DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to application No. 18/773,885 filed on 12/01/2025. Claim(s) 7, 10, and 20 have been cancelled. Claims 1-6, 8-9, and 11-19 is/are pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 8-9, and 11-19 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Although a new ground(s) of rejection has been made, some of Applicants arguments need to be addressed.
A) Applicants assert on 11-12 that regarding claim 8 that “… Tirpak is wholly silent as to playback and/or prefetch agents. Thus, Tirpak does not expressly or inherently disclose the features of claim 8…”
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although Tirpak does not explicitly use the terms playback and/or prefetch agents. However, Tirpak does provide operations for prefetching and playback of content. Tirpak contains the necessary software or firmware logic and/or programming instructions residing in memory in order to execute the various tasks, function, processes and/or operations. Thus, although the terms are playback and/or prefetch agents are not explicitly recited, they are provided for in the software or firmware logic and/or programming instructions of Tirpak, as the corresponding functions are enabled.
Please see Office Action below.
B) Applicants assert on P.12 that “…Tirpak is wholly silent as to playback and/or prefetch agents. Thus, Tirpak does not expressly or inherently disclose the features of claim 15…”
Please see Examiner’s response in part (A) above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tirpak (US 2016/0191985) in view of Karlin et al. (US 2023/0040678).
Consider claim 1, Tirpak teaches an apparatus (Figs.1&5), comprising:
a user interface (Figs.2-3) configured to enable user navigation and user playback selection (Paragraph 0006 teaches a user interface, e.g., a list of titles, is presented to a user via a media device. Media device may determine that a user interaction has occurred, e.g., the user has begun scrolling through a list, has performed a keyword search, or the like. Subset of first media content is then displayed in response to the selection of the first media content. And pre-caching and/or downloading segments so that desired media content may be displayed almost immediately after being selected);
a network interface (network interface 548-Fig.5, Paragraph 0038) configured to communicate with an origin server of a content delivery network via an application programming interface (Paragraph 0020; Fig.5, Paragraph 0037, 0045-0047);
a processor; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that when executed by the processor, cause the processor (control module 546 – Fig.5, Paragraph 0042) to:
monitor the user navigation for a navigation trigger (Paragraph 0006 teaches a user interface, e.g., a list of titles, is presented to a user via a media device. Media device determines that an interaction with user interface has occurred, e.g., the user has begun scrolling through a list. Media device requests, from media content source, a subset of first media content based on the interaction with the user interface and prior to selection of the first media content via the user interface. Paragraph 0024, 0032 teaches determining user’s interaction with the user interface, such as scrolling, page of list media content, title focused on at the moment, etc);
determine a set of candidate media based on the user navigation; and request the set of candidate media based on the navigation trigger to cause the to transfer-lessly prefetch the set of candidate media from the origin server via the network interface (Paragraph 0006 teaches media device requests, from a media content source, a subset of first media content, based on interaction with user interface and prior to selection of the first media content via the user interface. Media device attempts to predict, based on interaction with the user interface, which media content is most likely to be selected by the user. Segments of the predicted media content may then be pre-cached and/or the downloading of segments from multiple media content may be prioritized based on the user interaction. Paragraph 0024 teaches based on the user's interaction with the user interface, a subset of first media content, is requested from the media source. Paragraph 0025 teaches in cases in which parallel streams are available, system attempts to download one or more segments from each of the displayed titles. Paragraph 0032 teaches because user is currently focused on item 202, media device attempts to download one or more segments of Movie B before user has made a selection. The media device may attempt to download Movies A, C, D, and E as well. In the event that the user scrolls to another page of listed media content, the prediction and download process will begin again based on the user's interaction).
Tirpak does not explicitly teach request the set of candidate media to cause the edge server to transfer-lessly prefetch the set of candidate media; and
in response to the user playback selection of a content from the set of candidate media, receive segments of the content from the edge server.
In an analogous art, Karlin teaches request a set of candidate media to cause an edge server to transfer-lessly prefetch the set of candidate media; and in response to user playback selection of a content from the set of candidate media, receive segments of the content from the edge server (Paragraph 0022 teaches “content” should be understood to mean an electronically consumable user asset, such as television programming, pay-per-view programs, on-demand programs, video clips, audio, content information, pictures, rotating images, documents, playlists, website, etc…Content may be recorded, played, displayed, or accessed by user equipment devices. Paragraph 0032 teaches system may pre-fetch content as user navigates and/or use one or more applications. System may continuously, and in real-time, pre-fetch information/content to a local user device and/or edge server for immediate use if an application is activated. When edge server is involved, depending on what user is accessing at user equipment end, will determine what content to be pre-fetched to the edge server. As content can be played, displayed, it is made immediately available for playback from the edge server for the user upon selection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Tirpak to include request a set of candidate media to cause an edge server to transfer-lessly prefetch the set of candidate media; and in response to user playback selection of a content from the set of candidate media, receive segments of the content from the edge server, as taught by Karlin, for the advantage of providing content for immediate use (Karlin – Paragraph 0032), where content may be immediately provided, offloading memory storage of possible content externally, saving local storage space.
