DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 19-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/25/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 13, the limitation, “the recesses” is confusing. Replace “recesses” with –one or more recesses--.
Claim 1, line 16, the limitation, “the recesses” is confusing. Replace “recesses” with –one or more recesses--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arima et al. (JP H11-111250 A).
Regarding claim 1, Arima et al. disclose a module comprising:
one or more energy storage device (1) that each comprise a main-body covered with a laminate film, and a first terminal electrode (1a) and a second terminal electrode (1a) exposed from the main-body;
a case (2) including one recess (see Fig. 1) configured to house the one energy storage device, respectively;
a first bus bar (2d) integrally incorporated in the case (2) and electrically connected to the first terminal electrode (1a) of the one energy storage device; and
a second bus bar (2d) integrally incorporated in the case (2) and electrically connected to the second terminal electrode (1a) of the one energy storage device;
wherein the first bus bar (2d) includes one first connection portion
connected to the respective first terminal electrode (1a) of the one energy storage device disposed in the recess, respectively, and
wherein the second bus bar (2d) includes one second connection portion
connected to the respective second terminal electrode (1a) of the one energy storage device disposed in the recess, respectively.
Arima et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the energy storage device (1) is a capacitor.
It is well known in the energy storage device art to substitute a battery with a capacitor.
Lacking unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a capacitor in the module of Arima et al., since such a modification would create a module with high power density and rapid charge times. In addition, the capacitor remains firmly in place even when the module is subjected to vibration or shock.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Arima et al. disclose the recess includes a first recess that accommodates the main-body, a second recess (@ 2d) that accommodates the first terminal electrode (1a), and a third recess (@ 2d) that accommodates the
second terminal electrode (1a).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Arima et al. disclose the one first connection portion is positioned in the second recess (@ 2d) of the one recess, respectively, and the one second connection portion is positioned in the third recess (@ 2d) of the one recess, respectively.
Regarding claim 4, the modified Arima et al. disclose for the one recess, the second recess (@ 2d) and the third (@ 2d) recess are arranged continuously with the first recess, and the second recess (@ 2d) and the third recess (@ 2d)are spaced apart from each other.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Arima et al. disclose in the case, the
first recess of the one recess is aligned in a first direction, and the second recess (@ 2 d) and the third recess (@ 2d) of the one recess is alternately aligned in the first direction (left-right).
Regarding claim 11, Arima et al. disclose a module comprising:
an energy storage device (1) that comprises a main-body covered with a laminate film, and a first terminal electrode (1a) and a second terminal electrode (1a) exposed from the main-body;
a case (2) including a recess that houses the energy storage device (1);
a first bus bar (2d) integrally incorporated in the case (2) and electrically connected to the first terminal electrode (1a) of the energy storage device (1); and
a second bus bar (2d) integrally incorporated in the case (2) and electrically connected to the second terminal electrode (1a) of the energy storage device (1),
wherein the first bus bar (2d) includes a first connection portion connected to the
first terminal electrode (1a) of the energy storage device disposed in the recess, and
wherein the second bus bar (2d) includes a second connection portion connected to the second terminal electrode (1a) of the energy storage device (1).
Arima et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the energy storage device (1) is a capacitor.
It is well known in the energy storage device art to substitute a battery with a capacitor.
Lacking unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a capacitor in the module of Arima et al., since such a modification would create a module with high power density and rapid charge times. In addition, the capacitor remains firmly in place
even when the module is subjected to vibration or shock.
Regarding claim 12, the modified Arima et al. disclose the recess includes a first recess that accommodates the main-body, a second recess (@ 2d) that accommodates the first terminal electrode (1a), and a third recess (@ 2d) that accommodates the
second terminal electrode (1a).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Arima et al. disclose the first connection portion is positioned in the second recess (@ 2d) and the second connection portion is positioned in the third recess (@ 2d).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Arima et al. disclose the second recess (@ 2d) and the third (@ 2d) recess are arranged continuously with the first recess, and the second recess (@ 2d) and the third recess (@ 2d)are spaced apart from each other, and the first recess is aligned in a first direction, and the second recess (@ 2 d) and the third recess (@ 2d) are alternately aligned in the first direction (left-right).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In combination with the other claim limitations, the prior art does not teach or suggest a capacitor module wherein the case includes a first case incorporating the first bus bar, and a second case incorporating the second bus bar (claims 6 and 15).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2023/0162927 A1 – DC link capacitor having multiple capacitor elements
JP 4021592 – Pouch type capacitor
/ERIC W THOMAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847
ERIC THOMAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847