DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the correspondences filed on 05/01/2026.
Claims 1, 9, 11, and 19 have been amended and are hereby entered.
Claims 1-9 and 11-19 are currently pending and have been examined.
This action is made Non-Final.
Examiner Request
The Applicant is requested to indicate where in the specification there is support for future claim amendments to avoid U.S.C 112(a) issues that can arise. The Examiner thanks the Applicant in advance.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objection
Claims 1 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: lines 26-27 and Claim 11: line 26 recite the limitation “a function of the plurality of protocol parameters.” “A function of the plurality of protocol parameters” is previously recited in Claim 1: lines 20-21 and Claim 11: line 18. Is the ‘function of the plurality of protocol parameters’ recited in Claim 1: lines 26-27 and Claim 11: line 26 different than ‘a function of the plurality of protocol parameters’ previously recited in Claim 1: lines 20-21 and Claim 11: line 18? It appears there is a typographical mistake since the specification only points to a single instance of a function of the plurality of protocol parameters. For compact examination purposes, Examiner interpreted the instances recited in Claim 1: lines 26-27 and Claim 11: line 26 as “the function of the plurality of protocol parameters.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. For instance, in In re Hayes Microcomputer Products, the written description requirement was satisfied because the specification disclosed the specific type of microcomputer used in the claimed invention as well as the necessary steps for implementing the claimed function. The disclosure was in sufficient detail such that one skilled in the art would know how to program the microprocessor to perform the necessary steps described in the specification. In re Hayes Microcomputer Prods., Inc. Patent Litigation, 982 F.2d 1527, 1533-34, 25 USPQ2d 1241, ___ (Fed. Cir. 1992). In the present application, claims 1 and 11 disclose “generate a first fuzzy set to represent the plurality of protocol parameters; generate a second fuzzy set to represent the efficiency score… cause a redetermination of the efficiency score as a function of the plurality of protocol parameters.” Where, “generate a first fuzzy set to represent the plurality of protocol parameters; generate a second fuzzy set to represent the efficiency score… cause a redetermination of the efficiency score as a function of the plurality of protocol parameters” is not supported in the specification as to how the applicant is “…generating… generating….. causing” in order to show possession of the invention at the time of filing. While one skilled in the art could have devised a way to accomplish this aspect of the invention, Applicant’s original disclosure lacks sufficient detail to explain how Applicant envisioned achieving the goal of “generat[ing] a first fuzzy set to represent the plurality of protocol parameters; generat[ing] a second fuzzy set to represent the efficiency score… caus[ing] a redetermination of the efficiency score as a function of the plurality of protocol parameters.” Simply stating or re-stating the claim limitation does not provide enough support to show possession. Since these important details about how the invention operates are not disclosed, it is not readily evident that Applicant has full possession of the invention at the time of filing (i.e., the original disclosure fails to provide adequate written description to support the claimed invention as a whole). Neither the specification nor the drawings disclose in detail the specific steps or algorithm needed to perform the operation. If the specification does not provide a disclosure of the computer and algorithm in sufficient detail to demonstrate to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor possessed the invention including how to program the disclosed computer to perform the claimed function, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112a, for lack of written description must be made. For more information regarding the written description requirement, see MPEP §2161.01-§2163.07(b).
Dependent claims 2-9 and 12-19 are rejected by virtue of dependency on Independent Claims 1 and 11.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of processing user metrics and transaction data to determine efficiency scores of contingent transactions without significantly more.
Examiner has identified claim 1 as the claim that represents the claimed invention presented in independent claims 1 and 11.
Claim 1 is directed to an apparatus, which is one of the statutory categories of invention; and Claim 11 is directed to a method, which is one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
Claim 1 is directed to an apparatus for generating an optimization model, the apparatus comprising: at least a processor; and a memory communicatively connected to the at least a processor, the memory containing instructions configuring the at least a processor to: generate a query configured to search for data related to a user metric, wherein the query is further configured to generate at least a keyword as a function of the user metric, wherein the query is further configured to assign a weighted value to at least an attribute of the user metric; receive the user metrics related to a user using a graphical user interface and the generated query; classify the user metrics to a plurality of protocol parameters related to a plurality of contingent transactions using a classifier trained with training data, wherein: the training data comprises correlations between exemplary user metrics and exemplary protocol parameters; and a plurality of data elements of the training data is classified to a plurality of types of the user metrics using a training data classifier, wherein the types of the user metrics comprise transaction types; determine an efficiency score of each of the contingent transactions as a function of the plurality of protocol parameters and an efficiency criterion; generate a first fuzzy set to represent the plurality of protocol parameters; generate a second fuzzy set to represent the efficiency score; compare the first fuzzy set to the second fuzzy set to determine if a degree of overlap exceeds a threshold based on the comparison to cause a redetermination of the efficiency score as a function of the plurality of protocol parameters; select a first contingent transaction of the plurality of the contingent transactions as a function of the efficiency score, wherein the first contingent transaction comprises a first set of protocol parameters of the plurality of parameters; generate the optimization model of the first contingent transaction based on the user metrics and the first set of protocol parameters; display the optimization model on the graphical user interface using an executable data structure; and generate a report for the user as a function of the executable data structure; and display the report on the graphical user interface. These series of steps describe the abstract idea of processing user metrics and transaction data to determine efficiency scores of contingent transactions, (with the exception of the italicized and bolded terms above), which is mitigating risk by processing an efficiency score for contingent transactions as a function of the plurality of protocol parameters and an efficiency criterion by determining the eligibility and level of risk associated with a potential client before assigning a client to an advisor; therefore, corresponding to a fundamental economic principle or practice (including mitigating risk). Hence, a fundamental economic principle or practice (mitigating risk) is a Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. The abstract idea is also the processing of transaction data of contingent transaction payment data to determine an efficiency score of each of the contingent transactions. Therefore, a commercial interaction is also a Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. The system limitations, e.g., an optimization model, apparatus, processor, memory, graphical user interface, classifier, training data classifier, and executable data structure do not necessarily restrict the claim from reciting an abstract idea. Thus, claim 1 recites an abstract idea (Step 2A-Prong 1: YES).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements of an optimization model, apparatus, processor, memory, graphical user interface, classifier, training data classifier, and executable data structure are no more than simply applying the abstract idea using generic computer elements. The additional elements listed above are all recited at a high level of generality and under their broadest reasonable interpretation comprises a generic computing arrangement. The presence of a generic computer arrangement is nothing more than to implement the claimed invention (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, the recitations of additional elements do not meaningfully apply the abstract idea and hence do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Thus, claim 1 does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO).
Claim 1 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements of an optimization model, apparatus, processor, memory, graphical user interface, classifier, training data classifier, and executable data structure are recited at a high level of generality in that it results in no more than simply applying the abstract idea using generic computer elements. The additional elements when considered separately and as an ordered combination do not amount to add significantly more as these limitations provide nothing more than to simply apply the exception in a generic computer environment (Step 2B: NO). Thus, claim 1 is not patent eligible.
Similar arguments can be extended to the other independent claim, claim 11; and hence claim 11 is rejected on similar grounds as claim 1.
