DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Drawings
The drawings received on 16 July 2024 are accepted.
Examiner Claim Interpretation
The claims recite the terms “core functionality” and “non-core functionality.” The Specification does not provide any lexicographic definition for these terms. Accordingly, Examiner is taking the plain meaning in light of the Specification and in context of accompanying claim language. See MPEP §2111.
Specification paragraph 50 states “Each model module 19 is arranged to implement core functionality of a model, that is, functionality such as analysis, validation, prediction and/or thresholding functions.” Specification paragraph 62 states “The common functions 28 may for example carry out non-core functions, such as deployment functions, including housekeeping 30, data handling 32, pre-processing 34, validation 36, post-processing 38, error handling 40 and/or logging 42 functions.”
The interpretation of which functions are considered core and non-core largely depends on the specific manner in which respective functionality is recited in the claims.
Here, claims 1 and 11 now recites “a core function of a model” and “a non-core function used by one or more models.” Accordingly, core functions are those which are of the model and non-core functions are the functions utilized by the model.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-12, and 14-20
Claims 1, 2, 4-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent 10,289,457 B1 Slawomir [herein “Slawomir”] in view of US patent 10,386,827 B2 Enver, et al. [herein “Enver”].
Claim 1 recites “1. A model management system for managing models that are implemented by a processor to carry out at least one function on data obtained from at least one tag positioned in a facility, each tag producing data associated with operation of a process carried out in the facility.” Slawomir column 3 lines 43-54 disclose:
The present disclosure describes examples of dynamically discovering and interconnecting container-based microservices. In certain embodiments, container metadata can be maintained that describes a set of micro services provided by a set of containers. For a given container, the container metadata can indicate, for example, a type of microservice provided (e.g., database, message queue, etc.), a set of inputs, a set of outputs, combinations of same and/or the like. Advantageously, in certain embodiments, a desired type of microservice can be dynamically discovered and connected to, or chained with, other microservices to create an application or service.
Maintaining metadata to create and application or service corresponds with management of models to carry out at least one function on data.
Claim term “tag” is interpreted in light of Specification paragraph 3 states (“it is common for the plant to include a large number of 'tags', typically in the form of sensors, that each provide operational information indicative of the operational state of an aspect of the plant as a time series record.”).
Slawomir does not explicitly disclose obtaining tag/sensor data; however, in analogous art of engineer modeling, Enver column 17 lines 16-18 teaches “The wired field devices 15-22 may be any types of devices, such as sensors, valves, transmitters, positioners, etc.” Enver column 9 lines 15-17 teach “The indication of the one or more types of measurements may include one or more tags, aliases, and data types associated the data.” The sensors and/or corresponding tags for types of measurements are at least one tag arranged to produce data associated with operation of a process. The measurements and field devices are associated with operation of a process. I.e. Enver column 1 line 56 teaches “process control systems” which associate with operation of a process.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Slawomir and Enver. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found motivation to use tags and sensors into the system of container-based microservices for the advantageous purpose to provide predictive analytics for process control. See Enver column 22 lines 13-16. Further motivation to combine Slawomir and Enver is to provide a web interface for an operator to change settings of process control routines. See Enver column 2 lines 66-67.
Claim 1 further recites “the system comprising: a processor.” Slawomir column 8 lines 49-50 disclose “system 200 includes a processor 242, memory 244, storage 248, interface 246, and bus 252.”
Claim 1 further recites “a first storage component that stores data indicative of a plurality of model modules, each model module configured to implement a core function of a model in relation to data obtained from at least one tag, wherein each model module is associated with one or more models.” Claim term “tag” is interpreted in light of Specification paragraph 3 states (“it is common for the plant to include a large number of 'tags', typically in the form of sensors, that each provide operational information indicative of the operational state of an aspect of the plant as a time series record.”).
Slawomir does not explicitly disclose obtaining tag/sensor data; however, in analogous art of engineer modeling, Enver column 33 lines 22-25 teach “a user to create, view, and modify data models, each of which defines one or more data analytics (e.g., descriptive, predictive, and/or prescriptive analytics) that are to be executed or performed on an input data set.” The data models and data analytics correspond with model modules to implement core functions of the model in relation to data.
