DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami (Pub No 20110099446) further in view of Lei (Pub No 20210051729)
Regarding claim 1 and 19,
Murakami teaches A method, at a network node, comprising:
obtaining a first packet intended for a first destination node and a second packet intended for a second destination node; (interpreted as Here, the transmitter 13 transmits the information packets #1 to #n (coded at the physical layer after the CRC insertion). These packets are collectively referred to as a packet group G1. At this time, the packet group G1 does not include parity packets that can be obtained by coding the information packets with use of the coding unit 152 shown in FIG. 8, see para [0196])
performing an initial transmission of the first packet to the first and second destination nodes, and performing an initial transmission of the second packet to the first and second destination nodes; and (interpreted as shown in FIG. 31, the base station transmits the same packet group 3400 (hereinafter, referred to as packet group #A) to a plurality of terminals. In this case, the base station either directly transmits the packet group A to each of the terminals, or transmits the packet group #A to each of the terminals through the repeater, see para [0316])
performing a retransmission to the first and the second destination nodes, (interpreted as Also see the repeaters transmits the parity packets (coded at the physical layer after the CRC insertion) (i.e. parity packets corresponding to the packet group G1) as packets for retransmission, as shown in FIG. 29-30, see para [0324])wherein performing the retransmission includes generating cross-packet coded bits using a combination of one or more bits from the first packet and one or more bits from the second packet, and wherein the cross-packet coded bits are used for the retransmission. (interpreted as the generated sub information packets #1-n, #2-n, #3-n, . . . , #511-n and #512-n (n=1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8) are coded to form the parity group #n. Then, the parity group #n is divided into m as shown in FIG. 30 so as to form the parity packets #n-1, #n-2, . . . , and #n-m, see para [0310] and fig. 29-30.)
However Murakami does not teach wherein the cross-packet coded bits are scrambled using an identifier known to both the first destination node and the second destination node.
Lei’29 teaches wherein the cross-packet coded bits are scrambled using an identifier known to both the first destination node and the second destination node, (interpreted as At block 628, the UE 115 demodulates, descrambles, and decodes the PDSCH identified from the DMRS configuration information in the PDCCH's DCI. For example, the coded bits of the PDSCH are descrambled by a scrambling ID. The scrambling ID may be formed as a function of the multiple access signature for a UE or UE group expecting the RAR message carried by the PDSCH. For example, the scrambling ID may be UE or UE-group specific (e.g., a weighted combination of DMRS resource index, preamble ID used in msgA/message 1, etc.), see para [0124])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Murakami with the scrambling/descrambling taught by Lei to ensure packets are received/decoded by the intended receiver.
Regarding claim 3,
Murakami teaches the method of claim 1, however does not teach wherein the first destination node and the second destination node are configured for network coding in a given network coding group, wherein the cross-packet coded bits are scrambled using a network coding identifier associated with the given network coding group, the network coding identifier being the identifier known to both the first destination node and the second destination node.
Lei teaches wherein the first destination node and the second destination node are configured for network coding in a given network coding group, wherein the cross-packet coded bits are scrambled using a network coding identifier associated with the given network coding group, the network coding identifier being the identifier known to both the first destination node and the second destination node. (interpreted as At block 628, the UE 115 demodulates, descrambles, and decodes the PDSCH identified from the DMRS configuration information in the PDCCH's DCI. For example, the coded bits of the PDSCH are descrambled by a scrambling ID. The scrambling ID may be formed as a function of the multiple access signature for a UE or UE group expecting the RAR message carried by the PDSCH. For example, the scrambling ID may be UE or UE-group specific (e.g., a weighted combination of DMRS resource index, preamble ID used in msgA/message 1, etc.), see para [0124])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Murakami with the scrambling/descrambling taught by Lei to ensure packets are received/decoded by the intended receiver.
Regarding claim 4,
Murakami teaches the method of claim 3, however does not teach wherein the cross-packet coded bits are scrambled using a scrambling sequence that is a function of the network coding identifier.
Lei teaches wherein the cross-packet coded bits are scrambled using a scrambling sequence that is a function of the network coding identifier. (interpreted as At block 628, the UE 115 demodulates, descrambles, and decodes the PDSCH identified from the DMRS configuration information in the PDCCH's DCI. For example, the coded bits of the PDSCH are descrambled by a scrambling ID. The scrambling ID may be formed as a function of the multiple access signature for a UE or UE group expecting the RAR message carried by the PDSCH. For example, the scrambling ID may be UE or UE-group specific (e.g., a weighted combination of DMRS resource index, preamble ID used in msgA/message 1, etc.), see para [0124])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Murakami with the scrambling/descrambling taught by Lei to ensure packets are received/decoded by the intended receiver.
