DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
2. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Specification
3. The specification is objected to due to the following informalities.
In paragraphs 7, 34, 37, 48, and 80 of the specification, it appears that the phrase “fall below predetermined threshold” should be revised to “fall below a predetermined threshold.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Per claim 18, it is unclear if the limitation “an interface” refers to the limitation “an interface” recited in claim 17, from which claim 18 depends. Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of examination, said limitation in claim 18 is interpreted as implying “the interface.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-2, 5-6, 9-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious in view of Horn (US 6,680,619) and Cogswell et al. (US 2019/0224511 – hereinafter “Cogswell”).
Per claim 1, Horn teaches a system for monitoring corrosion of a metal component comprising:
a pair of spaced apart probes abutting the metal component (A contact joint 14 includes a pair of spaced apart contact pins 37 that contact a steel pipe 11 (Figs. 1-2; col. 2, lines 55-62 and col. 3, lines 17-21));
a housing having a voltage measuring device coupled to the probes to measure the potential difference therebetween and a transmitter for transmitting potential difference measurements from the voltage measuring device over a cable (A connection housing 19 coupled to the contact joint 14 includes interface circuits that amplify the voltage signals measured between the pins and convert the analog signals to digital signals. The digital signals are transmitted to a data logger (Figs. 1-2; col. 2, lines 23-39)); and
a computing device connected to the cable having an interface, a processor, and memory programmed with executable instructions to: receive the potential difference measurements through the network; and determine the presence of corrosion (A computer is configured to receive the voltage signals measured between the pins via the connection housing 19. Differential voltages for different pairs of pins in a pin matrix are measured and used to calculate the wall thickness for each pair of pins, thereby obtaining a picture of the internal corrosion in the area covered by the pin matrix (Fig. 1; col. 3, line 59 – col. 4, line 3)).
However, Horn does not explicitly teach the system wherein the potential difference measurements are transmitted to the computing device over a network wherein the computing device is configured to generate output for displaying the potential difference measurements with warnings on the interface when the potential difference measurements exceed or fall below predetermined threshold correlated to at least one of a corrosion phenomenon, a corrosion form, and a critical corrosion property.
In contrast, Cogswell teaches a monitoring device 100 configured to monitor the rate of corrosion of a wall of a pipe 150. The monitoring device 100 includes a transmission circuit 116 for transmitting information to a client device via a communication network 220. The client device is configured to display information related to at least one of a corrosion level and a rate of corrosion. For example, the rate of corrosion is displayed in a certain color depending on whether the rate is deemed normal, intermediate, and accelerated based on comparisons with threshold rates (Figs. 6 and 10; ¶12, 49, 65, 73).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Horn such that the potential difference measurements are transmitted to the computing device over a network wherein the computing device is configured to generate output for displaying the potential difference measurements with warnings on the interface when the potential difference measurements exceed or fall below predetermined threshold correlated to at least one of a corrosion phenomenon, a corrosion form, and a critical corrosion property. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of alerting a user to a severity of a corrosion condition (Cogswell; ¶12).
Per claim 2, Horn in view of Cogswell teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising: a display device for displaying the output on the interface (In the system of Horn in view of Cogswell, a client device includes a display for displaying the output (Cogswell; ¶12)).
Per claim 5, Horn in view of Cogswell teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the computing device receives the potential difference measurements at regular intervals (In the system of Horn in view of Cogswell, measurements may be performed at regular intervals (Horn; col. 3, lines 44-47)).
Per claim 6, Horn in view of Cogswell teaches the system of claim 5, wherein the computing device receives the potential difference measurements every two hours (Cogswell describes transmitting information from a corrosion monitoring device 100 to a monitoring platform 230 on an hourly basis (¶87). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Horn in view of Cogswell such that the computing device receives the potential difference measurements every two hours. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of providing frequent transmissions to a monitoring platform (Cogswell; ¶87)).
Per claim 9, Horn in view of Cogswell teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the interface is provided by an app on a mobile device (In the system of Horn in view of Cogswell, a client device may be a mobile device including an app for displaying the output (Cogswell; ¶80)).
Per claim 10, Horn in view of Cogswell teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the corrosion form is selected from the group consisting of surface corrosion, corrosion beneath a surface, and structural corrosion (In the system of Horn in view of Cogswell, structural corrosion, e. g., wall thickness, is identified (Cogswell; ¶12 and 64)).