Dependent claims 2-9 and 12-19 are directed to an apparatus and a method, respectively, which recites a series of steps that describe the abstract idea of processing user metrics and transaction data to determine efficiency scores of contingent transactions. Furthermore, dependent claims 5, 8-9, 15, and 18-19 are directed to an apparatus and a method, which recites the steps: “wherein determining the efficiency score comprises: generating scoring training data, wherein the scoring training data comprises correlations between protocol parameters inputs and efficiency score outputs; training a scoring machine-learning model using the scoring training data; and determining the efficiency score using the trained scoring machine-learning model; wherein the optimization model comprises a pecuniary data structure; an optimization machine-learning model; and wherein generating the optimization model comprises: receiving optimization training data comprising a plurality of user metrics inputs and first set of protocol parameter inputs correlated to a plurality of optimization model outputs; training an optimization machine-learning model using the optimization training data; and generating the optimization model based on the user metrics and the first set of protocol parameters.” These series of steps describe the abstract idea of processing user metrics and transaction data to determine efficiency scores of contingent transactions (with the exception of the italicized and bolded terms above), which is mitigating risk by processing an efficiency score for contingent transactions as a function of the plurality of protocol parameters and an efficiency criterion by determining the eligibility and level of risk associated with a potential client before assigning a client to an advisor; therefore, corresponding to a fundamental economic principle or practice (including mitigating risk). Hence, a fundamental economic principle or practice (mitigating risk) is a Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. The abstract idea is also the processing of transaction data of contingent transaction payment data to determine an efficiency score of each of the contingent transactions. Therefore, a commercial interaction is also a Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. Thus, claims 2-9 and 12-19 are directed to an abstract idea. The additional elements of an optimization model, apparatus, processor, memory, graphical user interface, classifier, training data classifier, executable data structure, scoring machine-learning model, trained scoring machine-learning model, pecuniary data structure, and optimization machine-learning model are no more than simply applying the abstract idea using generic computer elements. The presence of a generic computer arrangement is nothing more than to implement the claimed invention (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, the recitations of additional elements do not meaningfully apply the abstract idea and hence do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Furthermore, the additional elements: an optimization model, apparatus, processor, memory, graphical user interface, classifier, training data classifier, executable data structure, scoring machine-learning model, trained scoring machine-learning model, pecuniary data structure, and optimization machine-learning model, do not amount to add significantly more as these limitations provide nothing more than to simply apply the exception in a generic computer environment.
Dependent claims 2-9 and 12-19 have further defined the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claims: Claims 1 and 11; and thus correspond to Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, and are abstract in nature for the reason presented above. The dependent claims 2-9 and 12-19 do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, claims 2-9 and 12-19 are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Thus, claims 1-9 and 11-19 are not patent-eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palakodety (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2023/0269090 A1 hereinafter “Palakodety”), in view of Bireley (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2023/0360121 A1; hereinafter “Bireley”), and further in view of Sharma (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2022/0100740 A1; hereinafter “Sharma”).
Claims 1 and 11:
Palakodety teaches:
An apparatus for generating an optimization model, the apparatus comprising: at least a processor; and a memory communicatively connected to the at least a processor, the memory containing instructions configuring the at least a processor to: (Palakodety, An apparatus for secure multiparty computations for machine-learning is presented. The apparatus includes at least a processor and a memory communicatively connected to the at least a processor. The memory contains instructions configuring the at least a processor to submit a secure multiparty computation request onto an immutable sequential listing (See, Para. Abstract); Joint training protocol 156 may incorporate stacking multiple machine-learning models to produce joint model 168. A “joint model,” as used in this disclosure, is an optimized predictive model trained by each party member of secure multiparty computation request 104. (See, Para. 17 and 43));
receive the user metrics related to a user using a graphical user interface and [the generated query]; (Palakodety, the secure multiparty computation request includes a contingent payment and an authenticity commitment of a first private dataset, receive at least a participant commitment from each participating device of a quorum of participating devices, generate a first localized model as a function of the first private dataset (See, Abstract; Para. 39); input device 932 may be utilized as a user selection device for selecting one or more graphical representations in a graphical interface (See, Para. 52, 107-109; Fig. 1); An example of a blockchain is the BITCOIN blockchain used to record BITCOIN transactions and values. (See, Para. 68));
classify the user metrics to a plurality of protocol parameters related to a plurality of contingent transactions using a classifier trained with training data, wherein: the training data comprises correlations between exemplary user metrics and exemplary protocol parameters; and (Palakodety, a data entry including some textual data, a person's name may be identified by reference to a list, dictionary, or other compendium of terms, permitting ad-hoc categorization by machine-learning algorithms, and/or automated association of data in the data entry with descriptors or into a given format. The ability to categorize data entries automatedly may enable the same training data 804 to be made applicable for two or more distinct machine-learning algorithms as described in further detail below. Training data 804 used by machine-learning module 800 may correlate any input data as described in this disclosure to any output data (See, Para. 45, 86-96; Fig. 1 and 8); At least a supervised machine-learning process 828, as defined herein, include algorithms that receive a training set relating a number of inputs to a number of outputs, and seek to find one or more mathematical relations relating inputs to outputs, where each of the one or more mathematical relations is optimal according to some criterion specified to the algorithm using some scoring function. For instance, a supervised learning algorithm may include any inputs as described above as inputs, any outputs as described above as outputs, and a scoring function representing a desired form of relationship to be detected between inputs and outputs; scoring function may, for instance, seek to maximize the probability that a given input and/or combination of elements inputs is associated with a given output to minimize the probability that a given input is not associated with a given output. Scoring function may be expressed as a risk function representing an “expected loss” of an algorithm relating inputs to outputs, where loss is computed as an error function representing a degree to which a prediction generated by the relation is incorrect when compared to a given input-output pair provided in training data 804. (See, Para. 94-96; Fig. 8); An example of a blockchain is the BITCOIN blockchain used to record BITCOIN transactions and values. (See, Para. 68); verify if the final result represented by training protocol datum is not biased and/or unfairly skewed by a participating device's data; classification method that utilizes feature similarity to analyze how closely out-of-sample-features resemble training data to classify input data to one or more clusters and/or categories of features as represented in training data….determining the most common classifier of the entries in the database, and classifying the known sample; this may be performed recursively and/or iteratively to generate a classifier that may be used to classify input data as further samples. (See, Para.85-93));
a plurality of data elements of the training data is classified to a plurality of types of the user metrics using a training data classifier, wherein the types of the user metrics comprise transaction types; (Palakodety, verify if the final result represented by training protocol datum is not biased and/or unfairly skewed by a participating device's data; classification method that utilizes feature similarity to analyze how closely out-of-sample-features resemble training data to classify input data to one or more clusters and/or categories of features as represented in training data….determining the most common classifier of the entries in the database, and classifying the known sample; this may be performed recursively and/or iteratively to generate a classifier that may be used to classify input data as further samples. (See, Para. 45, 86-96; Fig. 1 and 8); An example of a blockchain is the BITCOIN blockchain used to record BITCOIN transactions and values. (See, Para. 4, 18, 55, 68));
