Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loh et al. (US 2008/0012036 A1; hereinafter Loh) in view of Mazzochette et al. (US 20060012986 A1; hereinafter Mazzochette) in view of Jin et al. (US 20120319158 A1; hereinafter Jin).
Regarding Claim 1. Loh (Figs.1-13) discloses a light-emitting module, comprising a lead frame (400; Fig.12; [0107]), a substrate (450; [0108]), a light-emitting element (460; [0115]), a plastic encapsulation body (130/230/420;[0069][0087]-[0098]), wherein the substrate (450) is disposed on the lead frame (400), and the light-emitting element (460) is disposed on the substrate;
the substrate is an insulated substrate ([0115]);
the plastic encapsulation body (130/230/420) at least covers part of the lead frame (400/104), and a light condensation cavity (150/250/415; Fig.3-5, and Fig.12; [0079]; [0114]) is disposed in the plastic encapsulation body (130/230/420) is located above the light-emitting element (460/214) and covers the light-emitting element (see Fig.3B,5, Fig.12); and
Loh does not particularly disclose a driver integrated circuit (IC) chip and a plurality of passive devices, and the light-emitting element (460), the driver IC chip and the plurality of passive devices are disposed on the substrate.
Mazzochette (Fig.2-5) discloses in a related art an LED package having a driver integrated circuit (IC) chip (51/53; Fig.5; [0031]) and a plurality of passive devices ([0047]) and the light-emitting element (52), the driver IC chip (51/53) and the plurality of passive devices ([0047]) are disposed on the substrate (45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have an integrated circuit chip and passive devices to be able to use it in an integrated device requiring all the passive devices and to improve thermal management ([0030]).
Loh does not particularly disclose a plurality of circuit wires are further etched on the substrate, and the light-emitting element, the driver IC chip and the plurality of passive devices are correspondingly connected based on the circuit wires; and also the substrate is a double-sided metal-plated insulated substrate.
Jin (Fig.1-4) in a related art discloses a LED packaging comprising a double-sided metal-plated insulated substrate and a plurality of circuit wires are further etched on the substrate, and the light-emitting element, the driver IC chip and the plurality of passive devices are correspondingly connected based on the circuit wires ([0021]-[0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have a double-sided metal-plated insulated substrate and a plurality of circuit wires are further etched on the substrate, and the light-emitting element, the driver IC chip and the plurality of passive devices are correspondingly connected based on the circuit wires to spread LED heat from top to bottom of the substrate to a heat sink while maintaining electrical isolation.
Regarding Claim 4. The light-emitting module according to claim 1, Lou (Fig.3-5) discloses wherein an optical light condensation component (140/240) is disposed above the light condensation cavity (150/250).
Regarding Claim 5. The light-emitting module according to claim 1, Lou (Fig.2-12) discloses wherein a fixing protection structure (124/120/138/238; Fig.2A; [0062]) is disposed on at least one side surface of the light condensation cavity (150/250).
Regarding Claim 6. The light-emitting module according to claim 1, Lou (Fig.3B) discloses wherein the light condensation cavity comprises a first circular truncated cone cavity (bottom one shown where LED is in) and a second circular truncated cone cavity (the top one), wherein the first circular truncated cone cavity is disposed above the second circular truncated cone cavity (Fig.3B).
Regarding Claim 7. The light-emitting module according to claim 6, Lou (Fig.3B) discloses wherein a diameter of an upper bottom surface of the first circular truncated cone cavity (upper surface of bottom cavity shown in Fig.3B) is greater than a diameter of a lower bottom surface of the first circular truncated cone cavity (lower surface of bottom cavity); and
a diameter of an upper bottom surface of the second circular truncated cone cavity (upper surface of top cavity) is greater than a diameter of a lower bottom surface of the second circular truncated cone cavity (lower surface of top cavity).