Enver column 17 lines 16-18 teaches “The wired field devices 15-22 may be any types of devices, such as sensors, valves, transmitters, positioners, etc.” Enver column 9 lines 15-17 teach “The indication of the one or more types of measurements may include one or more tags, aliases, and data types associated the data.” The sensors and/or corresponding tags for types of measurements are at least one tag arranged to produce data associated with operation of a process. The measurements and field devices are associated with operation of a process. I.e. Enver column 1 line 56 teaches “process control systems” which associate with operation of a process.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Slawomir and Enver. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found motivation to use tags and sensors into the system of container-based microservices for the advantageous purpose to provide predictive analytics for process control. See Enver column 22 lines 13-16. Further motivation to combine Slawomir and Enver is to provide a web interface for an operator to change settings of process control routines. See Enver column 2 lines 66-67.
Claim 1 further recites “a second storage component that stores data indicative of a plurality of non-core functions, each non-core function configured to implement a non-core function used by one or more models.” Slawomir does not explicitly disclose non-core functions used by the data models; however, in analogous art of engineer modeling, Enver column 51 lines 50-53 teach “a user may choose to include this validation data pipeline in the on-line data diagram 345, e.g., if the user desires to have continual testing and validation of the on-line data model in the on-line environment.” The data validation pipeline corresponds with non-core validation functions.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Slawomir and Enver. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found motivation to use sensor data with validation pipeline into the system of container-based microservices for the advantageous purpose to provide predictive analytics for process control. See Enver column 22 lines 13-16. Further motivation to combine Slawomir and Enver is to provide a web interface for an operator to change settings of process control routines. See Enver column 2 lines 66-67.
Claim 1 further recites “a third storage component that stores a plurality of model parameters records, each model parameters record comprising information that defines a model, the information being indicative of: one or more model modules to use to implement the defined model.” Slawomir column 7 lines 39-42 disclose “the container metadata 158 can indicate, for each container, a microservice provided the container, inputs of the container, outputs of the container, other information, combinations of same and/or the like.” The microservice provided by the container corresponds with one or more model modules used to implement the model. The inputs and outputs of a container correspond to model parameter records.
Slawomir column 6 line 67 to column 7 line 1 disclose “the one or more data stores 150 can include container images, deployment settings for applications.” Deployment settings correspond with information indicative of how to implement the defined application.
Claim 1 further recites “a third storage component that stores … the [model parameters record] information being indicative of: … any one or more non-core functions for the model.” Slawomir does not explicitly disclose non-core functions used by the data models; however, in analogous art of engineer modeling, Enver column 51 lines 50-53 teach “a user may choose to include this validation data pipeline in the on-line data diagram 345, e.g., if the user desires to have continual testing and validation of the on-line data model in the on-line environment.” The data validation pipeline corresponds with non-core validation functions.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Slawomir and Enver. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found motivation to use sensor data with validation pipeline into the system of container-based microservices for the advantageous purpose to provide predictive analytics for process control. See Enver column 22 lines 13-16. Further motivation to combine Slawomir and Enver is to provide a web interface for an operator to change settings of process control routines. See Enver column 2 lines 66-67.
Claim 1 further recites “a third storage component that stores … the [model parameters record] information being indicative of: … and timing information.” Slawomir column 13 lines 29-32 disclose “the deployment module 142 determines an application to deploy. In certain embodiments, the application can be determined as a result of user specification or scheduling.” Scheduling is timing information for the respectively determined application.
Claim 1 further recites “and a fourth storage component that stores a plurality of application containers, each application container defining a computing environment and components required for implementing one or more specific models.” Slawomir column 6 line 67 to column 7 line 1 disclose “the one or more data stores 150 can include container images, deployment settings for applications.” Container images correspond with a plurality of application containers. The deployment settings correspond with defined computing environment and components required for implementing the models. Deploying corresponds with implementing.