Consider claim 8, Tirpak teaches a system (Figs.1&5), comprising:
data plane logic comprising a media storage and a distribution network comprising an origin server (Paragraph 0042 teaches control module 546 includes software or firmware logic and/or other programming instructions residing in memory and executing on any sort of processing system. The instructions, when read and executed, cause the control module 546 to perform various tasks, functions, processes and/or operations and otherwise support the subject matter described herein. Paragraph 0044-0045 teaches server executes an operating system in conjunction with a processing system with memory to provide a computing core that is capable of executing application, daemons, processes, applications or other modules. Fig.1, Paragraph 0015 teaches media content source 102 communicatively coupled over a network 150 to a media device); and
control plane logic comprising an application programming interface, the control plane logic (Paragraph 0042 teaches control module 546 includes software or firmware logic and/or other programming instructions residing in memory and executing on any sort of processing system. The instructions, when read and executed, cause the control module 546 to perform various tasks, functions, processes and/or operations and otherwise support the subject matter described herein. Paragraph 0044-0045 teaches server executes an operating system in conjunction with a processing system with memory to provide a computing core that is capable of executing application, daemons, processes, applications or other modules. Fig.5 teaches a variety of entities that would have suitable interfaces in order to communicate via network 506) configured to:
obtain candidate selections from a prefetch agent via the application programming interface; cause the data plane logic to pre-warm a candidate media based on the candidate selections (Paragraph 0042, 0044-0045; Paragraph 0006 teaches a user interface, e.g., a list of titles, is presented to a user via a media device. Media device determines that an interaction with user interface has occurred, e.g., the user has begun scrolling through a list. Media device requests, from a media content source, a subset of first media content, based on interaction with user interface and prior to selection of the first media content via the user interface. Media device attempts to predict, based on interaction with the user interface, which media content is most likely to be selected by the user. Segments of the predicted media content may then be pre-cached and/or the downloading of segments from multiple media content may be prioritized based on the user interaction. Paragraph 0024 teaches based on the user's interaction with the user interface, a subset of first media content, is requested from the media source. Paragraph 0025 teaches in cases in which parallel streams are available, system attempts to download one or more segments from each of the displayed titles. Paragraph 0032 teaches because user is currently focused on item 202, media device attempts to download one or more segments of Movie B before user has made a selection. The media device may attempt to download Movies A, C, D, and E as well. In the event that the user scrolls to another page of listed media content, the prediction and download process will begin again based on the user's interaction);
obtain a request for a selected media from a player agent via the application programming interface, where player agent and the prefetch agent are executed at a media playback device with a single network address; and cause the data plane logic to deliver the selected media from the candidate media in response to the request (Paragraph 0007 teaches media device is configured to receive the subset of first media content and display the subset of first media content in response to the selection of the first media content. Paragraph 0020; Fig.5, Paragraph 0037-0038, 0042, 0044-0045. Paragraph 0015 teaches media source 102 is communicatively coupled over a network 150 to a media device 160. The application executed on device 160 may be an application to obtain IPTV content or video on demand. Paragraph 0043 teaches network 506 may include the internet. Such networks may be based upon TCP/IP protocols. [0042] As hardware, circuitry, processing logic and/or other components capable of directing operation of media device 508, both player agent and prefetch agent which provides functionality of pre-fetching and playing back the content are implemented on the media device. [0038] Media device 508 may include one or more interfaces 548 to network 506, which may include interface or port for wired communications layer, ethernet port or adapter. Ethernet would have a single network address assigned/associated to the media device. As the programs/modules are run on the device, and the network is an internet network, those programs/modules would be associated with network address of the device).
Tirpak does not explicitly teach comprising an edge server in communication with an origin server.
