DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12079924 B2 (reference patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both of claims are essentially the same structure and perform essentially the same function, therefore unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting.
The following table illustrates the conflicting claim pairs:
Instant Appl.
1, 8, 15
2, 9, 16
3, 10, 17
4, 11, 18
5, 12, 19
6, 13, 20
7, 14
reference patent
1, 2
1
1
1
1
4
5
Claims of the instant application are compared to claims of Reference Patent in the following tables.
Instant Application
reference patent
1. A method of data compression, the method comprising:
accessing at least one input image generated offline by static 2D computer generated imagery (CGI);
subdividing each input image among the at least one input image into image tiles; and
using an AI model trained to perform a data fetching prediction process that extracts an image tile from a memory before detection of any user viewing interest, the AI model creating at least one extrapolated output image that contains more visual data than a corresponding input image by inclusion of the image tile extracted from the memory before detection of any user viewing interest.
1. A dynamic images virtualization system, comprising: (i) a controller configured to perform digital image processing by using an AI model trained to perform data fetching prediction upon at least one input image generated by a static 2D computer generated imagery (CGI) and to create extrapolated output dynamic images that contain more visual data than the at least one input image generated by the static 2D CGI, the data fetching prediction by the AI model extracting a tile from a cache memory before detection of any indication of user viewing interest; and (ii) at least one display means configured to present the extrapolated output dynamic images to at least one user, the extrapolated output dynamic images containing more visual data than the at least one input image by including the tile extracted by the AI model from the cache memory before detection of any indication of user viewing interest, wherein the at least one input image is generated offline by the static 2D CGI prior to the data fetching prediction and the extrapolated output dynamic images are free viewpoint 3D images and wherein the data fetching prediction has a reduced-latency and results in production of the extrapolated output dynamic images that comprise novel images as well as novel multi-directional and image scenery parameters in comparison with the at least one input image generated offline by the static 2D CGI prior to the data fetching prediction.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one input image is subdivided into multiple image tiles.
Instant Application
reference patent
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
presenting the at least one extrapolated output image that contains more visual data than the corresponding input image by inclusion of the image tile extracted from the memory before detection of any user viewing interest.
1. A dynamic images virtualization system, comprising: (i) a controller configured to perform digital image processing by using an AI model trained to perform data fetching prediction upon at least one input image generated by a static 2D computer generated imagery (CGI) and to create extrapolated output dynamic images that contain more visual data than the at least one input image generated by the static 2D CGI, the data fetching prediction by the AI model extracting a tile from a cache memory before detection of any indication of user viewing interest; and (ii) at least one display means configured to present the extrapolated output dynamic images to at least one user, the extrapolated output dynamic images containing more visual data than the at least one input image by including the tile extracted by the AI model from the cache memory before detection of any indication of user viewing interest, wherein the at least one input image is generated offline by the static 2D CGI prior to the data fetching prediction and the extrapolated output dynamic images are free viewpoint 3D images and wherein the data fetching prediction has a reduced-latency and results in production of the extrapolated output dynamic images that comprise novel images as well as novel multi-directional and image scenery parameters in comparison with the at least one input image generated offline by the static 2D CGI prior to the data fetching prediction.
Instant Application
reference patent
3. The method of claim 1, wherein:
the at least one input image is generated offline by the static 2D CGI prior to the AI model performing the data fetching prediction process that extracts the image tile from the memory before detection of any user viewing interest.