Claim 1 further recites “wherein the first, second, third and fourth storage components are separate storage components.” Slawomir column 5 lines 50-53 disclose “the central management system 140 can be implemented in a plurality of virtual or physical servers, which may or may not be geographically co-located.” A plurality of servers not geographically co-located corresponds with separate respective storage components.
Claim interpretation comment:
Some overlap of various data is permitted by the instant claim language as some storage components include substantially similar data. For example, second storage component recites “data indicative … to implement a non-core function” and the third storage component recites “any one or more non-core functions.” Accordingly, while the claim requires separate or distributed storage components, the respective second and third storage components may both include overlapping information regarding non-core functions. That is, the claim does not require that each separate storage component stores mutually exclusive data and to the extend the claims recite overlapping data the claims require overlapping storage of data.
Claim 1 further recites “and wherein the processor implements a model responsive to timing information defined in a model parameters record by: utilizing, from the third storage component, the model parameters record including information defined for the model.” Slawomir column 13 lines 29-32 disclose “the deployment module 142 determines an application to deploy. In certain embodiments, the application can be determined as a result of user specification or scheduling.” Scheduling is timing information for the respectively determined application. Deployment module using scheduling to determine to deploy an application corresponds with implementing the respective model(s) responsive to timing information.
Slawomir column 6 line 67 to column 7 line 1 disclose “the one or more data stores 150 can include container images, deployment settings for applications.” Deployment settings correspond with information indicative of how to implement the defined application. Slawomir column 7 lines 39-42 disclose “the container metadata 158 can indicate, for each container, a microservice provided the container, inputs of the container, outputs of the container, other information, combinations of same and/or the like.” The microservice provided by the container corresponds with one or more model modules used to implement the model. The inputs and outputs of a container correspond to model parameter records.
Claim 1 further recites “utilizing, from the fourth storage component and based on the utilized model parameters record, an application container, the application container providing a computing environment and components required for implementing the model.” Slawomir column 6 line 67 to column 7 line 1 disclose “the one or more data stores 150 can include container images, deployment settings for applications.” Deployment settings correspond with components required for implementing the defined application. The container images itself corresponds with an application container.
Claim 1 further recites “implementing, from the first storage component, at least one model module defined in the utilized model parameters record for the model to execute the one or more core functions associated with each of the at least one model module on the data obtained from the at least one tag.” Slawomir column 5 lines 65-67 disclose “The deployment module 142 can supervise and cause container-based deployment of an application on one or more of the cloud-provider systems 124.” Causing deployment of an application corresponds with implementing at least one model. Slawomir column 7 lines 59-61 disclose “The one or inputs of each container can specify, for example, particular data parameters that are used to instantiate a container.” Instantiating a container with particular data parameters corresponds with using the respective model parameters records in the implementing.
Slawomir does not explicitly disclose obtaining tag/sensor data and corresponding data models; however, in analogous art of engineer modeling, Enver column 33 lines 22-25 teach “a user to create, view, and modify data models, each of which defines one or more data analytics (e.g., descriptive, predictive, and/or prescriptive analytics) that are to be executed or performed on an input data set.” The data models and data analytics correspond with model modules to implement core functions of the model in relation to data.
Enver column 17 lines 16-18 teaches “The wired field devices 15-22 may be any types of devices, such as sensors, valves, transmitters, positioners, etc.” Enver column 9 lines 15-17 teach “The indication of the one or more types of measurements may include one or more tags, aliases, and data types associated the data.” The sensors and/or corresponding tags for types of measurements are at least one tag arranged to produce data associated with operation of a process. The measurements and field devices are associated with operation of a process. I.e. Enver column 1 line 56 teaches “process control systems” which associate with operation of a process.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Slawomir and Enver. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found motivation to use tags and sensors into the system of container-based microservices for the advantageous purpose to provide predictive analytics for process control. See Enver column 22 lines 13-16. Further motivation to combine Slawomir and Enver is to provide a web interface for an operator to change settings of process control routines. See Enver column 2 lines 66-67.
