DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHOI (US 20180188432).
Regarding claim 1, CHOI discloses a display device, comprising
a display panel (the device shown in fig 4-7, comprising 100, 500 and TEA, see fig 7, para 75) including a display area (the active area AA, see fig 4, para 68) and a non-display area (the area outside AA, see fig 4, para 68),
wherein the display panel includes:
a substrate (substrate 110, see fig 7, para 79);
a display layer (the display layer comprising 119 and 130, see fig 7, para 84 and 78) disposed on the substrate;
an encapsulation layer (encapsulation layer 141, see fig7, para 87) disposed on the display layer;
a sensor electrode layer (touch sensor layer TEA, see fig 7, para 75) disposed on the encapsulation layer; and
a polarizing layer (the polarizing layer comprising 560, 550 and 500, see fig 7, para 75-76) disposed on the sensor electrode layer, the polarizing layer including a polarizing portion (the portion including polarizing patters 532a, see fig 7, para 54) corresponding to the display area and an antenna electrode (antenna pattern 532, see fig 4-7, para 52) corresponding to the non-display area.
Regarding claim 14, CHOI discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the polarizing layer includes an antenna wiring (fig 7, 580, para 100) and an antenna pad (fig 7, 1220, para 79), each of which are electrically connected to the antenna electrode (580 and 1220 are at least indirectly connected to antenna 532, see fig 7), and
wherein the antenna pad is connected to an antenna flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) (fig 7, 610, para 83).
Regarding claim 15, CHOI discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the polarizing layer includes a through hole (the through hole in 241 connecting 620, which is connected to 532, to 217, see fig 7, para 113 and 99) connecting the antenna electrode with the sensor electrode layer,
wherein the sensor electrode layer includes an antenna wiring (fig 7, 223, para 99) and an antenna pad (fig 7, 621, para 100), which are electrically connected to the through hole, and
wherein the antenna pad is connected to a touch flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) (fig 7, 620, para 100).
Regarding claim 16, CHOI discloses a mobile electronic device comprising:
a display panel (the device shown in fig 4-7, comprising 100, 500 and TEA, see fig 7, para 75) including a display area (the active area AA, see fig 4, para 68) and a non-display area (the area outside AA, see fig 4, para 68),
wherein the display panel includes:
a substrate (substrate 110, see fig 7, para 79);
a display layer (the display layer comprising 119 and 130, see fig 7, para 84 and 78) disposed on the substrate;
an encapsulation layer (encapsulation layer 141, see fig7, para 87) disposed on the display layer;
a sensor electrode layer (touch sensor layer TEA, see fig 7, para 75) disposed on the encapsulation layer; and
a polarizing layer (the polarizing layer comprising 560, 550 and 500, see fig 7, para 75-76) disposed on the sensor electrode layer, the polarizing layer including a polarizing portion (the portion including polarizing patters 532a, see fig 7, para 54) corresponding to the display area and an antenna electrode (antenna pattern 532, see fig 4-7, para 52) corresponding to the non-display area.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 7, 11-13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI (US 20180188432) in view of SW KIM (US 20150069346).
Regarding claim 2, CHOI discloses the display device of claim 1.
SW KIM further discloses a device, wherein the polarizing layer includes:
an adhesive (PSA) (fig 7, 560, para 76);
an insulating layer (fig 7, 540, para 75) on the adhesive;
a metal layer disposed on the PVA, the metal layer including the antenna electrode (532 is a metal layer that includes an antenna and is on 540, see fig 7, para 54 and 60); and
tri-acetyl cellulose (TAC) or polyethylene terephthalate (PET) disposed on the metal layer (530 can be a PET layer and is on 532, see fig 7, para 63).
CHOI fails to explicitly disclose a device wherein the adhesive is a pressure sensitive adhesive (PSA); and
a polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) disposed on the PSA.
SW KIM teaches a device wherein the adhesive is a pressure sensitive adhesive (PSA) (68 can be a pressure sensitive adhesive layer, see fig 2, para 36);
a polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) disposed on the PSA (62 can be a PVA layer, see fig 2, para 34).
CHOI and SW KIM are analogous art because they both are directed towards display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of CHOI with the specific materials of SW KIM because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of CHOI with the specific materials of SW KIM in order to increase visibility (see SW KIM para 52).
Regarding claim 7, CHOI and SW KIM disclose the display device of claim 2.
CHOI further discloses a device, wherein the metal layer includes a blackening coating layer covering a surface of the antenna electrode (the metal layer 532 includes 532a which has a black coating 531 on its top surface, see fig 7, para 59).
Regarding claim 11, CHOI and SW KIM disclose the display device of claim 7.