1. A dynamic images virtualization system, comprising: (i) a controller configured to perform digital image processing by using an AI model trained to perform data fetching prediction upon at least one input image generated by a static 2D computer generated imagery (CGI) and to create extrapolated output dynamic images that contain more visual data than the at least one input image generated by the static 2D CGI, the data fetching prediction by the AI model extracting a tile from a cache memory before detection of any indication of user viewing interest; and (ii) at least one display means configured to present the extrapolated output dynamic images to at least one user, the extrapolated output dynamic images containing more visual data than the at least one input image by including the tile extracted by the AI model from the cache memory before detection of any indication of user viewing interest, wherein the at least one input image is generated offline by the static 2D CGI prior to the data fetching prediction and the extrapolated output dynamic images are free viewpoint 3D images and wherein the data fetching prediction has a reduced-latency and results in production of the extrapolated output dynamic images that comprise novel images as well as novel multi-directional and image scenery parameters in comparison with the at least one input image generated offline by the static 2D CGI prior to the data fetching prediction.
Instant Application
reference patent
4. The method of claim 1, wherein:
the at least one input image is generated offline by the static 2D CGI prior to the AI model creating the at least one extrapolated output image that contains more visual data than the corresponding input image by inclusion of the image tile extracted from the memory before detection of any user viewing interest.
1. A dynamic images virtualization system, comprising: (i) a controller configured to perform digital image processing by using an AI model trained to perform data fetching prediction upon at least one input image generated by a static 2D computer generated imagery (CGI) and to create extrapolated output dynamic images that contain more visual data than the at least one input image generated by the static 2D CGI, the data fetching prediction by the AI model extracting a tile from a cache memory before detection of any indication of user viewing interest; and (ii) at least one display means configured to present the extrapolated output dynamic images to at least one user, the extrapolated output dynamic images containing more visual data than the at least one input image by including the tile extracted by the AI model from the cache memory before detection of any indication of user viewing interest, wherein the at least one input image is generated offline by the static 2D CGI prior to the data fetching prediction and the extrapolated output dynamic images are free viewpoint 3D images and wherein the data fetching prediction has a reduced-latency and results in production of the extrapolated output dynamic images that comprise novel images as well as novel multi-directional and image scenery parameters in comparison with the at least one input image generated offline by the static 2D CGI prior to the data fetching prediction.
Instant Application
reference patent
5. The method of claim 1, wherein:
the data fetching prediction process extracts the image tile from a local cache memory provided by a content delivery network before detection of any user viewing interest.
1. A dynamic images virtualization system, comprising: (i) a controller configured to perform digital image processing by using an AI model trained to perform data fetching prediction upon at least one input image generated by a static 2D computer generated imagery (CGI) and to create extrapolated output dynamic images that contain more visual data than the at least one input image generated by the static 2D CGI, the data fetching prediction by the AI model extracting a tile from a cache memory before detection of any indication of user viewing interest; and (ii) at least one display means configured to present the extrapolated output dynamic images to at least one user, the extrapolated output dynamic images containing more visual data than the at least one input image by including the tile extracted by the AI model from the cache memory before detection of any indication of user viewing interest, wherein the at least one input image is generated offline by the static 2D CGI prior to the data fetching prediction and the extrapolated output dynamic images are free viewpoint 3D images and wherein the data fetching prediction has a reduced-latency and results in production of the extrapolated output dynamic images that comprise novel images as well as novel multi-directional and image scenery parameters in comparison with the at least one input image generated offline by the static 2D CGI prior to the data fetching prediction.
Instant Application
reference patent
6. The method of claim 1, wherein:
the AI model creates the at least one extrapolated output image that contains more visual data than a corresponding input image by generating at least one future tile based on the at least one input image before detection of any user viewing interest.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the reduced latency data fetching prediction produces the extrapolated output dynamic images by calculating and generating subsequent future tiles that are based on the at least one input image.
Instant Application
reference patent
7. The method of claim 1, wherein:
the AI model creates the at least one extrapolated output image that contains more visual data than a corresponding input image by including at least one generated future tile in the at least one extrapolated output image before detection of any user viewing interest.
5. The system of claim 4, wherein each tile of the subsequent future tiles includes an array of visual data.
Claims 8-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting for the same reason as claims 1-7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20210158561 A1), referred herein as Park in view of LE CLERC et al. (US 20170178306 A1), referred herein as CLERC and Tuomi et al. (US 20210225060 A1), referred herein as Tuomi.