Claim 1 further recites “and implementing, from the second storage component, one or more non-core functions associated with the model to execute the one or more non-core functions defined for the model in the utilised model parameters record.” Slawomir does not explicitly disclose non-core functions used by the data models; however, in analogous art of engineer modeling, Enver column 51 lines 50-53 teach “a user may choose to include this validation data pipeline in the on-line data diagram 345, e.g., if the user desires to have continual testing and validation of the on-line data model in the on-line environment.” The data validation pipeline corresponds with non-core validation functions.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Slawomir and Enver. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found motivation to use sensor data with validation pipeline into the system of container-based microservices for the advantageous purpose to provide predictive analytics for process control. See Enver column 22 lines 13-16. Further motivation to combine Slawomir and Enver is to provide a web interface for an operator to change settings of process control routines. See Enver column 2 lines 66-67.
Claim 2 further recites “2. A model management system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the timing information is indicative of when the processor is to implement the model.” Slawomir column 13 lines 29-32 disclose “the deployment module 142 determines an application to deploy. In certain embodiments, the application can be determined as a result of user specification or scheduling.” Deployment according to scheduling is timing information indicative of when the processor is to implement the model.
Claim 4 further recites “4. A model management system as claimed in claim 2, further comprising a scheduler arranged to schedule implementation of the model associated with the utilized model parameters record, the scheduler being arranged to cause the processor to implement the model associated with the utilized model parameters record using the timing information in the utilized model parameters record.” Slawomir column 13 lines 29-32 disclose “the deployment module 142 determines an application to deploy. In certain embodiments, the application can be determined as a result of user specification or scheduling.”
Slawomir column 7 lines 59-61 disclose “The one or inputs of each container can specify, for example, particular data parameters that are used to instantiate a container.” Instantiating a container with particular data parameters corresponds with using the respective model parameters records in the implementing.
Claim 5 further recites “5. A model management system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the application container is a stateless container.” Alwomir column 7 lines 17-19 disclose “the containers of the container data store 152 can include a container image and a container manifest.” Slawomir column 3 lines 23-24 disclose “Examples of container formats include, but are not limited to, Docker and Rocket.” A Docker container format corresponds with a stateless container.
Claim 6 further recites “6. A model management system as claimed in claim 1, comprising a model inputs data storage component arranged to store input data to be used by at least one model implemented by the processor, wherein the input data is obtained from at least one tag, and the system comprises a data gatherer arranged to obtain input data from the at least one tag and store the data in the model inputs data storage component.” Claim term “tag” is interpreted in light of Specification paragraph 3 states (“it is common for the plant to include a large number of 'tags', typically in the form of sensors, that each provide operational information indicative of the operational state of an aspect of the plant as a time series record.”).
Slawomir does not explicitly disclose obtaining tag/sensor data; however, in analogous art of engineer modeling, Enver column 17 lines 16-18 teaches “The wired field devices 15-22 may be any types of devices, such as sensors, valves, transmitters, positioners, etc.” Enver column 9 lines 15-17 teach “The indication of the one or more types of measurements may include one or more tags, aliases, and data types associated the data.” The sensors and/or corresponding tags for types of measurements are at least one tag arranged to produce data associated with operation of a process. The measurements and field devices are associated with operation of a process. I.e. Enver column 1 line 56 teaches “process control systems” which associate with operation of a process.
Enver column 40 lines 55-56 teach “’SaveDataSet’ to historize an input dataset into longer-term data storage.” Saving an input dataset into longer-term data storage corresponds with input data storage component storing input data.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Slawomir and Enver. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found motivation to use tags and sensors into the system of container-based microservices for the advantageous purpose to provide predictive analytics for process control. See Enver column 22 lines 13-16. Further motivation to combine Slawomir and Enver is to provide a web interface for an operator to change settings of process control routines. See Enver column 2 lines 66-67.
Claim 7 further recites “7. A model management system as claimed in claim 1, comprising a model outputs data storage component arranged to store output data produced by implementation of at least one model module.” Enver column 42 lines 8-10 teach “’Write,’ which causes the output data to be written or saved to a file, database, or other static storage area.” Saving output data to a database corresponds to storing output data in a storage component.