CHOI further discloses a device, wherein the metal layer includes an insulating film covering the blackening coating layer (530 is an insulating layer that covers a top surface of 531, see fig 7, para 63).
Regarding claim 12, CHOI and SW KIM disclose the display device of claim 1.
CHOI further discloses a device, wherein the polarizing layer includes:
an adhesive (PSA) (fig 7, 560, para 76);
an insulating layer (fig 7, 540, para 75) on the adhesive;
tri-acetyl cellulose (TAC) disposed on the PVA (530 can be tri-acetyl-cellulose, see fig 7, para 64); and
a metal layer disposed on the TAC, the metal layer including the antenna electrode (532 is a metal layer that includes an antenna and is on 540, see fig 7, para 54 and 60).
CHOI fails to explicitly disclose a device wherein the adhesive is a pressure sensitive adhesive (PSA);
a polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) disposed on the PSA.
SW KIM teaches a device wherein the adhesive is a pressure sensitive adhesive (PSA) (68 can be a pressure sensitive adhesive layer, see fig 2, para 36);
a polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) disposed on the PSA (62 can be a PVA layer, see fig 2, para 34).
CHOI and SW KIM are analogous art because they both are directed towards display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of CHOI with the specific materials of SW KIM because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of CHOI with the specific materials of SW KIM in order to increase visibility (see SW KIM para 52).
Regarding claim 13, CHOI and SW KIM disclose The display device of claim 1.
CHOI further discloses a device, wherein the polarizing layer includes:
an adhesive (PSA) (fig 7, 560, para 76);
an insulating layer (fig 7, 540, para 75) on the adhesive;
polyethylene terephthalate (PET) disposed on the PVA (530 can be a PET layer and is on 532, see fig 7, para 63); and
a metal layer disposed on the PET, the metal layer including the antenna electrode (532 is a metal layer that includes an antenna and is on 540, see fig 7, para 54 and 60).
CHOI fails to explicitly disclose a device wherein the adhesive is a pressure sensitive adhesive (PSA);
a polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) disposed on the PSA.
SW KIM teaches a device wherein the adhesive is a pressure sensitive adhesive (PSA) (68 can be a pressure sensitive adhesive layer, see fig 2, para 36);
a polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) disposed on the PSA (62 can be a PVA layer, see fig 2, para 34).
CHOI and SW KIM are analogous art because they both are directed towards display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of CHOI with the specific materials of SW KIM because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of CHOI with the specific materials of SW KIM in order to increase visibility (see SW KIM para 52).
Regarding claim 17, CHOI discloses the mobile electronic device of claim 16.
CHOI further discloses a device, wherein the polarizing layer includes:
an adhesive (PSA) (fig 7, 560, para 76);
an insulating layer (fig 7, 540, para 75) on the adhesive;
a metal layer disposed on the PVA, the metal layer including the antenna electrode (532 is a metal layer that includes an antenna and is on 540, see fig 7, para 54 and 60); and
tri-acetyl cellulose (TAC) or polyethylene terephthalate (PET) disposed on the metal layer (530 can be tri-acetyl-cellulose, see fig 7, para 64).
CHOI fails to explicitly disclose a device wherein the adhesive is a pressure sensitive adhesive (PSA);
a polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) disposed on the PSA.
SW KIM teaches a device wherein the adhesive is a pressure sensitive adhesive (PSA) (68 can be a pressure sensitive adhesive layer, see fig 2, para 36);
a polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) disposed on the PSA (62 can be a PVA layer, see fig 2, para 34).
CHOI and SW KIM are analogous art because they both are directed towards display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of CHOI with the specific materials of SW KIM because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of CHOI with the specific materials of SW KIM in order to increase visibility (see SW KIM para 52).
Claim(s) 3 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI (US 20180188432) in view of SW KIM (US 20150069346) and further in view of JK KIM (US 20210132736).
Regarding claim 3, CHOI and SW KIM disclose the display device of claim 2.
CHOI and SW KIM fails to explicitly disclose a device, wherein the antenna electrode includes:
a first antenna electrode disposed in a first non-display area, at a first side of the display area; and
a second antenna electrode disposed in a second non-display area, at a second side of the display area,
wherein the first side and the second side of the display area are adjacent to each other.
JK KIM teaches a device, wherein the antenna electrode includes:
a first antenna electrode disposed in a first non-display area, at a first side of the display area (a first antenna pattern AP1 is in an area IS-DA2 on the upper side of IS-DA1, see fig 12, para 132); and
a second antenna electrode disposed in a second non-display area, at a second side of the display area (a second antenna pattern AP2 is in another area IS-DA2 on the right side of IS-DA1, see fig 12, para 132),
wherein the first side and the second side of the display area are adjacent to each other (the upper and right sides of IS-DA1 are adjacent, see fig 12).
