DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 09/03/2026. Claims 1-10 are pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koyanagi et al (US 2015/0063304, “Koyanagi”) in view of Kwon et al (US 2017/0215117, “Kwon”).
Re claims 1 and 8, Koyanagi discloses a UE receiving, from the base station, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message including radio resource information; and transmitting a random access preamble signal using the radio resource information in uplink (paragraph [0037]; figure 2), but fails to explicitly disclose indicating Random Access Channel (RACH) resource corresponding to a beam. However, Kwon discloses using a transmit beam for transmitting RACH process (paragraphs [0068] and [0076]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Koyanagi with Kwon for the benefit of providing efficient/reliable communication by selecting a best beam to communicate with a network.
Re claim 2, Koyanagi discloses performing measurement of at least one signal transmitted by a second base station using at least one beam, and transmitting, to the base station, first information indicating results of the measurement (paragraph 0033]).
Re claim 3, Koyanagi discloses the RRC message is related to an RRC Reconfiguration message, and transmitted to the terminal apparatus by the base station, and wherein the RRC message is included in a HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message that is transmitted from the second base station to the base station (figure 2, step 4) in response to a HANDOVER REQUEST message including the first information after the HANDOVER REQUEST message is transmitted from the base station to the second base station (figure 2, step 5).
Re claim 4, the modified system of Koyanagi discloses the radio resource information includes information regarding a resource for the beam (paragraph [0076] of Kwon).
Re claim 6, Koyanagi discloses the information regarding the resource for the beam is Dedicated Random Access Channel (RACH)RACH Resource Information (paragraph [0087]).
Re claim 9, Koyanagi discloses the random access preamble signal is transmitted using at least one the RACH resource indicated by the radio resource information (paragraph [0037]; figure 2).
Re claim 10, the modified system of Koyanagi discloses the beam is one of a plurality of beams used for beamforming (paragraph [0051] of Kwon).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
/HONG S CHO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467