DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, and 10-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the second controllable valve being configured to receive the first cooled refrigerant, but should instead recite said valve being configured to receive the second cooled refrigerant.
Claim 1, at lines 16-17, recites “of the first temperature” but should instead read “of a first temperature”.
Claim 1 recites the controller comparing a signal representative of “the first temperature threshold” but should instead read “a first temperature threshold”.
Claims 2-3, 5, 7, and 10-11 are objected to due to dependence from claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 10-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudson (US 2020/0284477) in view of Lorentzen (US 5,245,836) and Ohta (US 7,467,525).
As to claim 1, Hudson teaches a system comprising:
a condenser unit, the condenser unit comprising:
a compressor 102 configured to receive refrigerant from a condenser unit input port and provide a compressed refrigerant;
a gas cooler 104 configured to receive the compressed refrigerant and provide a first cooled refrigerant at a gas cooler discharge port;
an expansion valve 138 configured to receive the first cooled refrigerant and provide a second cooled refrigerant to a condenser unit discharge port; and
a first controllable valve 142 operated by a first controllable valve actuator, the valve 142 configured to receive the first cooled refrigerant and provide a first metered refrigerant combined with the second cooled refrigerant to the condenser unit discharge port (Fig. 1);
an evaporator unit, the evaporator unit comprising:
a second controllable valve 106 operated by a second controllable valve actuator, the second valve 106 configured to receive the second cooled refrigerant and the first metered refrigerant from the condenser unit discharge port and provide a second metered refrigerant (Fig. 1); and
an evaporator 108 configured to receive the second metered refrigerant and provide an evaporated refrigerant at an evaporator discharge port configured to be coupled to the condenser input port, and wherein the second metered refrigerant in the evaporator 108 is configured to cool an adjacent space; and
a controller configured to utilize signals from sensors to actuate the valves to maintain desired system operation (paragraphs 20, 24, and 27).
Hudson teaches a pressure sensor adjacent the gas cooler discharge port (paragraph 74) and teaches opening the first controllable valve 142 when the refrigerant is subcritical (paragraph 67), and thus the valve 142 is opened when a first temperature at the gas cooler discharge port is below a first temperature threshold, but does not explicitly teach a first temperature sensor at the gas cooler discharge port as claimed wherein the controller opens the first controllable valve 142 on the basis of the detection of the first temperature sensor. However, Lorentzen teaches that it is known to utilize a temperature sensor at the outlet of a gas-cooler in a transcritical system in order to determine system conditions and control a refrigerant valve (col. 9, lines 1-17). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Hudson to incorporate a first temperature sensor and associated control as claimed as it would allow for accurate valve control from direct determination of whether or not the system is operating in a subcritical or transcritical state.
Hudson does not explicitly teach a second temperature sensor at the evaporator discharge port as claimed, wherein the controller is configured such that the second controllable valve 106 is controlled to selectively open when a second temperature at the evaporator discharge port is below a second temperature threshold. However, Ohta teaches that it is known to control the opening of a second controllable valve 12 in a supercritical system based on temperature measured at an outlet of evaporator 9 (Fig. 1). As such it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Hudson to be configured such that the second controllable valve 106 is selectively opened when a second temperature at the evaporator discharge port is below a second temperature threshold as claimed in order to control the superheat degree of the system.
As to claim 3, Hudson discloses the first controllable valve 142 as a shut off valve (paragraphs 67 and 70).
As to claim 5, Hudson discloses the first temperature threshold as corresponding to a critical temperature of carbon dioxide (paragraph 67).
As to claim 7, the valve 106 of Hudson can control flow through the refrigerant line and thus is considered to be a shutoff valve.
As to claims 10-11, the modified apparatus does not explicitly teach using pulse width modulation (PWM) for the controllable valves. However, Official Notice is taken that PWM is a common and typical feature of refrigerant valve control that would have been obvious to use in conjunction with the valves of the modified apparatus for the purpose of providing precise flow control.
As to claims 12-16 and 18-20, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would nec-essarily perform the method claimed then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. Thus the method as claimed would necessarily result from the normal operation of the modified apparatus of Hudson.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudson, Lorentzen, and Ohta as applied in the rejection(s) above, and further in view of Buck (US 5,495,720).
As to claim 2, Hudson is silent regarding use of any specific type of expansion valve. However, Buck teaches the same configuration of an expansion device 9 and parallel controllable valve 91 (Fig. 1) and states that the simplest use case for the expansion device 9 is a fixed differential expansion valve in the form of a capillary (col. 5, lines 25-35). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Hudson such that the expansion valve 138 is a fixed differential expansion valve as claimed and taught by Buck in order to simplify installation and operation of the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 12-14, filed 7/7/2026, with respect to the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) & 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Said rejection has been withdrawn.
Upon further consideration of the amended claims, a new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is made in view of Hudson (US 2020/0284477) in view of Lorentzen (US 5,245,836) and Ohta (US 7,467,525), as discussed above.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN BRADFORD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763