DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a biasing member” in claims 1 and 16 having structural recitation in Applicant’s specification [0044].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0227986 to Yasunaga (hereinafter “Yasunaga”). In regards to claims 1-2 and 5-19, Yasunaga discloses a medical device comprising:
In regards to claim 1: a handle (Fig. 1, Element 3) comprising a housing (Fig. 1, Element 8) and an actuator mechanism (entirety of Fig. 2) disposed within the housing, wherein the actuator mechanism includes: a disk (Element 22) rotatable between a first position and a second position ([0051]); and a biasing member (Element 30), wherein a proximal end of the biasing member is coupled to the disk and a distal end of the biasing member is coupled to the housing (see Fig. 3, Element 30 is connected at Element 23 and 24, Figs. 4 and 5 show that orientation of the biasing member is selectable), wherein, in the first position of the disk, the biasing member has a first length and exerts a first distal force on the disk (Fig. 4, Element 30 has a 1st length); and wherein, in the second position of the disk, the biasing member has a second length different from the first length and exerts a second distal force on the disk less than the first distal force (Fig. 2, Element 30 has a 2nd length, [0062]-[0066])
In regards to claim 2, wherein the first length of the biasing member is greater than the second length of the biasing member (Length of Element 30 in Figs. 2 and 4)
In regards to claim 5, wherein the actuator mechanism further includes a lever coupled to the disk (Fig. 2, Element 14)
In regards to claim 6, wherein the lever is coupled to an outer surface of the housing of the handle, the lever being rotatable to drive a corresponding rotation of the disk (see Element 14, Fig. 1, [0048])
In regards to claim 7, wherein the biasing member is fixed to a proximal portion of the disk (Fig. 5 shows connection location is selectable)
In regards to claim 8, wherein the actuator mechanism further comprises first and second control members each coupled to the disk (Elements 17 and 18, respectively)
In regards to claim 9, wherein the first control member (Element 17) is attached to the disk by a first coupler ([0051]), the second control member (Element 18) is attached to the disk by a second coupler ([0051]), and the biasing member is attached to the disk by a third coupler (Element 23), and wherein the third coupler is between the first coupler and second coupler (see Fig. 4)
In regards to claim 10, wherein movement of the disk from the first position to the second position is configured to move the first control member proximally and the second control member distally, and wherein movement of the disk from the second position to the first position is configured to move the first control member distally and the second control member proximally (Figs. 4 and 5, [0051]-[0053])
In regards to claim 11, wherein the biasing member includes a spring (Fig. 3, Element 39)
In regards to claim 12, wherein, in a third position of the disk, the biasing member has a third length and exerts a third distal force on the disk, wherein the third distal force is less than the first distal force ([0068] [0071]-[0082] explains how various levels of lever rotation display different torques on the disk)
In regards to claim 13, wherein the disk is rotatable in a first direction between the first position and the second position, and rotatable in a second direction between the first position and the third position (Figs. 4+5, [0051]-[0053])
In regards to claim 14, wherein the medical device further comprises a shaft (Fig. 1, Element 2) coupled to the handle, the shaft comprising an articulation section (Element 12) operably coupled to the actuator mechanism
In regards to claim 15, wherein movement of the disk from the first position to the second position is configured to move the articulation section of the shaft along a first plane, and movement of the disk from the first position to a third position is configured to move the articulation section of the shaft along a second plane perpendicular to the first plane ([0048], four directions of movement)
In regards to claim 16, a handle (Fig. 1, Element 3) comprising a housing (Fig. 2, Element 8) and an actuator mechanism (entirety of Fig. 2) disposed within the housing, wherein the actuator mechanism includes: a rotatable disk (Element 22, [0051]); a biasing member (Element 30) coupled to, and configured to exert a force on, the disk ([0065] [0066]); a first control member coupled to the disk (Element 17); and a second control member coupled to the disk (Element 18); wherein the handle is configured to rotate from a first configuration to a second configuration by rotation of the disk, and wherein, in the second configuration, the force exerted on the disk is greater than the force exerted on the disk in the first configuration ([0068] [0071]-[0082] explains how various levels of lever rotation display different torques on the disk)
In regards to claim 17, wherein rotating from the first configuration to the second configuration shortens a length of the biasing member ([0064] [0076] [0080])
In regards to claim 18, wherein the actuator mechanism further includes a lever (Element 14) coupled to the disk, the lever configured to be engaged by a user to drive rotation of the disk ([0063])
In regards to claim 19, a shaft (Fig. 1, Element 2) coupled to the handle, the shaft comprising an articulation section (Element 12) operably coupled to the actuator mechanism, wherein movement of the disk is configured to control the articulation section ([0048])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasunaga in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0280021 to Chu (hereinafter “Chu”). Yasunaga discloses a rotatable disk (Element 22), but does not disclose first and second protrusions on the disk. However, Chu discloses an analogous medical device wherein:
In regards to Claim 3, wherein the disk includes a first protrusion on a first side of the disk and a second protrusion on a second side of the disk (Figs. 12 and 14, first protrusion = Elements 253+282, second protrusion = Element 261, [0124] [0135])
In regards to Claim 4, wherein an inner surface of the housing receives the first protrusion on a first side of the handle and the second protrusion on a second side of the handle opposite the first side (Fig. 14, Element 286, housing cap is shown as removed in the Figure, [0135] [0136])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yasunaga to include first and second protrusions such as that taught by Chu in order to set maximum allowable bending angles such as that suggested by Chu in [0135].
In regards to claim 20, Yasunaga teaches a medical device comprising: a handle (Fig. 1, Element 3) comprising a housing (Element 8) and an actuator mechanism (entirety of Fig. 2) disposed within the housing, wherein the actuator mechanism includes: a disk rotatable between a first position and a second position (Element 22, [0051]); a biasing member (Element 30), wherein a proximal end of the biasing member is coupled to the disk and a distal end of the biasing member is coupled to an internal surface of the housing (Fig. 3, connected to disc at Element 23 and to the housing at Element 24); a first control member coupled to the disk (Element 17); and a second control member coupled to the disk (Element 18). However, Yasunaga does not disclose first and second protrusions on the disk. Chu discloses an analogous medical device wherein the disk includes a first protrusion on a first side of the disk and a second protrusion on a second side of the disk, wherein the housing receives the first protrusion on a first side of the handle and the second protrusion on a second side of the handle opposite the first side (Figs. 12 and 14, first protrusion = Elements 253+282, second protrusion = Element 261, [0124] [0135]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yasunaga to include first and second protrusions such as that taught by Chu in order to set maximum allowable bending angles such as that suggested by Chu in [0135].
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795