DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10, filed 8/27/26, with respect to claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Petitions under 37 CFR 1.78(e) and 37 CFR 1.55(e) have been DISMISSED and the effective filing date of the instant application is still 7/16/24. Therefore, the cited reference still applies as prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Qualcomm (WO 2024/015143).
As to claim 1, Qualcomm teaches a method for adaptive scheduling of Ultra-Wideband (UWB) transmissions (Qualcomm, Fig 6 [0061], a method for UWB scheduling) for one or more UWB anchors in a UWB network (Qualcomm, Fig 2, 3A, transmission for UWB devices initiator/responder or controller/controlee) the method comprising:
receiving one or more interference reports from the one or more UWB anchors, the one or more interference reports comprising indications of measured interference, by one or more radio access technology (RAT) signal transmissions with one or more UWB signals experiencing interference transmitted by the one or more UWB anchors via a plurality of UWB channels at a plurality of UWB transmission times (Qualcomm, [0063]-[0069], receiving CSR and sub-CSR reports from responders to the initiators and from initiators to the logical controller [0040] for signals using various RF RAT (802.11, BLE, UWB, 802.15));
determining, based on the one or more interference reports, one or more UWB transmission schedules by at least (Qualcomm, [0069], determine scheduling information based on the CSRs received):
identifying, from the UWB channels and the UWB transmission times, one or more UWB channels and one or more UWB transmission times having measured interference that satisfies an interference condition (Qualcomm, [0068], the times are measured interferences that satisfy a threshold [0069] the measurements are determined for different channels and slots/times), and
assigning the one or more UWB anchors to transmit using the identified one or more UWB channels and the identified one or more UWB transmission times to avoid the measured interference (Qualcomm, [0070-0072], schedule/assign communication using different channels or slots based on the CSR to avoid going over the predetermined threshold); and
sending the one or more UWB transmission schedules based on the one or more interference reports to the one or more UWB anchors (Qualcomm, [0069-0070], the logical controller sends scheduling information based on the received CSR to the cluster of UWB anchors [0053][0054]).
As to claim 2, Qualcomm teaches wherein sending the one or more UWB transmission schedules based on the one or more interference reports to the one or more UWB anchors comprises: assigning a cluster of the one or more UWB anchors to transmit on one or more UWB channels based on the one or more interference reports (Qualcomm, [0069-0070], the clusters are assigned via scheduling information exchange for transmission based on the CSR).
As to claim 3, Qualcomm teaches wherein assigning the one or more clusters of the one or more UWB anchors to transmit on the one or more UWB channels based on the one or more interference reports comprises: assigning a cluster of the one or more clusters to transmit on a UWB channel on which the cluster is observed to experience a least amount of interference (Qualcomm, [0069-0070], the clusters are assigned via scheduling information exchange for transmission based on the CSR and determined interference is below the predetermined threshold/level).
As to claim 4, Qualcomm teaches wherein the indications of measured interference comprise one or more signal quality measurements corresponding to interference by the one or more RAT signal transmissions with the one or more UWB signals (Qualcomm, [0063], the CSR measurements comprise interferences of the wireless RAT signals).
As to claim 5, Qualcomm teaches wherein receiving the one or more interference reports from the one or more UWB anchors comprises: sending one or more requests for the one or more interference reports for the one or more UWB signals to one or more initiators corresponding to one or more clusters of one or more responders in the UWB network (Qualcomm, [0063]-[0069], sending the requests for CSR of signals to initiators that are part of UWB clusters [0053]); and the one or more interference reports comprising one or more amalgamated interference reports from the one or more initiators comprising the one or more signal quality measurements obtained by the one or more responders in the UWB network (Qualcomm, [0063]-[0069], receiving a single CSR that combines the sub-CSR from the responders).
As to claim 6, Qualcomm teaches wherein sending the one or more UWB transmission schedules based on the one or more interference reports to the one or more UWB anchors comprises: sending the one or more UWB transmission schedules to the corresponding one or more initiators; and sending, by the one or more initiators, the one or more UWB transmission schedules to one or more responders of one or more clusters corresponding to the one or more initiators (Qualcomm, [0069-0070], the logical controller sends scheduling information based on the received CSR to the cluster of UWB anchors [0053][0054])..
As to claim 7, Qualcomm teaches further comprising: receiving, from a signaling controller, the one or more request for the one or more interference reports by an initiator of the one or more initiators corresponding a cluster of the one or more clusters; sending, by the initiator, the one or more requests for the one or more interference reports to the one or more responders in the corresponding cluster (Qualcomm, [0063]-[0069], initiators receive requests for CSRS and send requests to responders for sub-CSR); obtaining, by the initiator, one or more first signal quality measurements of the one or more UWB signals based on the one or more requests (Qualcomm, [0063]-[0069], initiator obtains its CSR (first)); receiving, by the initiator from the one or more responders in the corresponding cluster, one or more interference reports comprising one or more second signal quality measurements of the one or more UWB signals obtained by the one or more responders of the corresponding cluster based on the one or more requests from the initiator (Qualcomm, [0063]-[0069], initiator receives sub-CSR (second) from responders); and sending, by the initiator, the one or more amalgamated interference reports comprising the one or more first signal quality measurements and the one or more second signal quality measurements to the signaling controller (Qualcomm, [0063]-[0069], a single CSR is sent to the logical controller).