In an analogous art, Karlin teaches comprising an edge server in communication with an origin server (Paragraph 0022 teaches “content” such as on-demand programs, internet content, video clips, etc… Content may refer to an item that is available from a content provider. Paragraph 0032 teaches pre-fetch information/content to a local user device and/or edge server. Paragraph 0086 teaches OTT content delivery, providers are placing their content on websites, databases, and stores. As content may be pre-fetched to an edger server, the content would be pre-fetched from server(s) of provider(s) where the content is placed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Tirpak to include comprising an edge server in communication with an origin server, as taught by Karlin, for the advantage of providing content for immediate use (Karlin – Paragraph 0032), where content may be immediately provided, offloading memory storage of possible content externally, saving local storage space.
Consider claim 3, Tirpak and Karlin teach where the instructions further cause the processor (Tirpak - control module 546 – Fig.5, Paragraph 0042) to:
obtain a user selection for a selected media via the user interface; and responsive to the user selection, request the selected media (Tirpak - Paragraph 0007 teaches media device is configured to receive the subset of first media content and display the subset of first media content in response to the selection of the first media content).
Consider claim 4, Tirpak and Karlin teach where the set of candidate media is prefetched via a prefetch agent and the selected media is requested via a player agent (Tirpak - Paragraph 0042 teaches control module 546 includes software or firmware logic and/or other programming instructions residing in memory and executing on any sort of processing system. The instructions, when read and executed, cause the control module 546 to perform various tasks, functions, processes and/or operations and otherwise support the subject matter described herein. Paragraph 0044-0045 teaches server executes an operating system in conjunction with a processing system with memory to provide a computing core that is capable of executing application, daemons, processes, applications or other modules. Paragraph 0006 teaches media device requests, from a media content source, a subset of first media content, based on interaction with user interface and prior to selection of the first media content via the user interface. Media device attempts to predict, based on interaction with the user interface, which media content is most likely to be selected by the user. Segments of the predicted media content may then be pre-cached and/or the downloading of segments from multiple media content may be prioritized based on the user interaction. Paragraph 0007 teaches media device is configured to receive the subset of first media content and display the subset of first media content in response to the selection of the first media content).
Consider claim 5, Tirpak and Karlin teach where segments of the set of candidate media are locally cached (Tirpak - Paragraph 0006 teaches media device requests, from a media content source, a subset of first media content, based on interaction with user interface and prior to selection of the first media content via the user interface. Segments of the predicted media content may then be pre-cached and/or the downloading of segments from multiple media content may be prioritized based on the user interaction. Paragraph 0024 teaches based on the user's interaction with the user interface, a subset of first media content, is requested from the media source. Paragraph 0025 teaches in cases in which parallel streams are available, system attempts to download one or more segments from each of the displayed titles. Paragraph 0032 teaches because user is currently focused on item 202, media device attempts to download one or more segments of Movie B before user has made a selection. The media device may attempt to download Movies A, C, D, and E as well. In the event that the user scrolls to another page of listed media content, the prediction and download process will begin again based on the user's interaction).
Consider claim 6, Tirpak and Karlin teach where at least a portion of the selected media is obtained from a locally cached segment (Tirpak - Paragraph 0006, 0025, 0032 teaches pre-caching segments from multiple media content. Paragraph 0007 teaches media device is configured to receive the subset of first media content and display the subset of first media content in response to the selection of the first media content).
Consider claim 13, Tirpak and Karlin teach where the data plane logic is configured to transfer-lessly pre-warm the candidate media (Tirpak - Paragraph 0042, 0044-0045; Paragraph 0006 media device requests, from a media content source, a subset of first media content, based on interaction with user interface and prior to selection of the first media content via the user interface. Media device attempts to predict, based on interaction with the user interface, which media content is most likely to be selected by the user. Segments of the predicted media content may then be pre-cached and/or the downloading of segments from multiple media content may be prioritized based on the user interaction).
Consider claim 14, Tirpak and Karlin teach where the candidate selections are based on a likelihood of interest (Tirpak - Paragraph 0006 teaches a user interface, e.g., a list of titles, is presented to a user via a media device. Media device determines that an interaction with user interface has occurred, e.g., the user has begun scrolling through a list. Media device requests, from media content source, a subset of first media content based on the interaction with the user interface and prior to selection of the first media content via the user interface. Media device attempts to predict, based on interaction with the user interface, which media content is most likely to be selected by the user. Paragraph 0024, 0032 teaches determining user’s interaction with the user interface, such as scrolling, page of list media content, title focused on at the moment, etc) and the request is based on an explicit user request (Tirpak - Fig.1, Paragraph 0007 teaches media device is configured to receive the subset of first media content and display the subset of first media content in response to the selection of the first media content).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tirpak (US 2016/0191985), in view of Karlin et al. (US 2023/0040678), and further in view of Dhanwal et al. (US 2023/0121443).