CHOI, SW KIM and JK KIM are analogous art because they both are directed towards display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the antenna arrangement of JK KIM because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the antenna arrangement of JK KIM in order to increase optical efficiency (see JK KIM para 79).
Regarding claim 18, CHOI and SW KIM disclose the mobile electronic device of claim 17.
CHOI and SW KIM fails to explicitly disclose a device, wherein the antenna electrode includes:
a first antenna electrode disposed in a first non-display area, at a first side of the display area; and
a second antenna electrode disposed in a second non-display area, at a second side of the display area, and
wherein the first side and the second side of the display area are adjacent to each other.
JK KIM teaches a device, wherein the antenna electrode includes:
a first antenna electrode disposed in a first non-display area, at a first side of the display area (a first antenna pattern AP1 is in an area IS-DA2 on the upper side of IS-DA1, see fig 12, para 132); and
a second antenna electrode disposed in a second non-display area, at a second side of the display area (a second antenna pattern AP2 is in another area IS-DA2 on the right side of IS-DA1, see fig 12, para 132),
wherein the first side and the second side of the display area are adjacent to each other (the upper and right sides of IS-DA1 are adjacent, see fig 12).
CHOI, SW KIM and JK KIM are analogous art because they both are directed towards display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the antenna arrangement of JK KIM because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the antenna arrangement of JK KIM in order to increase optical efficiency (see JK KIM para 79).
Claim(s) 4-6 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI (US 20180188432) in view of SW KIM (US 20150069346) and further in view of KWON (US 20020145682) and JK KIM (US 20210132736).
Regarding claim 4, CHOI and SW KIM disclose the display device of claim 3.
CHOI and SW KIM fails to explicitly disclose a device, wherein
an elongation axis of the PVA is arranged in a first direction parallel with a short side of the display panel, and
wherein each of the first antenna electrode and the second antenna electrode has a metal mesh shape.
JK KIM teaches a device wherein each of the first antenna electrode and the second antenna electrode has a metal mesh shape (the antenna patterns AP1 and AP2 have a mesh shape, see fig 12, para 118).
CHOI, SW KIM and JK KIM are analogous art because they both are directed towards display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the antenna shape of JK KIM because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the antenna shape of JK KIM in order to increase optical efficiency (see JK KIM para 79).
KWON teaches a device wherein an elongation axis of the PVA is arranged in a first direction parallel with a short side of the display panel (the PVA 104 elongation axis which is perpendicular to the polarization axis, can be aligned with either side of the display, see fig 7A, para 15 and 62).
CHOI, SW KIM, JK KIM and KWON are analogous art because they both are directed towards display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the PVA structure of KWON because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the PVA structure of KWON in order to improve yields and reduce cost (see KWON para 31).
Regarding claim 5, CHOI and SW KIM disclose the display device of claim 3.
CHOI and SW KIM fails to explicitly disclose a device, wherein each of the first antenna electrode and the second antenna electrode has a metal mesh shape.
JK KIM teaches a device wherein each of the first antenna electrode and the second antenna electrode has a metal mesh shape (the antenna patterns AP1 and AP2 have a mesh shape, see fig 12, para 118).
CHOI, SW KIM and JK KIM are analogous art because they both are directed towards display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the antenna shape of JK KIM because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the antenna shape of JK KIM in order to increase optical efficiency (see JK KIM para 79).
KWON teaches a device wherein the elongation axis of the PVA is arranged in a second direction parallel with a long side of the display panel.
CHOI, SW KIM, JK KIM and KWON are analogous art because they both are directed towards display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the PVA structure of KWON because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the PVA structure of KWON in order to improve yields and reduce cost (see KWON para 31).
Regarding claim 6, CHOI and SW KIM disclose the display device of claim 3.
CHOI and SW KIM fails to explicitly disclose a device, wherein
the elongation axis of the PVA is arranged in a diagonal direction having an angle designated with respect to a short side of the display panel, and
wherein each of the first antenna electrode and the second antenna electrode has a metal mesh shape.
JK KIM teaches a device wherein each of the first antenna electrode and the second antenna electrode has a metal mesh shape (the antenna patterns AP1 and AP2 have a mesh shape, see fig 12, para 118).
CHOI, SW KIM and JK KIM are analogous art because they both are directed towards display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the antenna shape of JK KIM because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the antenna shape of JK KIM in order to increase optical efficiency (see JK KIM para 79).
KWON teaches a device wherein the elongation axis of the PVA is arranged in a diagonal direction having an angle designated with respect to a short side of the display panel (the axis 100 can be angled to the sides of the device, see fig 5, para 146).