As to claim 8, Qualcomm teaches further comprising: receiving the one or more requests for the one or more interference reports from the initiator of the corresponding cluster by the one or more responders of the corresponding cluster; obtaining, by the one or more responders of the corresponding cluster, the one or more second signal quality measurements of the one or more UWB signals based on the one or more requests from the initiator of the corresponding cluster (Qualcomm, [0063]-[0069], initiator sends request for sub-CSR (second) from responders and responders send the sub-CSR to the initiator); and sending the one or more interference reports comprising the one or more second signal quality measurements by the one or more responders of the corresponding cluster to the initiator of the corresponding cluster (Qualcomm, [0063]-[0069], responders send the sub-CSR to the initiator).
As to claim 9, Qualcomm teaches wherein the one or more requests for the one or more interference reports from the initiator comprise one or more parameters for the one or more signal quality measurements, wherein the one or more parameters is selected from a group consisting of: one or more metrics representing a level of interference from the one or more other signals (Qualcomm, [0068], the metrics are SINR).
As to claim 10, Qualcomm teaches an Ultra-Wideband (UWB) device (Qualcomm, Fig 6 [0061], a logical controller), comprising: at least one transmitter; at least one memory; and at least one processor, communicatively coupled to the at least one transmitter and the at least one memory, with at least one of the at least one memory or the at least one processor comprising instructions to cause the at least one processor (Qualcomm, Fig 11/12, memory, processor and transmitter) to:
receiving one or more interference reports from the one or more UWB anchors, the one or more interference reports comprising indications of measured interference, by one or more radio access technology (RAT) signal transmissions with one or more UWB signals experiencing interference transmitted by the one or more UWB anchors via a plurality of UWB channels at a plurality of UWB transmission times (Qualcomm, [0063]-[0069], receiving CSR and sub-CSR reports from responders to the initiators and from initiators to the logical controller [0040] for signals using various RF RAT (802.11, BLE, UWB, 802.15));
determine, based on the one or more interference reports, one or more UWB transmission schedules by at least (Qualcomm, [0069], determine scheduling information based on the CSRs received):
identify, from the UWB channels and the UWB transmission times, one or more UWB channels and one or more UWB transmission times having measured interference that satisfies an interference condition (Qualcomm, [0068], the times are measured interferences that satisfy a threshold [0069] the measurements are determined for different channels and slots/times), and
assign the one or more UWB anchors to transmit using the identified one or more UWB channels and the identified one or more UWB transmission times to avoid the measured interference (Qualcomm, [0070-0072], schedule/assign communication using different channels or slots based on the CSR to avoid going over the predetermined threshold); and
send the one or more UWB transmission schedules based on the one or more interference reports to the one or more UWB anchors (Qualcomm, [0069-0070], the logical controller sends scheduling information based on the received CSR to the cluster of UWB anchors [0053][0054]).
As to claim 11, Qualcomm teaches wherein the at least one processor comprising instructions to cause the at least one processor to send the one or more UWB transmission schedules based on the one or more interference reports to the one or more UWB anchors comprises instructions to cause the at least one processor to: assign one or more clusters of the one or more UWB anchors to transmit on one or more UWB channels based on the one or more interference reports (Qualcomm, [0069-0070], the clusters are assigned via scheduling information exchange for transmission based on the CSR).
As to claim 12, Qualcomm teaches wherein the at least one processor comprising instructions to cause the at least one processor to assign the one or more clusters of the one or more UWB anchors to transmit on the one or more UWB channels based on the one or more interference reports comprises instructions to cause the at least one processor to: assign a cluster of the one or more clusters to transmit on a designated UWB channel on which the cluster is observed to experience a least amount of interference (Qualcomm, [0069-0070], the clusters are assigned via scheduling information exchange for transmission based on the CSR and determined interference is below the predetermined threshold/level).
As to claim 13, Qualcomm teaches wherein the indications of measured interference comprises one or more signal quality measurements comprise one or more measurements corresponding to interference by the one or more RAT signal transmissions of the one or more UWB signals (Qualcomm, [0063], the CSR measurements comprise interferences of the wireless RAT signals).
As to claim 14, Qualcomm teaches wherein the at least one processor comprising instructions to cause the at least one processor to receive the one or more interference reports from the one or more UWB anchors comprises instructions to cause the at least one processor to: send one or more requests for the one or more interference reports for the one or more UWB signals to one or more initiators corresponding to one or more clusters of one or more responders in the UWB network (Qualcomm, [0063]-[0069], sending the requests for CSR of signals to initiators that are part of UWB clusters [0053]); and the one or more interference reports comprising one or more amalgamated interference reports from the one or more initiators comprising the one or more signal quality measurements of the one or more UWB signals obtained by the one or more responders in the UWB network (Qualcomm, [0063]-[0069], receiving a single CSR that combines the sub-CSR from the responders).