determine an efficiency score of each of the contingent transactions as a function of the plurality of protocol parameters and an efficiency criterion; (Palakodety, At least a supervised machine-learning process 828, as defined herein, include algorithms that receive a training set relating a number of inputs to a number of outputs, and seek to find one or more mathematical relations relating inputs to outputs, where each of the one or more mathematical relations is optimal according to some criterion specified to the algorithm using some scoring function. For instance, a supervised learning algorithm may include any inputs as described above as inputs, any outputs as described above as outputs, and a scoring function representing a desired form of relationship to be detected between inputs and outputs; scoring function may, for instance, seek to maximize the probability that a given input and/or combination of elements inputs is associated with a given output to minimize the probability that a given input is not associated with a given output. Scoring function may be expressed as a risk function representing an “expected loss” of an algorithm relating inputs to outputs, where loss is computed as an error function representing a degree to which a prediction generated by the relation is incorrect when compared to a given input-output pair provided in training data 804.(See, Abstract; Para. 94-96; Fig. 8));
generate a first fuzzy set to represent the plurality of protocol parameters; (Palakodety, joint training datum 164 and/or joint model 168 may be generated as a function of any machine-learning process, including without limitation stochastic gradient descent, least-squares regression, weighted average, and the like thereof.… joint training datum 164 and/or joint model 168 may be verified based on an accuracy threshold 172 ….. accuracy threshold 172 may include a fuzzy set … joint model 168 may be required to fall within accuracy threshold 172. Ensuring that joint model 168 is in compliance with acceptance criteria may, in some cases, constitute verification; A first fuzzy set 504 may be represented, without limitation, according to a first membership function 508 representing a probability that an input falling on a first range of values 512 is a member of the first fuzzy set 504, (See, Para. 11, 29, 43-46, 74-76; Fig. 1, 5, 8; Abstract));
generate a second fuzzy set to represent the efficiency score; (Palakodety, joint training datum 164 and/or joint model 168 may be generated as a function of any machine-learning process, including without limitation stochastic gradient descent, least-squares regression, weighted average, and the like thereof.… joint training datum 164 and/or joint model 168 may be verified based on an accuracy threshold 172 ….. accuracy threshold 172 may include a fuzzy set … joint model 168 may be required to fall within accuracy threshold 172. Ensuring that joint model 168 is in compliance with acceptance criteria may, in some cases, constitute verification; A second fuzzy set 516, which may represent any value which may be represented by first fuzzy set 504, may be defined by a second membership function 520 on a second range 524; second range 524 may be identical and/or overlap with first range 512 and/or may be combined with first range via Cartesian product or the like to generate a mapping permitting evaluation overlap of first fuzzy set 504 and second fuzzy set 516…… A probability at 528 and/or 532 may be compared to a threshold 540 to determine whether a positive match is indicated. Threshold 540 may, in a non-limiting example, represent a degree of match between first fuzzy set 504 and second fuzzy set 516, and/or single values therein with each other or with either set, which is sufficient for purposes of the matching process…. to determine an overall degree of match, which may be used to rank resources; (See, Para. 11, 29, 43-46, 74-76, 95; Fig. 1, 5, 8; Abstract));
compare the first fuzzy set to the second fuzzy set to determine if a degree of overlap exceeds a threshold based on the comparison to cause a redetermination of the efficiency score as a function of the plurality of protocol parameters; (Palakodety, fuzzy set comparison 500 may include a verification of any private dataset and/or model of an issuer of a secure multiparty computation request based on accuracy threshold as described above….. Where first fuzzy set 504 and second fuzzy set 516 have a region 228 that overlaps, first membership function 508 and second membership function 520 may intersect at a point 532 representing a probability, as defined on probability interval, of a match between first fuzzy set 504 and second fuzzy set 516…..a degree of match between fuzzy sets may be used to rank one resource against another. For instance, if two or more localized models of a quorum of participating devices have fuzzy sets matching a probabilistic outcome fuzzy set by having a degree of overlap exceeding a threshold (See, Para. 11, 29, 43-46, 74-76, 95; Fig. 1, 5, 8; Abstract));
select a first contingent transaction of the plurality of the contingent transactions as a function of the efficiency score, wherein the first contingent transaction comprises a first set of protocol parameters of the plurality of parameters; (Palakodety, A “confirmation commitment,” as used in this disclosure, is a cryptographic commitment to be posted onto immutable sequential listing 144 that proves that the private dataset and/or localized model of a participating device achieves a minimum level of accuracy as denoted by accuracy threshold 172; For instance, even if a successful multiparty computation is achieved, if one or more participating devices behaved inappropriately by not participating with integrity and/or providing manipulated data, the multiparty transaction of contingent payment 108 may be revoked in which each participating device must forfeit any outstanding contingent payment 108 and surety bond 136. This process may be governed by a smart contract embedded in secure multiparty computation request 104. In another non-limiting example, in the event each participating device and computing device 104 behaved appropriately, each participating device submits confirmation commitment 176 and deploys a proof of performance onto immutable sequential listing 144, enabling a multiparty transaction of contingent payment 108. Thus, contingent payment 108 may be fulfilled and distributed among each participating device. This process may also be governed by a smart contract embedded in secure multiparty computation request 104 (See, Abstract; Para. 33, 34, 44, 45, 54, 55, 75, and 76; Fig. 1, 8); verification may include comparing a product, such as without limitation, a private dataset, joint training datum 164, and/or joint model 168 against one or more acceptance criteria. For example, in some cases, joint model 168 may be required to fall within accuracy threshold 172. Ensuring that joint model 168 is in compliance with acceptance criteria may, in some cases, constitute verification. In some cases, verification may include ensuring that the private dataset used by the issuer of secure multiparty computation 100 achieves a minimum accuracy level comparable to the private datasets provided by the quorum of participating devices. At least a supervised machine-learning process 828, as defined herein, include algorithms that receive a training set relating a number of inputs to a number of outputs, and seek to find one or more mathematical relations relating inputs to outputs, where each of the one or more mathematical relations is optimal according to some criterion specified to the algorithm using some scoring function. For instance, a supervised learning algorithm may include any inputs as described above as inputs, any outputs as described above as outputs, and a scoring function representing a desired form of relationship to be detected between inputs and outputs (See, Para. 45, 94-96; Fig. 1 and 8); In another non-limiting example, contingent payment 108 may include an up-front initial payment of 50% of the payment amount to be given to the participating parties wherein the remaining payment amount is given as a result of the completion of secure multiparty computation request 104 (See, Para. 31-36; Fig. 1));
generate the optimization model of the first contingent transaction based on the user metrics and the first set of protocol parameters. (Palakodety, the apparatus submits a cryptographic commitment to an immutable sequential listing with a smart contract associated with a contingent payment. The immutable sequential listing may be public, at least in part, for any institution to view and participate in. The smart contract governs the incentive and the contingent payment to be provided to participating party members. Aspects of the present disclosure can also include submitting a smart contract governing the MPC protocol based on receiving a cryptographic commitment of a quorum of party members. In an embodiment, the apparatus incorporates a surety bond attached to the smart contract to ensure each party member of the quorum is liable for their individual participation in the MPC protocol and that upon the success of the MPC protocol, the contingent payment will be fulfilled. (See, Para. 18, 30, 33, 45, and 55; Fig. 1, 8; Abstract)).
