Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remark, filed 2/2/2022, with respect to 103(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 103(a) rejections has been withdrawn. A new rejections with newly added prior art Swanson (see the below rejections for details).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kahn et al (us 2023/0147094) (hereinafter Kahn) in view of Liu et al (us 2023/0370345) (hereinafter Liu) and further in view of Swanson (us 2002/0184111).
As regarding claim 1, Kahn discloses receiving, by a first network element, a first message and a second message, wherein the first message is usable to subscribe to first data, and the second message is usable to subscribe to second data (see Kahn 0040-0042, 0048, DCCF receive data requests from data consumers, requests comprising first and second request, also see 0050, second request from second consumer); subscribing to, by the first network element, the first data from a second network element based on the first message (see Kahn DCCF send data subscription/request to the data source); determining, by the first network element, whether the second data can be obtained based on the first data (see Kahn 0040, 0050, determine that the requested data is already being collected from the source).
determining, by the first network element based on a determining result, whether to subscribe to third data from the second network element (see Kahn 0040, 0050, determine DCCF should send a subscription for data for the consumer 2).
Kahn is silent to the concept of the third data comprises all or a part of the second data.
Liu teaches the concept of the third data comprises all or a part of the second data (see Liu 0169, request second portion of data if only have the first portion of data for the request).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Liu to Kahn because they're analogous art. A person would have been motivated to modify Kahn with Liu’s teaching for the purpose of efficiently satisfying and serving the request.
The combination of Kahn-Liu is silent in regard to the concept of receiving a plurality of data types associated with the first data, a plurality of reporting conditions, and a logical relationship between the plurality of reporting conditions, and the plurality of data types are in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of reporting conditions and the method further comprises: in response to the logical relationship being met, receiving, by the first network element, the first data from the second network element.
Swanson teaches the concept of receiving a plurality of data types associated with the first data, a plurality of reporting conditions, and a logical relationship between the plurality of reporting conditions, and the plurality of data types are in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of reporting conditions and the method further comprises: in response to the logical relationship being met, receiving, by the first network element, the first data from the second network element (see Swanson 0090, the subscribers specify what types of data they are interesting in…subscribers can select/specify number of parameters and data types, where the parameters such as transfer rules, frequency of download, time or by change in content, etc; and based on the subscribers’ subscription rule, push content to the subscribers (see Swanson 0093-0094)).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Swanson to Kahn-Liu because they're analogous art. A person would have been motivated to modify Kahn-Liu with Swanson’s teaching for the purpose of efficiently tailoring content for the subscribers.
As regarding claim 2, Kahn-Liu-Swanson discloses the receiving the first message includes receiving a first association identifier, and the subscribing to, by the first network element, the first data from a second network element includes: sending, by the first network element, a third message to the second network element, wherein the third message is usable to subscribe to the first data, and the third message includes a third association identifier (see Kahn 0040-0042, 0048); and the method further comprises: receiving, by the first network element, a first notification message from the second network element, wherein the first notification message includes the first data and the third association identifier (see Kahn 0050); determining, by the first network element based on a first relationship, that the third association identifier in the first notification message corresponds to the first association identifier, wherein the first relationship is a correspondence between the first association identifier and the third association identifier and sending, by the first network element, the first data based on the first association identifier (see Kahn 0050, 0063).
As regarding claim 3, Kahn-Liu-Swanson discloses the determining based on the determining result includes determining is that the second data can be obtained based on the first data, the second message includes a second association identifier, and the method further comprises: determining, by the first network element, a first manner in which the second data is obtained based on the first data (see Kahn 0040, determine if data is currently being produce); determining, by the first network element based on a second relationship, that the third association identifier in the first notification message corresponds to the second association identifier and the first manner, wherein the second relationship is a correspondence between the second association identifier, the third association identifier, and the first manner and obtaining, by the first network element, the second data based on the first manner and the first data; and sending, by the first network element, the second data based on the second association identifier (see Kahn 0050, send data to second consumer).
As regarding claim 4, Kahn-Liu-Swanson discloses the receiving the second message includes receiving a second association identifier, the second data includes a first part of data and a second part of data, and the determining based on the determining result includes determining that the first part of data can be obtained based on the first data, but the second part of data cannot be obtained based on the first data (see Kahn 0040, data not being currently collected); and the method further comprises: determining, by the first network element, a second manner in which the first part of data is obtained based on the first data; sending, by the first network element, a fourth message to the second network element, wherein the fourth message is usable to subscribe to the second part of data, and the fourth message includes a fourth association identifier (see Kahn 0040-0042, send second subscription request to the producer); determining, by the first network element based on a third relationship, that the fourth association identifier in the first notification message corresponds to the second association identifier, wherein the first notification message further includes the second part of data and the fourth association identifier, and the third relationship is a correspondence between the second association identifier and the fourth association identifier (see Kahn 0040-0042,0048,0050); determining, by the first network element based on a fourth relationship, that the third association identifier in the first notification message corresponds to the second association identifier and the second manner, wherein the fourth relationship is a correspondence between the second association identifier, the third association identifier, and the second manner (see Kahn 0040-0042,0048,0050); obtaining, by the first network element, the first part of data based on the second manner and the first data and sending, by the first network element, the first part of data and the second part of data based on the second association identifier (see Liu 0169, first portion and second portion of data send to requester). The same motivation was utilized in claim 1 applied equally well to claim 4.