Regarding Claim 8. The light-emitting module according to claim 6, Lou (Fig.3B, 7, 11) discloses wherein a dam (132; [0071]) is disposed in the second circular truncated cone cavity, is disposed in an inner wall of the second circular truncated cone cavity and is located around the light-emitting element on the substrate.
Regarding Claim 9. The light-emitting module according to claim 6, Lou does not particularly disclose wherein a cone angle of a circular truncated cone of the first circular truncated cone cavity is α, and a value range of α is 4 to 8 degree; and a cone angle of a circular truncated cone of the second circular truncated cone cavity is β, and a value range of β is 14 to 22 degree.
However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to make any desired angle sized cavities since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claim 10. The light-emitting module according to claim 1, Lou (Fig.10A-12) discloses wherein the lead frame further comprises a plurality of weld pins (406; [0108]), wherein the plurality of weld pins are in-line weld pins or surface mount weld pins; and
the light-emitting module further comprises a plurality of bonding wires (417; [0116]), wherein the substrate is correspondingly connected to the plurality of weld pins based on the plurality of bonding wires.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loh in view of Mazzochette in view of Jin in view of Lin et al. (US 2016/0133533 A1; hereinafter Lin).
Regarding Claim 2. The light-emitting module according to claim 1, Mazzochette discloses wherein the substrate (45/42) is a double-sided copper-clad ceramic substrate ([0062], [0065]);
Mazzochette does not particularly disclose a nickel-plated gold layer is further disposed on the substrate.
Lin ([0007]-[0011]) discloses in a related art a semiconductor packaging wherein a nickel-plated gold layer is further disposed on the substrate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have a nickel-plated gold layer is further disposed on the substrate to provide a protective, bondable surface for component and wire connections while retaining substrate isolation and thermal conduction.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loh in view of Mazzochette in view of Jin in view of Brown (US 4,918,511; hereinafter Brown).
Regarding Claim 3. The light-emitting module according to claim 1, Loh does not particularly disclose wherein a plurality of grooves are disposed on the lead frame, and the substrate is placed on the lead frame where the plurality of grooves are disposed; and the plurality of grooves are transverse stripe grooves, longitudinal stripe grooves or oblique stripe grooves and are parallel to each other, and a number of the plurality of grooves is 2 or more.
Brown (Fig.3-4) in a related art discloses a semiconductor packaging wherein a plurality of grooves (40; Fig.3) are disposed on the lead frame (2), and the substrate (30) is placed on the lead frame where the plurality of grooves are disposed; and the plurality of grooves are transverse stripe grooves, longitudinal stripe grooves or oblique stripe grooves and are parallel to each other, and a number of the plurality of grooves is 2 or more (claim1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have grooves under the substrate to accommodate differential thermal expansion and reduce damage to the attached body.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loh in view of Mazzochette in view of Jin in view of Shimizu et al. (US 6377292 B1; hereinafter Shimizu).
Regarding Claim 11. The light-emitting module according to claim 10, Lou does not particularly disclose wherein a solder resist ink is disposed among pins of the light-emitting element, the driver IC chip and the plurality of passive devices and the plurality of bonding wires.
Shimizu (Col.4; lines 61-67) discloses a LED package wherein a solder resist ink (33) is disposed among pins of the light-emitting element, the driver IC chip and the plurality of passive devices and the plurality of bonding wires.
Therefore, it would have been obvious in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have a solder resist ink to cover copper traces and prevent unwanted solder adhesion.
Regarding Claim 12. The light-emitting module according to claim 11, Shimizu (Col.4; lines 61-67) discloses wherein a thickness of the solder resist ink ranges from 30 um to 40 um and a width of the solder resist ink ranges from 80 um to 120 um.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loh in view of Mazzochette in view of Jin in view of Hwu et al. (US 8338923 B1; hereinafter Hwu).
Regarding Claim 13. The light-emitting module according to claim 1, Lou does not particularly disclose wherein at least one of the following configurations is satisfied: a plurality of stress release holes are disposed on two edges of a front surface of the substrate; a waterproof groove is disposed on four edges of a front surface of the substrate; or a stress release groove structure is disposed on a side surface of the substrate.