Claim 8 further recites “8. A model management system as claimed in claim 1, comprising a common model data storage component arranged to store input data to be used by at least one model module implemented by the processor and output data produced by implementation of the model module.” Slawomir does not explicitly disclose obtaining tag/sensor data; however, in analogous art of engineer modeling, Enver column 17 lines 16-18 teaches “The wired field devices 15-22 may be any types of devices, such as sensors, valves, transmitters, positioners, etc.” Enver column 9 lines 15-17 teach “The indication of the one or more types of measurements may include one or more tags, aliases, and data types associated the data.” The sensors and/or corresponding tags for types of measurements are at least one tag arranged to produce data associated with operation of a process. The measurements and field devices are associated with operation of a process. I.e. Enver column 1 line 56 teaches “process control systems” which associate with operation of a process.
Enver column 40 lines 55-56 teach “’SaveDataSet’ to historize an input dataset into longer-term data storage.” Saving an input dataset into longer-term data storage corresponds with input data storage component storing input data.
Enver column 42 lines 8-10 teach “’Write,’ which causes the output data to be written or saved to a file, database, or other static storage area.” Saving output data to a database corresponds to storing output data in a storage component.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Slawomir and Enver. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found motivation to use tags and sensors into the system of container-based microservices for the advantageous purpose to provide predictive analytics for process control. See Enver column 22 lines 13-16. Further motivation to combine Slawomir and Enver is to provide a web interface for an operator to change settings of process control routines. See Enver column 2 lines 66-67.
Claim 9 further recites “9. A model management system as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one tag includes a sensor.” Slawomir does not explicitly disclose a sensor; however, in analogous art of engineer modeling, Enver column 17 lines 16-18 teaches “The wired field devices 15-22 may be any types of devices, such as sensors, valves, transmitters, positioners, etc.” Enver column 9 lines 15-17 teach “The indication of the one or more types of measurements may include one or more tags, aliases, and data types associated the data.”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Slawomir and Enver. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found motivation to use tags and sensors into the system of container-based microservices for the advantageous purpose to provide predictive analytics for process control. See Enver column 22 lines 13-16. Further motivation to combine Slawomir and Enver is to provide a web interface for an operator to change settings of process control routines. See Enver column 2 lines 66-67.
Claim 10 further recites “10. A model management system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the system includes a module editor arranged to facilitate creation and/or modification of a model module.” From the above list of alternatives the Examiner is selecting “creation of a model module.”
Slawomir column 6 lines 41-47 disclose:
The microservice discovery module 149 can connect, or chain together, container-based microservices to create an application or service. In some cases, the microservice discovery module 149 can be triggered by an administrator, super user or other user with respect to one or more microservices needed to create a desired application or service.
An administrator or user creating an application or service using the microservice discovery module corresponds to a module editor to facilitate creation of model modules.
Claim 11 recites “11. A method of managing models that are implemented by a processor on data obtained from at least one tag positioned in a facility, each tag producing data associated with operation of a process carried out in the facility.” Slawomir column 8 lines 49-50 disclose “system 200 includes a processor 242, memory 244, storage 248, interface 246, and bus 252.”
Slawomir column 3 lines 43-54 disclose:
The present disclosure describes examples of dynamically discovering and interconnecting container-based microservices. In certain embodiments, container metadata can be maintained that describes a set of micro services provided by a set of containers. For a given container, the container metadata can indicate, for example, a type of microservice provided (e.g., database, message queue, etc.), a set of inputs, a set of outputs, combinations of same and/or the like. Advantageously, in certain embodiments, a desired type of microservice can be dynamically discovered and connected to, or chained with, other microservices to create an application or service.
Maintaining metadata to create and application or service corresponds with management of models to carry out at least one function on data.
Claim term “tag” is interpreted in light of Specification paragraph 3 states (“it is common for the plant to include a large number of 'tags', typically in the form of sensors, that each provide operational information indicative of the operational state of an aspect of the plant as a time series record.”).