Consider claim 2, Tirpak and Karlin teach where the user interface is configured to display a mural of media, and where the user navigation comprises a scroll through the mural (Tirpak - Paragraph 0006 teaches user interface, e.g., a list of titles, is presented to a user via a media device. Media device determines that an interaction with user interface has occurred, e.g., the user has begun scrolling through a list. Paragraph 0023 teaches user is presented with a user interface that allows the user to the desired media content. This may be performed, in response to the user entering an electronic programming guide, EPG mode, and may take the form of a list of titles/identifiers, an order series of images associated with particular movies, or any other graphical depiction of media content).
Tirpak and Karlin do not explicitly teach scroll is scroll rate.
In an analogous art, Dhanwal teaches scroll is scroll rate (Paragraph 0012, 0038).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Tirpak and Karlin to include scroll is scroll rate, as taught by Dhanwal, for the advantage of enabling the system to more specifically discern finer user actions, in order to better identify user intention(s) and actions, giving the system added information best serve the user.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tirpak (US 2016/0191985), in view of Karlin et al. (US 2023/0040678), and further in view of Li et al. (US 2017/0289593).
Consider claim 9, Tirpak and Karlin teach where the candidate media is prefetched from the media storage (Tirpak - Paragraph 0006 teaches media device requests, from a media content source, a subset of first media content, based on interaction with user interface and prior to selection of the first media content via the user interface), but does not explicitly teach prefetched to an edge server of the distribution network associated with the media playback device.
In an analogous art, Li teaches prefetched to an edge server of the distribution network associated with a media playback device (Paragraph 0028 teaches an edge cache in a small cell. Paragraph 0115 teaches caching effectively in a SCN by tracking user activities and predicting the pre-fetching list for an edge cache. Fig.1A, Paragraph 0031 teaches provides multiple wireless users access to content such as voice, data, video, message, broadcast, etc. Paragraph 0032 teaches wireless transmit/receive units. Fig.1C, Paragraph 0053 teaches RAN having eNode-Bs. Fig.2, Paragraph 0080 teaches eNodeB having edge caches 204 that may be used with a SCN. The edge servers are associated with media playback device, in that they are part of a RAN that then serve particular media playback device(s)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Tirpak and Karlin to include prefetched to an edge server of the distribution network associated with a media playback device, as taught by Li, for the advantage of delaying access of content within the network, decreasing latency in accessing desired content.
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tirpak (US 2016/0191985), in view of Karlin et al. (US 2023/0040678), and further in view of Dennedy et al. (US 2022/0368746).
Consider claim 11, Tirpak and Karlin teach where the candidate media is prefetched in a first data format (Tirpak - Paragraph 0006 teaches media device requests, from a media content source, a subset of first media content, based on interaction with user interface and prior to selection of the first media content via the user interface. Media device attempts to predict, based on interaction with the user interface, which media content is most likely to be selected by the user. Segments of the predicted media content may then be pre-cached and/or the downloading of segments from multiple media content may be prioritized based on the user interaction. Paragraph 0024 teaches based on the user's interaction with the user interface, a subset of first media content, is requested from the media source. Paragraph 0025 teaches in cases in which parallel streams are available, system attempts to download one or more segments from each of the displayed titles. Paragraph 0032 teaches because user is currently focused on item 202, media device attempts to download one or more segments of Movie B before user has made a selection. The media device may attempt to download Movies A, C, D, and E as well. In the event that the user scrolls to another page of listed media content, the prediction and download process will begin again based on the user's interaction), but does not explicitly teach a first data format for archival.
In an analogous art, Dennedy teaches a first data format for archival (Paragraph 0034 teaches media archived for long-term storage where media may be encoded to an archival format).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Tirpak and Karlin to include a first data format for archival, as taught by Dennedy, for the advantage of enabling the system to trade-off different file attributes, e.g., file size, file quality, file segmentation, file access, etc. (Dennedy – Paragraph 0034), providing greater flexibility, in the long-term preservation and management of data.
