tubular comprising a bowl body; and a casing connector (5) for reversibly connecting with the bowl tubular and for sealingly connecting with the casing, the casing connector comprising a connector body, wherein a flow path is defined through the connector body and the bowl body; a well tubular head port (thread port on element 5) defined in the connector body for providing fluid communication between the flow path and a flow line; wherein the bowl tubular comprises, an uphole component connection point ( threads at 19) on the bowl body for connecting with the uphole component, a first modular connection point (element 10) on the bowl body for reversibly connecting with the casing connector, and a hanger profile ( tapered surface below element 21) defined on an inside surface of the bowl body configured for hanging casing or tubing; the casing connector comprises, a casing connection point ( threads where casing 2 screw in to element 5) on the connector body for sealingly connecting with the casing, and a second modular connection point (element 16) on the connector body for reversibly connecting with the bowl body. Rockwell does not disclose a removable connection point reversibly connected with the well tubular head at the port, the removable connection point for connecting with the flow line. Young teaches a well tubular head having a removable connection point that is flanged with threads (see fig. 1, at 801) reversibly connected a body at a port, the removable connection point comprising a threaded box ( at 805) for connecting with a flow line ( at threads 805). Abrahamson teaches have a having a flanged removable part allows to part to be easily repaired or replaced if the threads become damaged (see paragraph 0044, last sentence). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the head disclosed by Rockwell to have a removable connection point reversibly connected with the well tubular body at the port, the removable connection point for connecting with the flow line in view of the teachings of Young and Abrahamson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to easily repair or replace the part if the threads become damaged.
Referring to claim 102, Rockwell the flow path has a uniform inside diameter through the connector body.
Referring to claims 103, Rockwell discloses wherein an inside diameter of the flow path ( diameter of element 5 around threaded ports) within the connector body is equal to an inside diameter of the casing (2).
Referring to claims 105, Rockwell discloses a method of establishing fluid communication with a well including casing, the method comprising: providing a modular well tubular head comprising a bowl tubular (17) and a casing connector (5), the bowl tubular having a hanger profile ( at 21), sealingly securing the casing connector (5) to the casing (2); reversibly connecting a bowl tubular (17) having a hanger profile (at 21) with the casing connector ( using element 16); providing a flow path from the casing, through the casing connector and through the bowl tubular; wherein the well tubular head comprises a port (threaded port in element 5) defined in the well tubular head for providing fluid communication between the flow path and a flow line; and receiving a tubing string (4) through the casing connector and the bowl tubular, the string having a hanger (21) profiled to match the hanger profile. Rockwell does not disclose providing a removable connection point reversibly connected with the port. Young teaches having a removable connection point that is flanged with threads (see fig. 1, at 801) reversibly connected a body at a port, the removable connection point for connecting with a flow line ( at threads 805). Abrahamson teaches have a having a flanged removable part allows to part to be easily repaired or replaced if the threads become damaged (see paragraph 0044, last sentence). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method disclosed by Rockwell to have a removable connection point reversibly connected with the well tubular body at the port, the removable connection point for connecting with the flow line in view of the teachings of Young and Abrahamson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to easily repair or replace the part if the threads become damaged.
Referring to claim 134, Rockwell discloses wherein the casing connector has an inside diameter (diameter of element 5 around threaded ports ) equal to an inside diameter of the casing (2).
Claim(s) 105,118,119,121 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright 20130181147 in view of Young 4526243 ,Abrahamson 20170232794.
Referring to claims 105, Wright discloses a method of establishing fluid communication with a well including casing, the method comprising: providing a modular well tubular head comprising a bowl tubular (6) and a casing connector (5), the bowl tubular having a hanger profile ( at 21); sealingly securing a casing connector (5) to the casing (see fig. 3, casing extending from element 5); reversibly connecting a bowl tubular (6) having a hanger profile (where tubing hanger 4 resides) with the casing connector; providing a flow path from the casing, through the casing connector and through the bowl tubular; Attorney Docket No.: BORD-102-PCT-US Response to Office Action of March 11, 2022 wherein the well tubular head comprises a port (12) defined in the well tubular head for providing fluid communication between the flow path and a flow line; and receiving a tubing string (tubing string) through the casing connector and the bowl tubular, the string having a hanger (4) profiled to match the hanger profile. Wright does not disclose providing a removable connection point reversibly connected with the well tubular head at the port. Young teaches a well tubular head having a removable connection point that is flanged with threads (see fig. 1, at 801) reversibly connected a body at a port, the removable connection point comprising a threaded box ( at 805) for connecting with a flow line ( at threads 805). Abrahamson teaches have a having a flanged removable part allows to part to be easily repaired or replaced if the threads become damaged (see paragraph 0044, last sentence). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method disclosed by Wright to have a removable connection point reversibly connected with the well tubular body at the port, the removable connection point for connecting with the flow line in view of the teachings of Young and Abrahamson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to easily repair or replace the part if the threads become damaged. Abrahamson teaches have a having a flanged removable part allows to part to be easily repaired or replaced if the threads become damaged (see paragraph 0044, last sentence).