Hwu (Fig.5) discloses in a related art wherein at least one of the following configurations is satisfied: a plurality of stress release holes are disposed on two edges of a front surface of the substrate; a waterproof groove is disposed on four edges of a front surface of the substrate; or a stress release groove structure (1311) is disposed on a side surface of the substrate (131).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have stress release groove structure is disposed on a side surface of the substrate to improve adhesion and resist moisture penetration around the substrate to encapsulation interface (Col.2; lines 47-60).
Claims 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loh in view of Mazzochette in view of Jin in view of Suzuki et al. (US 20160020161 A1; hereinafter Suzuki).
Regarding Claim 14. The light-emitting module according to claim 1, Lou does not particularly disclose wherein a plurality of limit angles are further disposed on the lead frame and comprise at least two limit angles distributed at diagonal positions in four corners of the lead frame.
Suzuki (Figs.3A-3C) discloses in a related art wherein a plurality of limit angles (50; [0033]) are further disposed on the lead frame and comprise at least two limit angles distributed at diagonal positions in four corners of the lead frame.
Therefore, it would have been obvious in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have a plurality of limit angles to improve attachment consistency and thermal conduction.
Regarding Claim 15. The light-emitting module according to claim 14, Suzuki (Figs.3A-3C) discloses wherein any one of the plurality of limit angles (50) comprises a transverse limit edge and a longitudinal limit edge, wherein a transverse limit edge and a longitudinal limit edge of a same limit angle in the plurality of limit angles are disposed crosswise ([0033]-[0037]).
Regarding Claim 16. The light-emitting module according to claim 15, Suzuki (Figs.3A-3C) discloses wherein any transverse limit edge (50) comprises a first limit structure and a second limit structure, wherein the first limit structure and the second limit structure are mountain-shaped; and any longitudinal limit edge comprises a third limit structure and a fourth limit structure, wherein the third limit structure and the fourth limit structure are mountain-shaped (see Fig.3C; [0078]-[0084]).
Regarding Claim 17. The light-emitting module according to claim 16, Suzuki (Figs.3A-3C) discloses wherein an included angle between the first limit structure and the second limit structure of any transverse limit edge is 50 to 70 degree, and an included angle between the third limit structure and the fourth limit structure of any longitudinal limit edge is 50 to 70 degree ([0073] discloses that the angle can be acute angle).
Regarding Claim 18. The light-emitting module according to claim 16, Suzuki (Figs.3A-3C) discloses wherein any transverse limit edge has a same structure, and any longitudinal limit edge has a same structure.
Regarding Claim 19. The light-emitting module according to claim 16, Suzuki does not particularly discloses wherein the first limit structure of any transverse limit edge has a height ranging from 0.02 mm to 0.03 mm, and the second limit structure of any transverse limit edge has a height ranging from 0.05 mm to 0.1 mm; and the third limit structure of any longitudinal limit edge has a height ranging from 0.02 mm to 0.03 mm, and the fourth limit structure of any longitudinal limit edge has a height ranging from 0.05mm to 0.1 mm.
Suzuki ([0074]) discloses that the height of element 50 can be controlled in any desired way such that any desired heat conductivity is achieved.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have any desired height since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loh in view of Mazzochette in view of Jin in view of Knox et al. (US 2016/0381844 A1; hereinafter Knox).
Regarding Claim 20. The light-emitting module according to claim 1, Loh (Fig.10A-C) disclose wherein a material of the lead frame (400) is a metal material ([0121]).
Loh does not particularly disclose a positioning ink is further disposed on the substrate.
Knox ([0186]-[0188]) discloses in a related art a positioning ink is further disposed on the substrate.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have a positioning ink is further disposed on the substrate to establish a reference position and correcting placement offsets.
Conclusion
/HAJAR KOLAHDOUZAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/Leonard Chang/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898