Palakodety does not specifically teach displaying the optimization model on the graphical user interface using an executable data structure; and generating a report for the user as a function of the executable data structure; and display the report on the graphical user interface.
However, Bireley teaches the following limitations:
display the optimization model on the graphical user interface using an executable data structure; and (Bireley, The systems and methods can include an interactive graphical user interface (GUI) that provides one or more automated recommendations (e.g., in a report) based on the analysis scoring model. A user can approve or decline one or more recommendations presented in the GUI by entering instructions through the GUI; The model training can also create and adjust the weighting applied to various model variables, which represent respective category tags, such that the resulting scoring model 140 includes a machine learning scoring model optimized to achieve (e.g., predict) the desired loan outcome. (See, Abstract; Para. 25-27, 40-41, 67, 72, 81-82, 91));
generate a report for the user as a function of the executable data structure; and display the report on the graphical user interface. (Bireley, The systems and methods can include an interactive graphical user interface (GUI) that provides one or more automated recommendations (e.g., in a report) based on the analysis scoring model. A user can approve or decline one or more recommendations presented in the GUI by entering instructions through the GUI; The model training can also create and adjust the weighting applied to various model variables, which represent respective category tags, such that the resulting scoring model 140 includes a machine learning scoring model optimized to achieve (e.g., predict) the desired loan outcome. (See, Abstract; Para. 25-27, 40-41, 67, 72, 81-82, 91)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Palakodety with the features of Bireley’s system because this system “include[s] instructions programmed to apply rules to the feature data and provide a first hierarchical decision. The first hierarchical decision can be based on execution of a rule set, which may be customized to align with underwriting criteria used by the lender. For instance, the first hierarchical decision can represent an automatic denial for the borrower or enable further consideration and processing based on the scoring model. The scoring model can be applied to process the transaction and feature data and compute a score having a value representing the credit worthiness and/or likelihood of loan default by the borrower. The score can provide a second hierarchical decision, which can be a recommendation to deny or approve the borrower or flag the borrower for further review by the user (e.g., an agent). The systems and methods can include an interactive graphical user interface (GUI) that provides one or more automated recommendations (e.g., in a report) based on the analysis scoring model. A user can approve or decline one or more recommendations presented in the GUI by entering instructions through the GUI.” (Bireley, Para. 25).
Palakodety and Bireley do not specifically teach generate a query configured to search for data related to a user metric, wherein the query is further configured to generate at least a keyword as a function of the user metric, wherein the query is further configured to assign a weighted value to at least an attribute of the user metric; and the generated query.
However, Sharma teaches the following limitations:
generate a query configured to search for data related to a user metric, wherein the query is further configured to generate at least a keyword as a function of the user metric, wherein the query is further configured to assign a weighted value to at least an attribute of the user metric; (Sharma, receive a metric request descriptor from a client device, the metric request descriptor including at least information for creating a metric query and an identifier of an electronic table. …. automatically generating a custom metric query based on the information for creating the metric query and one or more predefined metric templates …..the instructions cause the processor to automatically generate a custom metric query based on the information for creating the metric query and one or more predefined metric templates and create an electronic data table based on the identifier of the electronic (See, Abstract; Para. 5-6, 53, 77-78, 84; Fig. 1, 5));
and the generated query. (Sharma, receive a metric request descriptor from a client device, the metric request descriptor including at least information for creating a metric query and an identifier of an electronic table. …. automatically generating a custom metric query based on the information for creating the metric query and one or more predefined metric templates ….. the instructions cause the processor to automatically generate a custom metric query based on the information for creating the metric query and one or more predefined metric templates and create an electronic data table based on the identifier of the electronic (See, Abstract; Para. 5-6, 53, 77-78, 84; Fig. 1, 5)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Palakodety and Bireley with the features of Sharma’s system because “these data metrics and/or experiments are created using complex database queries, which extract relevant data from event logs and transform the extracted data for further analysis. Further, there is usually no central location to manage or view the already created metrics. Because of this, developers may create duplicate metrics, which initiate duplicate scheduled data extractions and data transformation, unnecessarily wasting precious network and storage resources.” (Sharma, Para. 4).
Claims 2 and 12:
Palakodety teaches:
classifying the user metrics comprises determining causative and predictive links between protocol parameters of the plurality of sets of protocol parameters and a transaction history using a machine learning process, wherein the user metrics comprises the transaction history. (Palakodety, a data entry including some textual data, a person's name may be identified by reference to a list, dictionary, or other compendium of terms, permitting ad-hoc categorization by machine-learning algorithms, and/or automated association of data in the data entry with descriptors or into a given format. The ability to categorize data entries automatedly may enable the same training data 804 to be made applicable for two or more distinct machine-learning algorithms as described in further detail below. Training data 804 used by machine-learning module 800 may correlate any input data as described in this disclosure to any output data (See, Para. 45, 86-96; Fig. 1 and 8); At least a supervised machine-learning process 828, as defined herein, include algorithms that receive a training set relating a number of inputs to a number of outputs, and seek to find one or more mathematical relations relating inputs to outputs, where each of the one or more mathematical relations is optimal according to some criterion specified to the algorithm using some scoring function. For instance, a supervised learning algorithm may include any inputs as described above as inputs, any outputs as described above as outputs, and a scoring function representing a desired form of relationship to be detected between inputs and outputs; scoring function may, for instance, seek to maximize the probability that a given input and/or combination of elements inputs is associated with a given output to minimize the probability that a given input is not associated with a given output. Scoring function may be expressed as a risk function representing an “expected loss” of an algorithm relating inputs to outputs, where loss is computed as an error function representing a degree to which a prediction generated by the relation is incorrect when compared to a given input-output pair provided in training data 804. (See, Para. 94-96; Fig. 8); An example of a blockchain is the BITCOIN blockchain used to record BITCOIN transactions and values. (See, Para. 68); verify if the final result represented by training protocol datum is not biased and/or unfairly skewed by a participating device's data; classification method that utilizes feature similarity to analyze how closely out-of-sample-features resemble training data to classify input data to one or more clusters and/or categories of features as represented in training data….determining the most common classifier of the entries in the database, and classifying the known sample; this may be performed recursively and/or iteratively to generate a classifier that may be used to classify input data as further samples. (See, Para.85-93)).