Claim(s) 5, 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami (Pub No 20110099446) further in view of Lei (Pub No 20210051729) and Lei (Pub 20210274515)
Regarding claim 5,
Murakami in view of Lei’29 teaches the method of claim 3, however does not teach wherein the first and the second destination nodes are provided configuration information for network coding in the given network coding group, the configuration information including the network coding identifier associated with the given network coding group.
Lei’15 teaches wherein the first and the second destination nodes are provided configuration information for network coding in the given network coding group, the configuration information including the network coding identifier associated with the given network coding group. (interpreted as receiving the group-specific indication that the UE is to apply the group-specific scrambling code may be received as part of the configuration information received at the UE from the base station, see para [0203])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Murakami in view of Lei’29 with the configuration information taught by Lei’15 to send control information that ensures packets are received/decoded by the intended receiver.
Regarding claim 7,
Murakami teaches the method of claim 5, however does not teach further comprising: transmitting configuration signals to provide the first and the second destination nodes with the configuration information for network coding in the given network coding group; and subsequent to transmitting the configuration signals, scheduling the initial transmission of the first packet and scheduling the initial transmission of the second packet.
Lei’29 teaches further comprising: transmitting configuration signals to provide the first and the second destination nodes with the configuration information for network coding in the given network coding group; and subsequent to transmitting the configuration signals, scheduling the initial transmission of the first packet and scheduling the initial transmission of the second packet (interpreted as BSs 105 (e.g., which may be an example of a gNB or an access node controller (ANC)) may interface with the core network through backhaul links (e.g., NG-C, NG-U, etc.) and may perform radio configuration and scheduling for communication with the UEs 115, see para [0043]. Also see UE group identifier, para [0035])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Murakami with the configuration information taught by Lei’29 with the motivation being to establish configurations for communicating.
Regarding claim 8,
Murakami in view of Lei’29 teaches the method of claim 7, however does not teach wherein the configuration signals are radio resource control (RRC) signals transmitted to the respective first and second destination nodes, and control information for scheduling the initial transmission of the first packet and for scheduling the initial transmission of the second packet are transmitted in group common downlink control information (DCI) transmissions addressed to the given network coding group using the network coding identifier.
Lei’15 teaches wherein the configuration signals are radio resource control (RRC) signals transmitted to the respective first and second destination nodes, and control information for scheduling the initial transmission of the first packet and for scheduling the initial transmission of the second packet are transmitted in group common downlink control information (DCI) transmissions addressed to the given network coding group using the network coding identifier. (interpreted as In some cases, base station 105-a may pre-configure the groups 210 and signal the configuration to the UEs 115 via RRC signaling, see para [0108])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Murakami in view of Lei’29 with the configuration information taught by Lei’15 to send control information that ensures packets are received/decoded by the intended receiver.
Regarding claim 9,
Murakami in view of Lei’29 teaches the method of claim 5, however does not teach further comprising: scheduling the initial transmission of the first packet and scheduling the initial transmission of the second packet, wherein the configuration information to configure the first and the second destination nodes for network coding in the given network coding group are included in control information for scheduling the initial transmissions.
Lei’15 teaches further comprising: scheduling the initial transmission of the first packet and scheduling the initial transmission of the second packet, wherein the configuration information to configure the first and the second destination nodes for network coding in the given network coding group are included in control information for scheduling the initial transmissions. (interpreted as With configuration information conveyed to the UEs 115 via mapping within a DCI of a group common PDCCH, see para [0106]. Also see base station 105-a may dynamically configure the groups 210 and signal the configuration to the UEs 115 via a group-common physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or via remaining minimum system information (RMSI). In other cases, base station 105-b may signal the configurations of groups 210 to each of the UEs 115 via UE-specific dynamic downlink control information (DCI), see para [0108])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Murakami in view of Lei’29 with the configuration information taught by Lei’15 to send control information that ensures packets are received/decoded by the intended receiver.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami (Pub No 20110099446) further in view of Lei (Pub No 20210051729), Lei (Pub 20210274515), and Bagheri (Pub No 20250106169) and Zhou (Pub No 20210084441)
Regarding claim 6,
Murakami in view of Lei’29, and Lei’15 teaches the method of claim 5, however does not teach further comprising: scheduling the retransmission, wherein scheduling the retransmission includes providing control information to the first and second destination nodes, the control including the first and second node indexes as indicators that the first and second packets are source packets for the retransmission, and wherein the control information for scheduling the retransmission is transmitted to the first and the second destination nodes using a group common downlink control information (DCI) transmission, and wherein the group common DCI is addressed to the given network coding group using the network coding identifier.