Consider claim 12, Tirpak and Karlin teach where the candidate media is pre-warmed (Tirpak - Paragraph 0006 teaches a user interface, e.g., a list of titles, is presented to a user via a media device. Media device determines that an interaction with user interface has occurred, e.g., the user has begun scrolling through a list. Media device requests, from a media content source, a subset of first media content, based on interaction with user interface and prior to selection of the first media content via the user interface. Media device attempts to predict, based on interaction with the user interface, which media content is most likely to be selected by the user. Segments of the predicted media content may then be pre-cached and/or the downloading of segments from multiple media content may be prioritized based on the user interaction. Paragraph 0024 teaches based on the user's interaction with the user interface, a subset of first media content, is requested from the media source. Paragraph 0025 teaches in cases in which parallel streams are available, system attempts to download one or more segments from each of the displayed titles. Paragraph 0032 teaches because user is currently focused on item 202, media device attempts to download one or more segments of Movie B before user has made a selection. The media device may attempt to download Movies A, C, D, and E as well. In the event that the user scrolls to another page of listed media content, the prediction and download process will begin again based on the user's interaction).
Tirpak and Karlin do not explicitly teach processed into second data format for streaming delivery.
In an analogous art, Dennedy teaches processed into second data format for streaming delivery. (Paragraph 0036-0038; Paragraph 0066, 0083).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Tirpak to include processed into second data format for streaming delivery, as taught by Dennedy, for the advantage of providing content in a format suitable for streaming delivery (Dennedy – Paragraph 0036), transmuxed or trancoded into a media format that is suitable for delivery to the client under current conditions (Dennedy – Paragraph 0038), providing/optimizing transmission of content.
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tirpak (US 2016/0191985), in view of Karlin et al. (US 2023/0040678), and further in view of Kokal et al. (US 8,626,876).
Consider claim 15, Tirpak teaches a method, comprising:
monitoring user action to determine a likelihood of user interest (Paragraph 0006 teaches a user interface, e.g., a list of titles, is presented to a user via a media device. Media device determines that an interaction with user interface has occurred, e.g., the user has begun scrolling through a list. Media device requests, from media content source, a subset of first media content based on the interaction with the user interface and prior to selection of the first media content via the user interface. Media device attempts to predict, based on interaction with the user interface, which media content is most likely to be selected by the user. Paragraph 0024, 0032 teaches determining user’s interaction with the user interface, such as scrolling, page of list media content, title focused on at the moment, etc);
prefetching a set of candidate media based on the likelihood via a prefetch agent, where the prefetch agent issues a non-zero data plane transfer for each media asset of the set of candidate media (Paragraph 0006 teaches media device requests, from a media content source, a subset of first media content, based on interaction with user interface and prior to selection of the first media content via the user interface. Media device attempts to predict, based on interaction with the user interface, which media content is most likely to be selected by the user. Segments of the predicted media content may then be pre-cached and/or the downloading of segments from multiple media content may be prioritized based on the user interaction. Paragraph 0024 teaches based on the user's interaction with the user interface, a subset of first media content, is requested from the media source. Paragraph 0025 teaches in cases in which parallel streams are available, system attempts to download one or more segments from each of the displayed titles. Paragraph 0032 teaches because user is currently focused on item 202, media device attempts to download one or more segments of Movie B before user has made a selection. The media device may attempt to download Movies A, C, D, and E as well. In the event that the user scrolls to another page of listed media content, the prediction and download process will begin again based on the user's interaction);
obtaining an explicit user request for a first media asset; and streaming the first media asset from the set of candidate media via a playback agent, where the playback agent and the prefetch agent use a single network address (Fig.1, Paragraph 0007 teaches media device is configured to receive the subset of first media content and display the subset of first media content in response to the selection of the first media content. Paragraph 0020; Fig.5, Paragraph 0037-0038, 0042, 0044-0045. Paragraph 0015 teaches media source 102 is communicatively coupled over a network 150 to a media device 160. The application executed on device 160 may be an application to obtain IPTV content or video on demand. Paragraph 0043 teaches network 506 may include the internet. Such networks may be based upon TCP/IP protocols. [0042] As hardware, circuitry, processing logic and/or other components capable of directing operation of media device 508, both player agent and prefetch agent which provides functionality of pre-fetching and playing back the content are implemented on the media device. [0038] Media device 508 may include one or more interfaces 548 to network 506, which may include interface or port for wired communications layer, ethernet port or adapter. Ethernet would have a single network address assigned/associated to the media device. As the programs/modules are run on the device, and the network is an internet network, those programs/modules would be associated with network address of the device).
Tirpak does not explicitly teach issues a transfer to an edge server in communication with an origin server, and where the set of candidate media is stored in a first media format for archival at the origin server and converted to a second media format for streaming at the edge server.