Per claim 11, Horn in view of Cogswell teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the corrosion phenomenon is selected from the group consisting of corrosion initiation and corrosion propagation (In the system of Horn in view of Cogswell, corrosion propagation, e. g., the rate of corrosion, is identified (Cogswell; ¶12 and 64)).
Per claim 12, Horn in view of Cogswell teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the output includes at least one of a graph, a table, a spreadsheet, and a map (In the system of Horn in view of Cogswell, a picture of the internal corrosion is obtained (Horn; col. 3, line 59 – col. 4, line 4)).
Per claim 13, Horn teaches a method for monitoring corrosion of a metal component with a pair of spaced apart probes abutting the metal component (A contact joint 14 includes a pair of spaced apart contact pins 37 that contact a steel pipe 11 (Figs. 1-2; col. 2, lines 55-62 and col. 3, lines 17-21)), the method comprising:
measuring the potential difference between the pair of spaced apart probes to obtain potential difference measurements; transmitting the potential difference measurements over a cable to a computing device (A connection housing 19 coupled to the contact joint 14 includes interface circuits that amplify the voltage signals measured between the pins and convert the analog signals to digital signals. A computer is configured to receive the voltage signals measured between the pins via the connection housing 19. Differential voltages for different pairs of pins in a pin matrix are measured and used to calculate the wall thickness for each pair of pins, thereby obtaining a picture of the internal corrosion in the area covered by the pin matrix (Fig. 1-2; col. 2, lines 23-29 and col. 3, line 59 – col. 4, line 3)).
However, Horn does not explicitly teach the method comprising: transmitting the potential difference measurements over a network to a computing device; and generating output for displaying the potential difference measurements; and generating warnings for display when the potential difference measurements exceed or are lower than a predetermined threshold correlated to at least one of the onset of a corrosion phenomenon, the presence of a corrosion form, or a critical corrosion property value.
In contrast, Cogswell teaches a monitoring device 100 configured to monitor the rate of corrosion of a wall of a pipe 150. The monitoring device 100 includes a transmission circuit 116 for transmitting information to a client device via a communication network 220. The client device is configured to display information related to at least one of a corrosion level and a rate of corrosion. For example, the rate of corrosion is displayed in a certain color depending on whether the rate is deemed normal, intermediate, and accelerated based on comparisons with threshold rates (Figs. 6 and 10; ¶12, 49, 65, 73).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Horn such that the potential difference measurements are transmitted to the computing device over a network wherein the computing device is configured to generate output for displaying the potential difference measurements and generate warnings for display when the potential difference measurements exceed or are lower than a predetermined threshold correlated to at least one of the onset of a corrosion phenomenon, the presence of a corrosion form, or a critical corrosion property value. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of alerting a user to a severity of a corrosion condition (Cogswell; ¶12).
Per claim 15, Horn in view of Cogswell teaches the method of claim 13, in which the transmitting step is performed at regular intervals (In the method of Horn in view of Cogswell, measurements may be performed at regular intervals (Horn; col. 3, lines 44-47)).
Per claim 16, Horn in view of Cogswell teaches the method of claim 15, in which the regular intervals are every two hours (Cogswell describes transmitting information from a corrosion monitoring device 100 to a monitoring platform 230 on an hourly basis (¶87). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Horn in view of Cogswell such that the transmitting step is performed every two hours. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of providing frequent transmissions to a monitoring platform (Cogswell; ¶87)).
Per claim 17, Horn in view of Cogswell teaches the method of claim 13, further comprising: displaying the output and the warnings on an interface (In the method of Horn in view of Cogswell, a client device includes a display for displaying the output and the warnings (Cogswell; ¶12)).
Per claim 18, Horn in view of Cogswell teaches the method of claim 17, further comprising: displaying the output and the warnings on an interface rendered by an app on a mobile device with the output including at least one of a graph, a table, a spreadsheet, and a map (In the system of Horn in view of Cogswell, a client device may be a mobile device including an app for displaying the output (Cogswell; ¶80) and a picture of the internal corrosion is obtained (Horn; col. 3, line 59 – col. 4, line 4)).
Per claim 19, Horn in view of Cogswell teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the corrosion form is selected from the group consisting of surface corrosion, corrosion beneath a surface, and structural corrosion (In the system of Horn in view of Cogswell, structural corrosion, e. g., wall thickness, is identified (Cogswell; ¶12 and 64)).
