DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, 10-12, 14, 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hampel et al. (US-PGPUB 2014/0153572).
Regarding claim 1, Hampel teaches a method for data communication via a network, the method comprising: configuring, on a first computer, a first sequence comprising an ordered plurality of first blocks associated with at least one segment, wherein each first block represents a configurable data communication function [Para 49-50, plurality of packets are encapsulated and configured for data communication]; assigning one or more first blocks to a first segment and one or more other first blocks to a second segment [Para 50, packets are assigned to multiple segments where each segment is identified using sequence numbers]; initializing the first blocks of the first segment and initialising the first blocks of the second segment [Para 51, block of packets are initialized for communication]; subsequently causing a data communication between a first block of the first segment and a first block of the second segment [Para 51, 37 & 38, communication is performed using the packets]; and undertaking, using one or more of the initialised first blocks, data communication between the first computer and a second computer [Para 51, 37 & 38, communication is performed between computers using the initialized data such as encapsulation, adding headers etc.].
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Hampel teaches the first segment is associated with data communication with an application running on the first computer, and wherein the second segment is associated with the data communication between the first computer and the second computer or the first computer and another computer over a data network to thereby enable the data communication between the second computer and the application running on the first computer [Para 20-21].
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Hampel teaches configuring, on the second computer, a second sequence comprising an ordered plurality of second blocks associated with at least the first segment and the second segment, wherein each of one or more of the ordered plurality of second blocks is uniquely associated with a first block of the one or more plurality first blocks [Para 35]; and initializing the ordered plurality of second blocks and undertaking data communication between the first computer and the second computer, wherein each second block of the ordered plurality of second blocks represents a configurable data communication function [Para 35].
Regarding claims 10 and 21, Hampel teaches at least one first block of the ordered plurality of first blocks is an originating first block configured to interact with an application running on the first computer and wherein at least one second block of the ordered plurality of second blocks is an originating second block configured to interact with an application running on the second computer, such that the data communication is between a first application running on the first computer and a second application running on the second computer [Para 35].
Regarding claim 11, Hampel teaches a method for creating data communications between a plurality of applications, the method comprising: for each of one or more applications running on a first computer and for each of one or more applications running on a second computer the following processes are performed: configuring, on the first computer, a first sequence comprising an ordered plurality of first blocks associated with at least one segment, wherein each first block represents a configurable data communication function [Para 49-50, plurality of packets are encapsulated and configured for data communication]; assigning one or more first blocks to a first segment and one or more other first blocks to a second segment [Para 50, packets are assigned to multiple segments where each segment is identified using sequence numbers]; initializing the ordered plurality of first blocks of the first segment and initialising the ordered plurality of first blocks of the second segment [Para 51, block of packets are initialized for communication]; subsequently causing a data communication between a first block of the first segment and a first block of the second segment [Para 51, 37 & 38, communication is performed using the packets]; and undertaking, using one or more of the initialised first blocks, data communication between the first computer and the second computer, wherein each of the ordered plurality of first blocks represents a configurable data communication function, configuring, on the second computer, a second sequence comprising an ordered plurality of second blocks associated with at least one segment, wherein each of one or more of the ordered plurality of second blocks is uniquely associated with a first block of the one or more plurality first blocks [Para 51, 37 & 38]; and initializing the ordered plurality of second blocks and undertaking data communication between the first computer and the second computer, wherein each second block of the ordered plurality of second blocks represents a configurable data communication function, wherein at least one first block of the ordered plurality of first blocks is an originating first block configured to interact with an application running on the first computer and/or wherein at least one second block of the ordered plurality of second blocks is an originating second block configured to interact with an application running on the second computer, wherein the data communication is between a first application running on the first computer and a second application running on the second computer [Para 51 and 35-38].
Regarding claim 12, Hampel teaches a system comprising a first computer, wherein the first computer is configured to: generate a first sequence comprising an ordered plurality of first blocks associated with at least one segment, wherein each first block represents a configurable data communication function [Para 49-50, plurality of packets are encapsulated and configured for data communication]; assign one or more first blocks to a first segment and one or more other first blocks to a second segment [Para 50, packets are assigned to multiple segments where each segment is identified using sequence numbers]; initialize the ordered plurality of first blocks of the first segment and initialise the first blocks of the second segment according to the first sequence [Para 51, block of packets are initialized for communication]; subsequently cause a data communication between a first block of the first segment and a first block of the second segment [Para 51, 37 & 38, communication is performed using the packets]; and undertake data communication with a second computer using one or more of the initialised first blocks [Para 51, 37 & 38, communication is performed between computers using the initialized data such as encapsulation, adding headers etc.].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 5, 7-9, 13, 15, 16 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kalevo et al. (USPN 11,023,401) teaches the system includes a network node that has access to a data communication network. A network device is coupled in communication with the network node, and configured to be coupled in communication with a source device to provide a real-time communication link between the source device and one or more destination devices. A source client executing on the network device is configured to obtain the data to be communicated from the source device, and to communicate the data to the destination devices, by relaying the data through the network node.
Baehre (USPN 8,811,397) teaches the user terminal has a transmitting unit which transmits packetized data from packetizing unit to a predetermined gateway via a network node and via data communication network. A transmitting unit transmits the packetized data to the gateway via a network node and via data communication networks. A determination unit determines whether the packetized data arrived at the predetermined gateway. A modification unit modifies the packetized data based on output of determination unit.
McCoy et al. (USPN 8,265,0889) teaches a connection-based network structured to receive multiple packet data unit (MPDU) from a MPDU aggregating module and to communicate it to a gateway in a connection-based manner. The gateway is structured to collect selected network protocol data from the MPDU, where network protocol data includes some network protocol data included in the MPDU and not included in any of data units (DUs), apply a rule to the selected network protocol data, and selectively make a responsive reaction based upon the application of the rule to the selected network protocol data.
/Chandrahas B Patel/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464