DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5 are pending and under consideration on the merits.
Examiner Note
It is noted that all references hereinafter to Applicant’s Specification are to the published application US 2025/0125490 A1, unless stated otherwise. Further, it is noted that italicized text in parentheses recited in any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 indicates the element of the claimed invention to which the preceding prior art element corresponds. Additionally, any italicized text utilized hereinafter is to be interpreted as emphasis placed thereupon.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informality:
Regarding claim 2, “…the first solid electrolyte layers” constitutes grammatical and/or typographical error relative to the phrase “the first solid electrolyte layer” recited in claim 1, which hinders the readability of the claim. In order to overcome the objection, the following amendment is respectfully suggested: “…the first solid electrolyte layer[[s]].”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi (US 2021/0351433 A1; “Yamaguchi”), in view of Kim et al. (US 2024/0006595 A1, “Kim”), Ito et al. (US 2020/0161699 A1; “Ito”), and Kato (US 2016/0028106 A1; “Kato”).
Regarding claim 1, Yamaguchi discloses a lithium solid-state battery (an all-solid-state cell) [0001, 0020, 0031, 0116], the lithium solid-state battery comprising an anode current collector (an anode current collector) [element 15, 0031, 0062, 0092, 0117, 0131, 0136, FIG. 1], a solid electrolyte layer (a first solid electrolyte layer) [element 11, 0022, 0093-0114, 0117, 0135, FIG. 1], and a cathode layer containing a cathode active material (a cathode active material layer) [element 12, 0012, 0021, 0031-003-0043, FIG. 1] in this order in a thickness direction [0012, 0021, 0135-0136, FIG. 1]. The solid electrolyte layer contains a sulfide-based solid electrolyte (a solid electrolyte phase containing a first solid electrolyte) [0093-0098, 0111], including an A element (a metal phase) [0096], of which may be, inter alia Sn (containing at least one of the following: Sn, Mg, and Ag) [0096]. An anode comprises the anode current collector and an anode layer containing an anode active material [0062-0063], wherein the anode active material may be, inter alia a Li alloy, e.g. a Li alloy oxide [0035-0038, 0065].
Yamaguchi remains silent regarding using a deposition-dissolution reaction of metallic lithium as an anode reaction, a second solid electrolyte layer is included in the claimed order in a thickness direction, a proportion of the metal phase in the first solid electrolyte layer is 2.50 vol% or less, and the second solid electrolyte layer contains a second solid electrolyte and does not contain the metal phase.
Kim is directed towards an all-solid-state secondary battery [0007-0026, 0049-0059, 0061]. Kim teaches that the all-solid-state secondary battery includes a first anode active material layer [0084-0085], of which is made of a metal alloy oxide [0084-0085], and undergoes reversible precipitation/dissolution during charging and discharging cycles [0085, 0103].
Ito is directed towards an all-solid secondary battery [0002, 0005, 0016, 0094]. Ito teaches that the all-solid secondary battery includes a first solid electrolyte layer [element 21A, 0188, FIG. 2] and a second solid electrolyte layer [element 22A, 0188, FIG. 2]. The first solid electrolyte layer is disposed on a side adjacent to a cathode layer [0189, FIG. 2], while the second solid electrolyte layer is disposed on a side adjacent to an anode layer [0182-0183, FIG. 2].
Kato is directed towards a sulfide solid electrolyte material and a battery comprising the same [0001, 0003-0004, 0008-0012, 0040-0041, 0050, 0055]. Kato teaches an anode active material layer comprising an anode active material and a sulfide solid electrolyte material [0047]. The anode active material is, inter alia a metal active material that is, inter alia Sn [0047]. The sulfide solid electrolyte material is included in the anode active material layer in an amount of 0.1 vol % to 80 vol % [0047]. Through calculation, the metal active material may be present in the anode active material layer in an amount of, inter alia up to 20 vol % [0047].