Claims 3 and 13:
Palakodety teaches:
wherein selecting the first contingent transaction comprises comparing the efficiency score to a predetermined threshold to accept or eliminate the first set of protocol parameters. (Palakodety, A “confirmation commitment,” as used in this disclosure, is a cryptographic commitment to be posted onto immutable sequential listing 144 that proves that the private dataset and/or localized model of a participating device achieves a minimum level of accuracy as denoted by accuracy threshold 172; For instance, even if a successful multiparty computation is achieved, if one or more participating devices behaved inappropriately by not participating with integrity and/or providing manipulated data, the multiparty transaction of contingent payment 108 may be revoked in which each participating device must forfeit any outstanding contingent payment 108 and surety bond 136. This process may be governed by a smart contract embedded in secure multiparty computation request 104. In another non-limiting example, in the event each participating device and computing device 104 behaved appropriately, each participating device submits confirmation commitment 176 and deploys a proof of performance onto immutable sequential listing 144, enabling a multiparty transaction of contingent payment 108. Thus, contingent payment 108 may be fulfilled and distributed among each participating device. This process may also be governed by a smart contract embedded in secure multiparty computation request 104 (See, Abstract; Para. 33, 34, 44, 45, 54, 55, 75, and 76; Fig. 1, 8); verification may include comparing a product, such as without limitation, a private dataset, joint training datum 164, and/or joint model 168 against one or more acceptance criteria. For example, in some cases, joint model 168 may be required to fall within accuracy threshold 172. Ensuring that joint model 168 is in compliance with acceptance criteria may, in some cases, constitute verification. In some cases, verification may include ensuring that the private dataset used by the issuer of secure multiparty computation 100 achieves a minimum accuracy level comparable to the private datasets provided by the quorum of participating devices. At least a supervised machine-learning process 828, as defined herein, include algorithms that receive a training set relating a number of inputs to a number of outputs, and seek to find one or more mathematical relations relating inputs to outputs, where each of the one or more mathematical relations is optimal according to some criterion specified to the algorithm using some scoring function. For instance, a supervised learning algorithm may include any inputs as described above as inputs, any outputs as described above as outputs, and a scoring function representing a desired form of relationship to be detected between inputs and outputs (See, Para. 45, 94-96; Fig. 1 and 8); In another non-limiting example, contingent payment 108 may include an up-front initial payment of 50% of the payment amount to be given to the participating parties wherein the remaining payment amount is given as a result of the completion of secure multiparty computation request 104 (See, Para. 31-36; Fig. 1)).
Claims 4 and 14:
Palakodety teaches:
wherein the memory contains instructions further configuring the at least a processor to display a color coded efficiency score to indicate a relationship between the predetermined threshold and the efficiency score. (Palakodety, A “confirmation commitment,” as used in this disclosure, is a cryptographic commitment to be posted onto immutable sequential listing 144 that proves that the private dataset and/or localized model of a participating device achieves a minimum level of accuracy as denoted by accuracy threshold 172; For instance, even if a successful multiparty computation is achieved, if one or more participating devices behaved inappropriately by not participating with integrity and/or providing manipulated data, the multiparty transaction of contingent payment 108 may be revoked in which each participating device must forfeit any outstanding contingent payment 108 and surety bond 136. This process may be governed by a smart contract embedded in secure multiparty computation request 104. In another non-limiting example, in the event each participating device and computing device 104 behaved appropriately, each participating device submits confirmation commitment 176 and deploys a proof of performance onto immutable sequential listing 144, enabling a multiparty transaction of contingent payment 108. Thus, contingent payment 108 may be fulfilled and distributed among each participating device. This process may also be governed by a smart contract embedded in secure multiparty computation request 104 (See, Para.33, 34, 44, 45, 54, 55, 75, and 76; Fig. 1, 8)).
Claims 5 and 15:
Palakodety teaches:
wherein determining the efficiency score comprises: generating scoring training data, wherein the scoring training data comprises correlations between protocol parameters inputs and efficiency score outputs; (Palakodety, At least a supervised machine-learning process 828, as defined herein, include algorithms that receive a training set relating a number of inputs to a number of outputs, and seek to find one or more mathematical relations relating inputs to outputs, where each of the one or more mathematical relations is optimal according to some criterion specified to the algorithm using some scoring function. For instance, a supervised learning algorithm may include any inputs as described above as inputs, any outputs as described above as outputs, and a scoring function representing a desired form of relationship to be detected between inputs and outputs; scoring function may, for instance, seek to maximize the probability that a given input and/or combination of elements inputs is associated with a given output to minimize the probability that a given input is not associated with a given output. Scoring function may be expressed as a risk function representing an “expected loss” of an algorithm relating inputs to outputs, where loss is computed as an error function representing a degree to which a prediction generated by the relation is incorrect when compared to a given input-output pair provided in training data 804.(See, Para.94-96; Fig. 8));
training a scoring machine-learning model using the scoring training data; and (Palakodety, At least a supervised machine-learning process 828, as defined herein, include algorithms that receive a training set relating a number of inputs to a number of outputs, and seek to find one or more mathematical relations relating inputs to outputs, where each of the one or more mathematical relations is optimal according to some criterion specified to the algorithm using some scoring function. For instance, a supervised learning algorithm may include any inputs as described above as inputs, any outputs as described above as outputs, and a scoring function representing a desired form of relationship to be detected between inputs and outputs; scoring function may, for instance, seek to maximize the probability that a given input and/or combination of elements inputs is associated with a given output to minimize the probability that a given input is not associated with a given output. Scoring function may be expressed as a risk function representing an “expected loss” of an algorithm relating inputs to outputs, where loss is computed as an error function representing a degree to which a prediction generated by the relation is incorrect when compared to a given input-output pair provided in training data 804.(See, Para.94-96; Fig. 8));
determining the efficiency score using the trained scoring machine-learning model. (Palakodety, verification may include comparing a product, such as without limitation, a private dataset, joint training datum 164, and/or joint model 168 against one or more acceptance criteria. For example, in some cases, joint model 168 may be required to fall within accuracy threshold 172. Ensuring that joint model 168 is in compliance with acceptance criteria may, in some cases, constitute verification. In some cases, verification may include ensuring that the private dataset used by the issuer of secure multiparty computation 100 achieves a minimum accuracy level comparable to the private datasets provided by the quorum of participating devices. At least a supervised machine-learning process 828, as defined herein, include algorithms that receive a training set relating a number of inputs to a number of outputs, and seek to find one or more mathematical relations relating inputs to outputs, where each of the one or more mathematical relations is optimal according to some criterion specified to the algorithm using some scoring function. For instance, a supervised learning algorithm may include any inputs as described above as inputs, any outputs as described above as outputs, and a scoring function representing a desired form of relationship to be detected between inputs and outputs (See, Para.45, 94-96; Fig. 1 and 8)).
Claims 6 and 16:
Palakodety teaches:
wherein determining the efficiency score further comprises: generating a weight for each of the plurality of sets of protocol parameters of the plurality of contingent transactions based on significance relative to the efficiency score; and iteratively training the scoring machine-learning model using the scoring training data and the weight. (Palakodety, a data entry including some textual data, a person's name may be identified by reference to a list, dictionary, or other compendium of terms, permitting ad-hoc categorization by machine-learning algorithms, and/or automated association of data in the data entry with descriptors or into a given format. The ability to categorize data entries automatedly may enable the same training data 804 to be made applicable for two or more distinct machine-learning algorithms as described in further detail below. Training data 804 used by machine-learning module 800 may correlate any input data as described in this disclosure to any output data (See, Para. 45, 86-93; Fig. 1 and 8); At least a supervised machine-learning process 828, as defined herein, include algorithms that receive a training set relating a number of inputs to a number of outputs, and seek to find one or more mathematical relations relating inputs to outputs, where each of the one or more mathematical relations is optimal according to some criterion specified to the algorithm using some scoring function. For instance, a supervised learning algorithm may include any inputs as described above as inputs, any outputs as described above as outputs, and a scoring function representing a desired form of relationship to be detected between inputs and outputs; scoring function may, for instance, seek to maximize the probability that a given input and/or combination of elements inputs is associated with a given output to minimize the probability that a given input is not associated with a given output. Scoring function may be expressed as a risk function representing an “expected loss” of an algorithm relating inputs to outputs, where loss is computed as an error function representing a degree to which a prediction generated by the relation is incorrect when compared to a given input-output pair provided in training data 804.(See, Para. 94-96; Fig. 8)).
