DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishikawa (US 20190324212).
Regarding claim 1, Ishikawa discloses (Figs. 1-12B) a wavelength selective switch comprising: one or more input ports (10, 20); one or more output ports (30, 40); a polarization controller (70) that adjusts a polarization state of light incident from the input ports; a dispersive element (50) that demultiplexes wavelength-multiplexed light incident from the input ports; and a deflection element (73) that controls deflection of the demultiplexed light, wherein the deflection element is configured by a liquid crystal on silicon (LCOS) (section 0037), and an optical compensation layer (62, 92) is disposed in a peripheral part of the liquid crystal on silicon, wherein light incident from the input ports is transmitted through the polarization controller (70) and the dispersive element (50), diffracted in the deflection element (73), transmitted through the dispersive element (50) and the polarization controller (70), and coupled to the output ports (30, 40).
Regarding claim 2, Ishikawa discloses (Figs. 1-12B) the optical compensation layer is a λ/2 plate (62, 92).
Regarding claim 4, Ishikawa discloses (Figs. 1-12B) the optical compensation layer (62, 92) is disposed in the peripheral part of the liquid crystal on silicon (73), and the optical compensation layer is not disposed in a center part of the liquid crystal on silicon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa in view of Jia et al. (US 20220052778).
Regarding claim 4, Ishikawa does not necessarily disclose the optical compensation layer is a liquid crystal diffraction element.
Jia discloses (Figs. 1-14; in particular Figs. 13A-13B) the optical compensation layer (901) is a liquid crystal diffraction element (section 0235). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Jia to obtain a material that changes a polarization state of a light beam.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES S CHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871