Yamaguchi, Kim, Ito, and Kato each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------an all-solid-state cell. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lithium solid-state battery of Yamaguchi so that the anode layer undergoes reversible precipitation/dissolution during charging and discharging cycles, as both Yamaguchi and Kim utilize a metal/Li alloy oxide anode active material, and in order to suppress a short circuit of the lithium solid-state batter, thereby improving cycle characteristics [Kim, 0103].
Additionally, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lithium solid-state battery of Yamaguchi so that the solid electrolyte layer includes a second solid electrolyte layer, like that of Ito, wherein the solid electrolyte layer is disposed on a side adjacent to the anode layer and the second solid electrolyte layer is disposed on a side adjacent to the cathode layer, in order to more reliably prevent abnormal heat generation due to a localized current concentration [Ito, 0188-0191]. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second solid electrolyte layer that is disposed on the side adjacent to the cathode layer also be the sulfide-based solid electrolyte, while not containing a metal element, as Yamaguchi discloses the metal element(s) in a sulfide-based solid electrolyte as optional [Yamaguchi, 0093-0098] and because it is the layer closest to the cathode layer thereby allowing for separation between layers containing metals (MPEP 2143(I)(E)), wherein one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the solid electrolyte layer and the second solid electrolyte layer having the same sulfide-based solid electrolyte would reduce resistance compared to if they had different compositions.
Furthermore, the anode active material layer of Kato, including 0.1 vol % to 80 vol % of sulfide solid electrolyte material, and the rest comprising a metal active material, e.g. Sn, and a binder [Kato, 0047], and the layer located on the anode side [Kato, FIG. 2], is similar in composition and positioning to that of Yamaguchi’s solid electrolyte layer in terms of comprising sulfide-based solid electrolyte in an amount of 50-100 mass% [Yamaguchi, 0112], a binder in an amount of 5 mass % or less [Yamaguchi, 0113], and the A element(s), i.e. Sn [Yamaguchi, 0096, 0098] and positioned in contact/adjacent with the anode side [Yamaguchi, FIG. 1]. Additionally, the anode active material layer of Kato is similar in composition and positioning to that of the claimed and disclosed first solid electrolyte layer in terms of comprising a sulfide solid electrolyte [claim 3, Applicant’s Specification ¶0028], a binder [Applicant’s Specification ¶0031], and a metal phase, i.e. Sn, in an amount 2.5 vol% or less and 0.10 vol% or more [Claims 1-2 and 4, Applicant’s Specification ¶0024-0026], and the first solid electrolyte layer positioned in contact/adjacent with the anode side [Claim 1, Applicant’s Specification ¶0019, FIG. 1]. Given the analogous nature between the claimed first solid electrolyte layer and the anode active material layer of Kato as indicated above, and given that Yamaguchi discloses that the molar ratio of A element(s) in the solid electrolyte layer may be controlled [Yamaguchi, 0098] and that the weight amount of the sulfide-based solid electrolyte may range from 50-100 mass% [Yamaguchi, 0112], it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the solid electrolyte layer of Yamaguchi by having A element in an amount of up to 20 vol%, i.e. Sn as an active metal in an amount of up to 20 vol%, as the aforesaid volume amount would have been recognized as suitable for electron conductivity, while still having a suitable amount of the sulfide solid electrolyte for ion conductivity.
In accordance with the aforesaid modifications, the lithium solid-state battery of Yamaguchi as modified by Kim, Ito, and Kato (hereinafter “modified Yamaguchi”) would have the anode layer undergo reversible precipitation/dissolution during charging and discharging cycles (using a deposition-dissolution reaction of metallic lithium as an anode reaction), and would have the solid electrolyte layer include the second solid electrolyte layer (a second solid electrolyte layer), wherein the solid electrolyte layer is disposed on the side adjacent to the anode layer and the second solid electrolyte layer is disposed on the side adjacent to the cathode layer, and the second solid electrolyte layer is the sulfide-based solid electrolyte not containing the A element/metal element(s) (the second solid electrolyte layer contains a second solid electrolyte and does not contain the metal phase). Additionally, the solid electrolyte layer would include A element(s), i.e. Sn as an active metal, in an amount of up to 20 vol %, of which overlaps with the claimed range, 2.50 vol% or less, thereby rendering the range prima facie obvious (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 2, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, the solid electrolyte layer includes A element(s) in an amount of up to 20 vol %, of which overlaps with the claimed range, 0.10 vol% or more, thereby rendering the range prima facie obvious (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 above reads on the first solid electrolyte and the second solid electrolyte defined by claim 3. In view of the modification set forth above, see in particular ¶10, 13, 16, and 18, the first solid electrolyte and the second solid electrolyte are sulfide solid electrolytes.