Claims 7 and 17:
Palakodety teaches:
wherein the optimization model comprises one or more regulatory elements. (Palakodety, An apparatus for secure multiparty computations for machine-learning is presented……wherein the secure multiparty computation request includes a contingent payment and an authenticity commitment of a first private dataset, receive at least a participant commitment from each participating device of a quorum of participating devices, generate a first localized model as a function of the first private dataset, and perform a joint training protocol as a function of the first localized model and a second localized model from the quorum of participating devices, wherein the joint training protocol includes generating a joint training datum; A “joint model,” as used in this disclosure, is an optimized predictive model trained by each party member of secure multiparty computation request 104. (See, Abstract; Para.17, 43); the apparatus submits a cryptographic commitment to an immutable sequential listing with a smart contract associated with a contingent payment. The immutable sequential listing may be public, at least in part, for any institution to view and participate in. The smart contract governs the incentive and the contingent payment to be provided to participating party members. Aspects of the present disclosure can also include submitting a smart contract governing the MPC protocol based on receiving a cryptographic commitment of a quorum of party members. In an embodiment, the apparatus incorporates a surety bond attached to the smart contract to ensure each party member of the quorum is liable for their individual participation in the MPC protocol and that upon the success of the MPC protocol, the contingent payment will be fulfilled. (See, Para. 18, 30, 33, and 55; Fig. 1)).
Claims 8 and 18:
wherein the optimization model comprises a pecuniary data structure. (Palakodety, An apparatus for secure multiparty computations for machine-learning is presented……wherein the secure multiparty computation request includes a contingent payment and an authenticity commitment of a first private dataset, receive at least a participant commitment from each participating device of a quorum of participating devices, generate a first localized model as a function of the first private dataset, and perform a joint training protocol as a function of the first localized model and a second localized model from the quorum of participating devices, wherein the joint training protocol includes generating a joint training datum; A “joint model,” as used in this disclosure, is an optimized predictive model trained by each party member of secure multiparty computation request 104. (See, Abstract; Para.17, 43)).
Claims 9 and 19:
Palakodety teaches:
wherein generating the optimization model comprises: receiving optimization training data comprising a plurality of user metrics inputs and first set of protocol parameter inputs correlated to a plurality of optimization model outputs; training an optimization machine-learning model using the optimization training data; and generating the optimization model based on the user metrics and the first set of protocol parameters. (Palakodety, a data entry including some textual data, a person's name may be identified by reference to a list, dictionary, or other compendium of terms, permitting ad-hoc categorization by machine-learning algorithms, and/or automated association of data in the data entry with descriptors or into a given format. The ability to categorize data entries automatedly may enable the same training data 804 to be made applicable for two or more distinct machine-learning algorithms as described in further detail below. Training data 804 used by machine-learning module 800 may correlate any input data as described in this disclosure to any output data (See, Para. 45, 86-96; Fig. 1 and 8); At least a supervised machine-learning process 828, as defined herein, include algorithms that receive a training set relating a number of inputs to a number of outputs, and seek to find one or more mathematical relations relating inputs to outputs, where each of the one or more mathematical relations is optimal according to some criterion specified to the algorithm using some scoring function. For instance, a supervised learning algorithm may include any inputs as described above as inputs, any outputs as described above as outputs, and a scoring function representing a desired form of relationship to be detected between inputs and outputs; scoring function may, for instance, seek to maximize the probability that a given input and/or combination of elements inputs is associated with a given output to minimize the probability that a given input is not associated with a given output. Scoring function may be expressed as a risk function representing an “expected loss” of an algorithm relating inputs to outputs, where loss is computed as an error function representing a degree to which a prediction generated by the relation is incorrect when compared to a given input-output pair provided in training data 804.(See, Para.94-96; Fig. 8)).
Response to Arguments
With respect to the objection of claims 1, 9, 11, and 19 made in the Final Office Action mailed on 03/26/2026, the objections are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s arguments/remarks made in an amendment filed on 05/01/2026. However, new claim objections have been given with regards to Claims 1 and 11. In view of the grounds for the claim objections presented above in this office action, appropriate correction is required.
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/01/2026 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive due to the following reasons:
With respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101, Applicant arguments are moot in view of the grounds of rejections presented above in this office action. The arguments are addressed to the extent they apply to the amended claims.
Applicant argues that “a fuzzy set is generally directed to a representation of uncertainty or graded membership, not to a “certain method of organizing human activities.” As stated above, the grouping is limited to activity that falls within the enumerated sub-groupings of fundamental economic principles or practices, commercial or legal interactions, managing personal behavior, and relationships or interactions between people. Conversely, a fuzzy set is a technical data structure used by a computing system to classify, infer, or process uncertain information. …… amended claim 1 does not recite a method of organizing human activity or any other judicial exception under Step 2A, Prong One. Instead, it is directed to a specific technical application of pattern recognition using fuzzy sets of two different datasets to improve downstream selections of a contingent transaction. Therefore, Applicant submits that the independent claim 1 is not directed to an abstract idea of a method of organizing human activity, and respectfully requests withdrawal of these Section 101 rejections."
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Under Step 2A: Prong I, Examiner respectfully notes that claim 1, as amended, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of processing of transaction data of contingent transaction payment data to determine an efficiency score of each of the contingent transactions; without significantly more. As previously discussed in the Final Office Action- dated 03/12/2026, the series of steps recited in claim 1, as amended, describe the abstract idea of processing of transaction data of contingent transaction payment data to determine an efficiency score of each of the contingent transactions, which is mitigating risk by processing an efficiency score for contingent transactions as a function of the plurality of protocol parameters and an efficiency criterion by determining the eligibility and level of risk associated with a potential client before assigning a client to an advisor; therefore, corresponding to a fundamental economic principle or practice (including mitigating risk). Hence, a fundamental economic principle or practice (mitigating risk) is a Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. The abstract idea is also the processing of transaction data of contingent transaction payment data to determine an efficiency score of each of the contingent transactions. Therefore, a commercial interaction is also a Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. Furthermore, the system limitations, e.g., an optimization model, apparatus, processor, memory, graphical user interface, classifier, training data classifier, and executable data structure, do not necessarily restrict the claim from reciting an abstract idea.