As regarding claim 5, Kahn-Liu-Swanson discloses the receiving the second message includes receiving a second association identifier, the second data includes a first part of data and a second part of data, and the determining based on the determining result includes determining that the first part of data can be obtained based on the first data, but the second part of data cannot be obtained based on the first data (see Kahn 0040, data not being currently collected); and the method further comprises: sending, by the first network element, a fifth message to the second network element based on the second message, wherein the fifth message is usable to subscribe to the second data from the second network element, and the fifth message included a fourth association identifier (see Kahn 0040-0042,0048,0050); determining, by the first network element, a second manner in which the first part of data is obtained based on the first data; determining, by the first network element based on a third relationship, that the fourth association identifier in the first notification message corresponds to the second association identifier, wherein the first notification message further include the second part of data and the fourth association identifier, and the third relationship is a correspondence between the second association identifier and the fourth association identifier (see Kahn 0040-0042,0048,0050); determining, by the first network element based on a fourth relationship, that the third association identifier in the first notification message corresponds to the second association identifier and the second manner, wherein the fourth relationship is a correspondence between the second association identifier, the third association identifier, and the second manner (see Kahn 0040-0042,0048,0050); obtaining, by the first network element, the first part of data based on the second manner and the first data and sending, by the first network element, the first part of data and the second part of data based on the second association identifier (see Liu 0169, first portion and second portion of data send to requester). The same motivation was utilized in claim 1 applied equally well to claim 5.
As regarding claim 6, Kahn-Liu-Swanson discloses sending, by the first network element, the third message includes using the third message to unsubscribe from the first part of data from the second network element (see Kahn 0040, cancelled data collection).
As regarding claim 7, Kahn-Liu-Swanson discloses the receiving the first message includes receiving a first association identifier, and the subscribing to, by the first network element, the first data from a second network element includes: sending, by the first network element, a third message to the second network element, wherein the third message is usable to subscribe to the first data from the second network element, and the third message includes a third association identifier and an identifier of a third network element; and the method further comprises: sending, by the first network element, a first relationship to the third network element, wherein the first relationship is a correspondence between the first association identifier and the third association identifier see Kahn 0040-0042,0048,0050,0063, it is obvious to repeat the requests or specifying the subscription by the subscribers).
As regarding claim 8, Kahn-Liu-Swanson discloses the receiving the second message receiving a second association identifier, and the determining based on the determining includes determining that the second data can be obtained based on the first data, and the method further comprises: determining, by the first network element, a first manner in which the second data is obtained based on the first data; and sending, by the first network element, a second relationship to the third network element, wherein the second relationship is a correspondence between the second association identifier, the third association identifier, and the first manner (see Kahn 0040-0042, 0048, 0050, 0063).
As regarding claim 9, Kahn-Liu-Swanson discloses the receiving the second message includes receiving a second association identifier, the second data includes a first part of data and a second part of data, and the determining based on the determining result includes determining that the first part of data can be obtained based on the first data, but the second part of data cannot be obtained based on the first data; and the method further comprises (see Kahn 0040, data not being currently collected): determining, by the first network element, a second manner in which the first part of data is obtained based on the first data; sending, by the first network element, a fourth message to the second network element, wherein the fourth message is usable to subscribe to the second part of data, and the fourth message includes a fourth association identifier; and sending, by the first network element, a third relationship and a fourth relationship to the third network element, wherein the third relationship is a correspondence between the second association identifier and the fourth association identifier, and the fourth relationship is a correspondence between the second association identifier, the third association identifier, and the second manner (see Kahn 0040-0042,0048,0050,0063, it is obvious to repeat the requests or specifying the subscription by the subscribers).
As regarding claim 10, Kahn-Liu-Swanson discloses receiving the second message includes receiving a second association identifier, the second data includes a first part of data and a second part of data, and the determining based on the determining result includes determining that the first part of data can be obtained based on the first data, but the second part of data cannot be obtained based on the first data; and the method further comprises (see Liu 0169, request second portion of data if only have the first portion of data for the request): sending, by the first network element, a fifth message to the second network element based on the second message, wherein the fifth message is usable to subscribe to the second data from the second network element, and the fifth message includes a fourth association identifier; determining, by the first network element, a second manner in which the first part of data is obtained based on the first data; and sending, by the first network element, a third relationship and a fourth relationship to the third network element, wherein the third relationship is a correspondence between the second association identifier and the fourth association identifier, and the fourth relationship is a correspondence between the second association identifier, the third association identifier, and the second manner (see Liu 0169, request second portion of data if only have the first portion of data for the request). The same motivation was utilized in claim 1 applied equally well to claim 10.
As regarding claim 11, Kahn-Liu-Swanson discloses the sending the third message includes using the third message to unsubscribe from the first part of data from the second network element (see Kahn 0040, cancelled data collection).
As regarding claim 12, Kahn-Liu-Swanson discloses the method further comprises: sending, by the first network element, a fifth message to the second network element based on the second message, wherein the fifth message is usable to subscribe to the second data from the second network element, and the fifth message includes a fourth association identifier and the third message is usable to unsubscribe from the second data from the second network element (see Kahn 0040, cancelled data collection).
As regarding claim 14, Kahn-Liu-Swanson discloses the receiving the first network element includes receiving a data collection coordination function network element, the second network element is a user plane function network element, and the third network element is a messaging framework adaptor function network element and the receiving, by a first network element, the first message and the second message includes: receiving, by the first network element, the first message from a first network data analytics function network element, and receiving the second message from a second network data analytics function network element (see Kahn 0040-0042,0048,0050).
As regarding claim 15, Kahn-Liu-Swanson discloses the subscribing to the first data includes subscribing to the first data having a data granularity less than a data granularity of the second data (see Kahn 0078).
As regarding claims 16-20, limitations of claims 16-20 are similar to limitations of rejected claim 1-15 above, therefore rejected for the same rationale.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUYEN M DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459