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 above reads on the metal phase defined by claim 4. The A element contains, inter alia Sn [Yamaguchi, 0096-0098].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi in view of Kim, Ito, and Kato as applied to claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 above, further in view of Hwang et al. (US 2024/0136573 A1; “Hwang”) and Li (US 2020/0343583 A1; “Li”).
Regarding claim 5, modified Yamaguchi teaches the all-solid-state cell set forth above in the rejection of claim 1.
Modified Yamaguchi remains silent regarding a metal layer between the anode current collector and the first solid electrolyte layer, wherein the metal layer includes an Mg layer and an Sn layer in this order from the anode current collector side.
Hwang is directed towards a solid-state secondary battery [0002, 0007, 0016-0017, 0040-0041, 0110-0112, 0136, 0148, FIG. 6]. Hwang teaches that the solid-state secondary battery comprises a first anode active material layer [0017, 0104, 0127-0129], including a first metal [0017, 0104, 0129, 0131-0133], and a second anode active material layer between an anode current collector and the first anode active material layer [0018, 0105, 0136]. The second anode active material layer may include a second metal [0018, 0106, 0139], of which may be, inter alia magnesium (Mg) [0019-0020, 0107-0108, 0140-0141]. The first metal may be, inter alia tin (Sn) [0131-0133].
Li is directed towards an all-solid-state battery [element 100, 0001, 0010, 0030, FIG. 1]. Li teaches that the all-solid-state battery comprises an anode layer [element 13, 0040-0042, FIG. 1] on an anode current collector [element 15, 0040-0041, FIG. 1]. The anode current collector includes a Mg metal layer thereon [0017-0019], thereby forming a Li-Mg metal alloy layer on the anode current collector [0017-0022, 0112-00126].
Yamaguchi, Kim, Ito, Kato, Hwang, and Li each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------an all-solid-state cell. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lithium solid-state battery of modified Yamaguchi so that the anode layer comprises a first anode active material layer including a first metal, and a second anode active material layer including a second metal that is between the anode current collector and the first anode active material layer, wherein the first metal is Sn, as there is a finite list of elements taught by Hwang [Hwang, 0131] (see MPEP 2143(I)(E)), and the second metal is Mg, as an Mg layer adjacent to the anode current collector improves cycle characteristics of the battery and suppresses an increase in the resistance [Li, 0135, 0143; Hwang, 0132]. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to utilize Sn in the layer between the Mg layer and the solid electrolyte layer due to having Sn in the solid electrolyte layer that is disposed on the side adjacent to the anode layer thereby preventing resistance between the first anode active material layer and the solid electrolyte layer (see MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
In accordance with the aforesaid modifications, the lithium solid-state battery of modified Yamaguchi as further modified by Hwang and Li would have the anode layer comprises a first anode active material layer including a first metal, and a second anode active material layer including a second metal that is between the anode current collector and the first anode active material layer, wherein the first metal is Sn and the second metal is Mg (a metal layer between the anode current collector and the first solid electrolyte layer, wherein the metal layer includes an Mg layer and an Sn layer in this order from the anode current collector side).
Pertinent Prior Art
The following constitutes a list of prior art which are not relied upon herein, but are considered pertinent to the claimed invention and/or written description thereof. The prior art are purposely made of record hereinafter to facilitate compact/expedient prosecution, and consideration thereof is respectfully suggested.
Lee et al., US 2023/0223588 A1 – is directed towards an all-solid-state battery with two solid electrolyte layers [0002, 0008-0011, 0025-0030, 0069-0092].
Conclusion
/JENNA X. COLTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1782
/MICHAEL C. ROMANOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782