Slawomir does not explicitly disclose obtaining tag/sensor data; however, in analogous art of engineer modeling, Enver column 17 lines 16-18 teaches “The wired field devices 15-22 may be any types of devices, such as sensors, valves, transmitters, positioners, etc.” Enver column 9 lines 15-17 teach “The indication of the one or more types of measurements may include one or more tags, aliases, and data types associated the data.” The sensors and/or corresponding tags for types of measurements are at least one tag arranged to produce data associated with operation of a process. The measurements and field devices are associated with operation of a process. I.e. Enver column 1 line 56 teaches “process control systems” which associate with operation of a process.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Slawomir and Enver. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found motivation to use tags and sensors into the system of container-based microservices for the advantageous purpose to provide predictive analytics for process control. See Enver column 22 lines 13-16. Further motivation to combine Slawomir and Enver is to provide a web interface for an operator to change settings of process control routines. See Enver column 2 lines 66-67.
Claim 11 further recites “the method comprising: storing in a first storage component data indicative of a plurality of model modules, each model module configured to implement a core function of a model in relation to data obtained from at least one tag, wherein each model module is associated with one or more models.” Claim term “tag” is interpreted in light of Specification paragraph 3 states (“it is common for the plant to include a large number of 'tags', typically in the form of sensors, that each provide operational information indicative of the operational state of an aspect of the plant as a time series record.”).
Slawomir does not explicitly disclose obtaining tag/sensor data; however, in analogous art of engineer modeling, Enver column 33 lines 22-25 teach “a user to create, view, and modify data models, each of which defines one or more data analytics (e.g., descriptive, predictive, and/or prescriptive analytics) that are to be executed or performed on an input data set.” The data models and data analytics correspond with model modules to implement core functions of the model in relation to data.
Enver column 17 lines 16-18 teaches “The wired field devices 15-22 may be any types of devices, such as sensors, valves, transmitters, positioners, etc.” Enver column 9 lines 15-17 teach “The indication of the one or more types of measurements may include one or more tags, aliases, and data types associated the data.” The sensors and/or corresponding tags for types of measurements are at least one tag arranged to produce data associated with operation of a process. The measurements and field devices are associated with operation of a process. I.e. Enver column 1 line 56 teaches “process control systems” which associate with operation of a process.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Slawomir and Enver. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found motivation to use tags and sensors into the system of container-based microservices for the advantageous purpose to provide predictive analytics for process control. See Enver column 22 lines 13-16. Further motivation to combine Slawomir and Enver is to provide a web interface for an operator to change settings of process control routines. See Enver column 2 lines 66-67.
Claim 11 further recites “storing in a second storage component data indicative of a plurality of non-core functions, each non-core function configured to implement a non-core function used by one or more models.” Slawomir does not explicitly disclose non-core functions used by the data models; however, in analogous art of engineer modeling, Enver column 51 lines 50-53 teach “a user may choose to include this validation data pipeline in the on-line data diagram 345, e.g., if the user desires to have continual testing and validation of the on-line data model in the on-line environment.” The data validation pipeline corresponds with non-core validation functions.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Slawomir and Enver. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found motivation to use sensor data with validation pipeline into the system of container-based microservices for the advantageous purpose to provide predictive analytics for process control. See Enver column 22 lines 13-16. Further motivation to combine Slawomir and Enver is to provide a web interface for an operator to change settings of process control routines. See Enver column 2 lines 66-67.
Claim 11 further recites “storing in a third storage component data indicative of a plurality of model parameters records, each model parameters record comprising information that defines a model, the information being indicative of: one or more model modules to be implemented for the defined model.” Slawomir column 7 lines 39-42 disclose “the container metadata 158 can indicate, for each container, a microservice provided the container, inputs of the container, outputs of the container, other information, combinations of same and/or the like.” The microservice provided by the container corresponds with one or more model modules used to implement the model. The inputs and outputs of a container correspond to model parameter records.