Bagheri teaches further comprising: scheduling the retransmission, wherein scheduling the retransmission includes providing control information to the first and second destination nodes, the control including the first and second node indexes as indicators that the first and second packets are source packets for the retransmission, and wherein the control information for scheduling the retransmission (interpreted as SR indication can include an index for the packet or for a hybrid automatic repeat request identifier (HARQ-ID) associated with the packet or an ADU index associated with the packet, see para [0068]) is transmitted to the first and the second destination nodes using a group common downlink control information (DCI) transmission, (interpreted as A group-common DCI, such as with a new DCI format or using DCI format 2_1 or 2_4, or a scheduling DCI or group-common DCI with some fields reinterpreted, can also serve the purpose of the indication to discard, stop, or not initiate processing the subset of packets. For example, a group-common DCI with a first DCI format can be used to indicate the subset of scheduled TBs to be discarded, see para [0045])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Murakami in view of Lei and Lei’15 with the configuration information taught by Bagheri with the motivation being to send control information for indicating
However Murakami in view of Lei, Lei’15, and Bagheri do not teach and wherein the group common DCI is addressed to the given network coding group using the network coding identifier.
Zhou teaches and wherein the group common DCI is addressed to the given network coding group using the network coding identifier. (interpreted as In some cases, the broadcast message or the multicast message may include DCI or a MAC-CE. In some cases, the DCI may include a group common DCI. In some cases, the group common DCI may be scrambled using a RNTI associated with the group of UEs, see para [0138]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Murakami in view of Lei, Lei’15, and Bagheri with the scrambling of DCI taught by Zhou with the motivation being to ensure the packet is received/decoded by intended receivers.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami (Pub No 20110099446) further in view of Lei (Pub No 20210051729), Lei (Pub 20210274515), and Lei (Pub No 20240340117)
Regarding claim 10,
Murakami in view of Lei’29 and Lei’15 teaches the method of claim 9, however does not teach wherein the control information for scheduling the initial transmission of the first packet and for scheduling the initial transmission of the second packet are transmitted in user equipment (UE)-specific downlink control information (DCI) transmissions addressed to each of the first and the second destination nodes, wherein the configuration information to configure the first destination node for network coding in the given network coding group is included in the UE-specific DCI transmission addressed to the first destination node using a UE identifier of the first destination node, and wherein the configuration information to configure the second destination node for network coding in the given network coding group is included in the UE-specific DCI transmission addressed to the second destination node using a UE identifier of the second destination node.
Lei’17 teaches wherein the control information for scheduling the initial transmission of the first packet and for scheduling the initial transmission of the second packet are transmitted in user equipment (UE)-specific downlink control information (DCI) transmissions addressed to each of the first and the second destination nodes, wherein the configuration information to configure the first destination node for network coding in the given network coding group is included in the UE-specific DCI transmission addressed to the first destination node using a UE identifier of the first destination node, and wherein the configuration information to configure the second destination node for network coding in the given network coding group is included in the UE-specific DCI transmission addressed to the second destination node using a UE identifier of the second destination node. (interpreted as for each of the multicast services received by the UE, the UE may be configured with a corresponding ID (e.g., ID z) for scrambling the CRC of the DCI scheduling retransmission of the corresponding service. The UE may check the CRC of the third DCI with the UE-specific RNTI (e.g., C-RNTI), each group-common RNTI associated with a respective multicast service, and the combination of the UE-specific RNTI and each service ID, see para [0087])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Murakami in view of Lei’29, and Lei’15 with the scrambling of DCI taught by Lei’17 with the motivation being to ensure the packet is received/decoded by intended receivers.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami (Pub No 20110099446) further in view of Lei (Pub No 20210051729) and Lei (Pub No 20240340117)
Regarding claim 11,
Murakami teaches the method of claim 1, wherein, prior to generating the cross-packet coded bits, and wherein the cross-packet coded bits are generated using the scrambled bits from the first packet and the scrambled bits from the second packet. (interpreted as the generated sub information packets #1-n, #2-n, #3-n, . . . , #511-n and #512-n (n=1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8) are coded to form the parity group #n. Then, the parity group #n is divided into m as shown in FIG. 30 so as to form the parity packets #n-1, #n-2, . . . , and #n-m, see para [0310] and fig. 29-30.)
