Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 07/16/2024 and 07/23/2024 has been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa (US 20240284079) in view of Kawahara (US 12244346) and further in view of Moore (US 10903930).
Consider Claim 1, Nakagawa discloses an optical communication device that processes a WDM signal in a WDM transmission system, the optical communication device comprising: a reception circuit that receives a first WDM signal from a first node in the WDM transmission system (Figure 1, elements 11a and element 1 connected to element 11a serve as reception circuit for WDM signal 1a); and a transmission circuit that transmits a second WDM signal to a second node in the WDM transmission system (Figure 1, element 12a and Figure 2, element 37 transmitting WDM signal together act as transmission circuit), wherein the reception circuit includes a wavelength filter (Figure 2, element 11a) that extracts a plurality of input optical signals allocated in a first wavelength band from the first WDM signal (Paragraphs 0055 and 0056 where WSs passes multiplexed signal through element 11a which includes signals in different wavelength bands), a wavelength selective switch (Figure 2, element 34) that has a first input port (Figure 2, top fiber on left side of element 34), a second input port (Figure 2, fiber in middle connected to left side of element 34), a plurality of output ports (Figure 2, where element 34 has multiple output ports), and a wavelength conversion port (Figure 2, input to element 35 serves as wavelength conversion port) and an optical circuit including a wavelength converter optically coupled to the wavelength selective switch (Figure 2, element 35 is coupled to element 34), the plurality of input optical signals are guided to the first input port (Figure 1, where middle input into element 25aA has plurality of input signals in C-band), the wavelength selective switch guides an optical signal to be branched from the first WDM signal among the plurality of input optical signals to the wavelength conversion port (Figure 2, element 34 takes in input from top fiber on left side originating from element 31 where bands are separated and element 35 converts wavelength band at output), the optical circuit performs wavelength conversion from the first wavelength band to a second wavelength band on the optical signal output via the wavelength conversion port to generate a wavelength-converted optical signal (Figure 2, element 35 converts wavelength band from output of element 34), the wavelength selective switch guides each of an optical signal to be transmitted to the second node among the plurality of input optical signals and the wavelength-converted optical signal to a corresponding output port among the plurality of output ports (Figure 2, where outputs element 34 are going to element 37 which is part of transmission circuit), the optical circuit guides an optical signal allocated in the first wavelength band among optical signals output via the plurality of output ports to the transmission circuit (Figure 2, where output from middle fiber of element 34 is going to element 37 which is part of transmission circuit), but does not disclose the wavelength-converted optical signal is guided to the second input port, and guides an optical signal allocated in the second wavelength band among the optical signals output via the plurality of output ports to an access network connected to the optical communication device.
However, Kawahara discloses the wavelength-converted optical signal is guided to the second input port Figure 1, element 25aA is receiving converted wavelength band at input port) but does not disclose guiding an optical signal allocated in the second wavelength band among the optical signals output via the plurality of output ports to an access network connected to the optical communication device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Kawahara into Nakagawa to provide for more increased capacity during device operation.
However, Moore discloses guiding an optical signal allocated in the second wavelength band among the optical signals output via the plurality of output ports to an access network connected to the optical communication device (Figure 6, element 515 contains wavelengths from a waveband to be used for access network/ROADM element 520).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Moore into Kawahara and Nakagawa to enhance network flexibility.
Consider Claim 2, Nakagawa discloses The optical communication device according to claim 1, wherein the optical circuit (Figure 2, element 1) includes a second wavelength filter (Figure 2, element 31) that extracts each of the optical signal in the first wavelength band (Figure 1, top output from element 31 is first waveband) and the optical signal in the second wavelength band (Figure 1, middle output from element 31 has output in second waveband) , and at least some of the plurality of output ports are optically coupled to the second wavelength filter (Figure 1, element 31 is coupled to output ports).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Moore into Kawahara and Nakagawa to enhance network flexibility.
Consider Claim 3, Nakagawa discloses the optical communication device according to claim 1, wherein the transmission circuit includes a second wavelength selective switch (Figure 1, element 12a) that has a common output port (Figure 1, where element 12a has a common output port) and the second wavelength selective switch outputs the optical signal arriving at the transmission circuit from the reception circuit and the second wavelength-converted optical signal via the common output port (Figure 1, element 12a takes multiple signals from elements 11a-m and elements 1 and outputs them on common output port) but does not disclose a second wavelength conversion port, and a second wavelength converter optically coupled to the second wavelength conversion port, the second wavelength selective switch guides, to the second wavelength conversion port, an optical signal to be transmitted from the access network to the second node and allocated in the second wavelength band, the second wavelength converter performs wavelength conversion from the second wavelength band to the first wavelength band on the optical signal output via the second wavelength conversion port to generate a second wavelength-converted optical signal.
However, Kawahara discloses disclose a second wavelength conversion port (Figure 1, where element 26aA is coupled to element 35), and a second wavelength converter optically coupled to the second wavelength conversion port (Figure 1, where element 35 is connected to input port where signal would enter element 35), the second wavelength selective switch guides, to the second wavelength conversion port (Figure 1, element 26aA transfers signal to element 35), , the second wavelength converter performs wavelength conversion from the second wavelength band to the first wavelength band on the optical signal output via the second wavelength conversion port to generate a second wavelength-converted optical signal (Figure 1, element 35 performs wavelength band conversion from C to S on signal transmitted from element 26aA) but does not disclose an optical signal to be transmitted from the access network to the second node and allocated in the second wavelength band.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Kawahara into Nakagawa to provide for more increased capacity during device operation.