Slawomir column 6 line 67 to column 7 line 1 disclose “the one or more data stores 150 can include container images, deployment settings for applications.” Deployment settings correspond with information indicative of how to implement the defined application.
Claim 11 further recites “storing in a third storage component data …, the information being indicative of: … any one or more non-core functions for the model.” Slawomir does not explicitly disclose non-core functions used by the data models; however, in analogous art of engineer modeling, Enver column 51 lines 50-53 teach “a user may choose to include this validation data pipeline in the on-line data diagram 345, e.g., if the user desires to have continual testing and validation of the on-line data model in the on-line environment.” The data validation pipeline corresponds with non-core validation functions.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Slawomir and Enver. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found motivation to use sensor data with validation pipeline into the system of container-based microservices for the advantageous purpose to provide predictive analytics for process control. See Enver column 22 lines 13-16. Further motivation to combine Slawomir and Enver is to provide a web interface for an operator to change settings of process control routines. See Enver column 2 lines 66-67.
Claim 11 further recites “storing in a third storage component data …, the information being indicative of: … and timing information.” Slawomir column 13 lines 29-32 disclose “the deployment module 142 determines an application to deploy. In certain embodiments, the application can be determined as a result of user specification or scheduling.” Scheduling is timing information for the respectively determined application.
Claim 11 further recites “storing in a fourth storage component a plurality of application containers, each application container defining a computing environment and components required for implementing one or more specific models.” Slawomir column 6 line 67 to column 7 line 1 disclose “the one or more data stores 150 can include container images, deployment settings for applications.” Container images correspond with a plurality of application containers. The deployment settings correspond with defined computing environment and components required for implementing the models. Deploying corresponds with implementing.
Claim 11 further recites “and implementing a model by a processor responsive to timing information defined in a model parameters record.” Slawomir column 13 lines 29-32 disclose “the deployment module 142 determines an application to deploy. In certain embodiments, the application can be determined as a result of user specification or scheduling.” Scheduling is timing information for the respectively determined application. Deployment module using scheduling to determine to deploy an application corresponds with implementing the respective model(s) responsive to timing information.
Claim 11 further recites “wherein the first, second, third and fourth storage components are separate storage components.” Slawomir column 5 lines 50-53 disclose “the central management system 140 can be implemented in a plurality of virtual or physical servers, which may or may not be geographically co-located.” A plurality of servers not geographically co-located corresponds with separate respective storage components.
Claim interpretation comment:
Some overlap of various data is permitted by the instant claim language as some storage components include substantially similar data. For example, second storage component recites “data indicative … to implement a non-core function” and the third storage component recites “any one or more non-core functions.” Accordingly, while the claim requires separate or distributed storage components, the respective second and third storage components may both include overlapping information regarding non-core functions. That is, the claim does not require that each separate storage component stores mutually exclusive data and to the extend the claims recite overlapping data the claims require overlapping storage of data.
Claim 11 further recites “and wherein implementing the model comprises: utilizing, from the third storage component, the model parameters record including information defined for the model.” Slawomir column 6 line 67 to column 7 line 1 disclose “the one or more data stores 150 can include container images, deployment settings for applications.” Deployment settings correspond with information indicative of how to implement the defined application. Slawomir column 7 lines 39-42 disclose “the container metadata 158 can indicate, for each container, a microservice provided the container, inputs of the container, outputs of the container, other information, combinations of same and/or the like.” The microservice provided by the container corresponds with one or more model modules used to implement the model. The inputs and outputs of a container correspond to model parameter records.
Claim 11 further recites “utilizing, from the fourth storage component and based on the utilized model parameters record, an application container providing a computing environment and components required for implementing the model.” Slawomir column 6 line 67 to column 7 line 1 disclose “the one or more data stores 150 can include container images, deployment settings for applications.” Deployment settings correspond with components required for implementing the defined application. The container images itself corresponds with an application container.