Furthermore, Examiner respectfully notes that the claims are first analyzed in the absence of technology to determine if it recites an abstract idea. The additional limitations of technology are then considered to determine if it restricts the claim from reciting an abstract idea. In this case, and as discussed in the Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility, it is determined that the additional limitations of technology do not necessarily restrict the claim from reciting an abstract idea. Furthermore, as previously noted in the Final Office Action- dated 03/12/2026, Examiner respectfully notes that the recited features in the limitations: “generate a query configured to search for data related to a user metric, wherein the query is further configured to generate at least a keyword as a function of the user metric, wherein the query is further configured to assign a weighted value to at least an attribute of the user metric; receive the user metrics related to a user using a graphical user interface and the generated query; classify the user metrics to a plurality of protocol parameters related to a plurality of contingent transactions using a classifier trained with training data, wherein: the training data comprises correlations between exemplary user metrics and exemplary protocol parameters; and a plurality of data elements of the training data is classified to a plurality of types of the user metrics using a training data classifier, wherein the types of the user metrics comprise transaction types; determine an efficiency score of each of the contingent transactions as a function of the plurality of protocol parameters and an efficiency criterion; generate a first fuzzy set to represent the plurality of protocol parameters; generate a second fuzzy set to represent the efficiency score; compare the first fuzzy set to the second fuzzy set to determine if a degree of overlap exceeds a threshold based on the comparison to cause a redetermination of the efficiency score as a function of the plurality of protocol parameters; select a first contingent transaction of the plurality of the contingent transactions as a function of the efficiency score, wherein the first contingent transaction comprises a first set of protocol parameters of the plurality of parameters; generate the optimization model of the first contingent transaction based on the user metrics and the first set of protocol parameters; display the optimization model on the graphical user interface using an executable data structure; and generate a report for the user as a function of the executable data structure; and display the report on the graphical user interface” are making use of a computer and the computer limitations do not necessarily restrict the claim from reciting an abstract idea as discussed above under Step 2A-Prong I of the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection.
Hence, Examiner has also considered each and every arguments under Step 2A-Prong I and concludes that these arguments are not persuasive. For example, under Step 2A-Prong I, Examiner considers each and every limitation to determine if the claim recites an abstract idea. In this case, it is determined that the claim recites an abstract idea and the additional limitations of a computer device does not necessarily restrict the claim from reciting an abstract idea. The recited steps, as amended, are abstract in nature as there are no technical/technology improvements as a result of these steps. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea. Whether the claim integrates the abstract idea into a practical application by providing technical/technology improvements are considered under Step 2A-Prong II.
Applicant argues that “analogous to the above analysis and Example 47 and claims 1 and 3, according to paragraph [0101] of the instant Specification, “parameter protocols may be represented by a fuzzy set that is compared to each of the multiple efficiency score fuzzy sets; and a degree of overlap exceeding a threshold between the parameter protocols fuzzy set and any of the multiple efficiency score fuzzy sets may cause computing device to classify the parameter protocols as belonging to a efficiency score. For instance, in one embodiment there may be two efficiency score fuzzy sets, representing respectively a desirable condition and an undesirable condition.” Claim 1 as amended teaches two fuzzy sets, which are technical data structure used by a computing system to classify, infer, or process uncertain information. Specifically, claim 1 recites a first fuzzy set that represents a plurality of protocol parameters and a second fuzzy set that represents an efficiency score, wherein the first fuzzy set is compared to the second fuzzy set to determine if a degree of overlap exceeds a threshold to cause a redetermination of the efficiency score as a function of the plurality of protocol parameters before a first contingent transaction of the plurality of the contingent transactions is selected as a function of the efficiency score, wherein the first contingent transaction comprises a first set of protocol parameters of the plurality of protocol parameters. In addition, paragraph [0030] of the instant Specification discloses “[i]teratively training scoring machine-learning model continuously updates scoring machine-learning model so that scoring machine-learning model may improve accuracy, reduce tolerances, and expand knowledge in the field.” Accordingly, and for at least the above-described reasons, Applicant respectfully submits that claim 1 as amended is not directed to an abstract idea. Therefore, pursuant to Step 2A of the § 101 analysis prescribed in Alice, claim 1 as amended recites patentable subject matter. Applicant respectfully requests that this rejection be withdrawn.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Under Step 2A: Prong II, Examiner respectfully notes that there is no improved technology in simply generating, searching, assigning, receiving, classifying, training ( processing), inputting, determining, selecting, displaying, reporting, and outputting data (i.e., user metrics, weighted values, protocol parameters, contingent transactions data, data elements, transaction types data, efficiency scores, report data, and etc.). As previously discussed in the Final Office Action- dated 03/12/2026, the disclosed invention cannot be equated to improvement to technological practices or computers. There is no technical improvement at all. Instead, Applicant recites “generate a query configured to search for data related to a user metric, wherein the query is further configured to generate at least a keyword as a function of the user metric, wherein the query is further configured to assign a weighted value to at least an attribute of the user metric; receive the user metrics related to a user using a graphical user interface and the generated query; classify the user metrics to a plurality of protocol parameters related to a plurality of contingent transactions using a classifier trained with training data, wherein: the training data comprises correlations between exemplary user metrics and exemplary protocol parameters; and a plurality of data elements of the training data is classified to a plurality of types of the user metrics using a training data classifier, wherein the types of the user metrics comprise transaction types; determine an efficiency score of each of the contingent transactions as a function of the plurality of protocol parameters and an efficiency criterion; generate a first fuzzy set to represent the plurality of protocol parameters; generate a second fuzzy set to represent the efficiency score; compare the first fuzzy set to the second fuzzy set to determine if a degree of overlap exceeds a threshold based on the comparison to cause a redetermination of the efficiency score as a function of the plurality of protocol parameters; select a first contingent transaction of the plurality of the contingent transactions as a function of the efficiency score, wherein the first contingent transaction comprises a first set of protocol parameters of the plurality of parameters; generate the optimization model of the first contingent transaction based on the user metrics and the first set of protocol parameters; display the optimization model on the graphical user interface using an executable data structure; and generate a report for the user as a function of the executable data structure; and display the report on the graphical user interface.” The recited features in the limitations, as amended, do not result in computer functionality or technical improvement. Unlike the eligible claims of Examples 47 of the 2024 Updated Guidance on Subject Matter Eligibility and The August 2025 Memo, Examiner respectfully notes that Applicant is simply using a computer to input, process, and output data. Unlike the eligible claims of Examples 47 of the 2024 Updated Guidance on Subject Matter Eligibility, the recited features in the limitations, as amended, does not disclose a technical solution to technical problem, but simply a business solution. Specifically, the recited steps, as amended, are merely managing/processing data (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)) and do not result in computer functionality or technical improvement. Thus, as previously discussed in the Final Office Action- dated 03/12/2026, Applicant has simply provided a business method practice of processing data (user metrics, weighted values, protocol parameters, contingent transactions data, data elements, transaction types data, efficiency scores, report data, and etc.), and no technical solution or improvement has been disclosed.
Moreover, there is no technology/technical improvement as a result of implementing the abstract idea. Unlike the eligible claims of Examples 47 of the 2024 Updated Guidance on Subject Matter Eligibility, the recited limitations in the pending claims simply amount to the abstract idea of processing of transaction data of contingent transaction payment data to determine an efficiency score of each of the contingent transactions. As previously discussed in the Final Office Action- dated 03/12/2026, there is no computer functionality improvement or technology improvement. The claim does not provide a technical solution to a technical problem. If there is an improvement, it is to the abstract idea and not to technology. Additionally, Examiner notes that it is important to keep in mind that an improvement in the judicial exception itself (e.g., recited fundamental economic principle or practice and/or commercial interaction) is not an improvement in technology (See, MPEP 2106.05(a)(II)). Thus, the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application; and these arguments are not persuasive.
