Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious by Matei, US, 20220126435 – (the Examiner further notes that a video of this specific product is found at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V5Cmv4-mgBs. This video will be cited for certain specific features of this device), in view of Lamont, US 20190262960.
Regarding claim 1, Matei discloses: A power tool (Fig. 1, tool assembly 100), comprising:
a housing ([0008], “a body housing the motor”);
a motor (Fig. 1, motor 111) supported by the housing;
a trigger (Fig. 1, trigger 133) assembly supported by the housing, the trigger assembly comprising a trigger that is configured to be actuated;
a light array (Fig. 1, display 105) supported by the housing and comprising a plurality of illuminating elements configured to output light in a plurality of colors ([0063], “the display 705 can modify colors”) ; and
an electronic controller (Fig. 12, shows the numerosity of controllers and memory) comprising a processor and a memory, the electronic controller coupled to the motor, the trigger assembly, and the light array (see Fig. 12), and configured to:
detect actuation of the trigger ([0036], “The trigger 133 can be communicatively coupled to the processing circuitry on the PCB 135 and the motion controller therein and, subsequently, to the motor 111 of the hand held power tool 110. In this way, the craftsmen can control activation of the motor 111 during an operation.”);
in response to detecting actuation of the trigger, control the motor to perform a tool operation according to a first mode of a plurality of tool modes of the power tool (see Video starting at 1:01, different modes are displayed, such as distance, depth, and projection mode) ([0036], “Further to the above, an action of the motion controller of the processing circuitry can include speed and torque regulation. For example, if a prescribed torque of a specific operation has been surpassed, the speed and torque regulator of the motion controller can act on the motor 111, accordingly.”) and control the light array to output a first color light ([0063], “display 705 can modify colors”) indicative of the first mode for a duration of the tool operation ([0038] “According to an embodiment, the display 105 of the hand held power tool assembly 100 can be communicatively-coupled to the one or more PCBs 135 of the hand held power tool 110 and can be powered by the battery 112. In an example, the display 105 can be communicatively-coupled to a shared PCB 135 or to an independent PCB 135. The display 105 can be generally circular and be disposed on a rearward facing surface of the hand held power tool 110. In particular, the display 105 can be disposed such that, before, during, and after operation, the display 105 is visible to the craftsman and the craftsman is able to interact with the display 105 throughout. To this end, in an embodiment, the display 105 can be a screen such as an active-matrix organic light-emitting diode with an integrated digitizer for touch screen applications. To enable craftsmen interaction, processing circuitry, for instance the above-referenced processing circuitry integrated with the one or more PCBs 135, or otherwise disposed, can control the display 105. This control of the display 105 can include display output and/or display of information responsive to craftsmen interactions, said interactions being, for instance, verbal, tactile, or visual. Further to the above, the processing circuitry of the hand held power tool 110 can include a display driver on the one or more PCBs 135, or otherwise disposed, in order to control the display 105.”);
detect de-activation of the motor ([0071] If the depth criterion has been met, an appropriate action can be taken at step 847. According to an embodiment, the processing circuitry, upon determining that the target depth has been achieved, can control a motor of the hand held power tool in order to stop rotation of the bit and subsequent working of the material. For instance, via the motor controller, the processing circuitry can deactivate the motor, thereby stopping rotation of the bit and preventing further penetration into the material.”); and
in response to detecting de-activation of the motor, control the light array to output a second color light that is different from the first color light and indicative of whether the tool operation was successful ([0050], “In an example, the display 305 can be configured to provide alerts to the user on performance and in order to improve user efficiency.”) (The entire spectrum of colors can be seen at 1:23 in the cited Robbox video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V5Cmv4-mgBs. The Examiner has included screenshots in the following Examiner Illustration 1. However, the Examiner does not know if the Applicant will see color in the Illustration).
Examiner Illustration 1
Matei does not explicitly disclose: discrete illuminating elements, the plurality of discrete illuminating elements comprising no more than twelve discrete illuminating elements.
Lamont teaches: discrete illuminating elements, the plurality of discrete illuminating elements comprising no more than twelve discrete illuminating elements ([0036], the eco-indicator 30 includes five LED bars 38, 40, 42, 44, and 46“).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before filing to utilize the LED bars of Lamont in combination with the Matei device, thereby combining prior art elements to achieve a predictable result. The benefit of this alteration is that it allows for the user quickly ascertain the device status with little extraneous data. Further, it could be argued that plain LED lights of this type would be beneficial in enhancing the durability of a display.
Regarding claim 2, Matei further discloses: the light array supported by the housing is positioned on a top surface of the housing such that the light array is located behind the trigger (Fig. 1 shows the display behind the trigger. Further, when held point down, the display is on top of the device).
Regarding claim 3, Matei further discloses: the electronic controller is configured to: control the light array to output the second color light responsive to determining that the tool operation was successful; and control the light array to output a third color light that is different from the first color light and different from the second color light responsive to determining that the tool operation was not successful ([0050], “In an example, the display 305 can be configured to provide alerts to the user on performance and in order to improve user efficiency.”)(Different colors can be seen in the cited Robbox video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V5Cmv4-mgBs. Red for not having achieved the goal, and green for being on target.).