However Murakami in view of Lei does not teach the bits from the first packet are scrambled using a UE-specific identifier associated with the first destination node and the bits from the second packet are scrambled using a UE-specific identifier associated with the second destination node.
Lei’17 teaches the bits from the first packet are scrambled using a UE-specific identifier associated with the first destination node and the bits from the second packet are scrambled using a UE-specific identifier associated with the second destination node. (interpreted as for each of the multicast services received by the UE, the UE may be configured with a corresponding ID (e.g., ID z) for scrambling the CRC of the DCI scheduling retransmission of the corresponding service. The UE may check the CRC of the third DCI with the UE-specific RNTI (e.g., C-RNTI), each group-common RNTI associated with a respective multicast service, and the combination of the UE-specific RNTI and each service ID, see para [0087])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Murakami in view of Lei’29, and Lei’15 with the scrambling of DCI taught by Lei’17 with the motivation being to ensure the packet is received/decoded by intended receivers.
Claim(s) 12-15, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami (Pub No 20110099446) further in view of Lei (Pub No 20210051729) and Abedini (Pub No 20220109598)
Regarding claim 12,
Murakami teaches the method of claim 1, wherein performing the initial transmission of the first packet comprises: generating a set of codewords for the first packet; and transmitting the scrambled set of codewords for the first packet in the initial transmission of the first packet; wherein performing the initial transmission of the second packet comprises: generating a set of codewords for the second packet; and transmitting the scrambled set of codewords for the second packet in the initial transmission of the second packet. (interpreted as Here, the transmitter 13 transmits the information packets #1 to #n (coded at the physical layer after the CRC insertion). These packets are collectively referred to as a packet group G1. At this time, the packet group G1 does not include parity packets that can be obtained by coding the information packets with use of the coding unit 152 shown in FIG. 8, see para [0196])
However Murakami in view of Lei’29 does not teach scrambling the set of codewords for the first packet using the network coding identifier; scrambling the set of codewords for the second packet using the network coding identifier;
Abedini teaches scrambling the set of codewords for the first packet using the network coding identifier; scrambling the set of codewords for the second packet using the network coding identifier; Abedini teaches scrambling the set of codewords for the first packet using the network coding identifier; scrambling the set of codewords for the second packet using the network coding identifier; (interpreted as descrambling the codeword (e.g., using a scrambling identifier associated with the incoming signal) and decoding the descrambled codeword (e.g., based at least in part on an MCS associated with the incoming signal), see para [0095])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Murakami in view of Lei’29 with the codewords taught by Abedini with the motivation being to improve reliability and mitigate interference by using codewords.
Regarding claim 13,
Murakami teaches the method of claim 12, teach however does not teach wherein performing the initial transmission of the first packet further comprises: scrambling information bits of the first packet using a identifier associated with the first destination node;; wherein performing the initial transmission of the second packet further comprises: scrambling information bits of the second packet using a identifier associated with the second destination node; and processing the scrambled information bits of the second packet to obtain the set of codewords for the second packet.
Lei’29 teaches wherein performing the initial transmission of the first packet further comprises: scrambling information bits of the first packet using a identifier associated with the first destination node;; wherein performing the initial transmission of the second packet further comprises: scrambling information bits of the second packet using a identifier associated with the second destination node; and processing the scrambled information bits of the second packet to obtain the set of codewords for the second packet. (interpreted as At block 628, the UE 115 demodulates, descrambles, and decodes the PDSCH identified from the DMRS configuration information in the PDCCH's DCI. For example, the coded bits of the PDSCH are descrambled by a scrambling ID. The scrambling ID may be formed as a function of the multiple access signature for a UE or UE group expecting the RAR message carried by the PDSCH. For example, the scrambling ID may be UE or UE-group specific (e.g., a weighted combination of DMRS resource index, preamble ID used in msgA/message 1, etc.), see para [0124])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Murakami with the scrambling/descrambling taught by Lei to ensure packets are received/decoded by the intended receiver.