Additionally, unlike the eligible claims of Examples 47 of the 2024 Updated Guidance on Subject Matter Eligibility, Claims 1 and 11, as amended, recites steps at a high level of generality. In addition, all uses of the recited judicial exceptions require such data gathering and outputting, and, as such, these limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on the claim. These limitations amount to necessary data gathering, processing, and outputting. See MPEP 2106.05. The claim simply makes use of a computer as a tool to apply the abstract idea without transforming the abstract idea into a patent eligible subject matter. Thus, these arguments are not persuasive. The recited steps in claim 1, as amended, are recited as being performed by an optimization model, apparatus, processor, memory, graphical user interface, classifier, training data classifier, and executable data structure. The additional elements: an optimization model, apparatus, processor, memory, graphical user interface, classifier, training data classifier, and executable data structure are recited at a high level of generality, and are used as a tool to perform the generic computer function of receiving, processing, and outputting data. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Additionally, the claims, as amended, recites the additional elements: an optimization model, apparatus, processor, memory, graphical user interface, classifier, training data classifier, and executable data structure, which are used to perform an abstract idea, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Specifically, the recitation of “an optimization model, apparatus, processor, memory, graphical user interface, classifier, training data classifier, and executable data structure” in the limitations of the claim 1 and 11, as amended, merely indicates a field of use or technological environment in which the judicial exception is performed. Specifically, the additional elements, as listed above, are all recited at a high level of generality and under their broadest reasonable interpretation comprises a generic computing arrangement. Merely invoking the above listed additional elements is similar to invoking software and software components. The presence of a generic computer arrangement is nothing more than to implement the claimed invention (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, the recitations of additional elements do not meaningfully apply the abstract idea and hence do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim, as amended, merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment; and thus fails to add an inventive concept to the claims. See MPEP 2106.05(h). Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application, and the claim is directed to the judicial exception. Hence, claims 1-9 and 11-19, as amended, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Thus, these arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “In any event, although Applicant does not concede that claim 1, as amended, is directed to an abstract idea, Applicant further respectfully asserts that representative claim 1 contains limitations amounting to an inventive concept …. First, Claim 1 as amended recites details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished as it teaches two fuzzy sets, which are technical data structure used by a computing system to classify, infer, or process uncertain information. ….. Second, claim 1 as amended purports to improve accuracy, reduce tolerances, and expand knowledge in the field of selecting contingent transactions….. As such, Applicant submits that claim 1 as amended is allowable under 35 U.S.C. §101, at least for the reasons stated above. Claim 11 recites, substantially, the same limitations as claim 1. Therefore, Applicant submits that the rejection to claim 11 has been overcome for the same reasons as to claim 1. Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection. Claims 2-9 and 12-19 depend, directly or indirectly, on claims 1 or 11 and thus recite all of the same elements as claim 1 and claim 11. Applicant, therefore, submits that claims 2-9 and 12-19 overcome these rejections for at least the same reasons as discussed above with reference to claims 1 and 11.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Under Step 2B, Examiner respectfully notes that all of Applicant's arguments have been reviewed, and the inventive concept cannot be furnished by a judicial exception. The improvements argued are to the abstract idea and not to technology. As previously discussed in the Final Office Action- dated 03/12/2026, the technical limitations are simply utilized as a tool to implement the abstract idea without adding significantly more. Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea, and hence these arguments are not persuasive. The presence of a computer does not make the claimed solution necessarily rooted in computer technology. As noted above, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements of an optimization model, apparatus, processor, memory, graphical user interface, classifier, training data classifier, and executable data structure are recited at a high level of generality in that it results in no more than simply applying the abstract idea using generic computer elements. The additional elements when considered separately and as an ordered combination do not amount to add significantly more as these limitations provide nothing more than to simply apply the exception in a generic computer environment. Furthermore, as explained above with respect to Step 2A, Prong II, the additional elements: an optimization model, apparatus, processor, memory, graphical user interface, classifier, training data classifier, and executable data structure, are at best mere instructions to “apply” the abstract idea, which cannot provide an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As discussed in Step 2A, Prong II above, the claims’ limitations are recited at a high level of generality. As discussed in Step 2A, Prong II above and as previously noted in the Final Office Action- dated 03/12/2026, the recitation of a computer/processor to perform recited limitations amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer, which do not provide an inventive concept.
Hence, Examiner respectfully declines Applicant’s request to withdraw the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection of claims 1-9 and 11-19.
With respect to the rejection of claims 1-23 under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant argues that “the Office has not asserted that Palakodety teaches, suggests, or motivates “generate a first fuzzy set to represent the plurality of protocol parameters; generate a second fuzzy set to represent the efficiency score; compare the first fuzzy set to the second fuzzy set to determine if a degree of overlap exceeds a threshold based on the comparison to cause a redetermination of the efficiency score as a function of the plurality of protocol parameters…” Accordingly, Applicant submits that claim 1 as amended is patentably distinguishable over Palakodety for at least the reasons discussed above ….. Accordingly, Applicant submits that claim 1 as amended is patentably distinguishable over Palakodety, Bireley, and Sharma, alone or in combination, for at least the reasons discussed above. ….. claims 2-9 are patentably distinguishable over Palakodety, Bireley, and Sharma, alone or in combination, for at least the reasons discussed above….. claim 11 is patentably distinguishable over Palakodety, Bireley, and Sharm, alone or in combination, for at least the reasons discussed above… As such, Applicant submits that claims 12–19 are patentably distinguishable over Palakodety, Bireley, and Sharma, alone or in combination, for at least the reasons discussed above.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
With respect to Applicant's arguments regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of Claims 1- 9 and 11-19, Examiner respectfully notes, as discussed above in the 103 rejection, Palakodety teaches the amendments: “generate a first fuzzy set to represent the plurality of protocol parameters; generate a second fuzzy set to represent the efficiency score; compare the first fuzzy set to the second fuzzy set to determine if a degree of overlap exceeds a threshold based on the comparison to cause a redetermination of the efficiency score as a function of the plurality of protocol parameters.” (See, newly cited portions of Palakodety: Para. 11, 29, 43-46, 74-76, 95; Fig. 1, 5, 8; Abstract). Hence, Examiner respectfully declines Applicant’s request to withdraw the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1-9 and 11-19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is the following:
Orr (U.S. Patent Publication No. US-2007/0156555-A1) “Systems, methods and programs for determining optimal financial structures and risk exposures”
Mhlanga (U.S. Patent Publication No. US-2021/0398210-A1) “Systems and methods of transaction tracking and analysis for near real-time individualized credit scoring”
Hubard (U.S. Patent Publication No. US-2022/0122171-A1) “Client server system for financial scoring with cash transactions”
Patel (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US-2021/0406740-A1) “Method and system for estimating relocation costs”
/MOHAMMED H MUSTAFA/Examiner, Art Unit 3693
/BRUCE I EBERSMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3693