CHOI, SW KIM, JK KIM and KWON are analogous art because they both are directed towards display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the PVA structure of KWON because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the PVA structure of KWON in order to improve yields and reduce cost (see KWON para 31).
Regarding claim 19, CHOI and SW KIM disclose the mobile electronic device of claim 18.
CHOI and SW KIM fails to explicitly disclose a device, wherein
an elongation axis of the PVA is arranged in a first direction parallel with a short side of the display panel, and
each of the first antenna electrode and the second antenna electrode has a metal mesh shape.
JK KIM teaches a device wherein each of the first antenna electrode and the second antenna electrode has a metal mesh shape (the antenna patterns AP1 and AP2 have a mesh shape, see fig 12, para 118).
CHOI, SW KIM and JK KIM are analogous art because they both are directed towards display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the antenna shape of JK KIM because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the antenna shape of JK KIM in order to increase optical efficiency (see JK KIM para 79).
KWON teaches a device wherein an elongation axis of the PVA is arranged in a first direction parallel with a short side of the display panel (the PVA 104 elongation axis which is perpendicular to the polarization axis, can be aligned with either side of the display, see fig 7A, para 15 and 62).
CHOI, SW KIM, JK KIM and KWON are analogous art because they both are directed towards display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the PVA structure of KWON because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the PVA structure of KWON in order to improve yields and reduce cost (see KWON para 31).
Regarding claim 20, CHOI and SW KIM disclose the mobile electronic device of claim 18.
CHOI and SW KIM fails to explicitly disclose a device, wherein
an elongation axis of the PVA is arranged in a second direction parallel with a long side of the display panel, and
wherein each of the first antenna electrode and the second antenna electrode has a metal mesh shape.
JK KIM teaches a device wherein each of the first antenna electrode and the second antenna electrode has a metal mesh shape (the antenna patterns AP1 and AP2 have a mesh shape, see fig 12, para 118).
CHOI, SW KIM and JK KIM are analogous art because they both are directed towards display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the antenna shape of JK KIM because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the antenna shape of JK KIM in order to increase optical efficiency (see JK KIM para 79).
KWON teaches a device wherein an elongation axis of the PVA is arranged in a first direction parallel with a long side of the display panel (the PVA 104 elongation axis which is perpendicular to the polarization axis, can be aligned with either side of the display, see fig 7A, para 15 and 62).
CHOI, SW KIM, JK KIM and KWON are analogous art because they both are directed towards display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the PVA structure of KWON because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the PVA structure of KWON in order to improve yields and reduce cost (see KWON para 31).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI (US 20180188432) in view of SW KIM (US 20150069346) and further in view of C CHOI (US 20160140869).
Regarding claim 8, CHOI and SW KIM disclose the display device of claim 7.
CHOI and SW KIM fails to explicitly disclose a device, wherein the blackening coating layer includes a plating film including copper.
C CHOI teaches a device, wherein the blackening coating layer includes a plating film including copper (the black layer 214 can be oxidized copper, see fig 2, para 68).
CHOI, SW KIM and C CHOI are analogous art because they both are directed towards display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the material of C CHOI because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the material of C CHOI in order to improve contrast (see C CHOI para 57).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI (US 20180188432) in view of SW KIM (US 20150069346) and further in view of HASEGAWA (US 20040055882).
Regarding claim 9, CHOI and SW KIM disclose the display device of claim 7.
CHOI and SW KIM fails to explicitly disclose a device, wherein the blackening coating layer includes a halogenated silver salt.
HASEGAWA teaches a device, wherein the blackening coating layer includes a halogenated silver salt (halogenated Ag can be a blackening agent, see para 6).
CHOI, SW KIM and HASEGAWA are analogous art because they both are directed towards display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the material of HASEGAWA because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the material of HASEGAWA in order to improve corrosion resistance (see HASEGAWA para 26).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI (US 20180188432) in view of SW KIM (US 20150069346) and further in view of K LEE (US 20210074895).
Regarding claim 10, CHOI and SW KIM disclose the display device of claim 7.
CHOI and SW KIM fails to explicitly disclose a device, wherein the blackening coating layer includes a coating film including aluminum.
K LEE teaches a device, wherein the blackening coating layer includes a coating film including aluminum (the blackening layer can be an Al coating, see para 71).
CHOI, SW KIM and K LEE are analogous art because they both are directed towards display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the material of K LEE because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of CHOI and SW KIM with the material of K LEE in order to improve the characteristics of the display (see K LEE para 60).
Conclusion
/JONAS T BEARDSLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2811
/SAMUEL A GEBREMARIAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811