Regarding Claim 1, Park in view of CLERC teaches a method of data compression, the method comprising (Park Abstract: Apparatuses, systems, and techniques estimate a pose of an object based on images generated from a combined image volume; [0353] ROP 2126 includes compression logic to compress depth or color data that is written to memory):
accessing at least one input image Park [0060] set of images is obtained based on a 3-D image volume…The plurality of images may comprise two-dimensional (2-D) images of an object).
Park does not but CLERC teaches
generated offline by static 2D computer generated imagery (CGI) (CLERC [0031] generating, e.g. synthesizing, a first face in a first image, by determining a first occluded part of the first face that is occluded by an occluding object, for example a Head-Mounted Display (HMD); [0034] The first image 11 is for example a still image acquired with a digital still camera; [0515] virtual instruments may include software-defined applications for performing one or more processing operations with respect to imaging data generated by imaging devices)
Park does not but Tuomi teaches
subdividing each input image among the at least one input image into image tiles (Tuomi [0045] As shown in block 404, the method 400 includes dividing the image into a plurality of tiles); and
using an AI model trained to perform a data fetching prediction process that extracts an image tile from a memory before detection of any user viewing interest, the AI model creating at least one extrapolated output image that contains more visual data than a corresponding input image by inclusion of the image tile extracted from the memory before detection of any user viewing interest (Park [0064] the network design may build a 3-D voxel representation of an object by computing 2-D latent features and projecting them to a canonical 3-D voxel using a deprojection unit. This operation may be interpreted as space carving in latent space. The network may render a novel view by rotating the latent voxel representation to the new view and projecting it into the 2-D image space. Using the projected latent features, a decoder may generate a new view image by predicting the depth map of the object at the query view and assigning color for each pixel by combining corresponding pixel values at different reference views; [0065] to reconstruct and render unseen objects, the network may be trained on random 3-D meshes from a dataset; [0066] In at least one embodiment, a neural network is provided that reconstructs a latent representation of a target object given a limited set of reference views and renders the object from arbitrary viewpoints without additional training; [0516] use machine learning models or other AI to perform one or more processing steps).
CLERC discloses techniques estimating a pose of an object based on images generated from a combined image volume, which is analogous to the present patent application.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park to incorporate the teachings of CLERC, and apply the imaging data generated by imaging devices and HMD synthesizing method to techniques for estimating a pose of an object based on images generated from a combined image volume.
Doing so would provide a perfect framework for immersive experiences in gaming, virtual reality, movie watching or video conferences.
Tuomi discloses a method of tiled rendering of an image for display, which is analogous to the present patent application.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park to incorporate the teachings of Tuomi, and apply the tile-based image rendering to techniques for estimating a pose of an object based on images generated from a combined image volume.
Doing so would reduce the network overhead.
Regarding Claim 2, Park in view of CLERC and Tuomi teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches further comprising: presenting the at least one extrapolated output image that contains more visual data than the corresponding input image by inclusion of the image tile extracted from the memory before detection of any user viewing interest (Park [0068] In accordance with the foregoing, in at least one embodiment, the described techniques provide an end-to-end system or process for novel view reconstructions and pose estimation for a target object, where the target object may be selected for engagement by a robotic system. In at least one embodiment, a reconstruction pipeline of the system or process may obtain a collection of reference images as input and generate a flexible representation which can be rendered from novel viewpoints; [0318] a tiling unit 1858 to accelerate tiling operations for tile-based rendering, in which rendering operations for a scene are subdivided in image space, for example to exploit local spatial coherence within a scene or to optimize use of internal caches).