However Murakami in view of Lei do not teach and processing the scrambled information bits of the first packet to generate the set of codewords for the first packet
Abedini teaches and processing the scrambled information bits of the first packet to generate the set of codewords for the first packet (interpreted as descrambling the codeword (e.g., using a scrambling identifier associated with the incoming signal) and decoding the descrambled codeword (e.g., based at least in part on an MCS associated with the incoming signal), see para [0095])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Murakami in view of Lei’29 with the codewords taught by Abedini with the motivation being to improve reliability and mitigate interference by using codewords.
Regarding claim 14 and 20,
Murakami teaches A method, at a destination node, comprising:
receiving an initial transmission of a first packet intended for the destination node, the initial transmission including scrambled for the first packet, wherein the scrambled codewords for the first packet are scrambled using a network coding identifier associated with a network coding group for which the destination node is configured; (interpreted as receives a first packet group, and transmits the first packet group to a terminal device, the first packet group including a plurality of information packets and parity packets, the parity packets being generated by coding the information packets at a packet level, see para [0015])
unscrambling the initial transmission of the first packet using the network coding identifier to unscramble the first packet and attempting to recover information bits of the first packet; (interpreted as The interleaving unit 351 receives, as inputs, the information packets 371 decoded at the physical layer and parity packets 372 decoded at the physical layer. Note that when the communication method information 334 indicates that data is not retransmission data, only the information packets 371 decoded at the physical layer are inputted in the interleaving unit 351, see para [0144])
receiving an initial transmission of a second packet intended for a different destination node, the initial transmission including scrambled for the second packet; (interpreted as shown in FIG. 31, the base station transmits the same packet group 3400 (hereinafter, referred to as packet group #A) to a plurality of terminals. In this case, the base station either directly transmits the packet group A to each of the terminals, or transmits the packet group #A to each of the terminals through the repeater, see para [0316])
receiving a retransmission including cross-packet coded bits generating from a combination of one or more bits from the first packet and one or more bits from the second packet; and (interpreted as the generated sub information packets #1-n, #2-n, #3-n, . . . , #511-n and #512-n (n=1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8) are coded to form the parity group #n. Then, the parity group #n is divided into m as shown in FIG. 30 so as to form the parity packets #n-1, #n-2, . . . , and #n-m, see para [0310] and fig. 29-30.)
unscrambling the retransmission using the network coding identifier, and using the cross-packet coded bits to assist in recovery of the information bits of the first packet. (interpreted as The physical layer decoding unit 304 of the receiver 31 performs, at the physical layer, the error correction decoding on the received data to obtain the parity packets #1 to #m decoded at the physical layer. Then, the error detection unit 305 performs the error detection on the parity packets #1 to #m decoded at the physical layer. Then, parity packets having no error, for example, are extracted, see para [0153])
However Murakami does not teach scrambling/descrambling and that the scrambling/descrambling is performed using a network coding identifier;
Lei teaches wherein the scrambled codewords for the second packet are scrambled using a network coding identifier associated with a network coding group for which the destination node is configured; unscrambling the initial transmission of the second packet using the network coding identifier; (interpreted as At block 628, the UE 115 demodulates, descrambles, and decodes the PDSCH identified from the DMRS configuration information in the PDCCH's DCI. For example, the coded bits of the PDSCH are descrambled by a scrambling ID. The scrambling ID may be formed as a function of the multiple access signature for a UE or UE group expecting the RAR message carried by the PDSCH. For example, the scrambling ID may be UE or UE-group specific (e.g., a weighted combination of DMRS resource index, preamble ID used in msgA/message 1, etc.), see para [0124])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Murakami with the scrambling/descrambling taught by Lei to ensure packets are received/decoded by the intended receiver.
However Murakami in view of Lei’29 do not teach codewords;
Abedini teaches codewords; (interpreted as descrambling the codeword (e.g., using a scrambling identifier associated with the incoming signal) and decoding the descrambled codeword (e.g., based at least in part on an MCS associated with the incoming signal), see para [0095])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Murakami in view of Lei’29 with the codewords taught by Abedini with the motivation being to improve reliability and mitigate interference by using codewords.