In an analogous art Karlin teaches issues a transfer to an edge server in communication with an origin server (Paragraph 0022 teaches “content” should be understood to mean an electronically consumable user asset, such as television programming, pay-per-view programs, on-demand programs, video clips, audio, content information, pictures, rotating images, documents, playlists, website, etc…Content may be recorded, played, displayed, or accessed by user equipment devices. Paragraph 0032 teaches system may pre-fetch content as user navigates and/or use one or more applications. System may continuously, and in real-time, pre-fetch information/content to a local user device and/or edge server for immediate use if an application is activated. When edge server is involved, depending on what user is accessing at user equipment end, will determine what content to be pre-fetched to the edge server).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Tirpak to include issues a transfer to an edge server in communication with an origin server, as taught by Karlin, for the advantage of providing content for immediate use (Karlin – Paragraph 0032), where content may be immediately provided, offloading memory storage of possible content externally, saving local storage space.
Tirpak and Karlin do not explicitly teach where the set of candidate media is stored in a first media format for archival at the origin server and converted to a second media format for streaming at the edge server.
In an analogous art, Kokal teaches where set of candidate media is stored in a first media format for archival at an origin server and converted to a second media format for streaming at the edge server (Col 7: lines 25-40, Col 7: line 52 – Col 8: line 4, Col 8: lines 34-47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Tirpak and Karlin to include where set of candidate media is stored in a first media format for archival at an origin server and converted to a second media format for streaming at the edge server, as taught by Kokal, for the advantage of compress and/or changing the format of content files into a format that is compatible with edge servers (Kokal - Col 7: lines 63-66), allowing for better content storage/delivery at edge servers, to enable them to better serve user devices.
Consider claim 16, Tirpak, Karlin, and Kokal teach further comprising displaying a mural of media, and where the user action comprises navigation of the mural (Tirpak - Paragraph 0006 teaches user interface, e.g., a list of titles, is presented to a user via a media device. Media device determines that an interaction with user interface has occurred, e.g., the user has begun scrolling through a list. Paragraph 0023 teaches user is presented with a user interface that allows the user to the desired media content. This may be performed, in response to the user entering an electronic programming guide, EPG mode, and may take the form of a list of titles/identifiers, an order series of images associated with particular movies, or any other graphical depiction of media content).
Consider claim 17, Tirpak, Karlin, and Kokal teach where prefetching the set of candidate media comprises a transfer-less pre-warming (Tirpak - Paragraph 0006 media device requests, from a media content source, a subset of first media content, based on interaction with user interface and prior to selection of the first media content via the user interface. Media device attempts to predict, based on interaction with the user interface, which media content is most likely to be selected by the user. Segments of the predicted media content may then be pre-cached and/or the downloading of segments from multiple media content may be prioritized based on the user interaction).
Consider claim 18, Tirpak, Karlin, and Kokal teach where prefetching the set of candidate media comprises a downloading a portion of the set of candidate media (Tirpak - Paragraph 0006 teaches a user interface, e.g., a list of titles, is presented to a user via a media device. Media device determines that an interaction with user interface has occurred, e.g., the user has begun scrolling through a list. Media device requests, from a media content source, a subset of first media content, based on interaction with user interface and prior to selection of the first media content via the user interface. Media device attempts to predict, based on interaction with the user interface, which media content is most likely to be selected by the user. Segments of the predicted media content may then be pre-cached and/or the downloading of segments from multiple media content may be prioritized based on the user interaction. Paragraph 0024 teaches based on the user's interaction with the user interface, a subset of first media content, is requested from the media source. Paragraph 0025 teaches in cases in which parallel streams are available, system attempts to download one or more segments from each of the displayed titles. Paragraph 0032 teaches because user is currently focused on item 202, media device attempts to download one or more segments of Movie B before user has made a selection. The media device may attempt to download Movies A, C, D, and E as well. In the event that the user scrolls to another page of listed media content, the prediction and download process will begin again based on the user's interaction).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tirpak (US 2016/0191985), in view of Karlin et al. (US 2023/0040678), in view of Kokal et al. (US 8,626,876), and further in view of Kocks et al. (US 2013/0132605)
Consider claim 19, Tirpak, Karlin, and Kokal do not explicitly teach where the portion is discarded.
In an analogous art, Kocks teaches where the portion is discarded (Paragraph 0063).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Tirpak, Karlin, and Kokal to include where the portion is discarded, as taught by Kocks, for the advantage of enabling the device to make room for other video segments (Kocks – Paragraph 0063), efficiently utilizing the available space on the device, in order to be serve user(s).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON K LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425