Per claim 20, Horn in view of Cogswell teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the corrosion phenomenon is selected from the group consisting of corrosion initiation and corrosion propagation (In the system of Horn in view of Cogswell, corrosion propagation, e. g., the rate of corrosion, is identified (Cogswell; ¶12 and 64)).
8. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious in view of Horn and Cogswell, in further view of Hefner et al. (US 2011/0251721 – hereinafter “Hefner”).
Per claim 3, Horn in view of Cogswell does not explicitly teach the system of claim 1, wherein the voltage measuring device is a device selected from the group consisting of a voltmeter and a multimeter.
In contrast, Hefner teaches a corrosion monitoring device 32 comprising a plurality of electrodes 40 wherein the corrosion monitoring device 32 includes a multi-channel voltmeter for performing voltage measurements (Figs. 2-3; ¶33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Horn in view of Cogswell such that the voltage measuring device is a voltmeter. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of performing voltage measurements (Hefner; ¶33).
9. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious in view of Horn and Cogswell, in further view of Hyland et al. (US 2010/0156632 – hereinafter “Hyland”).
Per claim 4, Horn in view of Cogswell does not explicitly teach the system of claim 1, wherein the network is a wifi network.
In contrast, Hyland teaches a monitoring device 110, which may include a corrosion sensor, that is in bi-directional communication with an operations center 105 via a wifi network (Fig. 1; ¶29 and 45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Horn in view of Cogswell such that the network is a wifi network. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of providing a wireless communication network (Hyland; ¶29).
10. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious in view of Horn and Cogswell, in further view of Lim et al. (US 2022/0243749 – hereinafter “Lim”).
Per claim 7, Horn in view of Cogswell does not explicitly teach the system of claim 1, wherein the metal component is a fastener.
In contrast, Lim describes mechanical fasteners that are coated with a metallic coating which may be provided in a corrosive environment (Lim; ¶6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Horn in view of Cogswell such that the metal component is a fastener. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification because fasteners may be provided in a corrosive environment (Lim; ¶6).
11. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious in view of Horn and Cogswell, in view of Lim, in further view Corio (US 2017/0359017).
Per claim 8, Horn in view of Cogswell in further view of Lim does not explicitly teach the system of claim 7, wherein the metal component is a cinch for holding solar panels within a solar energy collection system.
In contrast, Corio teaches a solar module assembly comprising a bolt and nut fastener 36 that cinch upper and lower clamp pieces 12, 14 of a mounting bracket assembly 10 around a torque tube (Fig. 1; ¶48, 54, and 59)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Horn in view of Cogswell in further view of Lim such that the metal component is a cinch for holding solar panels within a solar energy collection system. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification because a cinch may be provided in a corrosive environment (Corio; ¶48 and 54).
12. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious in view of Horn and Cogswell, in view of Hefner, in further view of Hyland.
Per claim 14, Horn in view of Cogswell does not explicitly teach the method of claim 13, in which the measuring step is performed with a voltage measuring device selected from the group consisting of a voltmeter and a multimeter.
In contrast, Hefner teaches a corrosion monitoring device 32 comprising a plurality of electrodes 40 wherein the corrosion monitoring device 32 includes a multi-channel voltmeter for performing voltage measurements (Figs. 2-3; ¶33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Horn in view of Cogswell such that the measuring step is performed with a voltage measuring device selected from the group consisting of a voltmeter and a multimeter. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of performing voltage measurements (Hefner; ¶33).
Furthermore, Horn in view of Cogswell in further view of Hefner does not explicitly teach the method of claim 13, in which the transmitting step is performed over a wifi network.
In contrast, Hyland teaches a monitoring device 110, which may include a corrosion sensor, that is in bi-directional communication with an operations center 105 via a wifi network (Fig. 1; ¶29 and 45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Horn in view of Cogswell in further view of Hefner such that the transmitting step is performed over a wifi network. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of providing a wireless communication network (Hyland; ¶29).
Claim Objections
13. Claim 1 is objected to due to the following informality.
On lines 10-11 of claim 1, it appears that the phrase “fall below predetermined threshold” should be revised to “fall below a predetermined threshold.”
Conclusion
/JAS A SANGHERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852