However, Moore discloses an optical signal to be transmitted from the access network to the second node and allocated in the second wavelength band (Figure 7, where ROADM element outputs C-band traffic to be transmitted from element 510 to element 520).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Moore into Kawahara and Nakagawa to enhance network flexibility.
Consider Claim 4, Nakagawa discloses an optical communication device that processes a WDM signal in a WDM transmission system, the optical communication device comprising: a reception circuit that receives a first WDM signal from a first node in the WDM transmission system (Figure 1, elements 11a and element 1 connected to element 11a serve as reception circuit for WDM signal 1a); and a transmission circuit that transmits a second WDM signal to a second node in the WDM transmission system (Figure 1, element 12a and Figure 2, element 37 transmitting WDM signal together act as transmission circuit), wherein the reception circuit includes a wavelength filter that extracts a plurality of input optical signals allocated in a first wavelength band from the first WDM signal (Figure 2, element 31 divides signal into bands), a wavelength selective switch (Figure 2, element 34) that has a first input port (Figure 2, top fiber on left side of element 34), a second input port (Figure 2, fiber in middle connected to left side of element 34), and a plurality of output ports (Figure 2, where element 34 has multiple output ports), and a wavelength converter (Figure 2, element 35) that performs wavelength conversion from the first wavelength band to a second wavelength band on the plurality of input optical signals to generate a plurality of wavelength-converted optical signals (Figure 2, where element 35 converts wavelength from first band to second band), the plurality of input optical signals are guided to the first input port (Figure 2, element 34 where top fiber to left of element 34 receives signals from a wavelength band), the wavelength selective switch guides an optical signal to be transmitted to the second node among the plurality of input signals to an output port optically coupled to the transmission circuit among the plurality of output ports (Figure 2, where output from middle fiber of element 34 is going to element 37 which is part of transmission circuit), but does not disclose the plurality of wavelength-converted optical signals are guided to the second input port and the wavelength selective switch guides an optical signal to be transmitted to an access network among the plurality of wavelength-converted optical signals to an output port optically coupled to a device connected to the access network among the plurality of output ports.
However, Kawahara discloses the plurality of wavelength-converted optical signals are guided to the second input port (Figure 1, element 25aA is receiving converted wavelength band at input port) but does not disclose wavelength selective switch guides an optical signal to be transmitted to an access network among the plurality of wavelength-converted optical signals to an output port optically coupled to a device connected to the access network among the plurality of output ports.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Kawahara into Nakagawa to provide for more increased capacity during device operation.
However, Moore discloses the wavelength switch guides an optical signal to be transmitted to an access network among the plurality of wavelength-converted optical signals to an output port optically coupled to a device connected to the access network among the plurality of output ports (Figure 6, element 515 contains wavelengths from a waveband and element 530 is guiding to be used within access network/ROADM element 520).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Moore into Nakagawa and Kawahara to enhance network flexibility.
Consider Claim 5, Nakagawa discloses the optical communication device according to claim 4, wherein the transmission circuit includes a second wavelength selective switch (Figure 1, element 12a) that has a common output port (Figure 1, where element 12a has a common output port), the second wavelength selective switch guides an optical signal arriving at the transmission circuit from the reception circuit to the common output port (Figure 2 and Paragraph 0037, element 12a takes signals from element 37, transmits them to element 12a, and outputs combined output) and the optical signal output via the common output port and the second wavelength-converted optical signal are combined (Figure 1, element 12a takes multiple signals from elements 11a-m and elements1 and outputs them on common output port) but does not disclose a second wavelength conversion port, and a second wavelength converter optically coupled to the second wavelength conversion port, the second wavelength selective switch guides to the second wavelength conversion port, an optical signal to be transmitted from the access network to the second node and allocated in the second wavelength band, the second wavelength converter performs wavelength conversion from the second wavelength band to the first wavelength band on the optical signal output via the second wavelength conversion port to generate a second wavelength-converted optical signal.
However, Kawahara discloses a second wavelength conversion port (Figure 1, where element 26aA is coupled to element 35), and a second wavelength converter optically coupled to the second wavelength conversion port (Figure 1, where element 35 is connected to input port where signal would enter element 35), the second wavelength selective switch guides to the second wavelength conversion port (Figure 1, where element 35 is connected to input port where signal would enter element 35) the second wavelength converter performs wavelength conversion from the second wavelength band to the first wavelength band on the optical signal output via the second wavelength conversion port to generate a second wavelength-converted optical signal (Figure 1, element 35 performs wavelength band conversion from C to S on signal transmitted from element 26aA) but does not disclose an optical signal to be transmitted from the access network to the second node and allocated in the second wavelength band.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Kawahara into Nakagawa to provide for more increased capacity during device operation.
However, Moore discloses an optical signal to be transmitted from the access network to the second node and allocated in the second wavelength band (Figure 7, where ROADM element outputs C-band traffic to be transmitted from element 510 to element 520).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Moore into Kawahara and Nakagawa to enhance network flexibility.
Conclusion
/ASIF SHAMEEM/Examiner, Art Unit 2634
/KENNETH N VANDERPUYE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2634