Referring to claim 118-119 and 121, Wright discloses the well tubular head comprises a first access port comprising a bowl tubular access point (2) in the bowl tubular (6) , running the first coiled tubing string ( 9) through the bowl tubular access port (2) comprises running the first coiled tubing string into an annulus between the tubing string and the casing (See fig. 3)
Claim(s) 110-111 and 114-115 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tschappat 2185478 in view of Young 4526243 and Abrahamson 20170232794 as applied to claim 105 and further in view of Wright 20150136408 .
Referring to claim 110-111 and 114-115, Tschappat does not specifically disclose replacing the bowl tubular with a different bowl tubular or replacing the casing connector. Wright teaches it is known to replace equipment with different equipment when the work environment is changed (see pargraph 0046). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the method disclosed by Tschappat as modified by Young and Abrahamson, to replacing the bowl tubular with a different bowl tubular with different properties or replacing the casing connector with a different casing connector with different properties in view of the teachings of Wright with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the best equipment for the new different environment.
Claim(s) 110-111 and 114-115 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Archer RE 19587 in view of Young 4526243 and Abrahamson 20170232794 as applied to claim 105 and further in view of Wright 20150136408 .
Referring to claim 110-111 and 114-115, Archer does not specifically disclose replacing the bowl tubular with a different bowl tubular or replacing the casing connector. Wright teaches it is known to replace equipment with different equipment when the work environment is changed (see pargraph 0046). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the method disclosed by Archer as modified by Young and Abrahamson, to replacing the bowl tubular with a different bowl tubular with different properties or replacing the casing connector with a different casing connector with different properties in view of the teachings of Wright with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the best equipment for the new different environment.
Claim(s) 117 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Archer RE 19587 in view of Young 4526243 and Abrahamson 20170232794 as applied to claim 105 and further in view of Webster 20030121653.
Referring to claim 117, Archer does not disclose connecting the casing connector to the wellhead while the casing connector is disconnected from the bowl tubular. Webster teachings it is known in the art to connect a casing connector to the wellhead while the casing connector is disconnected from the bowl tubular (see paragraph 0003, casing head is connected before other equipment is attached). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the method disclosed by Archer as modified by Young and Abrahamson, in view of the teachings of Webster to connect the casing connector to the wellhead while the casing connector is disconnected from the bowl tubular with a reasonable expectation of success because this a well-known method to connect a casing connector to a wellhead.
Claim(s) 117 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tschappat 2185478 in view of Young 4526243 and Abrahamson 20170232794 as applied to claim 105 and further in view of Webster 20030121653.
Referring to claim 117, Tschappat does not disclose connecting the casing connector to the wellhead while the casing connector is disconnected from the bowl tubular. Webster teachings it is known in the art to connector (see paragraph 0003). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the method disclosed by Tschappat as modified by Young and Abrahamson, in view of the teachings of Webster to connect the casing connector to the wellhead while the casing connector is disconnected from the bowl tubular with a reasonable expectation of success because this a well-known method to connect a casing connector to a wellhead.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 116,122-125,127,131,132 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/22/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that since Tschappat, Archer, Rockwell and Wright discloses casing and tubing heads and Young teaches a drilling head there is no motivation to combine theses references with Young. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims broadly claim a well tubular head. Tschappat, Archer, Rockwell and Wright and Young all discloses tubular heads. Note, the Abrahamson reference was used for its teachings that in general have a having a flanged removable part allows to part to be easily repaired or replaced if the threads become damaged (see paragraph 0044, last sentence). Moreover, including the removeable connection point taught by Young does not destroy the functionality of the tubular heads disclosed by Tshcappat, Archer Rockwell and Wright but rather improves the functionality in that there is now method to easily repair or replace the part if the threads become damaged.
In response to applicant's argument that Abrahamson is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, the Abrahamson reference is related to the problem of easily changing one connection point for another.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). As stated above, Young teaches having a removable connection point that is flanged with threads (see fig. 1, at 801) reversibly connected a body at a port, the removable connection point for connecting with a flow line ( at threads 805). Abrahamson teaches have a having a flanged removable part allows to part to be easily repaired or replaced if the threads become damaged (see paragraph 0044, last sentence).
In response to applicant's argument that modification would require significant redesign, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). As stated above, Young teaches having a removable connection point that is flanged with threads (see fig. 1, at 801) reversibly connected a body at a port, the removable connection point for connecting with a flow line ( at threads 805). Abrahamson teaches have a having a flanged removable part allows to part to be easily repaired or replaced if the threads become damaged (see paragraph 0044, last sentence). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus and method to have a removable connection point reversibly connected with the well tubular body at the port, the removable connection point for connecting with the flow line in view of the teachings of Young and Abrahamson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have a means to easily repair or replace the connecting part if the threads become damaged.
Referring to the Double Patenting rejection, as no terminal disclaimer has been filed, this rejection still remains.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Giovanna Wright/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672