Regarding claim 4, Matei further discloses: the electronic controller is configured to control the light array to output a fourth color light responsive to detecting a connection of a battery to the power tool (see Video starting at 1:01, the bottom battery display).
Regarding claim 5, Matei further discloses: the electronic controller is configured to control the light array to output a pattern using the third color light, the pattern indicative of an error type associated with the tool operation (as seen in the video, when the angle of the drill is incorrect, or not leveled, the display alerts the user).
Regarding claim 6, Matei further discloses: the electronic controller is configured to change a number of the plurality of discrete illuminating elements of the light array that output the first color light during the duration of the tool operation to indicate completion progress of the tool operation (as seen in the video, when the angle of the drill is correct the display alerts the user. When the depth of drilling is complete, the device alerts the user).
Regarding claim 7, Matei further discloses: wherein the electronic controller is configured to control the light array to output the second color light indicative of whether the tool operation was successful until a predetermined period of time elapses or until detecting a second actuation of the trigger (see Figs. 8-10. These figures indicate that when an operation is complete, the motor is automatically turned off. It is thus evident that re-actuation of the trigger or resetting the tool would be required in order to reset the system).
Regarding claim 8, Matei further discloses: the electronic controller is configured to receive a first mode selection from a user of the power tool that selects the first mode (see Video starting at 1:01, different modes are displayed, such as distance, depth, level and projection mode, as well as he following modes as seen in Examiner Illustration 2);
Examiner Illustration 2
based on the first mode selection, select the first color light indicative of the first mode for output by the light array in response to detecting actuation of the trigger (mode selection brings up mode specific screen with lights and appropriate display); receive a second mode selection from a user of the power tool that selects a second mode (see Video starting at 1:01, different modes are displayed, such as distance, depth, level and projection mode, as well as he following modes as seen in Examiner Illustration 2); and based on the second mode selection, select a third color light indicative of the second mode for output by the light array for a duration of a second tool operation in response to detecting a second actuation of the trigger, wherein the third color light is distinct from the first color light and the second color light (mode selection brings up mode specific screen with lights and appropriate display).
Regarding claim 9, Matei further discloses: the first mode is defined by first mode settings including the first color light and a first torque target and the second mode is defined by second mode settings including the third color light and a second torque target (the cited device utilizes an adjustable torque setting mode, which accomplishes the intent of this claim limitation).
Regarding claim 10, Matei further discloses: the electronic controller (Fig. 12, shows the numerosity of controllers and memory) is configured to receive a mode configuration from a user device (Figs. 1-8, display 305/705), the mode configuration comprising settings for the power tool when operating in the first mode, the settings comprising the first color light indicative of the first mode ([0060]).
Regarding claim 11, Matei further discloses: the electronic controller (Fig. 12, shows the numerosity of controllers and memory) is configured to receive the mode configuration from the user device based on input provided by a user via a user interface presented on the user device (Figs. 1-8, display 305/705).
Claim 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matei, 20220126435 in view Lamont, further in view of Matei, US 20210205976
Regarding claim 12, Matei further discloses: the electronic controller (Fig. 12, shows the numerosity of controllers and memory) is configured to transmit the mode configuration to an external server (Fig. 12, network controller 1283 and network 1295).
Matei ‘435 does not explicitly disclose: such that a second power tool can access and use the mode configuration to perform the tool operation.
Matei ‘976 teaches: such that a second power tool can access and use the mode configuration to perform the tool operation (“[0096] FIG. 13 provides a schematic of data flow within an interactive smart tool 100 according to one embodiment. The interactive smart tool 100 can exchange data with a manufacturer/distributor 1310, cloud data storage 1302, cloud gateway 1304, centralized servers 1308, smart internet of things (IOT) device 1306, or any combination thereof. In one aspect, the interactive smart tool 100 can transmit data related to the type of attachment connected, sensor data gather by any one or more of its various sensors (e.g. laser rangefinder, IMU, image sensor, NFC reader, et cetera), and tracked user data related to a user's inputs. In another aspect, the interactive smart tool 100 can receive data related to configuring their tool for a specific application, software updates, a video (e.g. a video tutorial) for performing a certain task, and the like. Of course, these are non-limiting examples, and a manufacturer/distributor can store any additional data on the cloud data storage 1302, centralized servers 1308, or smart IOT device 1306 for an interactive smart tool 100 to access and download”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to utilize the teachings of Matei ‘976 in combination with Matei ‘435 as the referenced Matei’s actually refer to the same set of tools, the Robbox smart tools. Therefore, combination is not a possibility – it has already occurred, as both references are features of the same tool.
Regarding claims 13-20, the modified Matei anticipates the device of claims 1-12. Therefore, under MPEP 2112.02, Process Claims [R-07.2015], the method of claims 13-20 are also anticipated, and therefore rejected. “Under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986)”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL JEREMY LEEDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731