As to claim 15, Qualcomm teaches wherein the at least one processor comprising instructions to cause the at least one processor to send the one or more UWB transmission schedules based on the one or more interference reports to the one or more UWB anchors comprises instructions to cause the at least one processor to: send the one or more UWB transmission schedules to the corresponding one or more initiators; and send, by the one or more initiators, the one or more UWB transmission schedules to one or more responders of one or more clusters corresponding to the one or more initiators (Qualcomm, [0069-0070], the logical controller sends scheduling information based on the received CSR to the cluster of UWB anchors [0053][0054]).
As to claim 16, Qualcomm teaches further comprising instructions to cause the at least one processor to: receive, from a signaling controller, the one or more request for the one or more interference reports by an initiator of the one or more initiators corresponding a cluster of the one or more clusters; send, by the initiator, the one or more requests for the one or more interference reports to the one or more responders in the corresponding cluster (Qualcomm, [0063]-[0069], initiators receive requests for CSRS and send requests to responders for sub-CSR); obtain, by the initiator, one or more first signal quality measurements of the one or more UWB signals based on the one or more requests (Qualcomm, [0063]-[0069], initiator obtains its CSR (first)); receive, by the initiator from the one or more responders in the corresponding cluster, one or more interference reports comprising one or more second signal quality measurements of the one or more UWB signals obtained by the one or more responders of the corresponding cluster based on the one or more requests from the initiator (Qualcomm, [0063]-[0069], initiator receives sub-CSR (second) from responders); and send, by the initiator, the one or more amalgamated interference reports comprising the one or more first signal quality measurements and the one or more second signal quality measurements to the signaling controller (Qualcomm, [0063]-[0069], a single CSR is sent to the logical controller).
As to claim 17, Qualcomm teaches an Ultra-Wideband (UWB) device (Qualcomm, Fig 6 [0061], a logical controller), comprising:
means for receiving one or more interference reports from one or more UWB anchors in a UWB network, the one or more interference reports comprising one or more signal quality measurements of one or more UWB signals experiencing interference (Qualcomm, [0063]-[0069], receiving CSR and sub-CSR reports from receiving one or more interference reports from the one or more UWB anchors, the one or more interference reports comprising indications of measured interference, by one or more radio access technology (RAT) signal transmissions with one or more UWB signals experiencing interference transmitted by the one or more UWB anchors via a plurality of UWB channels at a plurality of UWB transmission times (Qualcomm, [0063]-[0069], receiving CSR and sub-CSR reports from responders to the initiators and from initiators to the logical controller [0040] for signals using various RF RAT (802.11, BLE, UWB, 802.15));
means for determining, based on the one or more interference reports, one or more UWB transmission schedules by at least (Qualcomm, [0069], determine scheduling information based on the CSRs received):
means for identifying, from the UWB channels and the UWB transmission times, one or more UWB channels and one or more UWB transmission times having measured interference that satisfies an interference condition (Qualcomm, [0068], the times are measured interferences that satisfy a threshold [0069] the measurements are determined for different channels and slots/times), and
assigning the one or more UWB anchors to transmit using the identified one or more UWB channels and the identified one or more UWB transmission times to avoid the measured interference (Qualcomm, [0070-0072], schedule/assign communication using different channels or slots based on the CSR to avoid going over the predetermined threshold); and
means for sending the one or more UWB transmission schedules based on the one or more interference reports to the one or more UWB anchors (Qualcomm, [0069-0070], the logical controller sends scheduling information based on the received CSR to the cluster of UWB anchors [0053][0054]).
As to claim 18, Qualcomm teaches wherein the means for sending the one or more UWB transmission schedules based on the one or more interference reports to the one or more UWB anchors comprises: means for assigning one or more clusters of the one or more UWB anchors to transmit on one or more UWB channels based on the one or more interference reports (Qualcomm, [0069-0070], the clusters are assigned via scheduling information exchange for transmission based on the CSR)..
As to claim 19, Qualcomm teaches wherein the means for assigning the one or more clusters of the one or more UWB anchors to transmit on the one or more UWB channels based on the one or more interference reports comprises: means for assigning a cluster of the one or more clusters to transmit on a designated UWB channel on which the cluster is observed to experience a least amount of interference (Qualcomm, [0069-0070], the clusters are assigned via scheduling information exchange for transmission based on the CSR and determined interference is below the predetermined threshold/level).
As to claim 20, Qualcomm teaches wherein the indications of measured interference comprises one or more signal quality measurements corresponding to interference of the one or more UWB signals from one or more radio access technology (RAT) signals (Qualcomm, [0063], the CSR measurements comprise interferences of the wireless RAT signals).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Barton et al (Pub No: 2022/0070613) [0125]
Henry et al (Pub No: 2025/0254528)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AFSHAWN M TOWFIGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469