Regarding Claim 3, Park in view of CLERC and Tuomi teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches wherein: the at least one input image is generated offline by the static 2D CGI prior to the AI model performing the data fetching prediction process that extracts the image tile from the memory before detection of any user viewing interest (Park [0065] to reconstruct and render unseen objects, the network may be trained on random 3-D meshes from a dataset, such as a ShapeNet dataset, that may be textured using images from a dataset, such as a MS-COCO dataset, under different lighting conditions).
Regarding Claim 4, Park in view of CLERC and Tuomi teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches wherein: the at least one input image is generated offline by the static 2D CGI prior to the AI model creating the at least one extrapolated output image that contains more visual data than the corresponding input image by inclusion of the image tile extracted from the memory before detection of any user viewing interest (Park [0098] In at least one embodiment, at block 606, the feature volumes generated at block 604 are fused or combined to generate a combined feature volume. In at least one embodiment, the combined feature volume is a canonical feature volume. In at least one embodiment, the combined feature volume is a 3-D feature volume. In at least one embodiment, the combined feature volume is generated by the modeling system 300. For example, in at least one embodiment, the block 606 generate the combined feature volume 336).
Regarding Claim 5, Park in view of CLERC and Tuomi teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches wherein: the data fetching prediction process extracts the image tile from a local cache memory provided by a content delivery network before detection of any user viewing interest (Tuomi [0021] a network connection (e.g., a wireless local area network card for transmission and/or reception of wireless IEEE 802 signals); 7. The method of claim 6, wherein executing the coarse level tiling and the fine level tiling, via the same fixed function hardware, further comprises: executing the coarse level tiling to determine in which tile each of a plurality of primitives is located; and execute the fine level tiling by utilizing local cache memory to accumulate a batch of primitives and render primitives one fine tile at a time.).
Regarding Claim 6, Park in view of CLERC and Tuomi teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches wherein: the AI model creates the at least one extrapolated output image that contains more visual data than a corresponding input image by generating at least one future tile based on the at least one input image before detection of any user viewing interest (Park [0073] using the plurality of images 302-306 with associated object poses and object segmentation binary masks 308-312, the system 300 may generate a representation of the object which can be rendered with arbitrary camera parameters. The object may be represented as a latent 3-D voxel grid. In at least one embodiment, the representation can be directly manipulated using standard 3-D transformations and enable novel view rendering).
Regarding Claim 7, Park in view of CLERC and Tuomi teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches wherein: the AI model creates the at least one extrapolated output image that contains more visual data than a corresponding input image by including at least one generated future tile in the at least one extrapolated output image before detection of any user viewing interest (Park [0068] process for novel view reconstructions and pose estimation for a target object, where the target object may be selected for engagement by a robotic system. In at least one embodiment, a reconstruction pipeline of the system or process may obtain a collection of reference images as input and generate a flexible representation which can be rendered from novel viewpoints. In at least one embodiment, multi-view consistency may be utilized to construct a latent representation, and the system or process may not require the use of category specific shape priors).
Regarding Claims 8-14, Park in view of CLERC and Tuomi teaches a system (Park Abstract: Apparatuses, systems, and techniques estimate a pose of an object based on images generated from a combined image volume; [0353] ROP 2126 includes compression logic to compress depth or color data that is written to memory).
The metes and bounds of the of the claims substantially correspond to the limitations set forth in claims 1-7; thus they are rejected on similar grounds and rationale as their corresponding limitations.
Regarding Claims 15-20, Park in view of CLERC and Tuomi teaches a non-transitory storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more microprocessors of a computer, cause the computer to perform operations (Park Abstract: Apparatuses, systems, and techniques estimate a pose of an object based on images generated from a combined image volume; [0353] ROP 2126 includes compression logic to compress depth or color data that is written to memory; [0620] Clause 21. A machine-readable medium having stored thereon a set of instructions, which if performed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to).
The metes and bounds of the of the claims substantially correspond to the limitations set forth in claims 1-6; thus they are rejected on similar grounds and rationale as their corresponding limitations.
Conclusion
/Samantha (YUEHAN) WANG/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2617