Claim 11 further recites “implementing, from the first storage component and based upon the information from the utilized model parameters record, at least one model module defined for the model to execute the one or more core functions associated with the at least one model module on the data obtained from the at least one tag.” Slawomir column 5 lines 65-67 disclose “The deployment module 142 can supervise and cause container-based deployment of an application on one or more of the cloud-provider systems 124.” Causing deployment of an application corresponds with implementing at least one model. Slawomir column 7 lines 59-61 disclose “The one or inputs of each container can specify, for example, particular data parameters that are used to instantiate a container.” Instantiating a container with particular data parameters corresponds with using the respective model parameters records in the implementing.
Slawomir does not explicitly disclose obtaining tag/sensor data and corresponding data models; however, in analogous art of engineer modeling, Enver column 33 lines 22-25 teach “a user to create, view, and modify data models, each of which defines one or more data analytics (e.g., descriptive, predictive, and/or prescriptive analytics) that are to be executed or performed on an input data set.” The data models and data analytics correspond with model modules to implement core functions of the model in relation to data.
Enver column 17 lines 16-18 teaches “The wired field devices 15-22 may be any types of devices, such as sensors, valves, transmitters, positioners, etc.” Enver column 9 lines 15-17 teach “The indication of the one or more types of measurements may include one or more tags, aliases, and data types associated the data.” The sensors and/or corresponding tags for types of measurements are at least one tag arranged to produce data associated with operation of a process. The measurements and field devices are associated with operation of a process. I.e. Enver column 1 line 56 teaches “process control systems” which associate with operation of a process.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Slawomir and Enver. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found motivation to use tags and sensors into the system of container-based microservices for the advantageous purpose to provide predictive analytics for process control. See Enver column 22 lines 13-16. Further motivation to combine Slawomir and Enver is to provide a web interface for an operator to change settings of process control routines. See Enver column 2 lines 66-67.
Claim 11 further recites “and implementing, based upon data obtained from the second storage component, one or more non-core functions associated with the model, wherein implementing the one or more non-core functions causes execution of one or more non-core functionalities of the model.” Slawomir does not explicitly disclose non-core functions used by the data models; however, in analogous art of engineer modeling, Enver column 51 lines 50-53 teach “a user may choose to include this validation data pipeline in the on-line data diagram 345, e.g., if the user desires to have continual testing and validation of the on-line data model in the on-line environment.” The data validation pipeline corresponds with non-core validation functions.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Slawomir and Enver. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found motivation to use sensor data with validation pipeline into the system of container-based microservices for the advantageous purpose to provide predictive analytics for process control. See Enver column 22 lines 13-16. Further motivation to combine Slawomir and Enver is to provide a web interface for an operator to change settings of process control routines. See Enver column 2 lines 66-67.
Dependent claims 12 and 14-16 are substantially similar to claims 2 and 4-6 above and are rejected for the same reasons.
Dependent claims 17 and 18 are substantially similar to claims 7 and 8 above and are rejected for the same reasons.
Dependent claims 19 and 20 are substantially similar to claims 9 and 10 above and are rejected for the same reasons.
Dependent Claims 3 and 13
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slawomir and Enver as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of US patent 9,916,233 B1 Qureshi, et al. [herein “Qureshi”].
Claim 3 further recites “3. A model management system as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least some model parameters records include information indicative of whether the model associated with the utilized model parameters record is active or inactive, wherein the processor does not implement the model when the model parameters record includes an inactive indication.” Slawomir does not explicitly disclose active and inactive models; however, in analogous art of managing containerized software, Qureshi column 6 lines 32-35 teaches “the device 102 may be instructed to change the status of the test container 110 to be the active container. Similarly, the active container 104 may be rendered inactive.” The active container is the currently implemented container. Inactive is inactive.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Slawomir, Enver, and Qureshi. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found motivation to use status of containers as active or inactive into the system of deploying services for the advantageous purpose of “software updates may be provided to the device 102 with little impact on the user of the device 102.” See Qureshi column 6 lines 40-42.
Dependent claim 13 is substantially similar to claim 3 above and is rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 9256467 B1 Singh; Deepak et al.
teaches
Managing and scheduling containers
/Jay Hann/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2186 20 June 2026