Regarding claim 15,
Murakami in view of Lei’29 teaches the method of claim 14, however does not teach further comprising: after unscrambling the initial transmission of the first packet using the network coding identifier, attempting to decode the codewords for the first packet and unscrambling the information bits of the first packet using a user equipment (UE)-specific identifier associated with the destination node.
Abedini teaches further comprising: after unscrambling the initial transmission of the first packet using the network coding identifier, attempting to decode the codewords for the first packet and unscrambling the information bits of the first packet using a user equipment (UE)-specific identifier associated with the destination node. (interpreted as descrambling the codeword (e.g., using a scrambling identifier associated with the incoming signal) and decoding the descrambled codeword (e.g., based at least in part on an MCS associated with the incoming signal), see para [0095])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Murakami in view of Lei’29 with the codewords taught by Abedini with the motivation being to improve reliability and mitigate interference by using codewords.
Claim(s) 16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami (Pub No 20110099446) further in view of Lei (Pub No 20210051729), Abedini (Pub No 20220109598), and Lei (Pub 20210274515)
Regarding claim 16,
Murakami in view of Lei’29 and Abedini teaches the method of claim 14, however does not teach further comprising: prior to receiving the initial transmission of the first packet and receiving the initial transmission of the second packet, receiving configuration information including the network coding identifier.
Lei’15 teaches further comprising: prior to receiving the initial transmission of the first packet and receiving the initial transmission of the second packet, receiving configuration information including the network coding identifier. (interpreted as receiving the group-specific indication that the UE is to apply the group-specific scrambling code may be received as part of the configuration information received at the UE from the base station, see para [0203])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Murakami in view of Lei’29 and Abedini with the configuration information taught by Lei’15 to send control information that ensures packets are received/decoded by the intended receiver.
Regarding claim 18,
Murakami in view of Lei’29 and Abedini teaches the method of claim 16, however does not teach wherein the configuration information is received in control information for scheduling the initial transmission of the first packet, wherein the control information for scheduling the initial transmission of the first packet is received in a UE-specific downlink control information (DCI) transmission addressed to the destination node.
Lei’15 teaches wherein the configuration information is received in control information for scheduling the initial transmission of the first packet, wherein the control information for scheduling the initial transmission of the first packet is received in a UE-specific downlink control information (DCI) transmission addressed to the destination node. (interpreted as With configuration information conveyed to the UEs 115 via mapping within a DCI of a group common PDCCH, see para [0106]. Also see base station 105-a may dynamically configure the groups 210 and signal the configuration to the UEs 115 via a group-common physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or via remaining minimum system information (RMSI). In other cases, base station 105-b may signal the configurations of groups 210 to each of the UEs 115 via UE-specific dynamic downlink control information (DCI), see para [0108])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Murakami in view of Lei’29 and Abedini with the configuration information taught by Lei with the motivation being to establish configurations for communicating.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami (Pub No 20110099446) further in view of Lei (Pub No 20210051729), Abedini (Pub No 20220109598), Lei (Pub 20210274515), and Zhou (Pub No 20210084441)
Regarding claim 17,
Murakami in view of Lei’29 and Abedini teaches method of claim 16, however does not teach further comprising: receiving control information for scheduling the initial transmission of the first packet in a group common downlink control information (DCI) transmission addressed to the network coding group using the network coding identifier; and receiving control information for scheduling the initial transmission the second packet in another group common DCI transmission addressed to the network coding group using the network coding identifier.
Zhou teaches further comprising: receiving control information for scheduling the initial transmission of the first packet in a group common downlink control information (DCI) transmission addressed to the network coding group using the network coding identifier; and receiving control information for scheduling the initial transmission the second packet in another group common DCI transmission addressed to the network coding group using the network coding identifier. (interpreted as In some cases, the broadcast message or the multicast message may include DCI or a MAC-CE. In some cases, the DCI may include a group common DCI. In some cases, the group common DCI may be scrambled using a RNTI associated with the group of UEs, see para [0138]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Murakami in view of Lei, Lei’15, and Bagheri with the scrambling of DCI taught by Zhou with the motivation being to ensure the packet is received/decoded by intended receivers.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2,
The prior art of record teach the method of claim 1, however do not teach wherein generating the cross-packet coded bits comprises generating a set of one or more cross-packet check blocks using the one or more bits from the first packet and one or more bits from the second packet.
Conclusion
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461 /HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461